Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/24/2025, 09/10/2025, and 03/12/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim 1-2, 6-8, 10, 13, 15, 18-19, 24-25, and 28-29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Benson (US 2016/0316118 A1).
5. Regarding claim 1, an information processing apparatus (Benson, in [0064-0071], teaches controller 140; Fig. 4…{control image capture}) comprising:
an outputting unit (Benson, Fig. 4, remote control device 142 initiating an image capture sequence, and controller 140 generating a shutter release signal communicated to camera 104) configured to output an image capture instruction signal instructing that image capturing is performed, to an image capture apparatus (Benson, [0045]…wherein, [0060] specifies, controller 140 generates a shutter release signal for image capturing to a camera 104; [0069] further teaches camera interface 512 (viewed as an outputting unit) which allows controller 140 to communicate to camera 104; Fig. 4…, [0071]);
an obtaining unit (Benson, video camera interface 316) configured to obtain an image capture timing signal indicating a timing for performing image capturing (Benson, [0046], …the coordinated capture sequence and the camera’s capture of three images in rapid succession.) from the image capture apparatus (Benson, [0060-0063]…wherein [0062] teaches data interface 318 for communicating digital data with controller 140; [0060] teaches a shutter controller 312 (viewed as an obtaining unit) which receives shutter release signal; Fig. 3…, [0071], discloses controller synchronization, image capture sequencing, and camera capture timing); and
a control unit (310) configured to perform lighting control of a light source (109, 305) in accordance with the image capture timing signal being obtained (…wherein [0066] teaches a light control interface 506 which allows controller 140 to control the operation of one or more lights (152, 144; as depicted in Fig. 2) wherein the controller 140 synchronizes lighting and camera (104) operations…).
6. Regarding claim 2, Benson teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above), further comprising:
a setting unit configured to set a lighting period of the light source, wherein the control unit (310; [0114]) performs lighting control of the light source based on the set lighting period (…wherein [0066] teaches a light control interface 506 which allows controller 140 to control the operation of one or more lights (152, 144; as depicted in Fig. 2) wherein the controller 140 synchronizes lighting and camera (104) operations. Thus, the combined elements of 140 and 506 are viewed as a setting unit…).
7. Regarding claim 6, Benson teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above), wherein
the outputting unit, the obtaining unit, and the control unit operate in the same apparatus (Benson, [0060]…wherein photography station 102 is viewed to contain the controller 140, data interface…, [0064-0071]).
8. Regarding claim 7, Benson teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above), wherein
the outputting unit (…camera interface 512…) outputs a continuous image capture instruction signal instructing that image capturing is performed a plurality of number of times, as the image capture instruction signal (…wherein Benson, in [0074], teaches image capturing in quick succession…), and
the obtaining unit (…shutter controller 312…) obtains, from the image capture apparatus (…camera 104…), the image capture timing signal each time image capturing that is performed a plurality of number of times is performed (…wherein [0063] teaches data interface 318 for communicating digital data with controller 140; [0060] teaches a shutter controller 312 (viewed as an obtaining unit and contained within camera 104) which receives shutter release signal; Fig. 3…).
9. Regarding claim 8, Benson teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 7 (see claim 7 above), wherein
the control unit performs lighting control of the light source such that a continuous lighting period of the light source does not exceed an interval of the image capturing that is performed a plurality of number of times (…wherein with regards to Fig. 6, [0074] teaches image capturing wherein images 612, 614, and 616 depict synchronized operation of lighting and image capturing in which a lighting period of image 612 is different from a lighting period of 614…).
10. Regarding claim 10, Benson teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 7 (see claim 7 above), wherein
the outputting unit further outputs a signal for stopping the image capturing to the image capture apparatus in accordance with the number of times the obtaining unit received the image capture timing signal (…wherein [0060] specifies, controller 140 generating shutter release signal for image capturing to a camera 104 [0077] teaches intervals between image captures of specific timing…).
11. Regarding claim 13, Benson teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above), wherein
the control unit performs control so as to turn on a plurality of light sources in a predetermined order (…[0071], [0074] teach the use of illumination lights 144 and 152, for lighting a background and a subject in a particular order; Fig. 6…), and
the outputting unit outputs the image capture instruction signal instructing that the image capture apparatus performs image capturing a plurality of number of times under control relating to the order in which the light sources are turned on (…wherein [0071] image capturing (Fig. 6) is synchronized illumination lights 144 and 152…).
12. Regarding claim 15, Benson teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 13 (see claim 13 above), wherein
the control unit controls a lighting period of each light source included in the plurality of light sources (…wherein [0066] teaches a light control interface 506 which allows controller 140 to control the operation of one or more lights (152, 144; as depicted in Fig. 2) wherein the controller 140 synchronizes lighting and camera (104) operations…).
13. Regarding claim 18, teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 13 (see claim 13 above) wherein
the control unit controls a delay time in light emission of each light source included in the plurality of light sources (…wherein Benson, in [0074-0077] teaches the operation of image capturing relative to cycling background lighting and subject lighting; wherein the cycling between different light sources is viewed as teaching a delay. Further, Benson teaches different durations between image capturing; as such these are viewed as delays…).
14. Regarding claim 19, teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 13 (see claim 13 above), further comprising
a setting unit configured to set the predetermined order of lighting of the plurality of light sources (…wherein Benson, in [0074, teaches a particular order of lighting the background illumination and subject illumination…).
15. Regarding claim 24, Benson teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above), wherein
the control unit performs control such that the same light source is turned on a plurality of number of times (…wherein Benson, in [0074], teaches background-illumination light being used a plurality of times…), and
the outputting unit outputs the image capture instruction signal instructing that the image capture apparatus performs image capturing a plurality of number of times in accordance with control of lighting of the same light source that is performed a plurality of number of times (…wherein, [0060] specifies, controller 140 generates a shutter release signal for image capturing to a camera 104; [0069] further teaches camera interface 512 (viewed as an outputting unit) which allows controller 140 to communicate to camera 104; Fig. 4…).
16. Regarding claim 25, Benson teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 24 (see claim 25 above), wherein
the control unit controls a plurality of number of times of lighting of the same light source so as to control a lighting period for each lighting timing (…wherein [0066] teaches a light control interface 506 which allows controller 140 to control the operation of one or more lights (152, 144; as depicted in Fig. 2) wherein the controller 140 synchronizes lighting and camera (104) operations. Wherein an image period is viewed to correspond to the image sequence and timing that is specified in [0074-0077]…).
17. Regarding claim 28, claim 28 is rejected for reasons related to claim 1.
18. Regarding claim 29, a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium
storing a program (….Benson, in [0083], teaches storage device 214 for storing computer readable instructions including application programs…) which,
when executed by a computer (…[0080] teaches computing device 200; Fig. 7…) comprising
a processor (…[0080] teaches processing device 202; Fig. 7…) and
memory (…[0080] teaches system memory 204; Fig. 7…), causes the computer to:
output an image capture instruction signal instructing that image capturing is performed, to an image capture apparatus (…wherein, [0060] specifies, controller 140 generates a shutter release signal for image capturing to a camera 104; [0069] further teaches camera interface 512 (viewed as an outputting unit) which allows controller 140 to communicate to camera 104; Fig. 4…);
obtain an image capture timing signal indicating a timing for performing image capturing, from the image capture apparatus (…wherein [0063] teaches data interface 318 for communicating digital data with controller 140; [0060] teaches a shutter controller 312 (viewed as an obtaining unit) which receives shutter release signal; Fig. 3…); and
perform lighting control of a light source in accordance with the image capture timing signal being obtained (…wherein [0066] teaches a light control interface 506 which allows controller 140 to control the operation of one or more lights (152, 144; as depicted in Fig. 2) wherein the controller 140 synchronizes lighting and camera (104) operations…).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
20. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benson (US 2020/0404132 A1) in view of Johannessen et al. (US 2019/0174042 A1).
21. Regarding claim 3, Benson teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above).
Benson doesn’t further teach wherein
the control unit performs lighting control of the light source to keep the light source on for a longer time than an exposure period of the image capturing (…however, Johannessen teaches a camera and light synchronization system wherein [0046], in accordance with Fig. 5, teaches an LED lighting cycle in comparison to image capturing cycles, wherein the LED lighting is always.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that a lighting system as taught by Johannessen can be implemented through Benson’s taught controller, wherein a constant provision of lighting during image capture helps avoid image flickering…).
22. Claims 4, 5, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benson (US 2020/0404132 A1) in view of Takayama et al. (US 2002/0101532 A1).
23. Regarding claim 4, Benson teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1 (see claim 1 above), wherein
the outputting unit (…camera interface 512…) outputs the image capture instruction signal to the image capture apparatus (…camera 104…) by controlling a current-carrying state of a terminal that transmits the image capture instruction signal (…wherein, [0060] specifies, controller 140 generates a shutter release signal for image capturing to a camera 104; [0070] further teaches camera interface 512 (viewed as an outputting unit) which allows controller 140 to communicate to camera 104 through data interfacing.
Benson doesn’t further specify controlling a current-carrying state of a terminal which transmits the image capturing instruction signal.
However, Takayama teaches an image capturing apparatus wherein [0159-0160] teach ports (terminals) TRG1 and TRG2 as part of a timing-signal generator 51 for transmitting exposure control signals; wherein exposure operation is started and completed at a timing of a rising and falling transition of trigger pulse TRG1 (current-carrying state of a terminal) and exposure operation is ended when trigger pulse TRG2 shifts from low to high between the rising and falling transition of trigger pulse TRG1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement an image capturing instruction ,as taught in the teaching of Takayama, in the invention as taught by Benson, wherein exposure related timings can particularly be set in operation modes that can be stored in a timing-signal generator…).
24. Regarding claim 5, teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 1 (see claim1 above), wherein
the obtaining unit (…shutter controller 312…) obtains the image capture timing signal by controlling a current-carrying state of a terminal that receives the image capture timing signal (…Benson, in [0061], teaches controller 140 as generating a shutter release signal communicated the shutter controller 312.
Further, Takayama, in [0161], teaches the turning on of Q2 (see Fig. 1) by changing a status of control-signal RG1 outputted from timing-signal generator 51.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement an image capturing instruction ,as taught in the teaching of Takayama, in the invention as taught by Benson, wherein exposure related timings can particularly be set in operation modes that can be stored in a timing-signal generator…).
25. Regarding claim 9, the information processing apparatus according to claim 7 (see claim 7 above), wherein
the outputting unit outputs the image capture instruction signal to the image capture apparatus by controlling a current-carrying state of a terminal that transmits the continuous image capture instruction signal (…wherein, [0061] specifies, controller 140 generates a shutter release signal for image capturing to a camera 104; [0070] further teaches camera interface 512 (viewed as an outputting unit) which allows controller 140 to communicate to camera 104 through data interfacing.
Benson doesn’t further specify controlling a current-carrying state of a terminal which transmits the image capturing instruction signal.
However, Takayama teaches an image capturing apparatus wherein [0159-0160] teach ports (terminals) TRG1 and TRG2 as part of a timing-signal generator 51 for transmitting exposure control signals; wherein exposure operation is started and completed at a timing of a rising and falling transition of trigger pulse TRG1 (current-carrying state of a terminal) and exposure operation is ended when trigger pulse TRG2 shifts from low to high between the rising and falling transition of trigger pulse TRG1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement an image capturing instruction ,as taught in the teaching of Takayama, in the invention as taught by Benson, wherein exposure related timings can particularly be set in operation modes that can be stored in a timing-signal generator…).
26. Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benson (US 2020/0404132 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US 2012/0169893 A1).
27. Regarding claim 11, Benson teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 10 (see claim 10 above).
Benson doesn’t further teach wherein,
in a case where the number of times the obtaining unit obtained the image capture timing signal exceeds a predetermined number of times, the outputting unit outputs the signal for stopping the image capturing (…however, Lee teaches an image capturing device wherein [0034] teaches a processing module 12 which generates a stop signal for image capturing when different conditions are met. Wherein [0033] teaches module 12 for controlling an image capture module 10 to capture a plurality of temporary images so to sequentially analyze; [0034] further teaches that a trigger signal (based on user operation) for generating a stop signal.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the generation of a stop signal so to stop image capturing, as taught by Lee, can be implemented in an image capturing device so that captured images can be analyzed in a grouped manner for further image processing…).
28. Regarding claim 12, teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 10 (see claim 10 above).
Benson doesn’t further teach wherein
the outputting unit outputs the signal for stopping the image capturing at a timing when a predetermined time has elapsed from a timepoint when the number of times the obtaining unit received the image capture timing signal has exceeded the predetermined number of times (…however, Lee teaches an image capturing device wherein [0034] teaches a processing module 12 which generates a stop signal for image capturing when different conditions are met. As such, when a total sampling time in which a plurality of images are integrated is larger than an initial exposure time, a stop signal is generated by module 12.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the generation of a stop signal so to stop image capturing, as taught by Lee, can be implemented in an image capturing device so that captured images can be analyzed in a grouped manner for further image processing…).
29. Claims 14, 16-17, 20-23, and 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benson (US 2020/0404132 A1) in view of Matsuda et al. (US 2017/0315062 A1).
30. Regarding claim 14, Benson teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 13 (see claim 13 above).
Benson doesn’t further teach wherein
the control unit turns on light sources in a first group included in the plurality of light sources at different timings (…however Matsuda teaches a system including an illumination device and an imaging device of synchronized operation ([0035]; wherein [0017] teaches light emitters L1-L8 (L-group), M1-M8 (M-group), and H1-H4 (H-group); as such [0021] teaches a mode of operation wherein light emitters illuminate in sequential order…), and
turns on light sources in a second group included in the plurality of light source at the same time (…wherein [0023] teaches a mode of operation in which light emitters of the L-group and M-group operate at the same time.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that different light groups of different wavelength, as taught by Matsuda, can be used thus to illuminate a subject of image capturing with different lightings so to detect particular characteristics in a subject…).
31. Regarding claim 16, Benson teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 13 (see claim 13 above).
Benson doesn’t teach wherein
the control unit controls light emission intensity of lighting of each light source included in the plurality of light sources (…however, Matsuda teaches a controller 1004 which controls the amount of light and timing of light emission of each individual LED.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that different light groups of different wavelength, as taught by Matsuda, can be used thus to illuminate a subject of image capturing with different lightings so to detect particular characteristics in a subject…).
32. Regarding claim 17, Benson teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 13 (see claim 13 above).
Benson doesn’t teach wherein
the control unit controls a light emission color of lighting of each light source included in the plurality of light sources (…wherein, Matsuda, in [0023], teaches a mode of operation in which only blue light emitting emitters from the different lighting groups are used.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that different light groups of different wavelength, as taught by Matsuda, can be used thus to illuminate a subject of image capturing with different lightings so to detect particular characteristics in a subject…).
33. Regarding claim 20, teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 13 (see claim 13 above). Benson doesn’t further teach the information processing apparatus comprising
a first inspection unit (316) configured to inspect a color or shape of a subject based on a plurality of images captured through the image capturing that is performed a plurality of number of times (…however, Matsuda, in [0024], teaches processor 15 which performs a color defect determination by capturing different images using different lights of different wavelengths.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that different wavelength lights in accordance with synchronized image capturing can be used to perform color defect detection as taught by Matsuda…).
34. Regarding claim 21, Benson teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 13 (see claim 13 above).
Benson doesn’t further teach the information processing apparatus further comprising
a second inspection unit (317) configured to inspect gloss of a subject based on a plurality of images captured through the image capturing that is performed a plurality of number of times (…however, Matsuda, in [0039-0041], teaches an inspection apparatus including an illumination device and an imaging device which operate in a synchronized manner wherein the apparatus inspects a surface of a work which may have defects, as such a two-uniformity of optical reflection characteristics that depend on surface roughness, components, or film thickness of a surface (these are viewed as gloss). Image capturing is performed as per the illumination device illuminating an object under different illumination conditions (bright field illumination/dark field illumination)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that different wavelength lights in accordance with synchronized image capturing can be used to perform color defect detection as taught by Matsuda…).
35. Regarding claim 22, Benson teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 13 (see claim 13 above).
Benson doesn’t further teach the information processing apparatus further comprising wherein
the control unit further control a light source to be turned on from among the plurality of light sources, in accordance with the number of times the obtaining unit obtained the image capture timing signal (…however, Matsuda, in [0029], teaches a mode of operation wherein if an illumination distribution on a work is regarded uniform one light emitter is used for image capturing (from a plurality of light sources).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that different wavelength lights in accordance with synchronized image capturing can be used to perform color defect detection as taught by Matsuda…).
36. Regarding claim 23, Benson in view of Matsuda teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 22 (see claim 22 above), wherein
the control unit controls output of a signal from a terminal corresponding to light source to be turned on from among the plurality of light sources, thereby performing lighting control of the light source (…however, Matsuda, in [0029], teaches a mode of operation wherein if an illumination distribution on a work is regarded uniform one light emitter is used for image capturing from a plurality of light sources. [0034] teaches controller 18 for implementing the mode of operation wherein an LED unit can control each light emitting element to emit light.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that different wavelength lights in accordance with synchronized image capturing can be used to perform color defect detection as taught by Matsuda…).
37. Regarding claim 26, Benson teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 24 (see claim 24 above), wherein
the control unit controls a plurality of number of times of lighting of the same light source so as to control light emission intensity of lighting for each lighting timing (…wherein Benson, in [0067], teaches a light control interface 506 which allows controller 140 to control the operation of one or more lights (152, 144; as depicted in Fig. 2) wherein the controller 140 synchronizes lighting and camera (104) operations. Wherein an image period is viewed to correspond to the image sequence and timing that is specified in [0075-0078]; Matsuda, further, teaches a controller 1004 which controls the amount of light and timing of light emission of each individual LED.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that different light groups of different wavelength, as taught by Matsuda, can be used thus to illuminate a subject of image capturing with different lightings so to detect particular characteristics in an object of imaging…) .
38. Regarding claim 27, teaches the information processing apparatus according to claim 24 (see claim 24 above), wherein
the control unit performs lighting control of the same light source that is performed a plurality of number of times so as to control a light emission color of lighting for each lighting timing (…Matsuda, in [0023], teaches a mode of operation in which only blue light emitting emitters from the different lighting groups are used.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that different light groups of different wavelength, as taught by Matsuda, can be used thus to illuminate a subject of image capturing with different lightings so to detect particular characteristics in a subject…).
Conclusion
/SURAFEL YILMAKASSAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2639
/TWYLER L HASKINS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2639