DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Eleftheriadis (US Patent Application 20210296926).
As per claim 1, Eleftheriadis teaches a cellular network system [base station: 0003], comprising:
an energy controller [power controller: 0006] having a processor [620, fig. 6] and memory [650, fig. 6] configured to:
provision a battery backup [battery, fig. 1] to supply power to the system for X number of hours [0007, as shown in figure 1, the battery can supply back up power to the system for specific amount of time during grid power outage. For example, the top graph illustrates power supplied to the network device by two backup batteries during four outage periods: T1, T2, T3 and T4. T1, T2 and T3 last less than two hours each while T4 lasts more than four hours. The middle graph illustrates discharging (i.e., supplying the necessary power to the network device is represented as positive) and charging of the first battery (when outage is over power grid supplies the charging power represented as negative). The bottom graph illustrates discharging (i.e., supplying the necessary power to the network device) and charging of the second battery (the first and second battery being based on different technologies). In this case, the first battery is preferentially used (for example, because it is cheaper)].
load shift power to the system between mains power and the battery backup based on one or more characteristics [power-related historic information: 0029] of the mains power [0029-0037, as pointed out based on the historical information or historical condition as well as current condition, then backup power can pe provided to the system when there is outage. For example, conditions may include: [0035] 1) P=power currently used (i.e., current load); [0036] 2) tday=time of day (as outages are more likely during peak hours); [0037] 3) tweek=day of the week (as grid reliability may differ on weekends versus work days)].
As per claim 2, Eleftheriadis teaches the one or more characteristics of the mains power includes a cost schedule having on-peak and off-peak rates [0036-0037, 0054, as pointed out the cost of the of charging/discharging can be taken into consideration as well as scheduling information. For example, a battery used as a backup power source and performing fewer discharging/charging cycles, battery life is extended. By delaying recharging until the price of grid power is lower, operation cost is reduced].
As per claim 3, Eleftheriadis teaches the one or more characteristics of the mains power includes historical usage [0029-0032, as pointed out, the characteristic can include historical usage information. For example, historic information may include: [0031] 1) date, time of day and duration of past power outages, [0032] 2) the evolution of the network device's load (i.e., the network device's power level as a function of time), and [0033] 3) previous outage prediction performance for similar conditions].
As per claim 5, Eleftheriadis teaches the one or more characteristics of the mains power includes at least historical daily usage, historical seasonal usage, and predicted transient usage [0030-0040, daily usage information is part of historical information. For example, tday=time of day (as outages are more likely during peak hours. As well as weather prediction that is obtaining from weather services].
As per claim 6, Eleftheriadis teaches the energy controller is further configured to load shift power to the system between mains power and the battery backup for minimal cost based on the cost schedule [0028, 0058 enable the shifting by taking minimal grid cost into consideration. For example, a battery used as a backup power source and performing fewer discharging/charging cycles, battery life is extended. By delaying recharging until the price of grid power is lower, operation cost is reduced].
As per claim 7, Eleftheriadis teaches the energy controller is further configured to select the battery backup during an N most expensive hours of day according to the cost schedule [0009, 0048, manage the cost of the battery when the cost of the grid is less or simply select a rechargeable battery based on requirement].
As per claim 8, Eleftheriadis teaches the energy controller is further configured to select the mains power during lower cost hours in the cost schedule to recharge the battery backup [0009, recharge the battery when the cost is minimized].
As per claim 10, Eleftheriadis teaches the one or more characteristics of batteries in the battery backup include battery charge/discharge characteristics [0007, figure 1 show the charge and discharge characteristic of the battery which includes charge and discharge].
As per claim 11, Eleftheriadis taches the energy controller is further configured to use optimal battery charging rates in determining the minimal cost [0009, 0028, charging with minimal cost. For example, at least one battery among the backup sources is used more than once without recharging so as to minimize recharging cost and the number of discharging/recharging cycles].
As per claim 12, Eleftheriadis teaches the energy controller is further configured to includes multiple price spikes in a day to recharge the battery backup in price dips [0047, delaying rechargeable when the grid cost is low. For example, delaying the recharging also allows scheduling this operation when the grid power price is low. A battery power counter may be used to monitor battery charging state].
As per claim 13, Eleftheriadis teaches the energy controller is further configured to use a prediction of daily usage of the battery backup usage to predict how long the battery backup will last [0041, 0052, 0054, daily backup plan prediction as well as forecast upcoming outage. For example, various ML techniques may be employed to predict future power outages and their duration].
As per claims 14-20, they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in the rejected claims above. Therefore, claim 14-20 are also anticipated by Eleftheriadis for the same reasons set forth in the rejected claims above.
To help with the prosecution of this application, an additional rejection is given for the independent claims
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nocete (US Patent Application 20240214925).
As per claim 1, Nocete teaches a cellular network system [111, fig. 3], comprising:
an energy controller [308, fig. 4] having a processor [403, fig. 4] and memory [404, fig. 4] configured to:
provision a battery backup [305, fig. 3] to supply power to the system for X number of hours [0043-0044, as pointed out the rectifier enable the batter to be charged to provide backup power for specific amount of time. Foor example, as desired or required for operations) under 100 W (in this case, the power is calculated per RU power consumption and is a variable quantity) AC system, 48.1V/65 Ah battery that can last for about 150 minutes with a full load].
load shift power to the system between mains power and the battery backup based on one or more characteristics [historical outage data: 0132] of the mains power [0055, 0072, 0132, as pointed out during AC power outage, the battery backup can be used for the cellular based station where it is related to the historical outage and battery usage. For example, OBF 701/801 framework may be programmed to look for certain variables at predetermined times, and may, in real-time or non-real time, make a determination and/or recommendation as to if, when, and how to manipulate power usage at particular cell sites. For example, the OBF 701/801 may be able to assess the type of power outage and a likely resolution time based upon stored history of other power outages. The OBF 701/801 may also utilize data regarding critical services and which cell sites the critical services are utilizing, as well as data regarding which cell sites are operational due to being unaffected or otherwise having a battery backup].
As per claims 14, they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in the rejected claims above. Therefore, claim 14 is also anticipated by Nocete for the same reasons set forth in the rejected claims above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Papa (US 20190274105) teaches Base Station Power Management Using Solar Panel And Battery Forecasting.
Hanley (US 20170331326) teaches Methods and Equipment for Providing Backup Power In Cellular Base Stations.
/VOLVICK DEROSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176