DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al., U.S. Patent Number 6,562,257, as evidenced by Wikipedia, Polyethylenimine, and further evidenced by Aschenbeck et al., EP0710631.
Regarding claims 1-5 and 7-9, Chen discloses a loose-fill insulation [title] comprising glass fibers [abstract] and wherein the glass fibers have a sizing composition including a lubricant with the lubricant being present in the amount of 0.01-2.5 wt%, preferably from 0.05 to 0.50 wt%, based on the total weight of the glass fibers [column 3, lines 12-16]. Reference claim 1 discloses a pourable or blowable loose-fill insulation product comprising a plurality of glass fibers. Column 3, lines 19-33 discloses that the lubricant can include a lubricant disclosed in U.S. Patent Number 3,597,265 [Mecklenborg et al.,] as incorporated by reference. Mecklenborg discloses a lubricant for glass fibers which comprises partially amidated polyalkylenimines [Mecklenborg, column 1, lines 10-13]. Additionally, Mecklenborg discloses in column 1, that the lubricant compounds include a reaction product of a mixture of C₂ to C₁₈ fatty acids with a polyethylenimine [polyamine]. Stearic acid is a C₁₈ fatty acid. Examiner is corresponding Chen's lubricant as the modifying agent. Column 3, lines 24-26 of Chen discloses K12 lubricant. The abstract of Chen discloses loose fill insulation comprising glass fibers which are compressed and packaged. Chen also discloses that the glass fibers include a lubricant [column 2, line 54-59; column 3, lines 4-31] Wikipedia, Polyethylenimine provides evidence that polyethylenimine is a catatonic polymer. Aschenbeck provides evidence in Example 5 that K12 lubricant is a fatty acid amide made by combining tetraethylenepentamine with stearic acid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chen et al., U.S. Patent Number 6,562,257, as evidenced by Wikipedia, Polyethylenimine, and further evidenced by Aschenbeck et al., EP0710631.
Regarding claim 6, Chen et al., U.S. Patent Number 6,562,257, as evidenced by Wikipedia, Polyethylenimine, and further evidenced by Aschenbeck et al., EP0710631 teaches the claimed invention but fails to teach wherein the modifying agent is
It is reasonable to presume that the modifying agent
is inherent to the combination of Chen et al., U.S. Patent Number 6,562,257, as evidenced by Wikipedia, Polyethylenimine, and further evidenced by Aschenbeck et al., EP0710631. Said presumption is based on the disclosure of Chen’s loose-fill insulation [title] comprising glass fibers [abstract] and wherein the glass fibers have a sizing composition including a lubricant with the lubricant being present in the amount of 0.01-2.5 wt%, preferably from 0.05 to 0.50 wt%, based on the total weight of the glass fibers [column 3, lines 12-16]. Reference claim 1 discloses a pourable or blowable loose-fill insulation product comprising a plurality of glass fibers. Column 3, lines 19-33 discloses that the lubricant can include a lubricant disclosed in U.S. Patent Number 3,597,265 [Mecklenborg et al.,] as incorporated by reference. Mecklenborg discloses a lubricant for glass fibers which comprises partially amidated polyalkylenimines [Mecklenborg, column 1, lines 10-13]. Additionally, Mecklenborg discloses in column 1, that the lubricant compounds include a reaction product of a mixture of C₂ to C₁₈ fatty acids with a polyethylenimine [polyamine]. Stearic acid is a C₁₈ fatty acid. Examiner is corresponding Chen's lubricant as the modifying agent. Column 3, lines 24-26 disclose K12 lubricant. The abstract of Chen discloses loose fill insulation comprising glass fibers which are compressed and packaged. Chen also discloses that the glass fibers include a lubricant [column 2, line 54-59; column 3, lines 4-31] Wikipedia, Polyethylenimine provides evidence that polyethylenimine is a catatonic polymer. Aschenbeck provides evidence in Example 5 that K12 lubricant is a fatty acid amide made by combining tetraethylenepentamine with stearic acid. Burden is upon Applicant to prove otherwise Fitzgerald, In re, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
/CAMIE S THOMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786