DETAILED ACTION
In view of the amended appeal brief filed on 8/10/2026 and Declaration filed 5/1/2026, PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. New grounds of rejection are set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below:
/Robert A Wax/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1615
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 3-19, 21-31, 33-37 and 39-63 remain pending in the application. Claims 10-18 and 42-62 stand withdrawn from further consideration, without traverse. Claims 1, 3-9, 19, 21-31, 33-37, 39-41 and 63 are currently under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification (e.g., [0020]-[0029] and [0033]-[0038]) is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
New/Maintained Rejections
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous Office Actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Specification
The disclosure stands objected to because of the following informalities: [0189] of the instant specification recites, “When used herein, “low viscosity” means 200 cps to 1,000,000 cps at 25°”. The temperature units are not recited. However, it appears to be an obvious error. It is suggested that the units (°C) are added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-19, 21-25, 27-31, 33, 34, 37, 39, 40 and 63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, “continuous, uninterrupted immobilized water”. The instant specification does not clarify the meaning of said phrase and said phrase is not recognized by the art. The plain meaning of “continuous” is something that occurs over space or time without interruption. The plain meaning of “uninterrupted” is undisturbed continuity. The plain meaning of “immobilized” is to hold fast or prevent from moving. The terms “continuous” and “immobilized” are contradictory to one another and, thus, said phrase is indefinite.
Claim 3 recites, “long fibers” in line 5 of the claim. The term “long” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “long” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 6 recites, “wherein said hydrogel is prepared using a low viscosity”. The claim is indefinite because it is unclear what the phrase “low viscosity” is describing.
Claim 9 recites, “and combinations of i) to x) in combination with...”. Roman numeral “i” has been deleted from the claim and, as such, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 27 recites, “hydrogel” in the 2nd line of the claim. Claim 27 depends from claim 26. Claim 26 does not recite the word “hydrogel”. Thus, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 28 recites, “hydrogel” in the 2nd line of the claim. Claim 28 depends from claim 26. Claim 26 does not recite the word “hydrogel”. Thus, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 29 recites, “hydrogel” in the 2nd line of the claim. Claim 29 depends from claim 26. Claim 26 does not recite the word “hydrogel”. Thus, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 30 recites, “hydrogel” in the 2nd line of the claim. Claim 30 depends from claim 26. Claim 26 does not recite the word “hydrogel”. Thus, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 31 recites, “hydrogel” in the 2nd line of the claim. Claim 31 depends from claim 26. Claim 26 does not recite the word “hydrogel”. Thus, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 33 recites, “hydrogel” in the 2nd line of the claim. Claim 33 depends from claim 26. Claim 26 does not recite the word “hydrogel”. Thus, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 34 recites that the physically crosslinked polyvinyl alcohol water-free solid as claimed in claim 26 containing 1% or less of water. Claim 26 sets out that the solid is water free, however claim 34 attempts allow for up to 1% water. The claim is indefinite because it is unclear whether water is or is not permitted.
Claim 37 recites, “hydrogel” in the 2nd line of the claim. Claim 37 depends from claim 26. Claim 26 does not recite the word “hydrogel”. Thus, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 37 recites, “wherein said water-free solid is prepared using a low viscosity”. The claim is indefinite because it is unclear what the phrase “low viscosity” is describing.
Claim 39 recites, “The physically crosslinked polyvinyl alcohol water-free solid as claimed in claim 26 wherein said mixed solvents are selected from the group consisting of: dimethylsulfoxide, glycerin, ethyl alcohol, propanol, butanediol, poly(ethylene glycol), propylene glycol, poly(propylene glycol), triethylene glycol, said mixed solvent being mixed with water in the range of 2 weight percent water to 98 percent water”. Claim 26 sets out that the solid is water free, however claim 39 attempts to add water. The claim is indefinite because it is unclear whether water is or is not permitted.
Claim 40 recites, “water-free” as well as “has been hydrated with water” which are contradictory phrases. The claim is indefinite because it is unclear whether water is or is not permitted.
Claim 63 recites, “continuous, uninterrupted immobilized water”. The instant specification does not clarify the meaning of said phrase and the . The plain meaning of “continuous” is something that occurs over space or time without interruption. The plain meaning of “uninterrupted” is undisturbed continuity. The plain meaning of “immobilized” is to hold fast or prevent from moving. The terms “continuous” and “immobilized” are contradictory to one another and, thus, said phrase is indefinite.
Dependent claims 3-9, 19 and 21-25 do not remedy the indefinite issues and as such said dependent claims suffer from the same deficiency.
Claims 9 and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 9 recites, “wherein said mixed solvents are selected from... in combination with the range of 2 weight percent water to 98 percent water”. Claim 9 depends from claim 1. Claim 1 sets outs that the hydrogel contains at least 88% by weight water content, however claim 9 attempts broaden the scope of the claim and allow for 2% to 98% water. Thus, the claim does not properly further limit the subject matter of claim 1.
Claim 34 recites that the physically crosslinked polyvinyl alcohol water-free solid as claimed in claim 26 containing 1% or less of water. Claim 26 sets out that the solid is water free, however claim 34 attempts broaden the scope of the claim and allow for up to 1% water. Thus, the claim does not properly further limit the subject matter of claim 26.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-9, 21 and 63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha et al. (“Transparent poly(vinyl alcohol) hydrogel with high water content and high strength”, Makromol. Chem. 193, 1913-1925 (1992); hereafter as “Cha”).
Claim 1 is drawn to a physically crosslinked polyvinyl alcohol hydrogel prepared using mixed solvents, containing continuous, uninterrupted immobilized water, said hydrogels having at least 88% by weight water content or higher and a syndiotacticity of 50% or greater.
Regarding instant claim 1, Cha teaches a transparent poly(vinyl alcohol) (PVA) hydrogel made with mixed solvents (water and organic solvent), the hydrogel with high water content and high strength (abstract). Cha teaches that the strength and transparency of the PVA hydrogel is dependent on both the type of organic solvent and the mixing ratio of water/organic solvent (abstract). Cha teaches that the hydrogel is physically crosslinked (page 1921, last para.; page 1924, last para.). Cha teaches PVA hydrogels having a water content of 90% (reads on at least 88%) (Fig. 12). Cha also demonstrates that modifying the solvent ratio of DMSO to water directly affects the tacticity in general and, syndiotacticity in particular, of the PVA hydrogel (paragraph bridging pages 1923-1924; Fig. 15).
While Cha does not explicitly teach “a syndiotacticity of 50% or greater”, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the syndiotacticity of the PVA hydrogel advanced by Cha by way of routine experimentation with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Cha demonstrates that the mixed solvents and ratios thereof effectively alter the syndiotacticity of the PVA hydrogel. One of ordinary skill would have reasonably expected a PVA hydrogel having a desired syndiotacticity.
Regarding instant claim 4, Cha teaches the elements discussed above. While Cha is silent to the hydrogel containing less than 1% acetate groups, MPEP 2112.01(I) states,
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433.
The claimed and prior art products appear to be identical or substantially identical in structure or composition and produced by identical or substantially identical processes. Thus, a prima facie case has been established absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding instant claim 5, Cha teaches the elements discussed above. Cha further teaches that a temperatures of 60°C is utilized in the making of the polyvinyl alcohol hydrogel (page 1914, 1st para.) as well as gelation temperatures of -10°C to 30°C (Fig. 3). It is noted that “low temperature” is defined in the instant specification as -25°C to 60°C ([0067]).
Regarding instant claims 6 and 7, Cha teaches the elements discussed above. It is noted the instant claims are deemed product-by-process claims due to the limitations, “prepared using a low viscosity” (claim 6) and “wherein the viscosity is in the range of 0.2 Pas or higher at 25°C” (claim 7) and, as such, determination of patentability is based on the product itself, not by the method in which it is made. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (MPEP 2113).
Regarding instant claim 8, Cha teaches the elements discussed above. It is noted that the instant claim is additionally deemed a product-by-process claim due to the limitation, “is formed using 3-D printing” and, as such, determination of patentability is based on the product itself, not by the method in which it is made. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (MPEP 2113).
Regarding instant claim 9, Cha teaches the elements discussed above. The limitations of claim 9 further limit the product-by-process of claim 1. Determination of patentability is based on the product itself, not by the method in which it is made. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (MPEP 2113). It is further noted that Cha teaches the use of mixed solvents (e.g., water in amounts of 20-80% combined with glycerin, ethylene glycol, or dimethyl sulfoxide) in the method of making the polyvinyl alcohol hydrogels (page 1914, 1st para.; Fig. 2).
Regarding instant claim 21, Cha teaches the elements discussed above. The instant claim recites, “wherein said hydrogel is useable directly in a blood vessel”. Said limitation is being interpreted as an intended use recitation and, as such, does not alone show patentable distinction. A recitation of intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. In other words, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding instant claim 63, Cha teaches the elements discussed above including
physically crosslinked polyvinyl alcohol hydrogels prepared using mixed solvents having 90% by weight water content. Cha also demonstrates that modifying the solvent ratio of DMSO to water directly affects the tacticity in general and, syndiotacticity in particular, of the PVA hydrogel (paragraph bridging pages 1923-1924; Fig. 15).
While Cha does not explicitly teach “a syndiotacticity of 50% or greater”, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the syndiotacticity of the PVA hydrogel advanced by Cha by way of routine experimentation with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Cha demonstrates that the mixed solvents and ratios thereof effectively alter the syndiotacticity of the PVA hydrogel. One of ordinary skill would have reasonably expected a PVA hydrogel having a desired syndiotacticity.
It is noted that claim 63 is deemed a product-by-process claim due to the limitation, “prepared using mixed solvents, containing continuous, uninterrupted immobilized water” and, as such, determination of patentability is based on the product itself, not by the method in which it is made. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (MPEP 2113).
While the cited references do not explicitly teach all of the recited characteristics, MPEP 2112.01(I) states,
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433.
The claimed and prior art products appear to be identical or substantially identical in structure or composition and made by similar processes. Thus, a prima facie case has been established absent evidence to the contrary.
Thus, the teachings of Cha render the instant claims prima facie obvious.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha et al. (“Transparent poly(vinyl alcohol) hydrogel with high water content and high strength”, Makromol. Chem. 193, 1913-1925 (1992); hereafter as “Cha”), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Kamoun et al. (“Crosslinked poly(vinyl alcohol) hydrogels for wound dressing applications: A review of remarkably blended polymers”, Arabian Journal of Chemistry (2015) 8, 1-14; hereafter as “Kamoun”) and Gvozdic (US 2009/0305024 A1, Dec. 10, 2009, hereafter as “Gvozdic”).
The instant claims are described above.
Cha teaches the elements discussed above.
Cha is silent to the hydrogel being reinforced with materials selected form long fibers, woven fibers, woven fabrics, non-woven fibers, non-woven fabrics and combinations thereof.
Kamoun teaches that poly(vinyl alcohol) hydrogels are suitable as wound dressing materials (abstract).
Gvozdic teaches a reinforced, laminated composite material comprising a cross-linked polyvinyl alcohol hydrogel and long continuous fibers in the form of strands, mats, woven, non-woven structures/textiles, various braided structures, etc. (abstract; [0031] and [0064]). Gvozdic teaches that the fibers provide improved and tailored strength to the hydrogel ([0062]). Gvozdic also teaches that said composites can be used in various biomedical applications including wound treatment ([0082]).
The references are all drawn to crosslinked polyvinyl alcohol hydrogels and Kamoun and Gvozdic are drawn more specifically to crosslinked polyvinyl alcohol hydrogels utilized in medical applications including wound treatment, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include long fibers, woven or non-woven fibers, or woven or non-woven fabrics into the invention of Cha as suggested by Kamoun and Gvozdic with a reasonably expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Kamoun generally teaches that poly(vinyl alcohol) hydrogels are suitable as wound dressing materials and Gvozdic teaches that the incorporation of fibers, woven or non-woven fibers, or woven or non-woven fabrics into a polyvinyl alcohol hydrogel provides improved strength that can be tailored to the desired specifications.
Thus, the combined teachings of Cha, Kamoun and Gvozdic render the instant claim prima facie obvious.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha et al. (“Transparent poly(vinyl alcohol) hydrogel with high water content and high strength”, Makromol. Chem. 193, 1913-1925 (1992); hereafter as “Cha”), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Ho et al. (“Hydrogels: Properties and Applications in Biomedicine”, Molecules 2022, 27(9), 2902, pp. 1-29; hereafter as “Ho”) and Kudva et al. (US 2020/0188558 A1, Jun. 18, 2020, hereafter as “Kudva”).
The instant claims are described above.
Cha teaches the elements discussed above. Cha also teaches that the PVA solution is cast on a glass plate having a thickness of 0.6 or 1.5 mm which implies that the PVA hydrogel is in the form of a sheet or the like (page 1914, paragraphs 2-3).
Cha is silent to the hydrogel being formed into a pouch manufactured from a hydrogel selected from sheets, corrugated sheets, multiple hole punctured surfaces, ribbons, tapes, hollow fibers, hollow threads, hollow rods, and hollow tubes.
Ho teaches hydrogels including poly(vinyl alcohol) hydrogels are suitable for various biomedical applications (abstract).
Kudva teaches encapsulation devices comprising hydrogels for biomedical purposes (abstract). Kudva teaches that one or more hydrogel precursor films can be shaped into a pouch shape defining a cavity ([0060]).
Cha and Ho are drawn to hydrogels including PVA hydrogels and Ho and Kudva are drawn more specifically to hydrogels for biomedical applications, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the hydrogel advanced by Cha into the shape of a pouch as suggested by Ho/Kudva with a reasonably expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Ho teaches that PVA hydrogels are suitable for various biomedical purpose and Kudva teaches more specifically that a hydrogel is suitable to shape into the form of a pouch for biomedical purposes. Furthermore, it is noted that changes in shape are generally considered an obvious modification absent evidence that the particular configuration is significant (MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)).
Thus, the combined teachings of Cha, Ho and Kudva render the instant claim prima facie obvious.
Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha et al. (“Transparent poly(vinyl alcohol) hydrogel with high water content and high strength”, Makromol. Chem. 193, 1913-1925 (1992); hereafter as “Cha”), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Kamoun et al. (“Crosslinked poly(vinyl alcohol) hydrogels for wound dressing applications: A review of remarkably blended polymers”, Arabian Journal of Chemistry (2015) 8, 1-14; hereafter as “Kamoun”) and Malhi (US 2011/0034906 A1, Feb. 10, 2011, hereafter as “Malhi”).
The instant claims are described above.
Cha teaches the elements discussed above.
Cha is silent to the hydrogel being in the form of a string of catenated beads, micro beads or macro beads.
Kamoun teaches that poly(vinyl alcohol) hydrogels are suitable as wound dressing materials (abstract).
Malhi teaches a surgical wound dressing incorporating connected hydrogel beads (title; abstract; Fig. 1). Malhi teaches that said hydrogel can be poly(vinyl alcohol) ([0054]). Malhi teaches that the beads may have a length or diameter L1 and any desirable distance/length relationship may be established between bead length and the distance between adjacent beads ([0047]). Malhi teaches that L1 can vary, but they should be sized to achieve a proper pore size through a bead arrangement to facilitate cell proliferation and allow fluid and air to be evacuated from the wound ([0048]). Malhi teaches that porosity in the range of 10-1000 microns has been found beneficial in stimulating cell proliferation and in allowing fluid and air to be evacuated from the wound ([0048]). In one embodiment, Malhi teaches that the length or diameter, L1, of beads may be of any size (from a few mm to a few inches) ([0057]). Malhi also teaches that by having a plurality of hydrogel beads that are connected in a strand allows an end user (e.g., surgeon, nurse, etc.) to better pack a wound with a plurality of hydrogel beads and to also allow for the remnants of the plurality of hydrogel beads, following their useful life or some predetermined period of time, to be more easily removed from the wound since the plurality of hydrogel beads are connected in a strand ([0092]).
The references are all generally drawn to polyvinyl alcohol hydrogels and Kamoun and Malhi, more specifically, are drawn to polyvinyl alcohol hydrogels for the purpose of treating wounds, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a hydrogel in the form of a string of catenated beads into the invention of Cha as suggested by Kamoun/Malhi with a reasonably expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Kamoun generally teaches that polyvinyl hydrogels are suitable as wound dressing materials and Malhi, more specifically, teaches that having a plurality of hydrogel beads that are connected in a strand allows an end user (e.g., surgeon, nurse, etc.) to better pack a wound with a plurality of hydrogel beads and to also allow for the remnants of the plurality of hydrogel beads, following their useful life or some predetermined period of time, to be more easily removed from the wound since the plurality of hydrogel beads are connected in a strand. It would have further been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the hydrogel beads as micro beads or macro beads into the invention of Cha/Kamoun as suggested by Malhi with a reasonably expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Malhi teaches that diameter/length of the beads can be optimized to achieve a proper pore size (ideally 10-1000 microns) through a bead arrangement to facilitate cell proliferation and allow fluid and air to be evacuated from the wound. MPEP 2144.05(II)(A) states, “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation”. Thus, it would have been obvious to optimize the bead size in the micro or macro size range by way of routine experimentation in order to achieve a proper pore size (space between the beads) of ideally 10-1000 microns.
Thus, the combined teachings of Cha, Kamoun and Malhi render the instant claim prima facie obvious.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha et al. (“Transparent poly(vinyl alcohol) hydrogel with high water content and high strength”, Makromol. Chem. 193, 1913-1925 (1992); hereafter as “Cha”), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Kamoun et al. (“Crosslinked poly(vinyl alcohol) hydrogels for wound dressing applications: A review of remarkably blended polymers”, Arabian Journal of Chemistry (2015) 8, 1-14; hereafter as “Kamoun”) and Crawley et al. (US 2005/0165447 A1, Jul. 28, 2005, hereafter as “Crawley”).
The instant claims are described above.
Cha teaches the elements discussed above. Cha also teaches that the PVA solution is cast on a glass plate having a thickness of 0.6 or 1.5 mm which implies that the PVA hydrogel is in the form of a sheet or the like (page 1914, paragraphs 2-3).
Cha is silent to the hydrogel being in the form of a corrugated sheet.
Kamoun teaches that poly(vinyl alcohol) hydrogels are suitable as wound dressing materials (abstract).
Crawley teaches a corrugated sheet material that may be made from any desired bioabsorbable or non-bioabsorbable material and can be useful in planar form for the repair of various tissue defects where a somewhat flexible, but “reinforced” sheet is desired ([0043]; Fig. 2A and 2B). Crawley teaches that the corrugated sheet results in a plurality of hollow members 12 (Fig. 2A) which provides good axial stiffness, good radial compliance, and allow rapid access for body fluids and living cells ([0013]).
Cha and Kamoun are both drawn to poly(vinyl alcohol) hydrogels and Kamoun and Crawley are more specifically drawn to materials utilized for devices in wound/tissue repair, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the hydrogel of Cha into a corrugated form, as suggested by Kamoun/Crawley, with a reasonably expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Kamoun teaches that poly(vinyl alcohol) hydrogels are suitable as wound dressing materials and Crawley teaches that a corrugated shape results in a plurality of hollow members which provides improved mechanical properties and allow rapid access for body fluids and living cells for the similar purpose of tissue repair.
Thus, the combined teachings of Cha, Kamoun and Crawley render the instant claim prima facie obvious.
Claims 26-28, 33-37, 39 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha et al. (“Transparent poly(vinyl alcohol) hydrogel with high water content and high strength”, Makromol. Chem. 193, 1913-1925 (1992); hereafter as “Cha”) in view of Nuopponen et al. US 2022/0349651 A1, Nov. 3, 2022, hereafter as “Nuopponen”).
Claim 26 is drawn to a physically crosslinked polyvinyl alcohol solid prepared using mixed solvents, said solid being free of water and having a syndiotacticity of fifty percent or greater said solid treated to induce biocompatibility, said treatments selected from the group consisting of: a) a surface treatment and, b) bored perforations in said solid.
Regarding instant claim 26, Cha teaches a transparent poly(vinyl alcohol) (PVA) hydrogel made with mixed solvents (water and organic solvent), the hydrogel with high water content and high strength (abstract). Cha teaches that the strength and transparency of the PVA hydrogel is dependent on both the type of organic solvent and the mixing ratio of water/organic solvent (abstract). Cha teaches that the hydrogel is physically crosslinked (page 1921, last para.; page 1924, last para.). Cha also demonstrates that modifying the solvent ratio of DMSO to water directly affects the tacticity in general and, syndiotacticity in particular, of the PVA hydrogel (paragraph bridging pages 1923-1924; Fig. 15).
While Cha does not explicitly teach “a syndiotacticity of 50% or greater”, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the syndiotacticity of the PVA hydrogel advanced by Cha by way of routine experimentation with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Cha demonstrates that the mixed solvents and ratios thereof effectively alter the syndiotacticity of the PVA hydrogel. One of ordinary skill would have reasonably expected a PVA hydrogel having a desired syndiotacticity.
Cha is silent to a water-free form of the polyvinyl alcohol hydrogel.
Nuopponen teaches a freeze-dried hydrogel is suitable for stable long-term storage and/or transport (abstract; [0035]). Nuopponen teaches that the residual water content may be at most 1 wt% ([0080]).
It is noted that while Nuopponen does not teach a water-free embodiment, MPEP 2144.05 states, “In the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. Because the claimed amount of “water-free” or effectively 0%, overlaps with the range of “at most 1 wt%” disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Both Cha and Nuopponen are both drawn to hydrogels, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to freeze-dry the hydrogel of Cha, as suggested by Nuopponen, with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Nuopponen teaches that freeze-drying a hydrogel is effective in creating a product that is suitable for stable long-term storage and/or transport.
It is noted that claims 26-31, 33-37 and 39-41 are deemed product-by-process claims due to the limitation, “prepared using mixed solvents” and “treated to induce biocompatibility, said treatment selected from …” (see independent claim 26) and, as such, determination of patentability is based on the product itself, not by the method in which it is made. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (MPEP 2113).
Regarding instant claim 27, Cha and Nuopponen teach the elements discussed above. It is noted that the instant claim is additionally deemed a product-by-process claim due to the limitation, “is formed using 3-D printing” and, as such, determination of patentability is based on the product itself, not by the method in which it is made. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (MPEP 2113).
Regarding instant claim 28, Cha and Nuopponen teach the elements discussed above. The instant claim recites, “wherein said hydrogel is useable directly in a blood vessel”. Said limitation is being interpreted as an intended use recitation and, as such, does not alone show patentable distinction. A recitation of intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. In other words, if the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Regarding instant claim 33, Cha and Nuopponen teach the elements discussed above. While Cha does not explicitly teach that the hydrogel contains less than 1% acetate groups, MPEP 2112.01(I) states,
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433.
The claimed and prior art products appear to be identical or substantially identical in structure or composition and made by similar processes. Thus, a prima facie case has been established absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding instant claim 34, Cha and Nuopponen teach the elements discussed above including water at most 1 wt% (Nuopponen at [0080]).
Regarding instant claims 35 and 36, Cha and Nuopponen teach the elements discussed above. Cha further teaches that a temperatures of 60°C is utilized in the making of the polyvinyl alcohol hydrogel (page 1914, 1st para.) as well as gelation temperatures of -10°C to 30°C (Fig. 3). It is noted that “low temperature” is defined in the instant specification as -25°C to 60°C ([0067]).
Regarding instant claim 37, Cha and Nuopponen teach the elements discussed above. It is noted the instant claims are deemed product-by-process claims due to the limitations, “prepared using a low viscosity” and, as such, determination of patentability is based on the product itself, not by the method in which it is made. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (MPEP 2113).
Regarding instant claim 39, Cha and Nuopponen teach the elements discussed above. The limitations of claim 39 further limit the product-by-process of claim 26. Determination of patentability is based on the product itself, not by the method in which it is made. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (MPEP 2113). It is further noted that Cha teaches the use of mixed solvents (e.g., water in amounts of 20-80% combined with glycerin, ethylene glycol, or dimethyl sulfoxide) in the method of making the polyvinyl alcohol hydrogels (page 1914, 1st para.; Fig. 2).
Regarding instant claim 40, Cha and Nuopponen teach the elements discussed above. Nuopponen also teaches reconstituting the freeze-dried hydrogel by adding water or an aqueous solution [0032]. The limitation, “has been hydrated with water after manufacture” is considered a product-by-process limitation. Determination of patentability is based on the product itself, not by the method in which it is made. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (MPEP 2113).
Thus, the combined teachings of Cha and Nuopponen render the instant claims prima facie obvious.
Claims 29-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha et al. (“Transparent poly(vinyl alcohol) hydrogel with high water content and high strength”, Makromol. Chem. 193, 1913-1925 (1992); hereafter as “Cha”) in view of Nuopponen et al. US 2022/0349651 A1, Nov. 3, 2022, hereafter as “Nuopponen”), as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of Malhi (US 2011/0034906 A1, Feb. 10, 2011, hereafter as “Malhi”).
The instant claims are described above.
Cha and Nuopponen teach the elements discussed above. Nuopponen also teaches reconstituting the freeze-dried hydrogel by adding water or an aqueous solution [0032].
Cha and Nuopponen are silent to the hydrogel being in the form of a string of catenated beads, micro beads or macro beads.
Malhi teaches a surgical wound dressing incorporating connected hydrogel beads (title; abstract; Fig. 1). Malhi teaches that the hydrogel may be obtained by adding water to existing dry polymers ([0039]). Malhi teaches that said hydrogel can be poly(vinyl alcohol) ([0054]). Malhi teaches that the beads may have a length or diameter L1 and any desirable distance/length relationship may be established between bead length and the distance between adjacent beads ([0047]). Malhi teaches that L1 can vary, but they should be sized to achieve a proper pore size through a bead arrangement to facilitate cell proliferation and allow fluid and air to be evacuated from the wound ([0048]). Malhi teaches that porosity in the range of 10-1000 microns has been found beneficial in stimulating cell proliferation and in allowing fluid and air to be evacuated from the wound ([0048]). In one embodiment, Malhi teaches that the length or diameter, L1, of beads may be of any size (from a few mm to a few inches) ([0057]). Malhi also teaches that by having a plurality of hydrogel beads that are connected in a strand allows an end user (e.g., surgeon, nurse, etc.) to better pack a wound with a plurality of hydrogel beads and to also allow for the remnants of the plurality of hydrogel beads, following their useful life or some predetermined period of time, to be more easily removed from the wound since the plurality of hydrogel beads are connected in a strand ([0092]).
The references are all drawn to polyvinyl alcohol hydrogels, and Nuopponen and Malhi are more specifically drawn to dry polymers that can be reconstituted for biomedical purposes, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a hydrogel in the form of a string of catenated beads into the invention of Cha/Nuopponen, as suggested by Malhi, with a reasonable expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Nuopponen and Malhi teaches reconstituting dry polymers for biomedical applications and Malhi further teaches that having a plurality of hydrogel beads that are connected in a strand allows an end user (e.g., surgeon, nurse, etc.) to better pack a wound with a plurality of hydrogel beads and to also allow for the remnants of the plurality of hydrogel beads, following their useful life or some predetermined period of time, to be more easily removed from the wound since the plurality of hydrogel beads are connected in a strand. It would have further been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the hydrogel beads as micro beads or macro beads into the invention of Cha/Nuopponen as suggested by Malhi with a reasonably expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Malhi teaches that diameter/length of the beads can be optimized to achieve a proper pore size (ideally 10-1000 microns) through a bead arrangement to facilitate cell proliferation and allow fluid and air to be evacuated from the wound. MPEP 2144.05(II)(A) states, “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation”. Thus, it would have been obvious to optimize the bead size in the micro or macro size range by way of routine experimentation in order to achieve a proper pore size (space between the beads) of ideally 10-1000 microns.
Thus, the combined teachings of Cha, Nuopponen and Malhi render the instant claim prima facie obvious.
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cha et al. (“Transparent poly(vinyl alcohol) hydrogel with high water content and high strength”, Makromol. Chem. 193, 1913-1925 (1992); hereafter as “Cha”) in view of in view of Nuopponen et al. US 2022/0349651 A1, Nov. 3, 2022, hereafter as “Nuopponen”), as applied to claim 26 above, and further in view of Kamoun et al. (“Crosslinked poly(vinyl alcohol) hydrogels for wound dressing applications: A review of remarkably blended polymers”, Arabian Journal of Chemistry (2015) 8, 1-14; hereafter as “Kamoun”) and Han et al. (CN 103736140 A, Apr. 23, 2014, machine translation, hereafter as “Han”).
The instant claims are described above.
Cha and Nuopponen teach the elements discussed above.
Cha and Nuopponen are silent to surface treatment with a dilute hydrosol solution.
Kamoun teaches that poly(vinyl alcohol) hydrogels are suitable as wound dressing materials (abstract).
Han teaches a medical dressing hydrogel composite fabric comprising a hydrosol solution on the surface layer for the purpose of acute and chronic wound hemostasis and tissue repair (abstract).
The references are all drawn to hydrogels, thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the poly(vinyl alcohol) hydrogel of Cha and Nuopponen in a wound dressing with a reasonable expectation of success because Kamoun teaches that poly(vinyl alcohol) hydrogels are suitable as wound dressing material. It would further have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a
hydrosol solution on the surface of a medical dressing such as the one advanced by Cha/Nuopponen/Kamoun, as suggested by Han, with a reasonably expectation of success. A skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Han teaches that a hydrosol solution on the surface of a medical dressing is suitable for the purpose of wound hemostasis and tissue repair.
Thus, the combined teachings of Cha, Nuopponen, Kamoun and Han render the instant claim prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
All claims have been rejected; no claims are allowed.
Correspondence
Casey S. Hagopian
Examiner, Art Unit 1617