DETAILED ACTION
The application of Fabrice Jogand-Coulomb for Time Efficient Border Crossing filed 12/16/24 has been examined. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 USC § 101 because the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a machine readable medium typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signal per ser in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media, particularly when the specification is silent (see MPEP 2111.01). When the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim covers signal per se, the claim must be rejected under 35 U.S.C § 101 as covering non-statutory subject matter. See In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 1356-57 (Fed. Cir. 2007).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7,10-16, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vemury US Patent Application Publication 20210063564.
Regarding claim 1, Vemury teaches a method comprising: receiving, from a mobile device, identity document information over a network before a user reaches a checkpoint (paragraph 018-019); receiving, from the mobile device, mobile device information over the network (paragraph 019-020,040); confirming authenticity of the identity document information; retrieving biometric information associated with the user based on the identity document information (paragraph 04,072); registering the mobile device as an authentication factor (paragraph 0106); transmitting control data to the mobile device, wherein the mobile device is configured to store the control data (paragraph 085); and making the registration record accessible to the checkpoint, wherein the checkpoint is configured to authenticate the mobile device based on the control data and verify identity of the user based on the biometric information (paragraph 087).
Regarding claim 2, Vemury teaches receiving, by the checkpoint, the control data from the mobile device (paragraph 038,050); authenticating the mobile device based on comparing the received control data from the mobile device and the stored control data in the registration record; collecting, by the checkpoint, biometric information from the user (paragraph 033-034,041); and verifying identify of the user based on comparing the collected biometric information and stored biometric information (paragraph 034,041-042).
Regarding claim 3, Vemury teaches the step of collecting comprises extracting, by the checkpoint (paragraph 040), the stored biometric information from the registration record based on authenticating the mobile device; and the step of verifying comprises matching the extracted biometric information with the collected biometric information using a 1:1 matching technique (paragraph 041).
Regarding claim 4, Vemury teaches the identity document information includes a digital travel document (paragraph 040).
Regarding claim 5, Vemury teaches the identity document information includes a token and the token is used to retrieve an identity document from a network storage location (paragraph 20,085).
Regarding claim 6, Vemury teaches the identity document information includes an image of a physical identity document (paragraph 040-041).
Regarding claim 7, Vemury teaches the biometric information is retrieved from a network storage location based on information in the image of the physical identity document (paragraph 040-041).
Regarding claim 10, Vemury teaches an authentication system comprising: a verifier system communicatively couplable to a mobile device and a checkpoint (paragraph 032-033), the verifier system comprising: at least one hardware processor (140, paragraph 044); and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one hardware processor, cause the at least one hardware processor to perform operations comprising: receiving, from the mobile device, identity document information over a network before a user reaches the checkpoint (paragraph 019-020,040); receiving, from the mobile device, mobile device information over the network (paragraph 019-020,040); confirming authenticity of the identity document information (paragraph 04,072);
retrieving biometric information associated with the user based on the identity document information (paragraph 042,0115); registering the mobile device as an authentication factor (paragraph 0106); transmitting control data to the mobile device, wherein the mobile device is configured to store the control data (paragraph 085); and making the registration record accessible to the checkpoint, wherein the checkpoint is configured to authenticate the mobile device based on the control data and verify identity of the user based on the biometric information (paragraph 087) .
Regarding claim 11, Vemury teaches receiving, by the checkpoint, the control data from the mobile device (paragraph 038,050); authenticating the mobile device based on comparing the received control data from the mobile device and the stored control data in the registration record; collecting, by the checkpoint, biometric information from the user (paragraph 033-034,041); and verifying identify of the user based on comparing the collected biometric information and stored biometric information (paragraph 034,041-042).
Regarding claim 12, Vemury teaches the step of collecting comprises extracting, by the checkpoint (paragraph 040), the stored biometric information from the registration record based on authenticating the mobile device; and the step of verifying comprises matching the extracted biometric information with the collected biometric information using a 1:1 matching technique (paragraph 041).
Regarding claim 13, Vemury teaches the identity document information includes a digital travel document (paragraph 040).
Regarding claim 14, Vemury teaches the identity document information includes a token and the token is used to retrieve an identity document from a network storage location (paragraph 20,085).
Regarding claim 15, Vemury teaches the identity document information includes an image of a physical identity document (paragraph 040-041).
Regarding claim 16, Vemury teaches the biometric information is retrieved from a network storage location based on information in the image of the physical identity document (paragraph 040-041).
Regarding claim 19, Vemury teaches a machine readable medium embodying instructions that, when executed by a machine, cause the machine to perform operations comprising: receiving, from a mobile device, identity document information over a network before a user reaches a checkpoint (paragraph 018-019); receiving, from the mobile device, mobile device information over the network (paragraph 019-020,040); confirming authenticity of the identity document information (paragraph 04,072); retrieving biometric information associated with the user based on the identity document information and registering the mobile device as an authentication factor (paragraph 0106); transmitting control data to the mobile device, wherein the mobile device is configured to store the control data (paragraph 085); and making the registration record accessible to the checkpoint, wherein the checkpoint is configured to authenticate the mobile device based on the control data and verify identity of the user based on the biometric information (paragraph 087).
Regarding claim 20, Vemury teaches the operations further comprising: receiving, by the checkpoint, the control data from the mobile device (paragraph 038,050); authenticating the mobile device based on comparing the received control data from the mobile device and the stored control data in the registration record (paragraph 033-034,041); collecting, by the checkpoint, biometric information from the user; and verifying identify of the user based on comparing the collected biometric information and stored biometric information (paragraph 034,041-042).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vemury US Patent Application Publication 20210063564 in view of Griffin US Patent Application Publication 20110213981.
Regarding claims 8-9 and 17-18, Vemury is silent on teaching generating a biometric revocable reference (BRR) based on the retrieved biometric. Griffin in an analogous art teaches generating a biometric revocable reference (BRR) based on the retrieved biometric (paragraph 050). Griffin teaches the checkpoint is configured to perform a biometric match to verify identify of the user based on the BRR received from the mobile device (paragraph 016,038,048)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the system of Vemury as disclosed by Griffin because such modification represents an improvement over the system of Vemury by further restricting access by revocation of the biometric reference when necessary.
Conclusion
/VERNAL U BROWN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686