DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, “acquiring sensor information measured by one or more sensors inside the…..”. Then again claim 1 recites, “….. the sensor information indicating at least one condition of the ………..”
The phrase, “….. the sensor information indicating at least one condition of the ………..” lacks antecedent basis.
Claims 14, 15, 16, are rejected similar to claim 1.
The rest of the claims are rejected for depending on a rejected base claim.
Furthermore, claim 17 is incomplete. Claim 17 recites, “….select a combination that minimizes a total number of robots.” It is not clear what combination is being referred to here. Is it a combination of work orders, a combination of pickup and stop locations, a combination of vehicles? It is also not clear what all is meant and encompassed by, “minimizes a total number of robots”. How much is considered as “minimized”? It is not clear which robots are being referred to in the claim.
Claim 17 and 18 each recites, “select one or more robots or “select robots” respectively. Are these robots different from the ones that are recited in claim 1 or they are robots selected from the group of robots in claim 1?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christman (US 2024/0181645) in view of Chen (US pub 2022/0269286).
Regarding claim 1, Christman discloses an information processing apparatus (figs. 1-7; abstract; sec 0031-0035) comprising:
a computer or controller that controls a group of robots to provide labor {control of Autonomous Mobile Robots (AMR’s), autonomously navigated vehicles and/or mobile robots using computer, servers, warehouse management systems; sec 0007, 0051, 0054, 0055);
one or more memories storing instructions (sec 0031, 0063, 0067, 0068); and
one or more processors executing the instructions (sec 0063, 0067, 0068, 0078) to:
acquire a request for provision of labor in a specified environment (sec 0037, 0048, 0078, 0083, 0085, etc);
acquire sensor information measured by one or more sensors inside the environment (sec 0062, 0065);
acquire information on a candidate group of robots that provide the labor (sec 0034, 0051, 0063, 0065, 0076, 0079); and
select a first robot group OF ROBOTS FROM THE CNADIDATE GROUP OF ROBOTS that includes one or more robots capable of providing the labor from the candidate group based on the request and the sensor information (sec 0078-0084).
Christman did not particularly indicate that the sensor information indicates at least one condition of the specified environment for determining whether each robot is operable in the specified environment.
However, Chen teaches of an information processing apparatus wherein one or more processors executing the instructions (sec 0046-0049) to:
acquire a request for provision of labor in a specified environment (sec 0159, 0160);
acquire a request for provision of labor in a specified environment (sec 0159, 0160, 0211, 0285);
acquire sensor information measured by one or more sensors inside the environment (sec 0062, 0065);
acquire information on a candidate group of robots that provide the labor (sec 0034, 0035, 0051, 0063, 0065, 0076, 0079); and
select a first robot group OF ROBOTS FROM A CNADIDATE GROUP OF ROBOTS that includes one or more robots capable of providing the labor from the candidate group based on the request and the sensor information (sec 0049, 0050, 0055, 0057-0060, 0159, 0160, 0211, 0285), wherein the sensor information indicates at least one condition of the specified environment for determining whether each robot is operable in the specified environment (sec 0061-0070).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to on having ordinary skill in the art the the time the invention was made to modify Christman select robots for a particular task based on sensor data of an environment and based on as whether each robot is operable in the specified environment as taught by Chen. Such modification of Christman by Chen will improve the Christman device for efficiency and lowering of cost in managing a fleet of robots or vehicles.
Regarding claim 2, Christman discloses the information processing apparatus according to Claim1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to display information related to the selected first robot group on a display unit (sec 0048, 0054, 0080, 0083).
Regarding claim 3, Christman discloses the information processing apparatus according to Claim1, wherein when selecting the first robot group, a provision efficiency of the labor of a robot of the candidate group is used as a criterion for the selection (sec 0037, 0039, 0050, 0053, 0079, 0080).
Regarding claim 4, Christman discloses the information processing apparatus according to Claim1, wherein when selecting the first robot group, measurement accuracy of self-position and/or orientation of a robot of the candidate group in the environment is used as a criterion for the selection (sec 0060, 0064, 0079, 0080).
Regarding claim 5, Christman discloses the information processing apparatus according to Claim1, wherein when selecting the first robot group, an amount of work or a cost of the labor is used as a criterion for the selection (sec 0037, 0039, 0050, 0053, 0079, 0080).
Regarding claim 6, Christman discloses the information processing apparatus according to Claim1, wherein the request includes information on a time limit of provision of the labor, and when selecting the first robot group, the first robot group capable of executing the labor within the time limit is selected based on an amount of work (job is trigged to start at step at step 412 and ends at step 416 of fig. 1; sec 0048, 0050, 0053, 0079, 0080).
Regarding claim 7, Christman discloses the information processing apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to generate work data to be used by any robot of the first robot group for providing the labor in the environment based on the sensor information (sec 0037, 0039, 0050, 0053, 0062, 0065, 0079, 0080).
Regarding claim 8, Christman discloses the information processing apparatus according to Claim 7, wherein the work data includes map data for any robot of the first robot group to measure self- position and/or orientation in the environment (sec 0060, 0064, 0078-0080).
Regarding claim 9, Christman discloses the information processing apparatus according to Claim 7, wherein the work data includes parameters of sensors mounted on robots of the first robot group (sec 0037, 0039, 0050, 0053, 0062, 0065, 0079, 0080).
Regarding claim 10, Christman discloses the information processing apparatus according to Claim1, wherein any robot of the first robot group has mounted thereon a sensor corresponding to at least one of the one or more sensors (sec 0037, 0039, 0050, 0053, 0062, 0065, 0079, 0080).
Regarding claim 11, Christman discloses the information processing apparatus according to Claim1, wherein when selecting the first robot group, in a case in which the sensor information is insufficient as a criterion for selection, an apparatus having the sensor mounted thereon or a predetermined user is notified of the necessity of additional sensor information (fault or failure and then alarm and then what robot to select; sec 0074, 0079-0081).
Regarding claim 12, Christman discloses the information processing apparatus according to Claim 11, wherein the notification includes information related to a content of the sensor information that needs to be added (fault or failure of a sensor implies sensor needs to provide unfaulty information else there is alarm and then decision on what robot to select; sec 0074, 0079-0081).
Regarding claim 13, Christman discloses the information processing apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein when selecting the first robot group, in a case in which no combination of robots selectable as the first robot group exists in the candidate group, a condition necessary for any combination of robots in the candidate group to become capable of providing the labor is notified to a predetermined user (fault or failure of robot and robot is not selected and then alarm and then other capable robots are selected; sec 0074, 0079-0081).
Regarding claim 14, Christman discloses an information processing system (figs. 1-7; abstract; sec 0031-0035) comprising:
a computer or controller that controls a group of robots to provide labor {control of Autonomous Mobile Robots (AMR’s), autonomously navigated vehicles and/or mobile robots using computer, servers, warehouse management systems; sec 0007, 0051, 0054, 0055);
one or more memories storing instructions (sec 0031, 0063, 0067, 0068); and
one or more processors executing the instructions (sec 0063, 0067, 0068, 0078) to:
transmit a request for provision of labor in a specified environment by means of a user terminal (sec 0037, 0048, 0078, 0083, 0085, etc);
acquire the request transmitted by the user terminal (sec 0037, 0048, 0078, 0083, 0085, etc);
acquire sensor information measured by one or more sensors inside the environment (sec 0062, 0065);
acquire information on a candidate group of robots that provide the labor (sec 0034, 0063, 0065, 0076, 0079); and
select a first robot group OF ROBOTS FROM THE CNADIDATE GROUP OF ROBOTS that includes one or more robots capable of providing the labor from the candidate group based on the request and the sensor information (sec 0078-0084).
Christman did not particularly indicate that the sensor information indicates at least one condition of the specified environment for determining whether each robot is operable in the specified environment.
However, Chen teaches of an information processing apparatus wherein one or more processors executing the instructions (sec 0046-0049) to:
acquire a request for provision of labor in a specified environment (sec 0159, 0160);
acquire a request for provision of labor in a specified environment (sec 0159, 0160, 0211, 0285);
acquire sensor information measured by one or more sensors inside the environment (sec 0062, 0065);
acquire information on a candidate group of robots that provide the labor (sec 0034, 0035, 0051, 0063, 0065, 0076, 0079); and
select a first robot group OF ROBOTS FROM THE CNADIDATE GROUP OF ROBOTS that includes one or more robots capable of providing the labor from the candidate group based on the request and the sensor information (sec 0049, 0050, 0055, 0057-0060, 0159, 0160, 0211, 0285), wherein the sensor information indicates at least one condition of the specified environment for determining whether each robot is operable in the specified environment (sec 0061-0070).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to on having ordinary skill in the art the the time the invention was made to modify Christman select robots for a particular task based on sensor data of an environment and based on as whether each robot is operable in the specified environment as taught by Chen. Such modification of Christman by Chen will improve the Christman device for efficiency and lowering of cost in managing a fleet of robots or vehicles.
Regarding claim 15, Christman discloses an information processing method (figs. 1-7; abstract; sec 0031-0035) comprising:
a computer or controller that controls a group of robots to provide labor {control of Autonomous Mobile Robots (AMR’s), autonomously navigated vehicles and/or mobile robots using computer, servers, warehouse management systems; sec 0007, 0051, 0054, 0055);
acquiring a request for provision of labor in a specified environment (sec 0037, 0048, 0078, 0083, 0085, etc);
acquiring sensor information measured by one or more sensors inside the environment (sec 0062, 0065);
acquiring information on a candidate group of robots that provide the labor (sec 0034, 0063, 0065, 0076, 0079); and
select a first robot group OF ROBOTS FROM THE CNADIDATE GROUP OF ROBOTS that includes one or more robots capable of providing the labor from the candidate group based on the request and the sensor information (sec 0078-0084).
Christman did not particularly indicate that the sensor information indicates at least one condition of the specified environment for determining whether each robot is operable in the specified environment.
However, Chen teaches of an information processing apparatus wherein one or more processors executing the instructions (sec 0046-0049) to:
acquire a request for provision of labor in a specified environment (sec 0159, 0160);
acquire a request for provision of labor in a specified environment (sec 0159, 0160, 0211, 0285);
acquire sensor information measured by one or more sensors inside the environment (sec 0062, 0065);
acquire information on a candidate group of robots that provide the labor (sec 0034, 0035, 0051, 0063, 0065, 0076, 0079); and
select a first robot group OF ROBOTS FROM THE CNADIDATE GROUP OF ROBOTS that includes one or more robots capable of providing the labor from the candidate group based on the request and the sensor information (sec 0049, 0050, 0055, 0057-0060, 0159, 0160, 0211, 0285), wherein the sensor information indicates at least one condition of the specified environment for determining whether each robot is operable in the specified environment (sec 0061-0070).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to on having ordinary skill in the art the the time the invention was made to modify Christman select robots for a particular task based on sensor data of an environment and based on as whether each robot is operable in the specified environment as taught by Chen. Such modification of Christman by Chen will improve the Christman device for efficiency and lowering of cost in managing a fleet of robots or vehicles.
Regarding claim 16, Christman discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program including instructions (sec 0063, 0067, 0068, 0078) for executing following processes:
a computer or controller that controls a group of robots to provide labor {control of Autonomous Mobile Robots (AMR’s), autonomously navigated vehicles and/or mobile robots using computer, servers, warehouse management systems; sec 0007, 0051, 0054, 0055);
acquiring a request for provision of labor in a specified environment (sec 0037, 0048, 0078, 0083, 0085, etc);
acquiring sensor information measured by one or more sensors inside the environment (sec 0062, 0065);
acquiring information on a candidate group of robots that provide the labor (sec 0034, 0063, 0065, 0076, 0079); and
select a first robot group OF ROBOTS FROM THE CNADIDATE GROUP OF ROBOTS that includes one or more robots capable of providing the labor from the candidate group based on the request and the sensor information (sec 0078-0084).
Christman did not particularly indicate that the sensor information indicates at least one condition of the specified environment for determining whether each robot is operable in the specified environment.
However, Chen teaches of an information processing apparatus wherein one or more processors executing the instructions (sec 0046-0049) to:
acquire a request for provision of labor in a specified environment (sec 0159, 0160);
acquire a request for provision of labor in a specified environment (sec 0159, 0160, 0211, 0285);
acquire sensor information measured by one or more sensors inside the environment (sec 0062, 0065);
acquire information on a candidate group of robots that provide the labor (sec 0034, 0035, 0051, 0063, 0065, 0076, 0079); and
select a first robot group OF ROBOTS FROM THE CNADIDATE GROUP OF ROBOTS that includes one or more robots capable of providing the labor from the candidate group based on the request and the sensor information (sec 0049, 0050, 0055, 0057-0060, 0159, 0160, 0211, 0285), wherein the sensor information indicates at least one condition of the specified environment for determining whether each robot is operable in the specified environment (sec 0061-0070).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to on having ordinary skill in the art the the time the invention was made to modify Christman select robots for a particular task based on sensor data of an environment and based on as whether each robot is operable in the specified environment as taught by Chen. Such modification of Christman by Chen will improve the Christman device for efficiency and lowering of cost in managing a fleet of robots or vehicles.
Regarding claim 17, Christman discloses the information processing apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to select one or more robots capable of providing the labor for each region of the environment, and select the first group of robots such that a combination of the selected first group of robots is minimized compared to the first group of robots providing the labor, wherein the labor comprises working by the selected first group (sec 0078-0084).
Regarding claim 18, Christman discloses the information processing apparatus according to Claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to execute the instructions to preferentially select THE first robot group OF ROBOTS FROM THE CNADIDATE GROUP OF ROBOTS SUCH THAT THE SELECTED GROUP OF robots can be selected TO PERFROM LABOR in a plurality of regions of the environment (sec 0078-0084).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/RONNIE M MANCHO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657