Claims 1-20 are pending.
IDS is/are considered.
Drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 15 recites the limitation “the indication message. The base claims 1 and 13, respectively, recite at least one indication message. In scenarios of more than one indication messages, it would create an unclear antecedent basis for the limitation “the indication message.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) (also alternately qualified under 102(a)(2)) as being unpatentable over Babaei (US 2022/0210800).
As to claim 1:
Babaei discloses:
A method for wireless communication, comprising:
receiving, by a terminal device, at least one indication message from a network device, the at least one indication message indicating a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state and a second TCI state; (¶0390-0392, base station transmit a DCI message to received at the terminal device (UE 115), the DCI includes fields having indications for a plurality of TCI states, including a first TCI state and a second TCI state. See also ¶0312, 0376, Fig. 62, 66).
and receiving, by the terminal device, a first transmission on a first downlink channel based on the first TCI state, and receiving a second transmission on a second downlink channel based on the second TCI state. (¶0376, “The wireless device may receive the first downlink TB via the first cell and based on the first TCI state. The wireless device may receive the second downlink TB via the second cell and based on the second TCI state”. ¶198, 0390, Fig. 62, 6230-6240, receiving separate transmissions via different DL links)
As to claim 7:
Babaei discloses:
A terminal device, comprising a processor and a memory for storing a computer program, wherein the processor is configured to call the computer program stored in the memory (¶0173, processor/memory for UE and having transceiver) and run the computer program to: receive at least one indication message from a network device, the at least one indication message indicating a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state and a second TCI state; ; (¶0390-0392, base station transmit a DCI message to receive at the terminal device (UE 115), the DCI includes fields having indications for a plurality of TCI states, including a first TCI state and a second TCI state. See also ¶0312, 0376, Fig. 62, 66).
and receive a first transmission on a first downlink channel based on the first TCI state, and receiving a second transmission on a second downlink channel based on the second TCI state. (¶0376, “The wireless device may receive the first downlink TB via the first cell and based on the first TCI state. The wireless device may receive the second downlink TB via the second cell and based on the second TCI state”. ¶198, 0390, Fig. 62, 6230-6240, receiving separate transmissions via different DL links)
As to claim 13:
Babaei discloses a network device, comprising a processor and a memory for storing a computer program, memory (¶0173, processor/memory for base station and having transceiver) wherein the processor is configured to call the computer program stored in the memory and run the computer program to: transmit at least one indication message to a terminal device, the at least one indication message indicating a first transmission configuration indication (TCI) state and a second TCI state(¶0390-0392, base station transmit a DCI message to receive at the terminal device (UE 115), the DCI includes fields having indications for a plurality of TCI states, including a first TCI state and a second TCI state. See also ¶0312, 0376, Fig. 62, 66), wherein the first TCI state is used for reception of a first transmission on a first downlink channel, and the second TCI state is used for reception of a second transmission on a second downlink channel. (¶0376, “The wireless device may receive the first downlink TB via the first cell and based on the first TCI state. The wireless device may receive the second downlink TB via the second cell and based on the second TCI state”. ¶198, 0390, Fig. 62, 6230-6240, receiving separate transmissions via different DL links)
As to claims 2, 14:
Babaei discloses all limitations of claim 1/13, wherein the at least one indication message is used for simultaneously triggering switching of a TCI state of the first downlink channel and switching of a TCI state of the second downlink channel
(See at least ¶0390, same DCI names both TCIs and both PDSCHs. ¶0376 – MAC-CE activates first TCI state for first cell and second TCI state(s) for the second cell. ¶0204, 0378, the wireless device may receive configuration parameters indicating a simultaneous update TCI list, wherein the simultaneous update TCI list may comprise a plurality of cells comprising the first cell and the second cell. MAC CE updates TCI on a list of serving cells together. ¶0376, 0390, UE then receives TB1 on cell 1 and cell 2, that is simultaneously triggering of the two channel TCI updates. . ¶0438, events or actions shown may occur or may be performed at least in part simultaneously and/or in parallel)
wherein the at least one indication message comprises a first indication message, and the first indication message comprises a first indication field indicating the first TCI state and a second indication field indicating the second TCI state.
(See ¶0390, Fig. 66, first TCI field for first TCI state, second TCI field for second TCI state)
As to claims 3, 15:
Babaei discloses all limitations of claim 1/13, wherein a signaling type of the indication message comprises at least one of: a radio resource control (RRC) signaling; a medium access control element (MAC CE); or downlink control information (DCI). (See ¶0376, 0390, 0417, covering all of the recited signaling types in the claim)
As to claims 4, 16:
Babaei discloses all limitations of claim 1/13, wherein the at least one indication message further indicates at least one of the following pieces of information associated with the first TCI state: a serving cell, a reference signal or a quasi-co-located (QCL) type, and wherein the at least one indication message further indicates at least one of the following pieces of information associated with the second TCI state: a serving cell, a reference signal or a QCL type. (¶0197-0199, 0376, for each respective TCI: serving cell, reference signal, area, QCL types)
As to claim 5:
Babaei discloses all limitations of claim 1, wherein a serving cell associated with the first TCI state is the same as or different from a serving cell associated with the second TCI state, and wherein a condition that the serving cell associated with the first TCI state is different from the serving cell associated with the second TCI state comprises: the terminal device has a capability of simultaneous switching of different TCI states, the different TCI states being associated with different serving cells. (See ¶0376, 0390, different cell, i.e. first cell and second cell. See also ¶0377, same cell, i.e. first TCI state is the same second TCI. Babaei teaches both conditions. See at least ¶0390, same DCI names both TCIs and both PDSCHs. ¶0376 – MAC-CE activates first TCI state for first cell and second TCI state(s) for the second cell. ¶0204, 0378, the wireless device may receive configuration parameters indicating a simultaneous update TCI list, wherein the simultaneous update TCI list may comprise a plurality of cells comprising the first cell and the second cell. MAC CE updates TCI on a list of serving cells together. ¶0376, 0390, UE then receives TB1 on cell 1 and cell 2, that is simultaneously triggering of the two channel TCI updates)
As to claim 6:
Babaei discloses all limitations of claim 1, wherein a type of a reference signal associated with the first TCI state is the same as or different from a type of a reference signal associated with the second TCI state, and wherein a condition that the type of the reference signal associated with the first TCI state is different from the type of the reference signal associated with the second TCI state comprises: the terminal device has a capability of simultaneous switching of different TCI states, the different TCI states being associated with different types of the reference signals.
(Babaei discloses two TCI indicated together per ¶0312, 0376, 0390-0391. See ¶0163, 0243, 0198 that TCI state configures QCL relationship between one or two DL reference, each TCI has an RS, RS type is CSI-RS or SSB, thus the two TCI may therefore have same or different type (same SSB or same CSI-RS, or mix SSB and CSI-RS). Babaei further discloses simultaneous switching/application of the TCIs of first and second link per ¶0376, 0390 in similar reasoning of. The UE also is configured with a list of serving cells updated simultaneously for TCIs by one MAC CE with both first cell and second cell might be on that list (¶0204, 0378). And when the two TCIs use different RS types (as a possibility discussed above), the principle of operation still hold, i.e. that same indication still applies both TCI states together and the different TCI states being switched/updated corresponding to the different RSs. ¶0438, “events or actions shown may occur or may be performed at least in part simultaneously and/or in parallel”)
As to claim 8:
Babaei discloses all limitations of claim 7, wherein switching of a TCI state of the first downlink channel and switching of a TCI state of the second downlink channel are temporally overlapped.
(See at least ¶0204, 00300, 0378, cells on the list are updated simultaneously, meaning two TCI updates, i.e. switching, are run at same time, or at least having an overlap. ¶0312, one DCI has both TCI fields and is processed in one message. Therefore, two channel TCI switches starts together from that message and thus overlap. Also ¶0438, “events or actions shown may occur or may be performed at least in part simultaneously and/or in parallel”)
As to claim 9:
Babaei discloses all limitations of claim 7, wherein the terminal device is allowed to simultaneously perform switching of a TCI state and reception of a downlink transmission, and wherein the terminal device starts to receive the first transmission and the second transmission at the same time. (See at least ¶0311-0312, 0137, one DCI schedules TBs on cell 1 and 2. DL on aggregated CCs can run at same time, and UE receives both TBs from that DCI. ¶0438, “events or actions shown may occur or may be performed at least in part simultaneously and/or in parallel”. See also ¶0203. The same DCI that indicates the two TCI states also schedules PDSCH1 and PDSCH2. Applying those TCI states and receiving those PDSCHs are started from the same message, i.e. switching TCI states and receiving DL transmissions in the same procedure.)
As to claim 17:
Babaei discloses all limitations of claim 13, wherein a type of a reference signal associated with the first TCI state is the same as or different from a type of a reference signal associated with the second TCI state. (Babaei discloses two TCI indicated together per ¶0312, 0376, 0390-0391. See ¶0163, 0243, 0198 that TCI state configures QCL relationship between one or two DL reference, each TCI has an RS, RS type is CSI-RS or SSB, thus the two TCI may therefore have same or different type (same SSB or same CSI-RS, or mix SSB and CSI-RS).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10-12, 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei (US 2022/0210800) in view of Raghavan et al. (US 2022/0200675).
As to claim 10:
Babaei discloses all limitations of claim 9, regarding:
if the terminal device starts to switch the TCI state of the first downlink channel and the TCI state of the second downlink channel at the same time and starts to receive the first transmission and the second transmission at the same time, a first time is separated from a second time by a first duration, wherein the first time is a time when the terminal device receives the at least one indication message, and the second time is a time when the terminal device, after performing switching of the TCI state, starts to receive the first transmission and the second transmission at the same time.
Babaei already discloses in at least ¶0312, 0376, 0390 that one DCI indicates two TCI states and schedule TB1/TB2 on a first and second cell respectively. ‘First time’ is the reception of the DCI/MAC-CE that activates the TCI states. Per ¶0203, 0394, 0396, the UE applies the indicated TCI to PDSCH if the time offset between DCI and the PDSCH is greater than QCL duration. If offset is shorter, that TB may not be received. Therefore, Babaei discloses waiting for at least the QCL duration to receive the PDSCH with the indicated TCI. It applies that check to the first TB and second TB.
Except Babaei does not explicitly disclose such a wait as a TCI-switch delay or that the dual-RX start is after performing switching.
Raghavan, in a related field of TCI configuration and beam switching, discloses TCI state change preparation time, and calculate a delay per ¶0007, 0014. ¶0044 discloses For DCI based TCI state switch, the UE capability indicated by timeDurationForQCL defines the time required by the UE to switch to the new TCI state. See ¶0076-0080, also 0257-0259 for DCI delay. Alternately, MAC-CE delay discussion can be found in ¶0250-0259. Therefore, Raghavan discloses a first time (TCI-switch command), and a second time (UE ready to receive new TCI), and first duration is the TCI-switch delay.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention to apply the TCI-switch delay to the dual TCI/PDSCH-DCI of Babaei. Given Babaei already use QCL duration as timer until the TCI on PDSCH to be used. Raghavan also states such QCL duration is a time required to switch to new TCI state. Given both TCI applies start from the same DCI in Babaei, and each uses the same DCI switch delay, both become ready together as predictable result.
As to claim 19:
Babaei discloses all limitations of claim 13, and regarding: a first switch delay is different from a second switch delay, the first switch delay is a delay for TCI state switching corresponding to the first TCI state, and the second switch delay is a delay for TCI state switching corresponding to the second TCI state.
Babaei already discloses the same indication DCI includes a first and second TCI fields for first and second TCI states (¶0390, 0312). It further teaches the UE applies an indicated TCI to a PDSCH only if offset time is greater QCL duration (¶0203, 0394-0396).
Babaei does not explicitly discloses that a first TCI-switch delay for first TCI state is different from a second TCI switch delay for the second TCI states.
Raghavan, in the related field of TCI configuration and beam switching, discloses DCI-based TCI state change, and a time switch delay for the switch. That delay is the QCL duration parameter if time/frequency offset are known or adding extra time when the offset is unknown (See at least ¶0007, 0014, 0076-0080, 0256-0259). It further discloses that the extra time is not needed if TCI is still valid per ¶0059-0060. In other words, each TCI is considered separately.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention to apply Raghavan’s per-target TCI-switch delay to each of the Babaei’s two indicated TCI states, resulting to two different delays in cases when the two states present different known/unknown parameters. As both references concerns preparation time for TCI switch, the combination advantageously avoid transmitting on a TCI before the UE is ready for that UE (Raghavan, ¶0045, 0049)
As to claim 20:
Babaei in view of Raghavan discloses all limitations of claim 19, wherein both the first TCI state and the second TCI state are known; or both the first TCI state and the second TCI state are unknown; or one of the first TCI state and the second TCI state is known and the other one of the first TCI state and the second TCI state is unknown, and wherein both the first TCI state and the second TCI state are comprised in an active TCI state list; or both the first TCI state and the second TCI state are not comprised in an active TCI state list; or one of the first TCI state and the second TCI state is comprised in an active TCI state list and the other one of the first TCI state and the second TCI state is not comprised in the active TCI state list. (Raghavan, ¶0063-0066, 0072-0077, discussion of a -Time/Frequency offset known, Rx Beam known, b-Time/Frequency offset unknown, Rx Beam known, c -Time/Frequency offset known, Rx beam unknown, and d - Time/Frequency offset unknown, Rx Beam unknown)
As to claim 12:
Babaei in view of Raghavan discloses all limitations of claim 10, and regarding: a first switch delay is different from a second switch delay, the first switch delay is a delay for TCI state switching corresponding to the first TCI state, and the second switch delay is a delay for TCI state switching corresponding to the second TCI state.
Babaei already discloses the same indication DCI includes a first and second TCI fields for first and second TCI states (¶0390, 0312). It further teaches the UE applies an indicated TCI to a PDSCH only if offset time is greater QCL duration (¶0203, 0394-0396).
Babaei does not explicitly discloses that a first TCI-switch delay for first TCI state is different from a second TCI switch delay for the second TCI states.
Raghavan, in the related field of TCI configuration and beam switching, discloses DCI-based TCI state change, and a time switch delay for the switch. That delay is the QCL duration parameter if time/frequency offset are known or adding extra time when the offset is unknown (See at least ¶0007, 0014, 0076-0080, 0256-0259). It further discloses that the extra time is not needed if TCI is still valid per ¶0059-0060. In other words, each TCI is considered separately.
Raghavan further discloses: wherein both the first TCI state and the second TCI state are known; or both the first TCI state and the second TCI state are unknown; or one of the first TCI state and the second TCI state is known and the other one of the first TCI state and the second TCI state is unknown, and wherein both the first TCI state and the second TCI state are comprised in an active TCI state list; or both the first TCI state and the second TCI state are not comprised in an active TCI state list; or one of the first TCI state and the second TCI state is comprised in an active TCI state list and the other one of the first TCI state and the second TCI state is not comprised in the active TCI state list. (Raghavan, ¶0063-0066, 0072-0077, discussion of a -Time/Frequency offset known, Rx Beam known, b-Time/Frequency offset unknown, Rx Beam known, c -Time/Frequency offset known, Rx beam unknown, and d - Time/Frequency offset unknown, Rx Beam unknown)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention to apply Raghavan’s per-target TCI-switch delay to each of the Babaei’s two indicated TCI states, resulting to two different delays in cases when the two states present different known/unknown parameters. As both references concerns preparation time for TCI switch, the combination advantageously avoid transmitting on a TCI before the UE is ready for that UE (Raghavan, ¶0045, 0049)
As to claims 11, 18:
Babaei in view of Raghavan discloses all limitations of claim 10/13, and regarding: a first switch delay is the same as a second switch delay, wherein the first switch delay lasts for the first duration, the first switch delay is a delay for TCI state switching corresponding to the first TCI state, and the second switch delay is a delay for TCI state switching corresponding to the second TCI state, and wherein the first TCI state and the second TCI state satisfy at least one of the following constraints: both the first TCI state and the second TCI state are known or unknown; both the first TCI state and the second TCI state are comprised or not comprised in an active TCI state list; a type of a reference signal associated with the first TCI state is the same as a type of a reference signal associated with the second TCI state; or a first measurement time for measuring a reference signal corresponding to the first TCI state is the same as a second measurement time for measuring a reference signal corresponding to the second TCI state.
Babaei already discloses the same indication DCI includes a first and second TCI fields for first and second TCI states and associated with the same RS type (¶0390, 0312, 0163). It further teaches the UE applies an indicated TCI to a PDSCH only if offset time is greater QCL duration (¶0203, 0394-0396). Babaei disclose two TCI states that can be associated with the same RS type. Babaei does not explicitly assign a first TCI switch delay to a first state and a second TCI-switch delay to second TCI state and those delay equally last for a duration.
Raghavan, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses individual switch delay for a given target TCI, and is computed in a function of QCL duration plus optional extra time depends on input condition (See at least ¶041, 0044-0049, 0077-0080. Extra TO/FO might or might not required per ¶0059-0060). Therefore, each TCI is using the same formula, and if both TCI has the exact identical condition, they would have same switch delay time due to having the same formula.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing time of the invention to apply Raghavan’s per-target TCI-switch delay to each of the Babaei’s two indicated TCI states, resulting to two different or identical delays in cases when the two states present similar or different known/unknown parameters. As both references concerns preparation time for TCI switch, the combination advantageously avoid transmitting on a TCI before the UE is ready for that UE (Raghavan, ¶0045, 0049)
Raghavan further discloses: wherein the first TCI state and the second TCI state satisfy at least one of the following constraints: both the first TCI state and the second TCI state are known or unknown; both the first TCI state and the second TCI state are comprised or not comprised in an active TCI state list; a type of a reference signal associated with the first TCI state is the same as a type of a reference signal associated with the second TCI state; or a first measurement time for measuring a reference signal corresponding to the first TCI state is the same as a second measurement time for measuring a reference signal corresponding to the second TCI state. (Raghavan, ¶0063-0066, 0072-0077, discussion of a -Time/Frequency offset known, Rx Beam known, b-Time/Frequency offset unknown, Rx Beam known, c -Time/Frequency offset known, Rx beam unknown, and d - Time/Frequency offset unknown, Rx Beam unknown)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2021/0045142 - Aspects for enhanced logical channel prioritization mapping procedures and restrictions are disclosed. In one aspect, a method of wireless communication includes receiving, by a user equipment (UE), a logical channel prioritization (LCP) restriction configuration for a logical channel indicating a set of SRS configurations associated with the logical channel; receiving, by the UE, an uplink grant indicating an uplink grant instance and an SRS configuration for the uplink grant instance; and selecting, by the UE, the logical channel to use resources of the uplink grant instance based in part on the set of SRS configurations and the SRS configuration for the uplink grant instance.
/QUAN M HUA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645