DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's preliminary amendments, filed 3/14/25, are fully acknowledged by the Examiner. Currently, claims 1-7, 9, 11-16, 18, 19, and 24-27 are pending with claims 8, 10, 17, 20-23 canceled, and claims 4-5, 7-8, 10, 14, 18, 20, 26-27, and 32 amended. The following is a complete response to the 3/14/25 communication.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8, 10, 12, 22-23, 26-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koblish (US 2020/0107877).
Regarding claim 1, Koblish teaches a probe for forming a lesion in a target tissue (1800), the probe comprising:
an elongate member extending longitudinally between a proximal end and a distal end (shaft of catheter), wherein the elongate member has an active electrode proximate the distal end for delivering ablative energy to the target tissue (electrode 180 for delivering ablation energy as in par. [0445]), and an electrically insulated section proximal of the active electrode (insulated section), and wherein the active electrode has a cooled section that is coolable by receipt of a cooling fluid delivered through the elongate member (the active electrode with a cooled section through 1804 as in par. [0448]); and at least a first temperature sensor positioned external of the elongate member to measure a temperature in a heat affected zone of the target tissue (temperature sensor 1880), wherein the first temperature sensor is positioned proximally of the distal end and is spaced from the cooled section (1880 proximally of the distal end and is spaced from the cooled section 1850 that corresponds to 1830).
Regarding claim 2, Koblish teaches wherein the elongate member comprises at least a first fluid delivery lumen for delivering the cooling fluid through the elongate member to the cooled section (cooling lumen 1804 as in par. [0448]).
Regarding claim 8, Koblish teaches wherein the first temperature sensor is positioned proximally of the active electrode (1880 is proximal of 1830 as in Fig. 13, par. [0008]).
Regarding claim 10, Koblish teaches wherein the first temperature sensor is positioned to measure the temperature in a proximal projection of a thermal ablation zone (par. [0450] sensor on outside of catheter to detect temperature adjacent tissue, and proximal as in Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 12, Koblish teaches wherein the first temperature sensor is spaced at least proximally from the cooled section (1880 is proximal to the cooled section 1850 corresponding to 1830).
Regarding claim 18, Koblish teaches further comprising at least one electrical conductor for electrically connecting the first temperature sensor to a temperature control system (par. [0514]), wherein the electrical conductor extends through a lumen of the elongate member (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 22, Koblish teaches a system for forming a lesion in a target tissue, comprising:
a probe comprising an elongate member and a first temperature sensor (1800 with catheter and sensor 1880),
wherein the elongate member extends longitudinally between a proximal end and a distal end (catheter with a proximal and distal end), wherein the elongate member has an active electrode proximate the distal end for delivering ablative energy to the target tissue (1830 at a distal end of the catheter as in at least Fig. 13), and an electrically insulated section proximal of the active electrode (temperature sensors are electrically insulated as in at least pars. [0174], [0480]), wherein the active electrode comprises a cooled section that is coolable by receipt of a cooling fluid delivered through the elongate member (1830 with a cooled section cooled by 1820), wherein the first temperature sensor is positioned external of the elongate member to measure a temperature in a heat affected zone of the target tissue (1880 external of the catheter as in Fig. 13), and wherein the first temperature sensor is positioned proximally of the distal end and is spaced from the cooled section (1880 proximal of 1830 as in at least Fig. 13);
a return electrode spaced from the active electrode (ground pad electrode as in at least par. [0014]);
a radiofrequency generator electrically connected to the active electrode for delivering the ablative energy to the active electrode and electrically connected to the return electrode for returning a return current to the radiofrequency generator (RF generator as in par. [0282]); and a cooling fluid circulation system for delivering the cooling fluid to the probe (par. [0448] irrigation system with passage 1804).
Regarding claim 23, Koblish teaches a method for forming a lesion in a target tissue, comprising:
positioning an active electrode of a probe at the target tissue (electrode 1830 at target);delivering ablative energy from the active electrode to form the lesion in the target tissue (1830 delivers ablation energy), while delivering a cooling fluid to a cooled section of the active electrode (cooling fluid delivered from 1804 to 1820); and
using a first temperature sensor of the probe to monitor a temperature in a heat affected zone of the target tissue at a position proximal of a distal end of the probe and spaced from the cooled section (1880 to sense temperature in target tissue proximal the probe distal end and spaced from the cooled section).
Regarding claim 26, Koblish teaches wherein using the first temperature sensor comprises monitoring the temperature proximally of the active electrode (1880 senses temperature proximal of 1830).
Regarding claim 27, Koblish teaches wherein the lesion has a proximal projection, and the first temperature sensor monitors the temperature in the proximal projection (1880 senses temperature in the lesion created by the ablation procedure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7, 25 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koblish in view of Cao (US 2018/0028262).
Regarding claim 4, Koblish is not explicit wherein the elongate member is configured to restrict the cooling fluid to the cooled section on delivery of the cooling fluid.However, Cao teaches an elongate member that is able to restrict cooling fluid to limit delivery of cooling fluid (par. [0044] using 415 to restrict cooling fluid delivery). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Koblish with the plunger mechanism of Cao, to regulate the cooling fluid delivered by the device.
Regarding claim 5, Koblish teaches further comprising a barrier within the elongate member for restricting the cooling fluid to the cooled section on delivery of the cooling fluid, wherein the barrier is positioned distally of a proximal boundary of the active electrode, to further provide the active electrode with a non-cooled section.However, Cao teaches an elongate member that is able to restrict cooling fluid to limit delivery of cooling fluid (par. [0044]), with a barrier to restrict the cooling fluid (barrier 415).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Koblish with the plunger mechanism of Cao, to regulate the cooling fluid delivered by the device.
Regarding claim 6, Koblish teaches wherein the first temperature sensor is secured to the active electrode in the non-cooled section (1880 secured to electrode 1830).
Regarding claim 7, Koblish is not explicit regarding further comprising a barrier within the elongate member for restricting the cooling fluid to the cooled section on delivery of the cooling fluid, wherein the barrier is positioned at a proximal boundary of the active electrode so that the cooled section makes up an entirety of the active electrode.However, Cao teaches an elongate member that is able to restrict cooling fluid to limit delivery of cooling fluid (par. [0044]), with a barrier to restrict the cooling fluid positioned at a proximal boundary of the active electrode so that the cooled section makes up an entirety of the active electrode (barrier 415 blocks fluid to selectively cool).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Koblish with the plunger mechanism of Cao, to regulate the cooling fluid delivered by the device.
Regarding claim 25, Koblish is silent wherein delivering the cooling fluid to the cooled section of the active electrode comprises, on delivery of the cooling fluid, restricting the cooling fluid to the cooled section.However, Cao teaches an elongate member that is able to restrict cooling fluid to limit delivery of cooling fluid (par. [0044]), with a barrier to restrict the cooling fluid (barrier 415).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Koblish with the plunger mechanism of Cao, to regulate the cooling fluid delivered by the device.
Regarding claim 28, wherein restricting the cooling fluid to the cooled section comprising using a barrier positioned at a proximal boundary of the active electrode to restrict the cooling fluid to the active electrode.However, Cao teaches an elongate member that is able to restrict cooling fluid to limit delivery of cooling fluid (par. [0044]), with a barrier to restrict the cooling fluid (barrier 415).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Koblish with the plunger mechanism of Cao, to regulate the cooling fluid delivered by the device.
Claim(s) 14 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koblish in view of Gelfand (US 10,219,855).
Regarding claim 14, Koblish is not explicit wherein the elongate member comprises a metallic hypotube, wherein the metallic hypotube comprises a first section that is electrically exposed to form the active electrode, and a second section on which an electrically insulative material is received to form the electrically insulated section.However, Gelfand teaches the RF electrode of a similar probe device made of a metal hypotube with an exposed electrical section for an electrode and an insulated section (col. 33 lines 25-45).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Koblish with the hypotube structure of Gelfand, as a structure that can better define where the insulation is for the temperature sensor of Koblish.
Regarding claim 15, Koblish teaches further comprising at least one electrical conductor for electrically connecting the first temperature sensor to a temperature control system (par. [0549] temperature control from module 40, connecting to temperature sensors via conductors as in par. [0514]), but is not explicit wherein the electrical conductor is positioned between the second section of the metallic hypotube and the electrically insulative material.However, Gelfand teaches the insulative material proximal the electrode as in Fig. 14 and col. 33 lines 25-45.It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Koblish with the hypotube structure of Gelfand, as a structure that can better define where the insulation is for the temperature sensor of Koblish.
Claim(s) 20 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koblish in view of Govari (US 2021/0196371).
Regarding claim 20, Koblish is not explicit wherein the first temperature sensor is further configured to deliver ablative energy to the target tissue.However, Govari teaches using an electrode for both temperature sensing and RF ablation (par. [0026]).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Koblish with the temperature sensor of Govari to also deliver ablative energy. This would allow for multiple functions of the temperature sensor.
Regarding claim 32, Koblish is not explicit regarding further comprising delivering the ablative energy to the target tissue from the first temperature sensor.However, Govari teaches using an electrode for both temperature sensing and RF ablation (par. [0026]).It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Koblish with the temperature sensor of Govari to also deliver ablative energy. This would allow for multiple functions of the temperature sensor.
Conclusion
/BO OUYANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3794
/MICHAEL F PEFFLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3794