DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The claims 1-6, 9-15 and 18-20 are currently pending and have been examined. Applicant has amended claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 10, 12, 13, 15, and 19 and canceled claims 7, 8, 16, and 17.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
The amendment filed July 21, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-6, 9-15 and 18-20 are currently pending in the Application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the claim objections previously set forth in Non-Final rejection.
Applicant's arguments regarding the 35 U.S.C. 101 mental process rejection have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Examiner has carefully considered applicant’s arguments and respectfully disagrees. Applicant argues that the limitations “the electronic device is mounted on a bracket operatively associated with the UAV jammer, and the electronic device is configured to display an electronic map, calculate an optimal trajectory between the UAV and the electronic device, and mark the optimal trajectory on the electronic map” are not directed to an abstract idea without significantly more (See pages 8-9 of Applicant’s remarks).
The Examiner has considered such arguments; however, when given their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification, the claims remain directed to a judicial exception—specifically, to methods of organizing human activity and mental processes. As set forth in the rejection above, the additional limitations “…and the electronic device is configured to display an electronic map…” and “and an UAV jammer operatively associated with the electronic device, wherein the UAV jammer is configured to…”, whether considered individually or in combination, do not meaningfully integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claimed map and trajectory functionality is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to insignificant post-solution activity, while the recited physical mounting arrangement does not meaningfully apply or otherwise impose a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. Any alleged technical improvement is not shown in the steps of the claims, which merely describe generic data collection, analysis, and reporting operations performed by conventional UAV components. Further, the claims do not require the calculated trajectory to be used to control or otherwise modify the operation of the UAV jammer. Accordingly, the Examiner finds that the amended claims do not include additional elements that meaningfully integrate the judicial exception into a practical application or that amount to significantly more than the exception itself. The rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 is therefore maintained for claims 1-6, 9-15 and 18-20.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the limitation “wherein the electronic device is mounted on a bracket operatively associated with the UAV jammer” under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the limitations “calculate an optimal trajectory between the UAV and the electronic device, and mark the optimal trajectory on the electronic map” and “calculating an optimal trajectory between the UAV and the electronic device, and marking the optimal trajectory on the electronic map” under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Jeong fails to disclose “calculate an optimal trajectory between the UAV and the electronic device, and mark the optimal trajectory on the electronic map” because Jeong does not dynamically adjust the optimal trajectory between the UAV and the electronic device based on real-time location information of the UAV and the electronic device, nor does Jeong mark the optimal trajectory on the displayed electronic map to update it in real time (See Applicant’s Remarks, page 11).
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As set forth in the rejection, JEONG teaches calculating an expected route for a UAV and outputting the calculated route on a displayed interface, which under broadest reasonable interpretation corresponds to calculating an optimal trajectory between the UAV and the electronic device, and marking the optimal trajectory on the electronic map (See Figs. 15 and 18, paragraph [0289] and [0336].). The claims do not require dynamically adjusting the trajectory based on real-time location data or updating it in real-time, therefore applicant’s argument is not persuasive. Accordingly, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6, 9-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
In January, 2019 (updated October 2019), the USPTO released new examination guidelines setting forth a two-step inquiry for determining whether a claim is directed to non-statutory subject matter. According to the guidelines, a claim is directed to non-statutory subject matter if:
STEP 1: the claim does not fall within one of the four statutory categories of invention (process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter), or
STEP 2: the claim recites a judicial exception, e.g. an abstract idea, without reciting additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, as determined using the following analysis:
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon?
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception?
Using the two-step inquiry, it is clear that claims 1, 10, and 19 are directed toward non-statutory subject matter, as shown below:
STEP 1: Do claims 1, 10, and 19 fall within one of the statutory categories? Yes. The claims are directed toward an apparatus, an apparatus, and a method including at least one step.
STEP 2A (PRONG 1): Is the claim directed to a law of nature, a natural phenomenon or an abstract idea? Yes, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
With regard to STEP 2A (PRONG 1), the guidelines provide three groupings of subject matter that are considered abstract ideas:
Mathematical concepts – mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations;
Certain methods of organizing human activity – fundamental economic principles or practices (including hedging, insurance, mitigating risk); commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations); managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions); and
Mental processes – concepts that are practicably performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation, judgment, opinion).
Claim 1. An unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) interference system, comprising:
an electronic device configured to: obtain first position information of a UAV in a three-dimensional space;
and generate indication information based on the first position information and second position information of the electronic device;
and an UAV jammer operatively associated with the electronic device, wherein the UAV jammer is configured to adjust its operational state based on the indication information and selectively emit an interference signal toward the UAV;
wherein the electronic device is mounted on a bracket operatively associated with the UAV jammer, and the electronic device is configured to display an electronic map, calculate an optimal trajectory between the UAV and the electronic device, and mark the optimal trajectory on the electronic map.
The method in claim 1, specifically the limitations emphasized above, is a mental process that can be practicably performed in the human mind and, therefore, an abstract idea. It merely consists of generating indication information based on position information. This is equivalent to a person mentally determining indication information from position information.
Claim 10. An electronic device with an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) interference indication function, comprising:
an obtaining module, configured to obtain first position information of a UAV in a three-dimensional space and second position information of the electronic device;
a generation module, coupled to the obtaining module, configured to generate indication information based on the first position information and the second position information;
and a display module, coupled to the generation module, configured to display the indication information, wherein an operational state of an UAV jammer operatively associated with the electronic device is adjusted based on the indication information and the UAV jammer selectively emits an interference signal toward the UAV;
wherein the electronic device is mounted on a bracket operatively associated with the UAV jammer, and the display module is configured to display an electronic map, the electronic device is configured to calculate an optimal trajectory between the UAV and the electronic device and mark the optimal trajectory on the electronic map.
The method in claim 10, specifically the limitations emphasized above, is a mental process that can be practicably performed in the human mind and, therefore, an abstract idea. It merely consists of generating indication information based on position information. This is equivalent to a person mentally determining indication information from position information.
Claim 19. An unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) interference method, applied to an UAV interference system comprising an electronic device and an UAV jammer, the electronic device being mounted on a bracket operatively associated with the UAV jammer, the UAV interference method comprising steps of:
the electronic device obtaining first position information of a UAV in a three-dimensional space;
the electronic device generating an indication information based on the first position information and second position information of the electronic device;
the electronic device displaying an electronic map, calculating an optimal trajectory between the UAV and the electronic device, and marking the optimal trajectory on the electronic map;
and the UAV jammer adjusting its operational state based on the indication information and selectively emit an interference signal toward the UAV.
The method in claim 19, specifically the limitations emphasized above, is a mental process that can be practicably performed in the human mind and, therefore, an abstract idea. It merely consists of generating indication information based on position information. This is equivalent to a person mentally determining indication information from position information.
STEP 2A (PRONG 2): Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? No, the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
With regard to STEP 2A (prong 2), whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, the guidelines provide the following exemplary considerations that are indicative that an additional element (or combination of elements) may have integrated the judicial exception into a practical application:
an additional element reflects an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field;
an additional element that applies or uses a judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition;
an additional element implements a judicial exception with, or uses a judicial exception in conjunction with, a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim;
an additional element effects a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing; and
an additional element applies or uses the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.
While the guidelines further state that the exemplary considerations are not an exhaustive list and that there may be other examples of integrating the exception into a practical application, the guidelines also list examples in which a judicial exception has not been integrated into a practical application:
an additional element merely recites the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea;
an additional element adds insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception; and
an additional element does no more than generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use.
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract ideas are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the abstract “idea”).
Claim 1. An unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) interference system, comprising:
an electronic device configured to: obtain first position information of a UAV in a three-dimensional space;
and generate indication information based on the first position information and second position information of the electronic device;
and an UAV jammer operatively associated with the electronic device, wherein the UAV jammer is configured to adjust its operational state based on the indication information and selectively emit an interference signal toward the UAV;
wherein the electronic device is mounted on a bracket operatively associated with the UAV jammer, and the electronic device is configured to display an electronic map, calculate an optimal trajectory between the UAV and the electronic device, and mark the optimal trajectory on the electronic map.
Claim 1 does not recite any of the exemplary considerations that are indicative of an abstract idea having been integrated into a practical application. The step of “…obtain first position information…” is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of extra solution activity. The step of “…adjust its operational state based on the indication information and selectively emit an interference signal toward the UAV” is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to mere post solution actions, which is a form of extra solution activity. The step of “…and the electronic device is configured to display an electronic map…” is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to mere post solution actions, which is a form of extra solution activity. The limitations “An unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) interference system, comprising: an electronic device configured to…”, “…of the electronic device”, “and an UAV jammer operatively associated with the electronic device, wherein the UAV jammer is configured to…”, and “wherein the electronic device is mounted on a bracket operatively associated with the UAV jammer” are claimed generically and are operating in their ordinary capacity such that they do not use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) interference system, comprising: an electronic device and UAV jammer operatively associated with the electronic device merely describe how to generally “apply” the otherwise mental judgments in a generic or general purpose computing environment. The unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) interference system, comprising: an electronic device and UAV jammer operatively associated with the electronic device are recited at a high level of generality and merely automate the obtaining, generating, adjusting, emitting, and displaying steps. These limitations can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of a computer. It should be noted that because the courts have made it clear that mere physicality or tangibility of an additional element or elements is not a relevant consideration in the eligibility analysis, the physical nature of these computer components does not affect this analysis. See MPEP 2106.05(I). Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Claim 10. An electronic device with an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) interference indication function, comprising:
an obtaining module, configured to obtain first position information of a UAV in a three-dimensional space and second position information of the electronic device;
a generation module, coupled to the obtaining module, configured to generate indication information based on the first position information and the second position information;
and a display module, coupled to the generation module, configured to display the indication information, wherein an operational state of an UAV jammer operatively associated with the electronic device is adjusted based on the indication information and the UAV jammer selectively emits an interference signal toward the UAV;
wherein the electronic device is mounted on a bracket operatively associated with the UAV jammer, and the display module is configured to display an electronic map, the electronic device is configured to calculate an optimal trajectory between the UAV and the electronic device and mark the optimal trajectory on the electronic map.
Claim 10 does not recite any of the exemplary considerations that are indicative of an abstract idea having been integrated into a practical application. The step of “…obtain first position information…” is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of extra solution activity. The step of “display the indication information, wherein an operational state…is adjusted based on the indication information and…selectively emits an interference signal toward the UAV” is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to mere post solution actions, which is a form of extra solution activity. The step of “…and the display module is configured to display an electronic map…” is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to mere post solution actions, which is a form of extra solution activity. The limitations “An electronic device with an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) interference indication function, comprising: an obtaining module, configured to…”, “a generation module, coupled to the obtaining module, configured to”, “and a display module, coupled to the generation module, configured to”, “…of an UAV jammer operatively associated with the electronic device…”, “…the UAV jammer…”, and “wherein the electronic device is mounted on a bracket operatively associated with the UAV jammer” are claimed generically and are operating in their ordinary capacity such that they do not use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The electronic device with an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) interference indication function, comprising: an obtaining module; generation module, coupled to the obtaining module; display module, coupled to the generation module; UAV jammer operatively associated with the electronic device merely describe how to generally “apply” the otherwise mental judgments in a generic or general purpose computing environment. The electronic device with an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) interference indication function, comprising: an obtaining module; generation module, coupled to the obtaining module; display module, coupled to the generation module; UAV jammer operatively associated with the electronic device are recited at a high level of generality and merely automate the obtaining, generating, displaying, adjusting, and emitting steps. These limitations can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of a computer. It should be noted that because the courts have made it clear that mere physicality or tangibility of an additional element or elements is not a relevant consideration in the eligibility analysis, the physical nature of these computer components does not affect this analysis. See MPEP 2106.05(I). Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Claim 19. An unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) interference method, applied to an UAV interference system comprising an electronic device and an UAV jammer, the electronic device being mounted on a bracket operatively associated with the UAV jammer, the UAV interference method comprising steps of:
the electronic device obtaining first position information of a UAV in a three-dimensional space;
the electronic device generating an indication information based on the first position information and second position information of the electronic device;
the electronic device displaying an electronic map, calculating an optimal trajectory between the UAV and the electronic device, and marking the optimal trajectory on the electronic map;
and the UAV jammer adjusting its operational state based on the indication information and selectively emit an interference signal toward the UAV.
Claim 19 does not recite any of the exemplary considerations that are indicative of an abstract idea having been integrated into a practical application. The step of “…obtaining first position information…” is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of extra solution activity. The step of “the electronic device displaying an electronic map…” is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to mere post solution actions, which is a form of extra solution activity. The step of “adjusting its operational state based on the indication information and selectively emits an interference signal toward the UAV” is recited at a high level of generality and amounts to mere post solution actions, which is a form of extra solution activity. The limitations “an UAV interference system comprising an electronic device and an UAV jammer, the electronic device being mounted on a bracket operatively associated with the UAV jammer…the electronic device…”, “the electronic device…of the electronic device”, and “and the UAV jammer…” are claimed generically and are operating in their ordinary capacity such that they do not use the judicial exception in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The UAV interference system comprising an electronic device and an UAV jammer, the electronic device being mounted on a bracket operatively associated with the UAV jammer and UAV jammer merely describe how to generally “apply” the otherwise mental judgments in a generic or general purpose computing environment. The UAV interference system comprising an electronic device and an UAV jammer, the electronic device being mounted on a bracket operatively associated with the UAV jammer are recited at a high level of generality and merely automate the obtaining, generating, displaying, adjusting, and emitting steps. These limitations can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of a computer. It should be noted that because the courts have made it clear that mere physicality or tangibility of an additional element or elements is not a relevant consideration in the eligibility analysis, the physical nature of these computer components does not affect this analysis. See MPEP 2106.05(I). Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
STEP 2B: Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? No, the claims do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
With regard to STEP 2B, whether the claims recite additional elements that provide significantly more than the recited judicial exception, the guidelines specify that the pre-guideline procedure is still in effect. Specifically, that examiners should continue to consider whether an additional element or combination of elements:
adds a specific limitation or combination of limitations that are not well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field, which is indicative that an inventive concept may be present; or
simply appends well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, which is indicative that an inventive concept may not be present.
Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, independent claims 1, 10, and 19 do not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional limitation(s) of “An unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) interference system, comprising: an electronic device configured to…”, “…of the electronic device”, “and an UAV jammer operatively associated with the electronic device, wherein the UAV jammer is configured to…”, “wherein the electronic device is mounted on a bracket operatively associated with the UAV jammer”, “An electronic device with an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) interference indication function, comprising: an obtaining module, configured to…”, “a generation module, coupled to the obtaining module, configured to”, “and a display module, coupled to the generation module, configured to”, “…of an UAV jammer operatively associated with the electronic device…”, “…the UAV jammer…”, “an UAV interference system comprising an electronic device and an UAV jammer, the electronic device being mounted on a bracket operatively associated with the UAV jammer…the electronic device…”, “the electronic device…of the electronic device”, “the electronic device…of the electronic device”, and “and the UAV jammer…” is/are merely means to apply the exception and do not amount to “significantly more”, as adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, e.g., a limitation indicating that a particular function such as creating and maintaining electronic records is performed by a computer, as discussed in Alice Corp., 573 U.S. at 225-26, 110 USPQ2d at 1984, are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Further, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The additional limitations of “…obtain first position information…”, “…adjust its operational state based on the indication information and selectively emit an interference signal toward the UAV”, “…and the electronic device is configured to display an electronic map…”, “display the indication information, wherein an operational state…is adjusted based on the indication information and…selectively emits an interference signal toward the UAV”, “…and the display module is configured to display an electronic map…”, “…obtaining first position information…”, “the electronic device displaying an electronic map…”, and “adjusting its operational state based on the indication information and selectively emits an interference signal toward the UAV” are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities because the specification does not provide any indication that the obtaining, generating, displaying, adjusting, and emitting steps are performed using anything other than a conventional computer. See also MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures |, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TL! Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and O/P Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere performance of an action is a well-understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner (as it is here). Hence, the claim is not patent eligible.
Thus, since claims 1, 10, and 19 are: (a) directed toward an abstract idea, (b) do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application, and (c) do not recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, it is clear that claims 1, 10, and 19 are directed towards non-statutory subject matter.
Dependent claims 2-6, 9, 11-15, 18, and 20 further limit the abstract idea without integrating the abstract idea into practical application or adding significantly more, such as the limitations in claim 2 that amount to insignificant extra solution activity using a similar analysis applied to claim 1 above.
As such, claims 1-6, 9-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 USC 101 as being drawn to an abstract idea without significantly more, and thus are ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9, 10, 15, 18, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morrow (US 11233978 B1) in view of JEONG (US 20210287559 A1) and Thiessen (US 20240380511 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Morrow teaches An unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) interference system, comprising: an electronic device configured to: obtain first position information of a UAV in a three-dimensional space (See at least Col. 3 lines 5-15, “In another aspect, the present methods for locating an unmanned aerial vehicle ("UAV") in a particular airspace comprise receiving, at a processor in communication with a portable countermeasure device, UAV data from a UAV tracking system wherein the UAV data comprises information relating to a first location of a UAV in the particular airspace”, col. 8 lines 60-67 and col. 9 lines 1-5, “In one embodiment, the video sensor has a dome-shaped configuration and is capable of recording 1080p resolution video within a wide-angle field of view. According to various aspects of the present disclosure, the video sensor is configured to record activity within a field of view that a UAV would be expected to enter. For example, the video sensor may be pointed upward at the sky in anticipation of a UAV approaching from a high altitude. In some embodiments, a pre-installed stand-alone video sensor, such as pre-existing home/location security equipment, can be included in the plurality of sensors 112A-112C”, and col. 16 lines 64-67 and col. 17 lines 1-10, “According to aspects of the present disclosure, the video sensor 502 may allow for the device 112 to capture and maintain a video stream of a particular field of view, as determined during configuration. In various embodiments, the video sensor 502 may capture 1080p HD resolution video and may be configurable within a 60-120 degree field of view, but also many other fields of view depending on particular device configurations. In one embodiment the video sensor 502 may also be capable of near-infrared HD detection. Generally, the video sensor 502 allows for the device 112 to "see" the particular object in order to classify it as a UAV or non-UAV.” The system determines the UAV location within an airspace using sensors configured to detect and track the UAV, including detection of UAVs approaching from high altitude within a field of view, corresponding to obtaining position information in a three-dimensional space.); and generate indication information based on the first position information and second position information of the electronic device (See at least Col. 3 lines 5-20, “In another aspect, the present methods for locating an unmanned aerial vehicle ("UAV") in a particular airspace comprise receiving, at a processor in communication with a portable countermeasure device, UAV data from a UAV tracking system wherein the UAV data comprises information relating to a first location of a UAV in the particular airspace; determining, via the processor, a second location of the portable countermeasure device; analyzing the UAV data and the second location to determine relational data comprising a directional vector from the second location to the first location; and rendering, via the processor, an indication of the first location based at least in part on the directional vector.” The directional vector is determined based on both UAV location and the device location, and the rendered indication corresponds to the indication information.); and an UAV jammer operatively associated with the electronic device, wherein the UAV jammer is configured to adjust its operational state based on the indication information and selectively emit an interference signal toward the UAV (See at least Col. 31 lines 25-67, “Proceeding now to step 904, the portable countermeasure devices 600 can display the received UAV information. In one embodiment, the UAV information may include the UAV's distance from the portable countermeasure device 600, the direction from the portable countermeasure device at which the UAV is located, the UAV's detected speed or velocity, the UAV type, etc. In various embodiments, the portable countermeasure devices 600 may include a digital screen or similar display, LEDs, a scope ( e.g., a rifle scope) or similar sight, etc., each capable of displaying an indication of the UAV's location. For example, a grid of LEDs may be illuminated to indicate the direction from which a UAV is approaching. In another example, an optical glass display within a scope may guide a user to point the countermeasure device in the air towards the UAV, and the scope may furthermore display a circle or similar ring around the UAV once it is identified within the airspace. In certain embodiments, a virtual reality headset, glasses, or the like, may receive the UAV location data and display instructions for guiding a user to the UAV within the airspace. As mentioned immediately above, the portable countermeasure device may further transmit an indication of the UAV's location to a handler's smartphone or another display (such as an automobile onboard display), for alerting the device handler of the UAV threat. In various embodiments, the system may proceed to step 906, where the system generates a countermeasure signal based on information relating to the detected UAV (e.g., the information received from step 902). According to various aspects of the present disclosure, the portable countermeasure device 600 may store one or more types of waveforms that may be transmitted towards one or more UAVs for jamming the UAVs or otherwise blocking the UAVs from continuing stable or expected operation. In at least one embodiment, the portable countermeasure device may dynamically generate new waveforms based on UAV information received at step 902, or based on information received at the portable countermeasure device directly from the UAV (prior to or after locating the UAV). The portable countermeasure device 600 can generate commands to the UAVs to land, decelerate, tum around and fly in the opposite direction, or perform one or more other maneuvers.” The system generates a countermeasure signal based on UAV information and transmitting waveforms to jam the UAV, corresponding to adjusting an operational state and emitting an interference signal based on indication information.); and the electronic device is configured to display an electronic map (See at least Col. 27 lines 40-67, “In some embodiments, the UAVTMS 102 can render a user interface on a display to show a status of portable countermeasure devices 600 deployed in an area. The user interface can be rendered via a web page, a native application, or via another means. The user interface can include a map with any UAVs, known aerial vehicles, physical structures, sensing devices 112, and portable countermeasure devices 600. The UAVTMS 102 can update the location of the portable countermeasure devices 600 on the map in real-time as the portable countermeasure devices 600 is moved about the area. An icon can be used for each portable countermeasure device 600. In some embodiments, the icons can be customized on a per portable countermeasure device 600 basis. The icons can change to indicate various aspects of the portable countermeasure devices 600. As an example, an icon may glow when the portable countermeasure devices 600 is activated and emitting a disruptive signal. The icon may have an arrow pointing in a direction of the last compass bearing received from the portable countermeasure device 600. The icon may turn orange if the portable countermeasure devices 600 enters into low power mode and the icon may turn grey if the portable countermeasure devices 600 is not heard from for a predefined period of time. The UAVTMS 102 may aggregate radio frequency data from various devices 112 and portable countermeasure devices 600 to generate a visual representation of radio frequency activity on the map.”).
Morrow does not explicitly disclose, however, JEONG, in the same field of endeavor, teaches calculate an optimal trajectory between the UAV and the electronic device, and mark the optimal trajectory on the electronic map (See at least Figs. 15 and 18, paragraph [0289], “FIG. 15 is a view illustrating an example of outputting a configured corridor in the form of a web screen by a device or system according to an embodiment of the disclosure. FIG. 16 is a view illustrating an example of outputting a corridor configured as fly-over navigation by a device or system, in the form of a web screen according to an embodiment of the disclosure. FIG. 17 is a view illustrating an example of outputting a corridor configured as fly-by navigation by a device or system, in the form of a web screen according to an embodiment of the disclosure” and paragraph [0336], “Then, the step S100 of configuring a plurality of way points where the UAV 100 is to sequentially fly may further include the step S1010 of identifying a mission configured by the user by the device 600 or system 60 as shown in FIG. 18, the step S1020 of selecting a pattern flight kind corresponding to the configured mission, the step S1030 of calculating an expected route along which the UAV 100 is to fly depending on the selected pattern flight kind, and the step S1040 of outputting the calculated expected route via the device 600 or the terminal 300.” The system calculates an expected route for a UAV and outputting the calculated route on a displayed interface (e.g. a web screen), corresponding to calculating a trajectory associated with the UAV relative to the device and marking the trajectory on an electronic map.).
Morrow and JEONG do not explicitly disclose, however, Thiessen, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the electronic device is mounted on a bracket operatively associated with the UAV jammer (See at least Figs. 12A-12C, paragraph [0229], “With reference to FIG. 12A, FIG. 12B and FIG. 12C, shown is a mounting arrangement 401/402 according to an exemplary embodiment of this disclosure. FIG. 12A is a front view of a mounting bracket 401, FIG. 12B is a rear view the mounting bracket 401 and FIG. 12C is a top view of a hook-n-loop mounting arrangement 402. As shown, according to this arrangement, a computing device 102 is mounted on one side of a mounting plate and the SDR 101 is mounted on the opposite side of the mounting plate 401. The bracket 401 may be an integral part of the unmanned vehicle or, alternatively mounted to an existing payload mounting configuration (bolt on, clip, etc.) which is part of the unmanned vehicle. FIG. 12C shows a mounting arrangement which uses a hook-n-loop attachment means 402 to secure the computer 102 and SDR 101 to the unmanned vehicle.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Morrow with the teachings of JEONG and Thiessen such that the UAV detection and countermeasure system of Morrow is further configured to calculate an optimal trajectory between the UAV and the electronic device, and mark the optimal trajectory on the electronic map, as taught by JEONG (See paragraph [0289], [0336].), and wherein the electronic device is mounted on a bracket operatively associated with the UAV jammer, as taught by Thiessen (See paragraph [0229].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be reducing battery and fuel consumption as well as increasing flight time for convenience in operating the UAV, as taught by JEONG (See paragraph [0006].), and to provide a detachable counter-UAS system capable of being separated from the aerial platform and used on a different platform, as taught by Thiessen (See paragraph [0004].).
With respect to claim 19, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 1, which is commensurate in scope to claim 19, with claim 1 being drawn to a an unmanned aerial vehicle interference system and claim 19 being drawn to a corresponding method.
Regarding Claim 6, Morrow, JEONG, and Thiessen teach The UAV interference system according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Morrow teaches an electronic map illustrates the locations of the UAV and the electronic device based on the position information (See at least Col. 27 lines 40-67, “In some embodiments, the UAVTMS 102 can render a user interface on a display to show a status of portable countermeasure devices 600 deployed in an area. The user interface can be rendered via a web page, a native application, or via another means. The user interface can include a map with any UAVs, known aerial vehicles, physical structures, sensing devices 112, and portable countermeasure devices 600. The UAVTMS 102 can update the location of the portable countermeasure devices 600 on the map in real-time as the portable countermeasure devices 600 is moved about the area. An icon can be used for each portable countermeasure device 600. In some embodiments, the icons can be customized on a per portable countermeasure device 600 basis. The icons can change to indicate various aspects of the portable countermeasure devices 600. As an example, an icon may glow when the portable countermeasure devices 600 is activated and emitting a disruptive signal. The icon may have an arrow pointing in a direction of the last compass bearing received from the portable countermeasure device 600. The icon may turn orange if the portable countermeasure devices 600 enters into low power mode and the icon may turn grey if the portable countermeasure devices 600 is not heard from for a predefined period of time. The UAVTMS 102 may aggregate radio frequency data from various devices 112 and portable countermeasure devices 600 to generate a visual representation of radio frequency activity on the map.”).
With respect to claim 15, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 6, which is commensurate in scope to claim 15, with claim 6 being drawn to a an unmanned aerial vehicle interference system and claim 15 being drawn to a corresponding electronic device.
Regarding Claim 9, Morrow, JEONG, and Thiessen teach The UAV interference system according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Morrow teaches wherein the electronic device is a mobile device selected from a group consisting of a mobile phone (See at least Col. 31 lines 45-50, “As mentioned immediately above, the portable countermeasure device may further transmit an indication of the UAV's location to a handler's smartphone or another display (such as an automobile onboard display), for alerting the device handler of the UAV threat.”), a tablet computer, or a personal digital assistant (PDA).
With respect to claim 18, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 9, which is commensurate in scope to claim 18, with claim 9 being drawn to a an unmanned aerial vehicle interference system and claim 18 being drawn to a corresponding electronic device.
Regarding Claim 10, Morrow teaches An electronic device with an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) interference indication function, comprising: an obtaining module, configured to obtain first position information of a UAV in a three-dimensional space and second position information of the electronic device (See at least Col. 3 lines 5-20, ““In another aspect, the present methods for locating an unmanned aerial vehicle ("UAV") in a particular airspace comprise receiving, at a processor in communication with a portable countermeasure device, UAV data from a UAV tracking system wherein the UAV data comprises information relating to a first location of a UAV in the particular airspace; determining, via the processor, a second location of the portable countermeasure device; analyzing the UAV data and the second location to determine relational data comprising a directional vector from the second location to the first location; and rendering, via the processor, an indication of the first location based at least in part on the directional vector”, col. 8 lines 60-67 and col. 9 lines 1-5, “In one embodiment, the video sensor has a dome-shaped configuration and is capable of recording 1080p resolution video within a wide-angle field of view. According to various aspects of the present disclosure, the video sensor is configured to record activity within a field of view that a UAV would be expected to enter. For example, the video sensor may be pointed upward at the sky in anticipation of a UAV approaching from a high altitude. In some embodiments, a pre-installed stand-alone video sensor, such as pre-existing home/location security equipment, can be included in the plurality of sensors 112A-112C”, and col. 16 lines 64-67 and col. 17 lines 1-10, “According to aspects of the present disclosure, the video sensor 502 may allow for the device 112 to capture and maintain a video stream of a particular field of view, as determined during configuration. In various embodiments, the video sensor 502 may capture 1080p HD resolution video and may be configurable within a 60-120 degree field of view, but also many other fields of view depending on particular device configurations. In one embodiment the video sensor 502 may also be capable of near-infrared HD detection. Generally, the video sensor 502 allows for the device 112 to "see" the particular object in order to classify it as a UAV or non-UAV.” The system determines the UAV location within an airspace using sensors configured to detect and track the UAV, including detection of UAVs approaching from high altitude within a field of view and determines a second location of the portable countermeasure device, corresponding to obtaining position information in a three-dimensional space and second position information of the electronic device.); a generation module, coupled to the obtaining module, configured to generate indication information based on the first position information and the second position information (See at least Col. 3 lines 5-20, “In another aspect, the present methods for locating an unmanned aerial vehicle ("UAV") in a particular airspace comprise receiving, at a processor in communication with a portable countermeasure device, UAV data from a UAV tracking system wherein the UAV data comprises information relating to a first location of a UAV in the particular airspace; determining, via the processor, a second location of the portable countermeasure device; analyzing the UAV data and the second location to determine relational data comprising a directional vector from the second location to the first location; and rendering, via the processor, an indication of the first location based at least in part on the directional vector.” The directional vector is determined based on both UAV location and the device location, and the rendered indication corresponds to the indication information.); and a display module, coupled to the generation module, configured to display the indication information, wherein an operational state of an UAV jammer operatively associated with the electronic device is adjusted based on the indication information and the UAV jammer selectively emits an interference signal toward the UAV (See at least Col. 31 lines 25-67, “Proceeding now to step 904, the portable countermeasure devices 600 can display the received UAV information. In one embodiment, the UAV information may include the UAV's distance from the portable countermeasure device 600, the direction from the portable countermeasure device at which the UAV is located, the UAV's detected speed or velocity, the UAV type, etc. In various embodiments, the portable countermeasure devices 600 may include a digital screen or similar display, LEDs, a scope ( e.g., a rifle scope) or similar sight, etc., each capable of displaying an indication of the UAV's location. For example, a grid of LEDs may be illuminated to indicate the direction from which a UAV is approaching. In another example, an optical glass display within a scope may guide a user to point the countermeasure device in the air towards the UAV, and the scope may furthermore display a circle or similar ring around the UAV once it is identified within the airspace. In certain embodiments, a virtual reality headset, glasses, or the like, may receive the UAV location data and display instructions for guiding a user to the UAV within the airspace. As mentioned immediately above, the portable countermeasure device may further transmit an indication of the UAV's location to a handler's smartphone or another display (such as an automobile onboard display), for alerting the device handler of the UAV threat. In various embodiments, the system may proceed to step 906, where the system generates a countermeasure signal based on information relating to the detected UAV (e.g., the information received from step 902). According to various aspects of the present disclosure, the portable countermeasure device 600 may store one or more types of waveforms that may be transmitted towards one or more UAVs for jamming the UAVs or otherwise blocking the UAVs from continuing stable or expected operation. In at least one embodiment, the portable countermeasure device may dynamically generate new waveforms based on UAV information received at step 902, or based on information received at the portable countermeasure device directly from the UAV (prior to or after locating the UAV). The portable countermeasure device 600 can generate commands to the UAVs to land, decelerate, tum around and fly in the opposite direction, or perform one or more other maneuvers.” The system displays the indication information, generates a countermeasure signal based on UAV information, and transmits waveforms to jam the UAV, corresponding to displaying the indication information, adjusting an operational state, and emitting an interference signal based on indication information.). and the display module is configured to display an electronic map (See at least Col. 27 lines 40-67, “In some embodiments, the UAVTMS 102 can render a user interface on a display to show a status of portable countermeasure devices 600 deployed in an area. The user interface can be rendered via a web page, a native application, or via another means. The user interface can include a map with any UAVs, known aerial vehicles, physical structures, sensing devices 112, and portable countermeasure devices 600. The UAVTMS 102 can update the location of the portable countermeasure devices 600 on the map in real-time as the portable countermeasure devices 600 is moved about the area. An icon can be used for each portable countermeasure device 600. In some embodiments, the icons can be customized on a per portable countermeasure device 600 basis. The icons can change to indicate various aspects of the portable countermeasure devices 600. As an example, an icon may glow when the portable countermeasure devices 600 is activated and emitting a disruptive signal. The icon may have an arrow pointing in a direction of the last compass bearing received from the portable countermeasure device 600. The icon may turn orange if the portable countermeasure devices 600 enters into low power mode and the icon may turn grey if the portable countermeasure devices 600 is not heard from for a predefined period of time. The UAVTMS 102 may aggregate radio frequency data from various devices 112 and portable countermeasure devices 600 to generate a visual representation of radio frequency activity on the map.”).
Morrow does not explicitly disclose, however, JEONG, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the electronic device is configured to calculate an optimal trajectory between the UAV and the electronic device and mark the optimal trajectory on the electronic map (See at least Figs. 15 and 18, paragraph [0289], “FIG. 15 is a view illustrating an example of outputting a configured corridor in the form of a web screen by a device or system according to an embodiment of the disclosure. FIG. 16 is a view illustrating an example of outputting a corridor configured as fly-over navigation by a device or system, in the form of a web screen according to an embodiment of the disclosure. FIG. 17 is a view illustrating an example of outputting a corridor configured as fly-by navigation by a device or system, in the form of a web screen according to an embodiment of the disclosure” and paragraph [0336], “Then, the step S100 of configuring a plurality of way points where the UAV 100 is to sequentially fly may further include the step S1010 of identifying a mission configured by the user by the device 600 or system 60 as shown in FIG. 18, the step S1020 of selecting a pattern flight kind corresponding to the configured mission, the step S1030 of calculating an expected route along which the UAV 100 is to fly depending on the selected pattern flight kind, and the step S1040 of outputting the calculated expected route via the device 600 or the terminal 300.” The system calculates an expected route for a UAV and outputting the calculated route on a displayed interface (e.g. a web screen), corresponding to calculating a trajectory associated with the UAV relative to the device and marking the trajectory on an electronic map.).
Morrow and JEONG do not explicitly disclose, however, Thiessen, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the electronic device is mounted on a bracket operatively associated with the UAV jammer (See at least Figs. 12A-12C, paragraph [0229], “With reference to FIG. 12A, FIG. 12B and FIG. 12C, shown is a mounting arrangement 401/402 according to an exemplary embodiment of this disclosure. FIG. 12A is a front view of a mounting bracket 401, FIG. 12B is a rear view the mounting bracket 401 and FIG. 12C is a top view of a hook-n-loop mounting arrangement 402. As shown, according to this arrangement, a computing device 102 is mounted on one side of a mounting plate and the SDR 101 is mounted on the opposite side of the mounting plate 401. The bracket 401 may be an integral part of the unmanned vehicle or, alternatively mounted to an existing payload mounting configuration (bolt on, clip, etc.) which is part of the unmanned vehicle. FIG. 12C shows a mounting arrangement which uses a hook-n-loop attachment means 402 to secure the computer 102 and SDR 101 to the unmanned vehicle.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Morrow with the teachings of JEONG and Thiessen such that the UAV detection and countermeasure system of Morrow is further configured to utilize the electronic device calculating an optimal trajectory between the UAV and the electronic device, and mark the optimal trajectory on the electronic map, as taught by JEONG (See paragraph [0289], [0336].), and wherein the electronic device is mounted on a bracket operatively associated with the UAV jammer, as taught by Thiessen (See paragraph [0229].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be reducing battery and fuel consumption as well as increasing flight time for convenience in operating the UAV, as taught by JEONG (See paragraph [0006].), and to provide a detachable counter-UAS system capable of being separated from the aerial platform and used on a different platform, as taught by Thiessen (See paragraph [0004].).
Claim(s) 2-5, 11-14, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morrow (US 11233978 B1) in view of JEONG (US 20210287559 A1), Thiessen (US 20240380511 A1), and CHOI (KR 20230086389 A).
Regarding Claim 2, Morrow, JEONG, and Thiessen teach The UAV interference system according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Morrow, JEONG, and Thiessen do not explicitly disclose, however, CHOI, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the first position information comprises at least a coordinate value, a horizontal angle, and a vertical angle of the UAV, and the second position information comprises a coordinate value, a horizontal angle, and a vertical angle of the electronic device (See at least paragraph [0056], “[In step S320, the UAV jamming device may check the result of detecting the location of the UAV, and if the result of detecting the location of the UAV is successful, in step S330, the location of the UAV may be updated. Here, the position of the UAV is expressed as (r, Ø, θ), which is the distance to the UAV based on the UAV detection device and the azimuth and elevation angles for the detected position of the UAV, for example, as shown in FIG. can.]” and paragraph [0057], “[Specifically, as shown in FIG. 5, the UAV jamming device obtains the first position 510 (r, Sub[attributes={}; value=[d ]], , Ø, Sub[attributes={}; value=[d]], , θ, Sub[attributes={}; value=[d]], ) at the current stage (eg, second point in time) The second position 520 obtained with the result of detecting the position of the drone (eg, success) in (r, Sub[attributes={}; value=[0]], , Ø, Sub[attributes={ }; value=[0]], , θ, Sub[attributes={}; value=[0]], )].”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Morrow with the teachings of JEONG, Thiessen, and CHOI such that the UAV detection and countermeasure system of Morrow is further configured to calculate an optimal trajectory between the UAV and the electronic device, and mark the optimal trajectory on the electronic map, as taught by JEONG (See paragraph [0289], [0336].), wherein the electronic device is mounted on a bracket operatively associated with the UAV jammer, as taught by Thiessen (See paragraph [0229].), and utilize first position information comprising at least a coordinate value, a horizontal angle, and a vertical angle of the UAV, and the second position information comprises a coordinate value, a horizontal angle, and a vertical angle of the electronic device, as taught by CHOI (See paragraph [0056], [0057].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be reducing battery and fuel consumption as well as increasing flight time for convenience in operating the UAV, as taught by JEONG (See paragraph [0006].), to provide a detachable counter-UAS system capable of being separated from the aerial platform and used on a different platform, as taught by Thiessen (See paragraph [0004].), and to increase success rate and power effiency of jamming, as taught by CHOI (See paragraph [0012], [0014].).
With respect to claim 11, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 2, which is commensurate in scope to claim 11, with claim 2 being drawn to a an unmanned aerial vehicle interference system and claim 11 being drawn to a corresponding electronic device.
With respect to claim 20, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 2, which is commensurate in scope to claim 20, with claim 2 being drawn to an unmanned aerial vehicle interference system and claim 20 being drawn to a corresponding method.
Regarding Claim 3, Morrow, JEONG, Thiessen, and CHOI teach The UAV interference system according to claim 2, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Morrow, JEONG, and Thiessen do not explicitly disclose, however, CHOI, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the indication information comprises: a relative distance derived from the first and second coordinate values, horizontal angle adjustment information derived from the first and second horizontal angles, and vertical angle adjustment information derived from the first and second vertical angles (See at least paragraph [0056], “[In step S320, the UAV jamming device may check the result of detecting the location of the UAV, and if the result of detecting the location of the UAV is successful, in step S330, the location of the UAV may be updated. Here, the position of the UAV is expressed as (r, Ø, θ), which is the distance to the UAV based on the UAV detection device and the azimuth and elevation angles for the detected position of the UAV, for example, as shown in FIG. can.]” and paragraph [0057], “[Specifically, as shown in FIG. 5, the UAV jamming device obtains the first position 510 (r, Sub[attributes={}; value=[d ]], , Ø, Sub[attributes={}; value=[d]], , θ, Sub[attributes={}; value=[d]], ) at the current stage (eg, second point in time) The second position 520 obtained with the result of detecting the position of the drone (eg, success) in (r, Sub[attributes={}; value=[0]], , Ø, Sub[attributes={ }; value=[0]], , θ, Sub[attributes={}; value=[0]], )].” The first and second coordinate values are used to determine relative distance between the UAV and the electronic device, and the first and second horizontal and vertical angles are compared to determine angular differences corresponding to horizontal and vertical angle adjustment information.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Morrow with the teachings of JEONG, Thiessen, and CHOI such that the UAV detection and countermeasure system of Morrow is further configured to calculate an optimal trajectory between the UAV and the electronic device, and mark the optimal trajectory on the electronic map, as taught by JEONG (See paragraph [0289], [0336].), wherein the electronic device is mounted on a bracket operatively associated with the UAV jammer, as taught by Thiessen (See paragraph [0229].), and utilize first position information comprising at least a coordinate value, a horizontal angle, and a vertical angle of the UAV, and the second position information comprises a coordinate value, a horizontal angle, and a vertical angle of the electronic device; and utilize indication information comprising: a relative distance derived from the first and second coordinate values, horizontal angle adjustment information derived from the first and second horizontal angles, and vertical angle adjustment information derived from the first and second vertical angles, as taught by CHOI (See paragraph [0056], [0057].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be reducing battery and fuel consumption as well as increasing flight time for convenience in operating the UAV, as taught by JEONG (See paragraph [0006].), to provide a detachable counter-UAS system capable of being separated from the aerial platform and used on a different platform, as taught by Thiessen (See paragraph [0004].), and to increase success rate and power effiency of jamming, as taught by CHOI (See paragraph [0012], [0014].).
With respect to claim 12, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 3, which is commensurate in scope to claim 12, with claim 3 being drawn to a an unmanned aerial vehicle interference system and claim 12 being drawn to a corresponding electronic device.
Regarding Claim 4, Morrow, JEONG, Thiessen, and CHOI teach The UAV interference system according to claim 3, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Morrow teaches wherein the indication information further comprises one or more indicators for: identifying a real-time location of the UAV, and specifying horizontal and vertical movement directions required to align the UAV jammer with the UAV (See at least Col. 31 lines 25-67, “Proceeding now to step 904, the portable countermeasure devices 600 can display the received UAV information. In one embodiment, the UAV information may include the UAV's distance from the portable countermeasure device 600, the direction from the portable countermeasure device at which the UAV is located, the UAV's detected speed or velocity, the UAV type, etc. In various embodiments, the portable countermeasure devices 600 may include a digital screen or similar display, LEDs, a scope ( e.g., a rifle scope) or similar sight, etc., each capable of displaying an indication of the UAV's location. For example, a grid of LEDs may be illuminated to indicate the direction from which a UAV is approaching. In another example, an optical glass display within a scope may guide a user to point the countermeasure device in the air towards the UAV, and the scope may furthermore display a circle or similar ring around the UAV once it is identified within the airspace. In certain embodiments, a virtual reality headset, glasses, or the like, may receive the UAV location data and display instructions for guiding a user to the UAV within the airspace. As mentioned immediately above, the portable countermeasure device may further transmit an indication of the UAV's location to a handler's smartphone or another display (such as an automobile onboard display), for alerting the device handler of the UAV threat. In various embodiments, the system may proceed to step 906, where the system generates a countermeasure signal based on information relating to the detected UAV (e.g., the information received from step 902). According to various aspects of the present disclosure, the portable countermeasure device 600 may store one or more types of waveforms that may be transmitted towards one or more UAVs for jamming the UAVs or otherwise blocking the UAVs from continuing stable or expected operation. In at least one embodiment, the portable countermeasure device may dynamically generate new waveforms based on UAV information received at step 902, or based on information received at the portable countermeasure device directly from the UAV (prior to or after locating the UAV). The portable countermeasure device 600 can generate commands to the UAVs to land, decelerate, tum around and fly in the opposite direction, or perform one or more other maneuvers.” The displayed UAV information corresponds to identifying the real-time location, and the directional indicators guide the user in horizontal and vertical movement to align the device with the UAV.).
With respect to claim 13, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 4, which is commensurate in scope to claim 13, with claim 4 being drawn to a an unmanned aerial vehicle interference system and claim 13 being drawn to a corresponding electronic device.
Regarding Claim 5, Morrow, JEONG, and Thiessen teach The UAV interference system according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Morrow, JEONG, and Thiessen do not explicitly disclose, however, CHOI, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the operational state of the UAV jammer comprises a launch angle, and the launch angle is dynamically adjusted to target the UAV based on the indication information (See at least paragraph [0056], “[In step S320, the UAV jamming device may check the result of detecting the location of the UAV, and if the result of detecting the location of the UAV is successful, in step S330, the location of the UAV may be updated. Here, the position of the UAV is expressed as (r, Ø, θ), which is the distance to the UAV based on the UAV detection device and the azimuth and elevation angles for the detected position of the UAV, for example, as shown in FIG. can.]”, paragraph [0057], “[Specifically, as shown in FIG. 5, the UAV jamming device obtains the first position 510 (r, Sub[attributes={}; value=[d ]], , Ø, Sub[attributes={}; value=[d]], , θ, Sub[attributes={}; value=[d]], ) at the current stage (eg, second point in time) The second position 520 obtained with the result of detecting the position of the drone (eg, success) in (r, Sub[attributes={}; value=[0]], , Ø, Sub[attributes={ }; value=[0]], , θ, Sub[attributes={}; value=[0]], )]”, paragraph [0058], “[In step S340, the UAV jamming device calculates the jamming area for the UAV (R, Sub[attributes={}; value=[(r, ]], Ø, Sub[attributes={}; value=[, ]], θ, Sub[attributes={}; value=[)]], ) can be determined. At this time, the UAV jamming device may determine a jamming area for the UAV further based on the location of the UAV, the moving speed of the UAV, a previously verified average error for successful UAV jamming in the UAV, and device latency. there is.]”, and paragraph [0064], “[t, Sub[attributes={}; value = [latency]], is the device latency, the time required for determining the beam width of the jamming signal and radiating the jamming signal based on the determined beam width, or the time required for detecting the UAV detection device, or the data of the UAV detection device and the UAV jamming device It can be based on transit time. v, Sub[attributes={}; value=[r]], , v, Sub[attributes={}; value=[Ø]], , v, Sub[attributes={}; value=[θ]], may mean the moving speed of the UAV for each coordinate axis direction.].” The angular position information and beam control correspond to a launch angle that is dynamically adjusted to direct the jamming signal toward the UAV based on the UAV position information.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Morrow with the teachings of JEONG, Thiessen, and CHOI such that the UAV detection and countermeasure system of Morrow is further configured to calculate an optimal trajectory between the UAV and the electronic device, and mark the optimal trajectory on the electronic map, as taught by JEONG (See paragraph [0289], [0336].), wherein the electronic device is mounted on a bracket operatively associated with the UAV jammer, as taught by Thiessen (See paragraph [0229].), and wherein the operational state of the UAV jammer comprising a launch angle, and the launch angle is dynamically adjusted to target the UAV based on the indication information, as taught by CHOI (See paragraph [0056], [0057], [0058], [0064].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be reducing battery and fuel consumption as well as increasing flight time for convenience in operating the UAV, as taught by JEONG (See paragraph [0006].), to provide a detachable counter-UAS system capable of being separated from the aerial platform and used on a different platform, as taught by Thiessen (See paragraph [0004].), and to increase success rate and power effiency of jamming, as taught by CHOI (See paragraph [0012], [0014].).
With respect to claim 14, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 5, which is commensurate in scope to claim 14, with claim 5 being drawn to a an unmanned aerial vehicle interference system and claim 14 being drawn to a corresponding electronic device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEWEL A KUNTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666