DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Status of Claims
This is the first office action on the merits of Application No. 18/982,151 filed on 12/16/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1 and 19 are independent claims.
Priority
Application claims the benefit of Application No. SE23218499.4 filed 12/20/2023. No certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55 has been received.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, three of four pairs of first and second planet gears must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 11 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 11, the limitations “a first and a second propeller” should read “a first propeller and a second propeller”.
Regarding claim 19, the limitations “a first and a second propeller” should read “a first propeller and a second propeller”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 9-14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Koda et al. (US 4963108 A)(hereinafter “Koda”).
Regarding claim 1, Koda discloses a marine propeller propulsion unit (e.g. figs. 1-3) comprising a compound planetary gear for driving a propeller (e.g. 11), a propulsion motor (1, fig. 1) for driving the compound planetary gear, and a housing (has not character numeral, see fig. 1) for enclosing the propulsion motor and the compound planetary gear, the compound planetary gear comprising
a sun gear (3),
a ring gear (6),
a planet carrier (14), and
a first planet gear (5) and a second planet gear (4), wherein the radius of the second planet gear (4) exceeds the radius of the first planet gear (5) and the first and second planet gears are rotationally fixed to one another,
wherein the ring gear (6) meshes with the first planet gear (5) and the sun gear (3) meshes with the second planet gear (4), and wherein the sun gear (3) is adapted to be connected to the propulsion motor (1) and the ring gear (6) is adapted to be connected to the propeller (11).
Regarding claim 3, Koda discloses the marine propeller propulsion unit of claim 1, wherein the marine propeller propulsion unit comprises one single propulsion motor (1, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, Koda discloses the marine propeller propulsion unit of claim 1, wherein the marine propeller propulsion unit does not comprise any moving part positioned radially outside the ring gear or the first or second planet gear, apart from the propeller.
Regarding claim 10, Koda discloses the marine propeller propulsion unit of claim 1, wherein the sun gear (3) is connected to the propulsion motor (1) such that the sun gear (3and the propulsion motor are adapted to rotate at the same velocity.
Regarding claim 11, Koda discloses the marine propeller propulsion unit of claim 1, wherein the compound planetary gear is configured for driving a first propeller (11) and a second propeller (12), wherein the ring gear (6) is adapted to be connected to the first propeller (11), and the planet carrier (10) is adapted to be connected to the second propeller (12).
Regarding claim 12, Koda discloses the marine propeller propulsion unit of claim 11, comprising one single input shaft (2, fig. 1) connecting the compound planetary gear and the propulsion motor (1).
Regarding claim 13, Koda discloses the marine propeller propulsion unit of claim 12, wherein the propulsion motor (1) is directly connected to the input shaft (2) such that the propulsion motor (1) and the input shaft (2) are adapted to rotate at the same velocity.
Regarding claim 14, Koda discloses the marine propeller propulsion unit of claim 1, wherein the marine propeller propulsion unit is configured as a rearward drive propulsion unit, and the first propeller (11) is a front propeller and the second propeller (12) is a rear propeller.
Regarding claim 19, Koda discloses use of a compound planetary gear in a marine propeller propulsion unit (e.g. figs. 1-3) for driving a first and a second propellers (e.g. 11, 12) by means of an input shaft (2, fig. 1), wherein the compound planetary gear comprising
a sun gear (3),
a ring gear (6),
a planet carrier (14), and
a first planet gear (5) and a second planet gear (4), wherein the radius of the second planet gear (4) exceeds the radius of the first planet gear (5) and the first and second planet gears are rotationally fixed to one another,
wherein the ring gear (6) meshes with the first planet gear (5) and the sun gear (3) meshes with the second planet gear (4), and wherein the sun gear (3) is adapted to be connected to the input shaft (2) and the ring gear (6) is adapted to be connected to the first propeller (11), and the planet carrier (14) is adapted to be connected to the second propeller (12).
Regarding claim 20, Koda discloses a marine vessel (e.g. ship) comprising the marine propeller propulsion unit of claim 1. (Please see the rejection of claim 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4-8, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koda et al. (US 4963108 A) in view of Gil et al. (US 20200140049 A1)( Gil).
Regarding claim 2, Koda discloses all the elements of the propulsion unit (fig. 1) of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the propulsion motor is an electric motor.
Gil teaches a marine propulsion systems (100, figs. 1-2) wherein the propulsion motor (105, fig. 1) is an electric motor. (see para 12)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Koda by substituting the engine with an electric motor as taught by Gil so that a quieter and more environmentally friendly motor can be used. (see para 3)
As modified, the propulsion unit would have the propulsion motor is an electric motor.
Regarding claim 4, Koda discloses all the elements of the propulsion unit (fig. 1) of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the marine propulsion unit is configured such that the housing at least during operation is completely submerged under water.
Gil teaches a marine propulsion systems (100, figs. 1-2) wherein the marine propulsion unit is configured such that the housing at least during operation is completely submerged under water. (see para 12 “The propulsion system 100 can be housed in a lower unit 110 of the outboard motor 101 which extends below the waterline when in use.”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Koda by substituting the housing which can be completely submerged under water during operation as taught by Gil so that an enhance thermal communication can be increased since in the submerged condition during operation, the heat can be conveyed away via thermal conduction and convection to the surrounding water. Therefore, cost can be reduced and the reliability of the propulsion unit can be increased. (see para 15)
As modified, the propulsion unit would have “the marine propulsion unit is configured such that the housing at least during operation is completely submerged under water”.
Regarding claim 5, Koda discloses marine propeller propulsion unit (fig. 1) of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the radiuses of the sun gear and the first planet gear are essentially equal or differ by up to 20 percent.
Gil teaches a marine propulsion systems (100, figs. 1-4) wherein the radiuses of the sun gear (151, fig. 3) and the first planet gear (e.g. 152b, fig. 3) are essentially equal or differ by up to 20 percent. (see para 28)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Koda by changing the radius of sun gear equal to the first planet gear or differ by up to 20 percent as taught by Gil since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size (or dimension) of a component. A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). It is well known in the art that the larger the radius in planet gear, the better the speed reduction.
As modified, the propulsion unit would have “the radius of the second planet gear is 1.5 to 3 times the radius of the first planet gear”.
Regarding claim 6, Koda discloses marine propeller propulsion unit (fig. 1) of claim 1, wherein the radius of the second planet gear (4) is greater than the radius of the first planet gear (5), but fails to disclose wherein the radius of the second planet gear is 1.5 to 3 times the radius of the first planet gear.
Gil teaches a marine propulsion systems (100, figs. 1-4) wherein the radius of the second planet gear (e.g. 152a, fig. 4) is 1.5 to 3 times the radius of the first planet gear. (see para 28)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Koda by changing the radius of second planetary gear to 1.5 to 3 times the radius of the first planet gear as taught by Gil since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size (or dimension) of a component. A change in size (dimension) is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). It is well known in the art that the larger the radius in planet gear, the better the speed reduction.
As modified, the propulsion unit would have “the radius of the second planet gear is 1.5 to 3 times the radius of the first planet gear”.
Regarding claim 7, Koda discloses all the elements of the propulsion unit (fig. 1) of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the compound planetary gear is adapted to during operation be arranged with its longitudinal axis arranged essentially in plane with a vessel that comprises, and during operation is propelled by, the marine propeller propulsion unit.
Gil teaches a marine propulsion system (100, figs. 1-4) wherein the compound planetary gear (150, fig. 2) is adapted to during operation be arranged with its longitudinal axis arranged essentially in plane with a vessel (e.g. not shown, the upper portion of 101, fig. 1) that comprises, and during operation is propelled by, the marine propeller propulsion unit.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Koda by substituting the compound planetary gear as taught by Gil so that the unit can operate efficiently and reliably.
As modified, the propulsion unit would have “the compound planetary gear comprises helical gears”.
Regarding claim 8, Koda discloses all the elements of the propulsion unit (fig. 1) of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the compound planetary gear comprises helical gears and is configured to cancel out any axial forces generated by the compound planetary gear during operation.
Gil teaches a marine propulsion systems (100, figs. 1-4) wherein the compound planetary gear comprises helical gears (see fig. 4, para 28) and is configured to cancel out any axial forces generated by the compound planetary gear during operation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Koda by substituting the compound planetary gear to helical compound planetary gear as taught by Gil so that it can reduce or eliminate the relative thrust loads generated by the planetary gear during operation. (see para 28)
As modified, the propulsion unit would have “the compound planetary gear comprises helical gears”.
Regarding claim 16, Koda discloses all the elements of the propulsion unit (fig. 1) of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the compound planetary gear comprises helical gears and is configured to cancel out any axial forces generated by the compound planetary gear during operation.
Gil teaches a marine propulsion systems (100, figs. 1-4) wherein the compound planetary gear comprises helical gears (see fig. 4, para 28) and is configured to cancel out any axial forces generated by the compound planetary gear during operation.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Koda by substituting the compound planetary gear to helical compound planetary gear as taught by Gil so that it can reduce or eliminate the relative thrust loads generated by the planetary gear during operation. (see para 28)
As modified, the propulsion unit would have “the compound planetary gear comprises helical gears”.
Regarding claim 17, Koda/ Gil discloses the marine propeller propulsion unit as modified according to claim 16, wherein helical gears of the sun gear and of the ring gear have opposite helix hands.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koda et al. (US 4963108 A) in view of Hedlund (US 20160114877 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Koda discloses all the elements of the propulsion unit (fig. 1) of claim 1, but fails to disclose a brake configured to directly or indirectly brake the ring gear to increase the rotational speed of the planet carrier and/or to directly or indirectly brake the planet carrier to increase the rotational speed of the ring gear.
Hedlund teaches a water vessel (figs. 1-2) including a planetary gear (25, fig. 2) wherein a brake (11, fig. 2, para 12) configured to directly or indirectly brake the ring gear (14) to increase the rotational speed of the planet carrier.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Koda by adding up a brake between the housing and ring gear as taught by Hedlund so that it can reduce the speed of the ring gear and therefore, the planet gear can rotate, whereby the rotational direction of the output shaft of the planetary gear can be revered. (see para 14)
As modified, the propulsion unit would have “a brake configured to directly or indirectly brake the ring gear to increase the rotational speed of the planet carrier”.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koda et al. (US 4963108 A).
Regarding claim 18, Koda discloses marine propeller propulsion unit (fig. 1) of claim 1, wherein the compound planetary gear comprises four pairs of first and second planet gears (see figs. 2-3), but fails to disclose wherein the compound planetary gear comprises three of four pairs of first and second planet gears.
Gil teaches a marine propulsion systems (100, figs. 1-4) wherein the radius of the second planet gear (e.g. 152a, fig. 4) is 1.5 to 3 times the radius of the first planet gear. (see para 28)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Koda by adding three of four pairs of first and second planet gears since such a modification would have involved a mere a duplication of parts. Mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 124 USPQ 378, 380 (CCPA 1960). Further, it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Finally, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success by duplicating the planetary gear, as the planetary gear would still adequately function as a planetary gear, while having the added capability of additional support to reduce the speed over a single pair.
As modified, the propulsion unit would have “wherein the compound planetary gear comprises three of four pairs of first and second planet gears”.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
HIDAKA (US 20220242543 A1) discloses a pod propulsion device 1 includes: a pod 3 configured to be disposed in water, an electric motor 8, a planetary gear mechanism 12 as shown in fig. 2.
Fujita (US 5030149 A) discloses a power transmission of a ship comprising a first 2 and second 2 propellers, an engine 7, a planetary gear set 8 as shown in fig. 1.
Conclusion
/FARHANA PERVIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3655