DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6-8, 13-15, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lu et al (US20210076316).
Regarding claim 1, the cited reference Lu discloses a communication method(¶0005 discloses an access method … to enable a relay node to access a wireless access network), wherein the method is performed at a terminal device, and comprises: receiving first indication information from a first access network device, wherein the first indication information indicates whether the first access network device is a mobile relay device (¶0035 discloses that a first transmission point receives indication information sent by a second transmission point, wherein the indication information is used for indicating that the second transmission point supports a relay function); and determining, based on the first indication information, whether to access or be handed over to the first access network device (¶0036 discloses that the first transmission point accesses a wireless access network where the second transmission point is located according to the indication information).
Regarding claims 6 and 7, the cited reference Lu discloses all limitations 1. Lu further discloses first indication information is carried in system information and the system information is a system information block (SIB) 1 message (¶0043 discloses that the indication information may be carried by … System Information Block (SIB)).
Regarding claim 8, the claim is drawn to an apparatus performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claims 13-14, the claims are drawn to an apparatus performing substantially the same features of the method of claims 6 and 7 respectively. Therefore, the claims are subject to the same rejection as claims 6 and 7 respectively.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is drawn to a communication method performingsubstantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claims 18-19, the claims are drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claims 6 and 7 respectively. Therefore, the claims are subject to the same rejection as claims 6 and 7 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bulakci et al (US20230292213).
Regarding claim 1, the cited reference Bulakci discloses a communication method(¶0001 discloses a method of handover), wherein the method is performed at a terminal device, and comprises: receiving first indication information from a first access network device, wherein the first indication information indicates whether the first access network device is a mobile relay device (¶0062 discloses that the first device 110 receives 205 indication information that indicates a change of service availability of the second device 120); and determining, based on the first indication information, whether to access or be handed over to the first access network device (¶0063 discloses that the indication information is considered as a trigger event to trigger a handover).
Regarding claim 8, the claim is drawn to an apparatus performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is drawn to a communication method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the
same rejection as claim 1.
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matolia et al (US20250311043).
Regarding claim 1, the cited reference Matolia discloses a communication method(¶0001 discloses a method of handover), wherein the method is performed at a terminal device, and comprises: receiving first indication information from a first access network device, wherein the first indication information indicates whether the first access network device is a mobile relay device (¶0049-¶0050 discloses that the mobile base station relay 110 transmits a registration request to the 5G NR RAN 120 (i.e gNB 120A)… The registration request may include access node (AN) parameters… the AN parameters may comprise an IAB indication indicating that the mobile base station relay 110 intends to operate as an IAB node); and determining, based on the first indication information, whether to access or be handed over to the first access network device (¶0056 discloses that the 5G NR RAN 120 sends a registration accept message to the mobile base station relay 110. In this example, the registration accept message may indicate that VMR/MBSR operation is allowed and IAB operation is allowed where ¶0096 further discloses that receiving an information element (IE) from a home public land mobile network (HPLMN), the IE comprising an indication that mobile base station relay operation is allowed in roaming scenarios).
Regarding claim 8, the claim is drawn to an apparatus performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is drawn to a communication method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 1. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 1.
Regarding claim 20, the cited reference Matolia discloses all limitations of claim 15. Matolia further discloses receiving an access request corresponding to that the first access network device has been selected, based on the first indication information, for the terminal device to access or be handed over to (¶0056 discloses that .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al (US20210076316), in view of Li (US20250344259).
Regarding claim 2, the cited reference Lu discloses all limitations of claim 1. However, Lu does not explicitly teach the receiving the first indication information comprises: receiving a piece of the first indication information from each access network device among a plurality of access network devices, wherein the piece of the first indication information from the each access network device indicates whether the each access network device is a mobile relay device, and the plurality of access network devices includes the first access network device, and the determining, based on the first indication information, whether to access or hand over to the first access network device comprises: in response to the terminal device being on a vehicle, preferentially selecting a mobile relay device among the plurality of access network devices for initial access or handover. In an analogous art Li teaches receiving the first indication information comprises: receiving a piece of the first indication information from each access network device among a plurality of access network devices, wherein the piece of the first indication information from the each access network device indicates whether the each access network device is a mobile relay device, and the plurality of access network devices includes the first access network device, and the determining, based on the first indication information, whether to access or hand over to the first access network device comprises: in response to the terminal device being on a vehicle, preferentially selecting a mobile relay device among the plurality of access network devices for initial access or handover (¶0094 discloses that the remote UE … obtain service availability notifications from the multiple relay UEs, and select a most appropriate relay UE from among the multiple relay UEs for access). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Li to improve resource selection and communication efficiency.
Regarding claim 9, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 2. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 2.
Regarding claim 20, the cited reference Lu discloses all limitations of claim 15. However, Lu does not explicitly teach receiving an access request corresponding to that the first access network device has been selected, based on the first indication information, for the terminal device to access or be handed over to.
In an analogous art Li teaches receiving an access request corresponding to that the first access network device has been selected, based on the first indication information, for the terminal device to access or be handed over to (¶0094 discloses transmit a service trigger request to multiple relay UEs, obtain service availability notifications from the multiple relay UEs, and select a most appropriate relay UE from among the multiple relay UEs for access).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Li to improve resource selection and communication efficiency.
Claims 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al (US20210076316), in view of Li (US20250344259), in further view of Lin (WO2010076773).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Lu and Li discloses all limitations of claim 2. However, the combination does not explicitly teach in response to the terminal device being on the vehicle, a priority of the mobile relay device is higher than a priority of a non-mobile relay device among the plurality of access network devices.
In an analogous art Lin teaches in response to the terminal device being on the vehicle, a priority of the mobile relay device is higher than a priority of a non-mobile relay device among the plurality of access network devices (Page 13 discloses that the first and second sets of priorities may further take into account the fact that a mobile Relay Station may have a higher priority that any other type of telecommunications node… Mobile Relay Stations are given priority over Edge fixed Relay Stations). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Lin to improve resource selection and communication efficiency.
Regarding claim 10, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 3. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 3.
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matolia et al (US20250311043), in view of Li (US20250344259).
Regarding claim 4, the cited reference Matolia discloses all limitations 1. Matolia further discloses the determining, based on the first indication information, whether to access or hand over to the first access network device (¶0056 discloses that the 5G NR RAN 120 sends a registration accept message to the mobile base station relay 110. In this example, the registration accept message may indicate that VMR/MBSR operation is allowed and IAB operation is allowed where ¶0096 further discloses that receiving an information element (IE) from a home public land mobile network (HPLMN), the IE comprising an indication that mobile base station relay operation is allowed in roaming scenarios) comprises: in response to the terminal device being outside a vehicle, preferentially selecting a non-mobile relay device among the plurality of access network devices for initial access or handover (¶0017 discloses that the UEs may deployed inside a vehicle with a VMR. When the mobile base station relay is no longer able to serve as a relay (e.g., moved outside of a service area), the one or more UEs may then be served by a base station or another mobile base station relay). However, Matolia does not explicitly teach the receiving the first indication information comprises: receiving a piece of the first indication information from each access network device among a plurality of access network devices, wherein the piece of the first indication information from the each access network device indicates whether the each access network device is a mobile relay device, and the plurality of access network devices includes the first access network device.
In an analogous art Li teaches the receiving the first indication information comprises: receiving a piece of the first indication information from each access network device among a plurality of access network devices, wherein the piece of the first indication information from the each access network device indicates whether the each access network device is a mobile relay device, and the plurality of access network devices includes the first access network device (¶0094 discloses that the remote UE … obtain service availability notifications from the multiple relay UEs, and select a most appropriate relay UE from among the multiple relay UEs for access).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Li to improve resource selection and communication efficiency.
Regarding claim 11, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 4. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 4.
Claims 5 and 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matolia et al (US20250311043), in view of Li (US20250344259), in further view of Chaponniere et al (US20240163740).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Matolia and Li discloses all limitations of claim 4. However, the combination does not explicitly teaches in response to the terminal device being outside the vehicle, a priority of the non-mobile relay device is higher than a priority of a mobile relay device among the plurality of access network devices.
In an analogous art Chaponniere teaches in response to the terminal device being outside the vehicle, a priority of the non-mobile relay device is higher than a priority of a mobile relay device among the plurality of access network devices (¶0068 discloses that the network may determine that the UE is outside the vehicle. If the UE is outside the vehicle, the relay device may be configured as a secondary link for the UE. ¶0129 further discloses that if the network determines UE 115-a is outside the vehicle, or has exited the vehicle, the network may configure UE 115-a to connect to a macro base station 105, such as base station 105-a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Chaponniere to efficiently allocate resources that allow reducing interferences and improving efficiency of wireless communication.
Regarding claim 12, the claim is drawn to a method performing substantially the same features of the method of claim 5. Therefore, the claim is subject to the same rejection as claim 5.
Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matolia et al (US20250311043), in view of Chika (US20160081055), in further view of Lin (WO2010076773).
Regarding claim 16, the cited reference Matolia discloses all limitations of claim 15. However, Matolia does not explicitly teaches the first access network device is one of a plurality of access network devices each of which sends a piece of the first indication information to the terminal device servable by the plurality of access network devices, wherein the piece of the first indication information from the each access network device indicates whether the each access network device is a mobile relay device, and in response to the terminal device is on a vehicle,_a priority of a mobile relay device among the plurality of access network devices is higher than a priority of a non-mobile relay device among the plurality of access network devices.
In an analogous arts:
Chika teaches the first access network device is one of a plurality of access network devices each of which sends a piece of the first indication information to the terminal device servable by the plurality of access network devices, wherein the piece of the first indication information from the each access network device indicates whether the each access network device is a mobile relay device (¶0088 discloses that the information gathering section 310 classifies a plurality of pieces of log information according to the areas, based on the position information of the communication terminals or relay apparatuses included in the log information. Next, the pieces of log information classified according to each area are classified according to whether communication was relayed by the relay apparatus or communication was not relayed by the relay apparatus).
Lin teaches in response to the terminal device is on a vehicle,_a priority of a mobile relay device among the plurality of access network devices is higher than a priority of a non-mobile relay device among the plurality of access network devices(Page 13 discloses that the first and second sets of priorities may further take into account the fact that a mobile Relay Station may have a higher priority that any other type of telecommunications node… Mobile Relay Stations are given priority over Edge fixed Relay Stations).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Chika and Chaponniere to efficiently allocate resources that allow reducing interferences and improving efficiency of wireless communication.
Claims 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matolia et al (US20250311043), in view of Chika (US20160081055), in further view of Chaponniere et al (US20240163740).
Regarding claim 17, the cited reference Matolia discloses all limitations of claim 15. However, Matolia does not explicitly teaches the first access network device is one of a plurality of access network devices each of which sends a piece of the first indication information to the terminal device servable by the plurality of access network devices, wherein the piece of the first indication information from the each access network device indicates whether the each access network device is a mobile relay device, and in response to the terminal device being outside a vehicle, a priority of a non-mobile relay device among the plurality of access network devices is higher than a priority of a mobile relay device among the plurality of access network devices.
In an analogous arts:
Chika teaches the first access network device is one of a plurality of access network devices each of which sends a piece of the first indication information to the terminal device servable by the plurality of access network devices, wherein the piece of the first indication information from the each access network device indicates whether the each access network device is a mobile relay device (¶0088 discloses that the information gathering section 310 classifies a plurality of pieces of log information according to the areas, based on the position information of the communication terminals or relay apparatuses included in the log information. Next, the pieces of log information classified according to each area are classified according to whether communication was relayed by the relay apparatus or communication was not relayed by the relay apparatus).
Chaponniere teaches in response to the terminal device being outside a vehicle, a priority of a non-mobile relay device among the plurality of access network devices is higher than a priority of a mobile relay device among the plurality of access network devices(¶0068 discloses that the network may determine that the UE is outside the vehicle. If the UE is outside the vehicle, the relay device may be configured as a secondary link for the UE. ¶0129 further discloses that if the network determines UE 115-a is outside the vehicle, or has exited the vehicle, the network may configure UE 115-a to connect to a macro base station 105, such as base station 105-a).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the method of Chika and Lin to efficiently allocate resources that allow reducing interferences and improving efficiency of wireless communication.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Yemane Mesfin can be reached on (571)272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Respectfully submitted,
/ABDELILLAH ELMEJJARMI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462