DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 12, 14-18 & 20-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gasser (US patent application publication 2010/0090571) in view of Stijns (US patent 6,231,143).
Regarding claim 1, Gasser discloses a telescopic rail comprising a first rail element (10), a second rail element (11), a third rail element (12), and a drive device (1); wherein the first rail element and the second rail element are mounted together such that the first rail element and the second rail element are linearly displaceable relative to one another in and counter to a pull-out direction; wherein the third rail element and the second rail element are mounted together such that the third rail element and the second rail element are linearly displaceable relative to one another in and counter to the pull-out direction; wherein the drive device is mounted on the first rail element or is mountable on a holding element connectable to the first rail element (Fig. 7a); wherein the drive device is configured such that, in an operation of the telescopic rail, the drive device causes a linear movement of the second rail element relative to the first rail element in or counter to the pull-out direction ([0021]); wherein the telescopic rail comprises a traction element (32); wherein the traction element is fixed to the first rail element and to the third rail element (via 34, 43); wherein the traction element is guided on the second rail element in a direction parallel to the pull-out direction such that a displacement movement of the second rail element relative to the first rail element leads to a displacement movement of the third rail element relative to the second rail element ([0021).
Gasser does not disclose the drive device is selected from a tooth belt drive, a rack-and-pinion drive or a combination thereof. Stijns teaches a toothed belt drive (125). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to replace the drive of Gasser with a toothed belt drive of Stijins because this arrangement would have replaced one known drive with another known drive yielding a predictable result.
Regarding claim 2, Gasser, as modified, teaches a telescopic rail characterized in that the second rail element comprises a first guide element (31) having a first deflection surface (surface of 31) and a second guide element (31) having a second deflection surface (surface of 31), wherein the first guide element is configured such that a pulling force in the pull-out direction can be transmitted from the second rail element to the traction element by means of the first guide element, wherein the second guide element is configured such that a pulling force counter to the pull-out direction can be transmitted from the second rail element to the traction element by means of the second guide element, and wherein the traction element is deflected by the first and second deflection surfaces such that a displacement movement of the second rail element relative to the first rail element causes a transmission of a pulling force from the traction element to the third rail element in or counter to the pull-out direction ([0021]).
Regarding claim 3, Gasser, as modified, teaches a telescopic rail characterized in that at least the first guide element or the second guide element comprises a pair of oppositely disposed traction element guide surfaces (surfaces of 31) which face one another, wherein the traction element guide surfaces are configured such that they guide the traction element in a direction perpendicular to the pull-out direction (as they rotate around the pulley, they are perpendicular).
Regarding claim 12, Gasser, as modified, teaches a telescopic rail characterised in that the traction element is configured in two parts with a first traction element portion guided around the first guide element and a second traction element portion guided around the second guide element, wherein the first and the second traction element portion are respectively fixed on the first rail element and the third rail element (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 14, Gasser, as modified, teaches a telescopic rail characterised in that the traction element is configured such that both pulling forces and pushing forces can be transmitted by means of the traction element, wherein the second rail element comprises a guide element (34, 43), wherein the guide element is configured such that a pulling force and a pushing force can be transmitted from the second rail element to the traction element by means of the guide element and wherein the traction element is deflected by the guide element such that both a pulling force acting on the traction element and a pushing force acting on the traction element causes a displacement movement of the third rail element in or counter to the pull-out direction relative to the second rail element ([0021]).
Regarding claim 15, Gasser, as modified, teaches a pull-out assembly comprising a holding element and a receiving element ([0015]), which can be moved relative to the holding element, and two telescopic rails which are disposed opposite to one another and with parallel pull-out directions according to claim 1, wherein the first rail element of each telescopic rail is connected to the holding element and the third rail element of each telescopic rail is connected to the receiving element.
Regarding claim 21, Gasser, as modified, teaches a pull-out assembly wherein the holding element is a carcass, and a receiving element is a drawer ([0015]).
Regarding claim 22, Gasser, as modified, teaches a pull-out assembly wherein the holding element is a drawer ([0015]).
Regarding claim 23, Gasser, as modified, teaches a pull-out assembly wherein the receiving element is a drawer ([0015]).
Regarding claim 16, Gasser discloses a telescopic rail comprising a first rail element (10), a second rail element (11), a third rail element (12), and a drive device (1); wherein the first rail element and the second rail element are mounted together such that the first rail element and the second rail element are linearly displaceable relative to one another in and counter to a pull-out direction; wherein the third rail element and the second rail element are mounted together such that the third rail element and the second rail element are linearly displaceable relative to one another in and counter to the pull-out direction; wherein the drive device is mounted on the first rail element or is mountable on a holding element connectable to the first rail element (Fig. 1); wherein the drive device is configured such that, in an operation of the telescopic rail, the drive device causes a linear movement of the second rail element relative to the first rail element in or counter to the pull-out direction ([0021]); wherein the telescopic rail comprises a traction element (32); wherein the traction element is fixed to the first rail element and to the third rail element (via 34, 43); wherein the traction element is guided on the second rail element in a direction parallel to the pull-out direction such that a displacement movement of the second rail element relative to the first rail element leads to a displacement movement of the third rail element relative to the second rail element ([0021]).
Gasser does not disclose the drive device is selected from a belt drive, a flat belt drive, a V-belt drive, or a combination thereof. Stijns teaches a toothed belt drive (125). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to replace the drive of Gasser with a toothed belt drive of Stijins because this arrangement would have replaced one known drive with another known drive yielding a predictable result.
Regarding claim 17, Gasser, as modified, teaches a telescopic rail characterized in that the second rail element comprises a first guide element (31) having a first deflection surface (surface of 31) and a second guide element (31) having a second deflection surface (surface of 31), wherein the first guide element is configured such that a pulling force in the pull-out direction can be transmitted from the second rail element to the traction element by means of the first guide element ([0021]), wherein the second guide element is configured such that a pulling force counter to the pull-out direction can be transmitted from the second rail element to the traction element by means of the second guide element ([0021]), and wherein the traction element is deflected by the first and second deflection surfaces such that a displacement movement of the second rail element relative to the first rail element causes a transmission of a pulling force from the traction element to the third rail element in or counter to the pull-out direction ([0021]).
Regarding claim 18, Gasser, as modified, teaches a telescopic rail characterised in that at least the first guide element or the second guide element comprises a pair of oppositely disposed traction element guide surfaces (surfaces of 31) which face one another, wherein the traction element guide surfaces are configured such that they guide the traction element in a direction perpendicular to the pull-out direction.
Regarding claim 20, Gasser, as modified, teaches a pull-out assembly comprising a holding element, and a receiving element which can be moved relative to the holding element, and two telescopic rails which are disposed opposite to one another and with parallel pull-out directions according to claim 16, wherein the first rail element of each telescopic rail is connected to the holding element and the third rail element of each telescopic rail is connected to the receiving element ([0019]).
Regarding claim 24, Gasser, as modified, teaches a pull-out assembly wherein the holding element is a carcass, and a receiving element is a drawer ([0015]).
Regarding claim 25, Gasser, as modified, teaches a pull-out assembly wherein the receiving element is a drawer ([0015]).
Regarding claim 26, Gasser, as modified, teaches a pull-out assembly wherein the holding element is a carcass, and the receiving element is a drawer ([0015]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7, 12, 14-26 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-26 of U.S. Patent No. 12,290,171 Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they both recite similar features such as telescopic rail comprising a first rail element, a second rail element, a third rail element, a drive device and a traction element.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the double patenting rejection, the Terminal Disclaimer filed 8/17/2026 was not approved thus the double patenting rejections remains.
Applicant’s arguments, filed 8/17/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 & 16 under 102(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive because Gasser does not disclose the claimed drive device. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Gasser and Stijns.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL J ROHRHOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637