Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent JP2023-216165, filed on 12/21/2023.
Claim Interpretation
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. Under a broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. The plain meaning of a term means the ordinary and customary meaning given to the term by those of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time. The ordinary and customary meaning of a term may be evidenced by a variety of sources, including the words of the claims themselves, the specification, drawings, and prior art. However, the best source for determining the meaning of a claim term is the specification - the greatest clarity is obtained when the specification serves as a glossary for the claim terms. The words of the claim must be given their plain meaning unless the plain meaning is inconsistent with the specification. 2111.01 (I). See also In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 799, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983) ("'[C]laims are not to be read in a vacuum, and limitations therein are to be interpreted in light of the specification in giving them their ‘broadest reasonable interpretation.'"2111.01 (II).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yutaka [EP 3932164, now Yutaka], (note that a copy of this is included from Patentscope that has paragraph numbers), with Wolters et al. [US20170300064, now Wolters].
Note: the abstract and specification of Yutaka discloses the limitations of the instant application in their broadest reasonable interpretation. Wolters teaches a very similar work assistance device but in some cases teaches individual concepts more clearly.
Claim 1
Yutaka discloses a work assistance device comprising: an input interface to receive input of user-specified information [see at least Yutaka, Abstract (describes a working vehicle with autonomous and remote control features); Fig 2; ¶ 0005 (“remote controller”); describes the features in more detail]; and
a first controller configured or programmed to acquire the information received by the input interface and information relating to an agricultural field in which a working machine performs work, the working machine being operable to perform automatic travel [see at least Yutaka, Fig. 2, 4 descriptions;
¶ 0022 (feature 50 that is showing automatic travel ; 0035 (40-controller); 0040 (100-remote controller)].
wherein the first controller is configured or programmed to:
define, based on the information acquired from the input interface, guide information including (i) position information of a guide point for the working machine to be guided from an automatic travel route to a predetermined position, the automatic travel route being a route to be automatically traveled by the working machine in the agricultural field and (ii) orientation information indicating an orientation of the working machine at the guide point; and output the guide information to the working machine [see at least Yutaka, Fig 5 (50B); ¶ 0042 (traveling state of the tractor/device); 0053 (explains track of the tractor/device); 0043 (R1- reference sign; indicating stop position control -50b and predetermined positions – R1; 53); 0045 (discusses using travel information to help control and output that data); 0014 and 0047 discuss orientation of device).
Wolters teaches these limitations and expresses some of the features/concepts in the language of the instant application. [see at least Wolters, abstract (discusses work vehicle and boundary evaluation and more exacting use of more precise measurements for the contours of the field); Fig. 10 (shows control systems); ¶ 0028 (visualization of the working machine being guided within a field); 0036 (indicates optimal working directions of travel by analyzing fields to improve navigation); 0059 (“interface”)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the working vehicle with controller of Yutaka, with the more specific features like an interface and technology of Wolters. Providing a more efficient and effective, as well as safer, work device/tractor/vehicle to work in an agricultural field.
Claim 2
Yutaka and Wolters disclose/teach the device of Claim 1.
Yutaka further discloses the position information of the guide point is information based on which the working machine is to be guided to a position different from points on the automatic travel route [see at least Yutaka, Fig 5, points 50b, 50c; ¶ 0002 (discusses headland area and boundaries of the field); 0043 (looks at movement of the vehicle and stopping at different positions)].
Wolters teaches guide and using information to direct the vehicle to safe and productive points in the field bases on the information, [see at least Wolters, ¶ 0004].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the working vehicle with controller of Yutaka, with the more specific features like an interface and technology of Wolters. Providing a more efficient and effective, as well as safer, work device/tractor/vehicle to work in an agricultural field.
Claim 3
Yutaka and Wolters disclose/teach the device of Claim 2.
Yutaka further discloses wherein the input interface is operable to receive input of a user-specified position of the guide point [see at least Yutaka, abstract and ¶ 0005 which discuss sending instructions to the device/vehicle/tractor].
Wolters more specifically teaches an interface [0059].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the working vehicle with controller of Yutaka, with the more specific features like an interface and technology of Wolters. Providing a more efficient and effective, as well as safer, work device/tractor/vehicle to work in an agricultural field.
Claim 4
Yutaka and Wolters disclose/teach the device of Claim 3.
Yutaka further discloses the input interface is operable to receive input of, as the guide point, a user-specified position that is within the agricultural field in which the working machine performs work and that is in a vicinity of a contour of the agricultural field [see at least Yutaka, Abstract; 00055 (instructions conveyed).
Wolters more specifically teaches an interface [0059].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the working vehicle with controller of Yutaka, with the more specific features like an interface and technology of Wolters. Providing a more efficient and effective, as well as safer, work device/tractor/vehicle to work in an agricultural field.
Claim 5
Yutaka and Wolters disclose/teach the device of Claim 3.
Yutaka further discloses the first controller is configured or programmed to acquire an off-limits area of the agricultural field, the off-limits area being an area where the working machine is prohibited from traveling, and, when the input interface is to receive the user-specified position of the guide point, cause the input interface to display whether the input interface is allowed to receive the user-specified position of the guide point based on the off-limits area [see at least Yutaka, Fig. 5 (53 the border area or restricted area of the field 50); ¶ 0042 (further describes the use of a border as a no work area for safety); Note that a border area in Yutaka is the same as a prohibited from travel area of the instant claims.].
Wolters teaches a boundary area which can vary depending on the field. [see Abstract; ¶ 0002 (“boundary”); 0011].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the working vehicle with controller of Yutaka, with the more specific features like an interface and technology of Wolters. Providing a more efficient and effective, as well as safer, work device/tractor/vehicle to work in an agricultural field.
Claim 6
Yutaka and Wolters disclose/teach the device of Claim 3.
Yutaka further discloses the first controller is configured or programmed to: acquire an off-limits area of the agricultural field, the off-limits area being an area where the working machine is prohibited from traveling; and when the guide point received by the input interface is located in the off-limits area, perform a redefining process for the guide point [see at least Yutaka, Fig. 5 (53 the border area or restricted area of the field 50); ¶ 0042 (further describes the use of a border as a no work area for safety); Note that a border area in Yutaka is the same as a prohibited from travel area of the instant claims.].
Wolters teaches a boundary area which can vary depending on the field. [see Abstract; ¶ 0002 (“boundary”); 0011].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the working vehicle with controller of Yutaka, with the more specific features like an interface and technology of Wolters. Providing a more efficient and effective, as well as safer, work device/tractor/vehicle to work in an agricultural field.
Claim 7.
Yutaka and Wolters disclose/teach the device of Claim 3.
Yutaka further discloses the first controller is configured or programmed to: acquire an off-limits area of the agricultural field, the off-limits area being an area where the working machine is prohibited from traveling; acquire a vehicle body position of the working machine performing the automatic travel in the agricultural field; and if each of one or more routes connecting the vehicle body position and the guide point passes through the off-limits area, perform a redefining process for the guide point [see at least Yutaka, Fig. 5 (53 the border area or restricted area of the field 50); ¶ 0002 (describes identifying the shape and boarders and headland area of a field); 0042 (further describes the use of a border as a no work area for safety); 0043 (further discloses using borders and headlands to help control a vehicle more safely); Note that a border area in Yutaka is the same as a prohibited from travel area of the instant claims.].
Wolters teaches a boundary area which can vary depending on the field. [see Abstract; ¶ 0002 (“boundary”); 0004 and 0058 (discuss correction of information and path/trajectory); 0011].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the working vehicle with controller of Yutaka, with the more specific features like an interface and technology of Wolters. Providing a more efficient and effective, as well as safer, work device/tractor/vehicle to work in an agricultural field.
Claim 8
Yutaka and Wolters disclose/teach the device of Claim 1.
Yutaka further discloses the first controller is configured or programmed to: acquire a vehicle body position of the working machine performing the automatic travel in the agricultural field; and if an abnormality occurs in the working machine, perform a redefining process for the guide point [see at least Yutaka, ¶ 0002; 0015 (discusses error of an operator); Note that abnormality or error are similar in nature].
Wolters also teaches the concept of adjusting/correcting/redefining the process/path [see at least Wolters, ¶ 0058 (“correct trajectory”)]
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the working vehicle with controller of Yutaka, with the more specific features like an interface and technology of Wolters. Providing a more efficient and effective, as well as safer, work device/tractor/vehicle to work in an agricultural field.
Claim 9
Yutaka and Wolters disclose/teach the device of Claim 6.
Yutaka further discloses the first controller is configured or programmed to, in performing the redefining process, command the input interface to receive re-input of a user-specified guide point and perform the redefining process based on the guide point thus received by the input interface [see at least Yutaka, Abstract; ¶0007 (“the controller stops the remote control traveling of the traveling body even while receiving the traveling instruction from the remote controller”); 0015 ( instructing the machine in the case of an error would be the same as redefining)].
Claim 10
Yutaka and Wolters disclose/teach the device of Claim 8.
Yutaka in general terms discloses/suggests first controller is configured or programmed to: in performing the redefining process, define a new guide point instead of the guide point received by the input interface, the new guide point being a position that is within the agricultural field in which the working machine performs work and that is in a vicinity of a contour of the agricultural field, a travel distance and/or a travel time to the position from the vehicle body position at a time of occurrence of the abnormality being shortest; and redefine guide information based on the new guide point [see at least Yutaka, ¶0002 (describing previous art that accomplish the concept of the instant claims including altering start or guide point].
Wolters also teaches in more detail the limitations [see at least Wolters, ¶0004 (“ generate a detailed work travel path for an entire field.”); 0045 (discusses using the contour of the field for calculations); 0058; 0059 (discusses Fig 10 and the features of guidance/navigation/trajectory planning)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the working vehicle with controller of Yutaka, with the more specific features like an interface and technology of Wolters. Providing a more efficient and effective, as well as safer, work device/tractor/vehicle to work in an agricultural field.
Claim 11
Yutaka and Wolters disclose/teach the device of Claim 1.
Yutaka further discloses The work assistance device according to claim 1, wherein the input interface is operable to receive input of a user-specified portion of a contour of the agricultural field in which the working machine performs work; and the first controller is configured or programmed to acquire a vehicle body position of the working machine performing the automatic travel in the agricultural field and, upon determining that the working machine has completed work in the agricultural field, define, as the guide point, a position within a predetermined distance to the user-specified portion of the contour received by the input interface, a travel distance and/or a travel time to the position from the vehicle body position at a time of completion of work by the working machine being shortest [see at least Yutaka, ¶ 0042 (indicates a gateway to the field to enter and exit the field); 0054 (discusses preferable distances)].
Wolters also teaches these limitations in a more specific way [see at least Wolters, ¶ 0045 (discusses a field centric technique and covers features “such as dog-leg shapes, finger-like shapes, and even oval and contoured shapes are geometric features of a field that provide a challenge when planning complete paths/routes, but are easily addressed by the embodiments hereof.”); 0059 (interface)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the working vehicle with controller of Yutaka, with the more specific features like an interface and technology of Wolters. Providing a more efficient and effective, as well as safer, work device/tractor/vehicle to work in an agricultural field.
Claim 12
Yutaka and Wolters disclose/teach the device of Claim 1.
Yutaka further discloses in general terms the input interface is operable to receive input of a user-specified portion of a contour of the agricultural field in which the working machine performs work; and the first controller is configured or programmed to acquire a vehicle body position of the working machine performing the automatic travel in the agricultural field, and, if an abnormality occurs in the working machine, define, as the guide point, a position within a predetermined distance to the user-specified portion of the contour received by the input interface, a travel distance and/or a travel time to the position from the vehicle body position at a time of occurrence of the abnormality being shortest [see at least Yutaka, abstract, ¶ 0005 (aspects of the invention for controlling an agricultural machine)].
Wolters also teaches most of the features [see at least Wolters, ¶ 0004 (indicates features for field adjustments and “Effectively adjusting the swath width, by enabling or disabling rows, may be impractical when using equipment with a fixed width. Combine equipment with a fixed width, a standing crop, and swath passes that have been adjusted so rows are disabled for less effective width and the problem turns into potentially destroying the standing crop instead of the swath pattern containing point rows.”); 0033 (discusses terminology); 0097 (discusses using field geography and boundary, etc. for determining path/route); 0045 (use of the contour of a field)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the working vehicle with controller of Yutaka, with the more specific features like an interface and technology of Wolters. Providing a more efficient and effective, as well as safer, work device/tractor/vehicle to work in an agricultural field.
Claim 13
Yutaka and Wolters disclose/teach the device of Claim 1.
Yutaka further discloses the first controller is configured or programmed to: acquire a vehicle body position of the working machine performing the automatic travel in the agricultural field; generate a guide route to be automatically traveled by the working machine based on the vehicle body position and the position information and the orientation information about the guide point; and define the guide route as the guide information [see at least Yutaka, Fig. 5; ¶ 0045-0049 (indicates generating a route based on different function of the machine and the location of the machine)].
Wolters also teaches obtaining a position and generating a route based on the information [see at least Wolters, ¶ 0004 (“generate a detailed work travel path for an entire field.”)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the working vehicle with controller of Yutaka, with the more specific features like an interface and technology of Wolters. Providing a more efficient and effective, as well as safer, work device/tractor/vehicle to work in an agricultural field.
Claim 14
Yutaka and Wolters disclose/teach the device of Claim 13.
Yutaka further discloses the first controller is configured or programmed to: generate, based on the vehicle body position and the position information and the orientation information about the guide point, at least one of (i) a first guide route generated such that a travel distance from the vehicle body position to the guide point is as short as possible or (ii) a second guide route generated such that a travel time from the vehicle body position to the guide point is as short as possible; and define, as the guide information, one of the first guide route and the second guide route that is selected via the input interface [see at least Yutaka, abstract; ¶ 0002 (description of determining route); 0004 (route information for specific task determined)].
Wolters more specifically teaches interface [see at least Wolters, ¶ 0059].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the working vehicle with controller of Yutaka, with the more specific features like an interface and technology of Wolters. Providing a more efficient and effective, as well as safer, work device/tractor/vehicle to work in an agricultural field.
Claim 15
Yutaka and Wolters disclose/teach the device of Claim 1.
Yutaka further discloses the input interface is operable to receive input of a user-specified orientation of the working machine at the guide point relative to an edge of the agricultural field; and the first controller is configured or programmed to define the orientation information based on the user-specified orientation received by the input interface [see at least Yutaka, 0045 (discusses remote control of the vehicle, edges/boundaries (R2)); 0047 (“orientation”); 0056].
Wolters more specifically teaches orientation and interface [see at least Wolters, ¶ 0005 (orientation); 0059].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the working vehicle with controller of Yutaka, with the more specific features like an interface and technology of Wolters. Providing a more efficient and effective, as well as safer, work device/tractor/vehicle to work in an agricultural field.
Claim 16
Yutaka and Wolters disclose/teach the device of Claim 1.
Yutaka further discloses the first controller is configured or programmed to define the orientation information such that an entrance/exit of the working machine faces toward an edge of the agricultural field [see at least Yutaka, Fig 5; ¶ 0052; 0062 (final destination and gateway (exit and entrance)].
Wolters more specifically teaches orientation [see at least Wolters, ¶ 0005 (orientation)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the working vehicle with controller of Yutaka, with the more specific features like an interface and technology of Wolters. Providing a more efficient and effective, as well as safer, work device/tractor/vehicle to work in an agricultural field.
Claim 17
Yutaka and Wolters disclose/teach the device of Claim 1.
Yutaka further discloses the first controller is configured or programmed to define, based on a position of a working device attached to a vehicle body of the working machine in an offset manner along a width direction relative to the vehicle body, the orientation information such that an opposite side of the vehicle body from a side to which the working device is offset relative to the vehicle body faces toward an edge of the agricultural field [see at least Yutaka, ¶0055 (width).
Wolters more specifically teaches orientation and other field and machine information [see at least Wolters, Fig. 7; ¶ 0005 (orientation); 0037 (working width)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the working vehicle with controller of Yutaka, with the more specific features like an interface and technology of Wolters. Providing a more efficient and effective, as well as safer, work device/tractor/vehicle to work in an agricultural field.
Claim 18
Yutaka and Wolters disclose/teach the device of Claim 1.
Yutaka further discloses the first controller is configured or programmed to define the orientation information such that a direction of travel of the working machine is oriented toward an entrance/exit of the agricultural field [see at least Yutaka, ¶ 0047 (orientation); 0062 (gateway)].
Wolters also teaches orientation and other field and machine information [see at least Wolters, Fig. 7; ¶ 0005 (orientation); 0035 (entrance area) 0037 (working width)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the working vehicle with controller of Yutaka, with the more specific features like an interface and technology of Wolters. Providing a more efficient and effective, as well as safer, work device/tractor/vehicle to work in an agricultural field.
Claim 19
Yutaka and Wolters disclose/teach the device of Claim 1.
Yutaka further discloses the first controller is configured or programmed to define the orientation information such that a supply portion is directed toward an edge of the agricultural field, the supply portion being provided on the working machine to receive a supply from an external source [see at least Yutaka, 0045 (indicates protect operator)].
Wolters also teaches orientation and other field and machine information [see at least Wolters, ¶ 0052 (discusses specific inputs for and efficiency for route development)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the working vehicle with controller of Yutaka, with the more specific features like an interface and technology of Wolters. Providing a more efficient and effective, as well as safer, work device/tractor/vehicle to work in an agricultural field.
Claim 20
Yutaka and Wolters disclose/teach the device of Claim 1.
Yutaka further discloses a second controller configured or programmed to control the automatic travel; wherein the first controller is configured or programmed to output the guide information to the second controller [see at least Yutaka, Abstract, ¶ 0005; 0006; 0007 (remote control is a second controller)].
Wolters also teaches multiple controllers [see at least Wolters, ¶ 0059-0061 (discusses controller and remote control systems which implies more than one controller)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the working vehicle with controller of Yutaka, with the more specific features like an interface and technology of Wolters. Providing a more efficient and effective, as well as safer, work device/tractor/vehicle to work in an agricultural field.
Claim 21
Claim 21 is the method of Claim 1 and has similar limitations to claim 1, therefore claim 21 is rejected with the same rationale as claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
K. Liu, G. Cheng and Z. Kong, "Beidou agricultural machinery automatic driving software design," 2019 IEEE 4th Advanced Information Technology, Electronic and Automation Control Conference (IAEAC), Chengdu, China, 2019, pp. 1770-1775.
Abstract— As one of the four major navigation systems in the world, Beidou satellite navigation system is a new generation of satellite positioning real-time system independently developed by
China. While improving the level of agricultural production plans, agricultural machinery and equipment must also improve the level of automation and intelligence. The agricultural machinery
automatic driving system assists the agricultural machinery operator in the driving work during the operation, provides the automation level of the agricultural machinery operation, the operation accuracy level, and prolongs the working time, breaking the limitation of the traditional agricultural machinery subject to the weather conditions. The software provides the core in the agricultural machinery automatic driving system. Automatic driving control. It solves the sowing problem of low seeding efficiency, poor consistency and low level of mechanical intelligence in the seeding process of the traditional community planter.
Rovira-Más F. Sensor architecture and task classification for agricultural vehicles and environments. Sensors (Basel). 2010;10(12):11226-47.
Abstract: The long time wish of endowing agricultural vehicles with an increasing degree of autonomy is becoming a reality thanks to two crucial facts: the broad diffusion of global positioning satellite systems and the inexorable progress of computers and electronics. Agricultural vehicles are currently the only self-propelled ground machines commonly integrating commercial automatic navigation systems. Farm equipment manufacturers and satellite-based navigation system providers, in a joint effort, have pushed this technology to unprecedented heights; yet there are many unresolved issues and an unlimited potential still to uncover. The complexity inherent to intelligent vehicles is rooted in the selection and coordination of the optimum sensors, the computer reasoning techniques to process the acquired data, and the resulting control strategies for automatic actuators. The advantageous design of the network of onboard sensors is necessary for the future deployment of advanced agricultural vehicles. This article analyzes a variety of typical environments and situations encountered in agricultural fields, and proposes a sensor architecture especially adapted to cope with them. The strategy proposed groups sensors into four specific subsystems: global localization, feedback control and vehicle pose, non-visual monitoring, and local perception. The designed architecture responds to vital vehicle tasks classified within three layers devoted to safety, operative information, and automatic actuation. The success of this architecture, implemented and tested in various agricultural vehicles over the last decade, rests on its capacity to integrate redundancy and incorporate new technologies in a practical way.
J. Yoshida, S. Okuyama and K. Ito, "Automatic Control Of Agricultural Machines," International Congress on Transportation Electronics,, Dearborn, MI, USA, 1988, pp. 267-275.
Abstract: Studies on productivity improvement in agriculture by automation of agricultural machines have been progressing rapidly in recent years. Some of them are already put into actual use, which are reported in this paper. They deal with automatic control of the working equipment of agricultural
machines. The productivity of agricultural machines is expected to be improved tremendously when the technology of automatic vehicle guidance is put into practical use. As automatic guidance technology, an autonomous guidance system using simple input signals, an autonomous guidance
system using input signals required for control extracted from multiple video information signals, and an externally assisted guidance system using a fixed laser oscillation source have been studied with respect to their properties. As a result, it has been found that selective use of these three
systems according to the job requirements of agricultural machines will attain the above purpose.
/JOAN T GOODBODY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664
(571) 270-7952