DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy of the parent Application No. DE102023135369.1, has been filed on 12/26/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/01/2025 and 12/16/2024 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 is directed towards the four statutory categories in that it recites a method. The claim(s) recite(s) producing an identification result indicating whether functional units do not exist and/or whether properties of existing functional units should be modified and/or whether implementation plans do not exist and/or whether existing implementation plans should be modified, and, based on the identification result, manufacturing nonexisting functional units and/or modifying properties of existing functional units and/or producing nonexisting implementation plans and/or modifying existing implementation plans. These limitations, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind. For example, the claim recite, producing an identification result indicating whether functional units do not exist and/or whether properties of existing functional units should be modified and/or whether implementation plans do not exist and/or whether existing implementation plans should be modified,. Without any specific limitation narrowing the process of producing the identification result or the nature of the result itself, a human mind mentally or with pen and paper is capable of producing identification result that indicates whether functional units do not exist or whether properties of existing functional units should be modified or whether implementation plans do not exist or whether existing implementation plans should be modified. Similarly, a human mind mentally or with pen and paper is capable of, based on the identification result, modifying properties of existing functional units or producing nonexisting implementation plans or modifying existing implementation plans.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claim recites additional elements directed to, A method for creation and/or modification of functional units for a modular plant for handling and/or analysis of a sample and/or of functional units for a modular plant of process and automation technology and/or for creation and/or modification of implementation plans describing implementation of analysis- and/or processing protocols in modular plants, wherein the method comprises steps as follows: providing users at least one communication channel for transferring data, processing data transferred over the communication channel. With regards to A method for creation and/or modification of functional units for a modular plant for handling and/or analysis of a sample and/or of functional units for a modular plant of process and automation technology and/or for creation and/or modification of implementation plans describing implementation of analysis- and/or processing protocols in modular plants, this limitation merely indicates a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception. Limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. (see MPEP 2106.05(h)). With regards to providing users with at least one communication channel for transferring data, this limitation merely invokes a communication channel as tool to perform functions that it performs in its ordinary capacity which is to transfer data. Therefore, merely invoking a communication channel as a tool to execute the abstract idea fails to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). With regards to processing data transferred over the communication channel, this limitation is directed to a result-oriented solution and lacks the details as to how the data is processed, which is equivalent to the words "apply it" Therefore this limitation fails to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Claim recites additional elements directed to, A method for creation and/or modification of functional units for a modular plant for handling and/or analysis of a sample and/or of functional units for a modular plant of process and automation technology and/or for creation and/or modification of implementation plans describing implementation of analysis- and/or processing protocols in modular plants, wherein the method comprises steps as follows: providing users at least one communication channel for transferring data, processing data transferred over the communication channel. With regards to A method for creation and/or modification of functional units for a modular plant for handling and/or analysis of a sample and/or of functional units for a modular plant of process and automation technology and/or for creation and/or modification of implementation plans describing implementation of analysis- and/or processing protocols in modular plants, this limitation merely indicates a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception. Limitations that amount to merely indicating a field of use or technological environment in which to apply a judicial exception do not amount to significantly more than the exception itself, and cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. (see MPEP 2106.05(h)). With regards to providing users at least one communication channel for transferring data, this limitation merely invokes a communication channel as tool to perform functions that it performs in its ordinary capacity which is to transfer data. Therefore, merely invoking a communication channel as a tool to execute the abstract idea fails to provide significantly more than the judicial exception. (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). With regards to processing data transferred over the communication channel, this limitation is directed to a result-oriented solution and lacks the details as to how the data is processed, which is equivalent to the words "apply it" Therefore this limitation fails to provide significantly more than the judicial exception. (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 2 depends on claim 1 therefore it recites the abstract idea of claim 1. Claim 2 further recites, wherein a plurality of communication channels are provided. This limitation narrows the number of channels recited in claim 1 to a plurality of channels. This limitation is still directed to providing a plurality of communication channels as tools to perform functions that it performs in its ordinary capacity which is to transfer data. Therefore, merely invoking communication channels as a tools to execute the abstract idea fails to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more than the judicial exception. (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 3 depends on claim 1 therefore it recites the abstract idea of claim 1. Claim 3 further recites, wherein a communication channel serves for communication between users. This limitation invokes a communication channel as tool to perform functions that it performs in its ordinary capacity which is to transfer data. Therefore, merely invoking a communication channel as a tool to execute the abstract idea fails to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more than the judicial exception. (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 4 depends on claim 1 therefore it recites the abstract idea of claim 1. Claim 4 further recites, wherein a communication channel serves for communication between a platform and a user. This limitation invokes a communication channel as tool to perform functions that it performs in its ordinary capacity which is to transfer data. Therefore, merely invoking a communication channel as a tool to execute the abstract idea fails to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more than the judicial exception. (see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 5 depends on claim 1 therefore it recites the abstract idea of claim 1. Claim 5 further recites, wherein the communication channel is provided in such a manner that a user can upload data to a platform, such that it is available for other users. This limitation does not recite any particular method of uploading the data which makes it available for other users. It merely recites a result of the data upload without any restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result. Therefore, this limitation does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it".(see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 6 depends on claim 1 therefore it recites the abstract idea of claim 1. Claim 6 further recites, wherein when data uploaded by a user to the platform is accessed by another user, user receives a payment. This limitation does not recite any particular method of performing the function of determining the data uploaded is accessed by another user and does not recite any method of issuing the payment. It merely recites a result of the data access without any restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result. Therefore, this limitation does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it".(see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 7 depends on claim 1 therefore it recites the abstract idea of claim 1. Claim 7 further recites, wherein the number of cases in which data uploaded by a user to the platform is accessed by other users is logged, and, when the number of cases exceeds a predetermined limit value, the user is given a commendation.. This limitation does not recite any particular method of performing the function of determining the data uploaded is accessed by another user and does not recite any method of issuing the commendation. It merely recites a result of the data access without any restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result. Therefore, this limitation does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it".(see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 8 depends on claim 1 therefore it recites the abstract idea of claim 1. Claim 8 further recites, wherein the communication channel is provided in such a manner that a user makes available via the communication channel use data with reference to a use of a plant. This limitation does not recite any particular method regarding how the communication channel performs the function of, “a user makes available via the communication channel use data with reference to a use of a plant” . It merely recites a result without any restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result. Therefore, this limitation does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it".(see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 9 depends on claim 1 therefore it recites the abstract idea of claim 1. Claim 9 further recites, wherein a platform provides users with data concerning existing functional units and/or implementation plans. This limitation is directed to transmitting data to a user which under broadest reasonable interpretation, is directed to mere data transmission and insignificant extra solution activity for the purpose of executing the abstract idea. Therefore, these limitations do not integrate a judicial exception. (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). These elements are recited in a generic manner and are directed to activity that are well-understood, routine and conventional in the field of computer implemented processes. Courts have found transmitting data (Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 and buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014)) to be well‐understood, routine, and conventional when recited as insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(d). Therefore, these limitations do not provide significantly more than the judicial exception. (see MPEP 2106.05(d)).
Claim 10 depends on claim 1 therefore it recites the abstract idea of claim 1. Claim 10 further recites, wherein a user is offered at least one suitable implementation plan as a function of a protocol. This limitation is directed to transmitting data to a user which under broadest reasonable interpretation, is directed to mere data transmission and insignificant extra solution activity for the purpose of executing the abstract idea. Therefore, these limitations do not integrate a judicial exception. (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). These elements are recited in a generic manner and are directed to activity that are well-understood, routine and conventional in the field of computer implemented processes. Courts have found transmitting data (Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 and buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014)) to be well‐understood, routine, and conventional when recited as insignificant extra-solution activity (see MPEP 2106.05(d). Therefore, these limitations do not provide significantly more than the judicial exception. (see MPEP 2106.05(d)).
Claim 11 depends on claim 1 therefore it recites the abstract idea of claim 1. Claim 11 further recites, wherein when a user has uploaded an implementation plan to a platform, an implementability of the implementation plan is ascertained with respect to existing functional units and/or with respect to modifiable functional units and/or with respect to functional units to be built new. This limitation does not recite any particular method regarding how the “implementation plan is ascertained with respect to existing functional units and/or with respect to modifiable functional units and/or with respect to functional units to be built new” . It merely recites a result without any restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result. Therefore, this limitation does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more because this type of recitation is equivalent to the words "apply it".(see MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Claim 12 depends on claim 1 therefore it recites the abstract idea of claim 1. Claim 12 further recites, wherein when data transferred by users via the communication channel contains information concerning existing functional units, users are given information concerning a source of supply. This limitation is directed to transmitting data to a user which under broadest reasonable interpretation, is directed to mere data transmission and insignificant extra solution activity for the purpose of executing the abstract idea. Therefore, these limitations do not integrate a judicial exception. (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). These elements are recited in a generic manner and are directed to activity that are well-understood, routine and conventional in the field of computer implemented processes. Courts have found transmitting data (Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 and buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014)) to be well‐understood, routine, and conventional when
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the broadest reasonable interpretation of “A platform” in light of the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art encompasses products that do not have a physical or tangible form, such as a computer program per se (often referred to as "software per se"). In particular, the published specification in ¶0029-0032 and Fig. 1 describes the platform as an entity that allows users to download information from and upload information to. There is no physical or tangible form of the platform described in the specification and the functionality provided in the specification with regards to the platform could be performed by a computer program. Therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation of “A platform” in light of the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art encompasses program code that do not have a physical or tangible form (see MPEP 2106.03).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, and 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guarnieri (US20230195454A1)
Regarding claim 1,
Guarnieri teaches, A method for creation and/or modification of functional units for a modular plant for handling and/or analysis of a sample and/or of functional units for a modular plant of process and automation technology and/or for creation and/or modification of implementation plans describing implementation of analysis and/or processing protocols in modular plants, wherein the method comprises steps as follows: (Fig. 20a- 20c and ¶0087-¶0094 teaches a method for creating and modifying system projects in for an automation controller in an industrial environment)
providing users at least one communication channel for transferring data, (¶0051 teaches, a client device 208 (e.g., a laptop computer, tablet computer, smart phone, etc.) that is communicatively connected to the IDE system 602 via a hardwired or wireless connection.)
processing data transferred over the communication channel and producing an identification result indicating whether functional units do not exist and/or whether properties of existing functional units should be modified and/or whether implementation plans do not exist and/or whether existing implementation plans should be modified, and, (¶0063 teaches IDE system obtains information model descriptions for each of the local project versions 702 a, 702 b as well as for the base system project 702. ¶0067 teaches, The differential component 612 identifies the changes performed on each of the locally edited project versions 702 a, 702 b relative to the base project 702 by comparing each model description 902 a, 902 b representing the locally edited project versions 702 a, 702 b with the base model description 902 representing the base project 702. Based on these comparisons, the differential component 612 generates differential data 1102 identifying differences between each locally edited version 702 a, 702 b and the base project 702. )
based on the identification result, manufacturing nonexisting functional units and/or modifying properties of existing functional units and/or producing nonexisting implementation plans and/or modifying existing implementation plans. (¶0069 teaches, Once the differential component 612 has generated differential data 1102 for each of the locally modified versions 702 a and 702 b, the system's merge component 614 generates a merged model description based on analysis of the sets of differential data 1102 a, 1102 b.)
Regarding claim 2,
Guarnieri teaches, The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein a plurality of communication channels are provided. (¶0051 teaches, a client device 208 (e.g., a laptop computer, tablet computer, smart phone, etc.) that is communicatively connected to the IDE system 602 via a hardwired or wireless connection. ¶0046 and Fig. 3 teaches, plurality of users each with a client device. Therefore, it teaches a plurality of communication channels. )
Regarding claim 4,
Guarnieri teaches, The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein a communication channel serves for communication between a platform and a user. (¶0051 teaches, a client device 208 (e.g., a laptop computer, tablet computer, smart phone, etc.) that is communicatively connected to the IDE system 602 via a hardwired or wireless connection. Therefore, the communication channels serves for communication between IDE system (platform) and a user (client device))
Regarding claim 8,
Guarnieri teaches The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the communication channel is provided in such a manner that a user makes available via the communication channel use data with reference to a use of a plant. (¶0051 teaches, a client device 208 (e.g., a laptop computer, tablet computer, smart phone, etc.) that is communicatively connected to the IDE system 602 via a hardwired or wireless connection. ¶0063 teaches IDE system 602 obtaining information model descriptions for each of the local project versions 702 a, 702 b as well as for the base system project 702. The system project can be, for example, an industrial controller program and configuration project (e.g., a ladder logic program file), an HMI application, a device configuration file, or another type of industrial system project.)
Regarding claim 9,
Guarnieri teaches The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein a platform provides users with data concerning existing functional units and/or implementation plans. (¶0044 and Fig. 3 teaches, industrial development system 202 provides users with system project 210 to generate local versions 210 a, 210 b)
Regarding claim 10,
Guarnieri teaches The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein a user is offered at least one suitable implementation plan as a function of a protocol. (¶0044 and Fig. 3 teaches, industrial development system 202 provides users with system project 210 to generate local versions 210 a, 210 b. ¶0087 teaches, The system project can be, for example, an industrial controller program and configuration project (e.g., a ladder logic program file), an HMI application, a device configuration file, or another type of industrial system project.)
Regarding claim 11,
Guarnieri teaches The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein when a user has uploaded an implementation plan to a platform, an implementability of the implementation plan is ascertained with respect to existing functional units and/or with respect to modifiable functional units and/or with respect to functional units to be built new. (¶0078 teaches, Prior to translating this merged model description 1302 to an updated base project 702, the merge component 614 can apply a sanitization process to the merged model description 1302 to ensure project-wide consistency of the project's typing system or standards.)
Regarding claim 12,
Guarnieri teaches The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein when data transferred by users via the communication channel contains information concerning existing functional units, users are given information concerning a source of supply. (¶0044 and Fig. 3 teaches, industrial development system provides users with system project to generate local versions of the project. ¶0063-¶0064 teaches, system project can be represented as a unified informational model that represents the content of the project as a hierarchical representation of nodes. Information model includes asset models and their associated properties or values (e.g., a pump model, a motor model, etc.), recipes and their associated values, alarms and their associated parameters, graphical elements of an HMI interface, or other such project elements.)
Regarding claim 13,
Guarnieri teaches A platform, (¶0049 teaches, industrial integrated development environment (IDE) system 602)
wherein the platform provides users at least one communication channel for transferring data (¶0051 teaches, a client device 208 (e.g., a laptop computer, tablet computer, smart phone, etc.) that is communicatively connected to the IDE system 602 via a hardwired or wireless connection.)
and wherein the platform is embodied in such a manner that it executes the following method:
providing users at least one communication channel for transferring data, (¶0051 teaches, a client device 208 (e.g., a laptop computer, tablet computer, smart phone, etc.) that is communicatively connected to the IDE system 602 via a hardwired or wireless connection.)
processing data transferred over the communication channel and producing an identification result indicating whether functional units do not exist and/or whether properties of existing functional units should be modified and/or whether implementation plans do not exist and/or whether existing implementation plans should be modified, and, (¶0063 teaches IDE system obtains information model descriptions for each of the local project versions 702 a, 702 b as well as for the base system project 702. ¶0067 teaches, The differential component 612 identifies the changes performed on each of the locally edited project versions 702 a, 702 b relative to the base project 702 by comparing each model description 902 a, 902 b representing the locally edited project versions 702 a, 702 b with the base model description 902 representing the base project 702. Based on these comparisons, the differential component 612 generates differential data 1102 identifying differences between each locally edited version 702 a, 702 b and the base project 702. )
based on the identification result, manufacturing nonexisting functional units and/or modifying properties of existing functional units and/or producing nonexisting implementation plans and/or modifying existing implementation plans. (¶0069 teaches, Once the differential component 612 has generated differential data 1102 for each of the locally modified versions 702 a and 702 b, the system's merge component 614 generates a merged model description based on analysis of the sets of differential data 1102 a, 1102 b.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guarnieri (US20230195454A1) in view of Wu (US20190011901A1)
Regarding claim 3,
Guarnieri doesn’t teach, The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein a communication channel serves for communication between users. (Wu in ¶0017 teaches, collaborative design system communicates with remote devices 15. And also teaches, the collaborative design system 12 may be manipulated by multiple users 14 simultaneously (e.g., in real-time) in a single session of the collaborative design system 12, such that the users 14 may manipulate the same design in a collaborative environment. For example, an input by one user 14 may be seen by the other users 14 present in the same session of the collaborative design system 12.)
Wu is an art in the area of interest as it relates to a system and method for industrial plant design collaboration (see ¶0002). A combination of Wu with Guarnieri would allow the method to include a communication channel that serves for communication between users. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Wu with Guarnieri. One would have been motivated to do so because doing so would improve the ability of multiple designers, which may include designers from different disciplines (e.g., engineering, economics, human factors, government regulation experts, and so on), to simultaneously work from remote locales around the world and would result in improved design efficiencies and a lower costs, as taught by Wu in ¶0015.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guarnieri (US20230195454A1) in view of Bordignon (US20220152816A1)
Regarding claim 5,
Guarnieri teaches, The method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the communication channel is provided in such a manner that a user can upload data to a platform (¶0060 teaches, each user's local version 702 a, 702 b may be stored on the IDE system 602 itself)
Guarnieri doesn’t teach, such that it is available for other users. (Bordignon in ¶0082 teaches, developers submit candidate robotic control plans to the validation system 120 and ¶0090 teaches, the robotic control plan is transferred from the validation system 120 to an operator 170. Therefore, the data (control plan) is available to other users)
Bordignon is an art in the area of interest as it relates to robotics (see ¶0001). A combination of Bordignon with Guarnieri would allow the system to make data uploaded by a user to other users. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Bordignon with Guarnieri. One would have been motivated to do so because doing so would allow for decentralized submission of solutions for optimizing a robotic process, which can reduce the time and cost of operating the robotic process in a robotic operating environment. For example, by soliciting a solution to optimize a robotic operating environment on a challenge-based, decentralized planning platform, an operations team can obtain improvements to a robotic process without the need of an onsite integrator, thus reducing the overall cost of optimizing the robotic operating environment, as taught by Bordignon in ¶0010.
Regarding claim 6,
Guarnieri and Bordignon teaches, The method as claimed in claim 5, wherein when data uploaded by a user to the platform is accessed by another user, user receives a payment. (Bordignon in ¶0082 teaches, developers submit candidate robotic control plans to the validation system 120 and ¶0090 teaches, the robotic control plan is transferred from the validation system 120 to an operator 170 for execution of the validated robotic control plan within the robotic operating environment. ¶0092 teaches, transmission of a payment to the developer that provided the valid robotic control plan that is deployed in the robotic operating environment)
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guarnieri (US20230195454A1) in view of Bordignon (US20220152816A1) and further in view of Warren (US20150355609A1)
Regarding claim 7,
Guarnieri and Bordignon doesn’t teach, The method as claimed in claim 5, wherein the number of cases in which data uploaded by a user to the platform is accessed by other users is logged, and, when the number of cases exceeds a predetermined limit value, the user is given a commendation. (Warren in ¶0026 teaches, crowdsourcing automation rules in relation to an automation system. ¶0042 teaches, sorting rules by the number of users currently use a rule and the rule that is used the most (exceeds a predetermined limit) appears at the top as the most popular (accolade).)
Warren us an art in the area of interest as it relates to an automation system. A combination of Warren with Guarnieri and Bordignon would allow the method to identify user whose data is accessed more than a threshold amount of time and give the user a commendation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teaching of Warren with Guarnieri and Bordignon. One would have been motivated to do so because doing so would allow other users to identify rules that are most downloaded and used and satisfy the other users requirement for a rule exchange, as taught by Warren in ¶0042.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Stump (US20210312393A1) in ¶0133-¶0135 teaches, a methodology for notifying developers of modifications to an automation system project within a collaborative development environment.
/ISTIAQUE AHMED/ Examiner, Art Unit 2116
/KENNETH M LO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116