DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-3 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-3 are rejected.
Claim Interpretation
The claims 1-3 in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “unit”.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), sixth paragraph limitations: “As illustrated in FIG. 1, the vehicle information display device 100 includes an ECU (Electronic Control Unit) 10. ECU 10 is an electronic control unit that comprehensively manages the information display device 100 of vehicles. ECU 10 includes a CPU (Central Processing Unit) and a storage unit. The storage unit includes, for example, ROM (Read Only Memory), RAM (Random Access Memory), and EEPROM (Electrically Erasable Programmable Read-Only Memory). In ECU 10, for example, various functions are realized by executing a program stored in a storage unit by a CPU. ECU 10 may be composed of a plurality of electronic units. ECU 10 is connected to an external camera 1 (external sensor), a radar sensor 2 (external sensor), a user operation accepting unit 3, and a display 4…”, as disclosed in ¶ [0014]-¶ [0020] of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PHAN et al. (US Pub. No.: 2024/0087215 A1: hereinafter “PHAN”) in view of Secord et al. (US Pub. No.: 2015/0234580 A1: hereinafter “Secord”).
Consider claim 1:
PHAN teaches an information display device for a vehicle (See PHAN, e.g., “…A system for generating an advanced surround view for a vehicle includes a plurality of cameras to generate image data. Sensors are configured to determine kinematic data of the vehicle…process image data captured by the plurality of cameras to generate a 360-degree surround view layer representative of a surrounding area…construct an improved bicycle kinematic model for processing kinematic data to generate an under-chassis layer representative of an area under the vehicle…generate a 3D vehicle model layer and overlay objects layer…display a GUI of combined scene of the 360-degree surround view layer, under-chassis layer, 3D vehicle model layer and overlay objects layer as would be viewed from a virtual camera viewpoint”, of ¶ [0012]-¶ [0050], Fig. 1 elements 100-104, Figs. 2-3 elements 200-318, Figs. 6-9 steps 601-713), displaying an image representing a surrounding environment of an own vehicle on a display based on detection information of an external sensor of the own vehicle (See PHAN, e.g., “…A system for generating an advanced surround view for a vehicle includes a plurality of cameras to generate image data…generate a 3D vehicle model layer and overlay objects layer…display a GUI of combined scene of the 360-degree surround view layer, under-chassis layer, 3D vehicle model layer and overlay objects layer as would be viewed from a virtual camera viewpoint”, of ¶ [0012]-¶ [0050], Fig. 1 elements 100-104, Figs. 2-3 elements 200-318, Figs. 6-9 steps 601-713), the information display device comprising: a provision information acquisition unit for acquiring provision information that is information provided to a user of the own vehicle with respect to vehicle component of the own vehicle (See PHAN, e.g., “…The 360-degree surround view layer 101 shows a 360-degree background image around the vehicle, wherein the 360-degree background image is constructed from stitching images of a plurality of cameras…shows the vehicle's position relative to the surround landscape, wherein a user can adjust properties of the 3D vehicle model…portion or all of the 3D vehicle model layer 103 is rendered as displayed to be transparent to enable viewing at display screens a portion of the 360-degree surround view layer 101 and a portion of the under-chassis layer 102 and a portion of the overlay objects layer 104…”, of ¶ [0012]-¶ [0050], ¶ [0072]-¶ [0086], Fig. 1 elements 100-104, Figs. 2-3 elements 200-318, Figs. 6-9 steps 601-713); and an image display unit for displaying an own vehicle icon corresponding to the own vehicle, on the display (See PHAN, e.g., “…The overlay objects layer 104 may include, but not limited to, wheels guidelines, turning curves, distance levels indicator and/or collision warning such as icons indicating objects at risk of collision to provide the user with safety information…a head up display (HUD) or the like, and may be operable to display various information (as discrete characters, icons or the like, or in a multi-pixel manner) to the driver of the vehicle, such as passenger side inflatable restraint (PSIR) information, tire pressure status…”, of ¶ [0012]-¶ [0050], ¶ [0072]-¶ [0086], ¶ [0095]-¶ [0118], ¶ [0132]-¶ [0148], Fig. 1 elements 100-104, Figs. 2-3 elements 200-318, Figs. 6-9 steps 601-713), wherein, when the provision information is acquired, the image display unit displays an information provision display representing the provision information (See PHAN, e.g., “…creating a 3D surround mesh as a geometry of bowl-shape around the vehicle, wherein an under-chassis area of the vehicle is cropped to make the under-chassis layer below visible…creating a 360-degree texture unwrapping on the 3D surround mesh…for each camera in the plurality of cameras, generating 360-degree texture mapping data based on the 3D surround mesh, intrinsic parameters, extrinsic parameters and the virtual camera model, wherein the 360-degree texture mapping data is matched between pixels of cameras images and pixels of the 360-degree texture…”, of ¶ [0012]-¶ [0050], ¶ [0072]-¶ [0086], ¶ [0095]-¶ [0118], ¶ [0132]-¶ [0148], ¶ [0210], ¶ [0240], Fig. 1 elements 100-104, Figs. 2-3 elements 200-318, Figs. 6-9 steps 601-713), superimposed on the own vehicle icon, so as to correspond to a position of the vehicle component related to the provision information in the own vehicle (See PHAN, e.g., “…generating an overlay objects layer showing at least one guideline of wheels, at least one distance level map and/or at least one collision warning icon…generating a virtual camera model to provide a point of observation of the user…constructively combining the 360-degree surround view layer, the under-chassis layer, the 3D vehicle model layer, and the overlay objects layer to provide the user with a 360-degree comprehensive and intuitive perspective scene without blind spots…”, of ¶ [0012]-¶ [0050], ¶ [0072]-¶ [0086], ¶ [0095]-¶ [0118], ¶ [0132]-¶ [0148], ¶ [0210], ¶ [0240], Fig. 1 elements 100-104, Figs. 2-3 elements 200-318, Figs. 6-9 steps 601-713).
PHAN further teaches “…The overlay objects layer 104 may include, but not limited to, wheels guidelines, turning curves, distance levels indicator and/or collision warning such as icons indicating objects at risk of collision to provide the user with safety information…a head up display (HUD) or the like, and may be operable to display various information (as discrete characters, icons or the like, or in a multi-pixel manner) to the driver of the vehicle, such as passenger side inflatable restraint (PSIR) information, tire pressure status…”, of ¶ [0012]-¶ [0050], ¶ [0072]-¶ [0086], ¶ [0095]-¶ [0118], ¶ [0132]-¶ [0148], Fig. 1 elements 100-104, Figs. 2-3 elements 200-318, Figs. 6-9 steps 601-713. However, PHAN does not explicitly teach an in-vehicle component of the own vehicle.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Secord teaches an in-vehicle component of the own vehicle (See Secord, e.g., “…displays a representation of the tire pressure for each tire within vehicle status information section 600, where the larger icon for the vehicle includes four smaller icons for the tires, each tire icon shaded or colored to indicate normal tire pressure, in this example, also marked by giving the value of 32 psi per tire…displays a representation of the tire pressure for each tire within vehicle status information section 602…two of the four smaller icons for the tires have a different shade meant to represent an alert condition for low tire pressure at that location…the displayed value for the tire pressure, 20 psi, for each of the tires experiencing lower pressure than the recommended value are shaded or highlighted to alert the driver to a low pressure condition…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0032]-¶ [0033], Figs. 1-6 elements 100-602).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine “…A system for generating an advanced surround view for a vehicle includes a plurality of cameras to generate image data. Sensors are configured to determine kinematic data of the vehicle…process image data captured by the plurality of cameras to generate a 360-degree surround view layer representative of a surrounding area…construct an improved bicycle kinematic model for processing kinematic data to generate an under-chassis layer representative of an area under the vehicle…generate a 3D vehicle model layer and overlay objects layer…display a GUI of combined scene of the 360-degree surround view layer, under-chassis layer, 3D vehicle model layer and overlay objects layer as would be viewed from a virtual camera viewpoint…”, as disclosed in PHAN with “an in-vehicle component of the own vehicle.”, as taught in Secord with a reasonable expectation of success to yield a system, method for efficiently, robustly, and seamlessly “…allows flexibility in terms of displaying more than one type of vehicle status at a time to the driver...”, as taught in ¶ [0001].
Consider claim 2:
The combination of PHAN, Secord teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, PHAN teaches further comprising a virtual space generating unit for generating virtual space (e.g., “…creating a 3D surround mesh as a geometry of bowl-shape around the vehicle…” of Fig. 1 elements 100-104, Figs. 2-3 elements 200-318, Figs. 6-9 steps 601-713) corresponding to the surrounding environment of the own vehicle, based on the detection information of the external sensor (See PHAN, e.g., “…generating an overlay objects layer showing at least one guideline of wheels, at least one distance level map and/or at least one collision warning icon…generating a virtual camera model to provide a point of observation of the user…constructively combining the 360-degree surround view layer, the under-chassis layer, the 3D vehicle model layer, and the overlay objects layer to provide the user with a 360-degree comprehensive and intuitive perspective scene without blind spots…”, of ¶ [0012]-¶ [0050], ¶ [0072]-¶ [0086], ¶ [0095]-¶ [0118], ¶ [0132]-¶ [0148], ¶ [0210], ¶ [0240], Fig. 1 elements 100-104, Figs. 2-3 elements 200-318, Figs. 6-9 steps 601-713), wherein the image display unit displays an image, in the virtual space, as viewed from a virtual viewpoint that is operated by the user of the own vehicle, on the display (See PHAN, e.g., “…The system 200 further comprises display devices 204 to display a graphic user interface. The display devices 204 are viewable through the reflective element when the display is activated to display information…”, of ¶ [0012]-¶ [0050], ¶ [0072]-¶ [0086], ¶ [0095]-¶ [0118], ¶ [0132]-¶ [0148], ¶ [0210], ¶ [0240], Fig. 1 elements 100-104, Figs. 2-3 elements 200-318, Figs. 6-9 steps 601-713), and the own vehicle icon is a three-dimensional icon corresponding to the own vehicle that is placed in the virtual space (See PHAN, e.g., “…creating a 3D surround mesh as a geometry of bowl-shape around the vehicle, wherein an under-chassis area of the vehicle is cropped to make the under-chassis layer below visible…creating a 360-degree texture unwrapping on the 3D surround mesh…for each camera in the plurality of cameras, generating 360-degree texture mapping data based on the 3D surround mesh, intrinsic parameters, extrinsic parameters and the virtual camera model, wherein the 360-degree texture mapping data is matched between pixels of cameras images and pixels of the 360-degree texture…”, of ¶ [0012]-¶ [0050], ¶ [0072]-¶ [0086], ¶ [0095]-¶ [0118], ¶ [0132]-¶ [0148], ¶ [0210], ¶ [0240], Fig. 1 elements 100-104, Figs. 2-3 elements 200-318, Figs. 6-9 steps 601-713).
Consider claim 3:
The combination of PHAN, Secord teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, PHAN teaches wherein, when the provision information with respect to the vehicle component, other than an exterior of the own vehicle, is acquired (See PHAN, e.g., “…A system for generating an advanced surround view for a vehicle includes a plurality of cameras to generate image data…generate a 3D vehicle model layer and overlay objects layer…display a GUI of combined scene of the 360-degree surround view layer, under-chassis layer, 3D vehicle model layer and overlay objects layer as would be viewed from a virtual camera viewpoint”, of ¶ [0012]-¶ [0050], Fig. 1 elements 100-104, Figs. 2-3 elements 200-318, Figs. 6-9 steps 601-713), the image display unit deletes an exterior image of the own vehicle icon, displays an internal structure image corresponding to an internal structure of the own vehicle on the display (See PHAN, e.g., “…generate a 3D vehicle model layer and overlay objects layer…display a GUI of combined scene of the 360-degree surround view layer, under-chassis layer, 3D vehicle model layer and overlay objects layer as would be viewed from a virtual camera viewpoint”, of ¶ [0012]-¶ [0050], Fig. 1 elements 100-104, Figs. 2-3 elements 200-318, Figs. 6-9 steps 601-713), and displays the information provision display, superimposed on the internal structure image (See PHAN, e.g., “…A system for generating an advanced surround view for a vehicle includes a plurality of cameras to generate image data…generate a 3D vehicle model layer and overlay objects layer…display a GUI of combined scene of the 360-degree surround view layer, under-chassis layer, 3D vehicle model layer and overlay objects layer as would be viewed from a virtual camera viewpoint…The overlay objects layer 104 may include, but not limited to, wheels guidelines, turning curves, distance levels indicator and/or collision warning such as icons indicating objects at risk of collision to provide the user with safety information…”, of ¶ [0012]-¶ [0050], Fig. 1 elements 100-104, Figs. 2-3 elements 200-318, Figs. 6-9 steps 601-713). Secord teaches an in-vehicle component of the own vehicle (See Secord, e.g., “…displays a representation of the tire pressure for each tire within vehicle status information section 600, where the larger icon for the vehicle includes four smaller icons for the tires, each tire icon shaded or colored to indicate normal tire pressure, in this example, also marked by giving the value of 32 psi per tire…displays a representation of the tire pressure for each tire within vehicle status information section 602…two of the four smaller icons for the tires have a different shade meant to represent an alert condition for low tire pressure at that location…the displayed value for the tire pressure, 20 psi, for each of the tires experiencing lower pressure than the recommended value are shaded or highlighted to alert the driver to a low pressure condition…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0032]-¶ [0033], Figs. 1-6 elements 100-602).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify PHAN with the teachings of Secord so as, with a reasonable expectation of success, to yield a system, method for efficiently, robustly, and seamlessly “…allows flexibility in terms of displaying more than one type of vehicle status at a time to the driver...”, as taught in ¶ [0001].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
GULATI et al. (US Pub. No.: 2020/0198466 A1) teaches “Systems, methods, and devices of the various embodiments enable dynamic configuration of a number of display regions of interest (ROIs) associated with safety critical content presented on a display, such as a vehicle display. Various embodiments may enable verification of data integrity for ROIs on a display. Various embodiments may enable the selection of different sets of display ROIs from a plurality of independent sets of display ROIs each associated with its own set of stored integrity check values (ICVs). Various embodiments may enable stored ICVs to be used to verify the data integrity of ROIs on a display. Various embodiments may enable the set of display ROIs and the associated ICVs for each display ROI to be changed after a number of frames have been displayed.”
Watanabe et al. (US Pub. No.: 2020/0167996 A1) teaches “A periphery monitoring device includes: an acquisition unit configured to acquire a captured image from an imaging unit that captures an image of a periphery of a vehicle; a generation unit configured to generate a vehicle surrounding image indicating a situation around the vehicle in a virtual space based on the captured image; and a processing unit configured to display, on a display device, an image in which an own vehicle image is overlapped on the vehicle surrounding image, the own vehicle image indicating the vehicle in which a transmissive state of a constituent plane representing a plane constituting the vehicle is determined according to a direction of the constituent plane, and the vehicle surrounding image being represented based on a virtual viewpoint facing the vehicle in the virtual space.”
/BABAR SARWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667