DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the application filed on 12/16/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Acknowledgment is made of a claim for foreign priority. None of the certified copies of the priority documents have been received.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references listed on the Information Disclosure Statement submitted on 12/16/2024 has/have been considered by the examiner (see attached PTO-1449).
Claim Mapping Notation
In this office action, following notations are being used to refer to the paragraph numbers or column number and lines of portions of the cited reference.
In this office action, following notations are being used to refer to the paragraph numbers or column number and lines of portions of the cited reference.
[0005] (Paragraph number [0005])
C5 (Column 5)
Pa5 (Page 5)
S5 (Section 5)
Furthermore, unless necessary to distinguish from other references in this action, “et al.” will be omitted when referring to the reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-14, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Xu et al. (US 20260170700 A1)
1. An image processing network module comprising:
an encoder configured to receive input image data and change a bit depth of the input image data to generate first image data;
“[0029] To resolve these issues, a method and system disclosed herein uses an input pre-processing neural network (PRPNN) at an encoder side that converts an input frame into one or more image channels that are a representation of the image with less bits.”
a quantization network configured to quantize the first image data to generate second image data; and
“[0098] The pre-processing unit 1506 may have an input PRP NN 1516 with an input bit-depth unit 1518 either as part of the PRP NN 1506 or communicating therewith. The video encoder unit 1512 may have encoder components such as partitioning units, transform, such as (DCT) and quantization units, decoder loop units, prediction units, including a motion estimation unit that uses motion vectors, and residual generating units, entropy unit, and so forth.”
a decoder configured to receive the second image data and change a bit depth of the second image data to generate output image data.
“[0037] The output-decoder image data 124 is provided to the post-processing unit 126 and input into the POPNN 128 to generate low distortion output images 132 that are similar or the same as input images 102, and with much lower distortion than coding without the neural networks, and better performance than without the bit-depth reduction. The bit-depth adjuster 130 of the post-processing unit 126, as with the bit-depth adjuster 110, may be considered part of the POPNN 128 or separate from the network. The bit-depth adjuster 130 is arranged to increase the bit-depth of the bit-depth-reduced channels of the output-decoder images 124, usually back to the original bit-depth of the input images 102, but need not always be so.”
2. The image processing network module of claim 1, wherein the input image data comprises m-bit data, wherein each of the first image data and the second image data comprises n-bit data, and wherein m and n are positive integers and n is less than m.
“[0029] To resolve these issues, a method and system disclosed herein uses an input pre-processing neural network (PRPNN) at an encoder side that converts an input frame into one or more image channels that are a representation of the image with less bits.”
3. The image processing network module of claim 1, wherein the output image data is m-bit data or n-bit data, and wherein m and n are positive integers and n is less than m.
“[0037] The output-decoder image data 124 is provided to the post-processing unit 126 and input into the POPNN 128 to generate low distortion output images 132 that are similar or the same as input images 102, and with much lower distortion than coding without the neural networks, and better performance than without the bit-depth reduction. The bit-depth adjuster 130 of the post-processing unit 126, as with the bit-depth adjuster 110, may be considered part of the POPNN 128 or separate from the network. The bit-depth adjuster 130 is arranged to increase the bit-depth of the bit-depth-reduced channels of the output-decoder images 124, usually back to the original bit-depth of the input images 102, but need not always be so.”
4. The image processing network module of claim 1, wherein the encoder is configured to truncate at least one bit of the input image data to change the bit depth of the input image data.
“[0149] In example 20, the subject matter of example 18 or 19 wherein one or consecutive multiple least significant bit (LSB) locations are dropped to reduce bit-depth of the encoder-input image data relative to the initial image data.”
6. The image processing network module of claim 4, wherein the encoder is configured to truncate at least two bits of the input image data.
“[0149] In example 20, the subject matter of example 18 or 19 wherein one or consecutive multiple least significant bit (LSB) locations are dropped to reduce bit-depth of the encoder-input image data relative to the initial image data.”
7. The image processing network module of claim 1, wherein the decoder is configured to change the bit depth of the second image data by restoring at least one bit of the second image data.
“[0037] The output-decoder image data 124 is provided to the post-processing unit 126 and input into the POPNN 128 to generate low distortion output images 132 that are similar or the same as input images 102, and with much lower distortion than coding without the neural networks, and better performance than without the bit-depth reduction. The bit-depth adjuster 130 of the post-processing unit 126, as with the bit-depth adjuster 110, may be considered part of the POPNN 128 or separate from the network. The bit-depth adjuster 130 is arranged to increase the bit-depth of the bit-depth-reduced channels of the output-decoder images 124, usually back to the original bit-depth of the input images 102, but need not always be so.”
8. The image processing network module of claim 7, wherein the decoder is configured to restore the at least one bit of the second image data from a least significant bit (LSB) of the second image data to a most significant bit (MSB) of the second image data.
“[0037] The output-decoder image data 124 is provided to the post-processing unit 126 and input into the POPNN 128 to generate low distortion output images 132 that are similar or the same as input images 102, and with much lower distortion than coding without the neural networks, and better performance than without the bit-depth reduction. The bit-depth adjuster 130 of the post-processing unit 126, as with the bit-depth adjuster 110, may be considered part of the POPNN 128 or separate from the network. The bit-depth adjuster 130 is arranged to increase the bit-depth of the bit-depth-reduced channels of the output-decoder images 124, usually back to the original bit-depth of the input images 102, but need not always be so.”
“[0149] In example 20, the subject matter of example 18 or 19 wherein one or consecutive multiple least significant bit (LSB) locations are dropped to reduce bit-depth of the encoder-input image data relative to the initial image data.”
9. The image processing network module of claim 1, wherein the image processing network module is configured to perform image processing on the input image data by using a neural network model trained to perform preset image processing operations to generate the output image data.
“[0028] Other example systems with two neural networks merely use a pre- and post-processing network that downscales and then performs video super-resolution or upscaling operations to recover texture details. Not only are these systems not true dual neural network systems that learn different image domains that can be compressed and decompressed as mentioned above, these systems are often inadequate because these systems cannot regain enough detail lost in the down-scaled inputs.”
10. The image processing network module of claim 9, wherein the neural network model is trained to perform at least one of a remosaic operation, a super-resolution operation, and a deblurring operation.
“[0028] Other example systems with two neural networks merely use a pre- and post-processing network that downscales and then performs video super-resolution or upscaling operations to recover texture details. Not only are these systems not true dual neural network systems that learn different image domains that can be compressed and decompressed as mentioned above, these systems are often inadequate because these systems cannot regain enough detail lost in the down-scaled inputs.”
11. An image processing device comprising:
a camera configured to receive an input image; and
“[0096] Referring to FIG. 15, an example video coding system or device 1500 for providing video coding with pre-processing and post-processing neural networks may be arranged in accordance with at least some implementations of the present disclosure. In the illustrated implementation, system 1500 may include imaging device(s) 1501 such as one or more cameras,”
a neural network processor configured to generate input image data by dividing the input image into blocks of a predetermined size and configured to generate output image data by performing image processing on the input image data by using a neural network model trained to perform preset image processing operations,
“[0037] The output-decoder image data 124 is provided to the post-processing unit 126 and input into the POPNN 128 to generate low distortion output images 132 that are similar or the same as input images 102, and with much lower distortion than coding without the neural networks, and better performance than without the bit-depth reduction. The bit-depth adjuster 130 of the post-processing unit 126, as with the bit-depth adjuster 110, may be considered part of the POPNN 128 or separate from the network. The bit-depth adjuster 130 is arranged to increase the bit-depth of the bit-depth-reduced channels of the output-decoder images 124, usually back to the original bit-depth of the input images 102, but need not always be so.”
“[0098] The pre-processing unit 1506 may have an input PRP NN 1516 with an input bit-depth unit 1518 either as part of the PRP NN 1506 or communicating therewith. The video encoder unit 1512 may have encoder components such as partitioning units, transform, such as (DCT) and quantization units, decoder loop units, prediction units, including a motion estimation unit that uses motion vectors, and residual generating units, entropy unit, and so forth.”
“[0028] Other example systems with two neural networks merely use a pre- and post-processing network that downscales and then performs video super-resolution or upscaling operations to recover texture details. Not only are these systems not true dual neural network systems that learn different image domains that can be compressed and decompressed as mentioned above, these systems are often inadequate because these systems cannot regain enough detail lost in the down-scaled inputs.”
wherein the neural network processor comprises:
an encoder configured to receive the input image data and change a bit depth of the input image data to generate first image data;
“[0029] To resolve these issues, a method and system disclosed herein uses an input pre-processing neural network (PRPNN) at an encoder side that converts an input frame into one or more image channels that are a representation of the image with less bits.”
a quantization network configured to quantize the first image data to generate second image data; and
“[0098] The pre-processing unit 1506 may have an input PRP NN 1516 with an input bit-depth unit 1518 either as part of the PRP NN 1506 or communicating therewith. The video encoder unit 1512 may have encoder components such as partitioning units, transform, such as (DCT) and quantization units, decoder loop units, prediction units, including a motion estimation unit that uses motion vectors, and residual generating units, entropy unit, and so forth.”
a decoder configured to receive the second image data and change a bit depth of the second image data to generate the output image data.
“[0037] The output-decoder image data 124 is provided to the post-processing unit 126 and input into the POPNN 128 to generate low distortion output images 132 that are similar or the same as input images 102, and with much lower distortion than coding without the neural networks, and better performance than without the bit-depth reduction. The bit-depth adjuster 130 of the post-processing unit 126, as with the bit-depth adjuster 110, may be considered part of the POPNN 128 or separate from the network. The bit-depth adjuster 130 is arranged to increase the bit-depth of the bit-depth-reduced channels of the output-decoder images 124, usually back to the original bit-depth of the input images 102, but need not always be so.”
12. The image processing device of claim 11, wherein the neural network model is trained to perform at least one of a remosaic operation, a super-resolution operation, and a deblurring operation.
“[0028] Other example systems with two neural networks merely use a pre- and post-processing network that downscales and then performs video super-resolution or upscaling operations to recover texture details. Not only are these systems not true dual neural network systems that learn different image domains that can be compressed and decompressed as mentioned above, these systems are often inadequate because these systems cannot regain enough detail lost in the down-scaled inputs.”
13. The image processing device of claim 11, wherein the input image data is m-bit data, wherein each of the first image data and the second image data is n-bit data, and wherein n and m are positive integers, and n is less than m.
“[0029] To resolve these issues, a method and system disclosed herein uses an input pre-processing neural network (PRPNN) at an encoder side that converts an input frame into one or more image channels that are a representation of the image with less bits.”
14. The image processing device of claim 11, wherein the encoder is configured to truncate at least one bit of the input image data to change the bit depth of the input image data, and wherein the decoder is configured to restore at least one bit of the second image data to change the bit depth of the second image data.
“[0149] In example 20, the subject matter of example 18 or 19 wherein one or consecutive multiple least significant bit (LSB) locations are dropped to reduce bit-depth of the encoder-input image data relative to the initial image data.”
16. The image processing device of claim 14, wherein the decoder is configured to generate the output image data by restoring a least significant bit (LSB) of the second image data.
“[0037] The output-decoder image data 124 is provided to the post-processing unit 126 and input into the POPNN 128 to generate low distortion output images 132 that are similar or the same as input images 102, and with much lower distortion than coding without the neural networks, and better performance than without the bit-depth reduction. The bit-depth adjuster 130 of the post-processing unit 126, as with the bit-depth adjuster 110, may be considered part of the POPNN 128 or separate from the network. The bit-depth adjuster 130 is arranged to increase the bit-depth of the bit-depth-reduced channels of the output-decoder images 124, usually back to the original bit-depth of the input images 102, but need not always be so.”
“[0149] In example 20, the subject matter of example 18 or 19 wherein one or consecutive multiple least significant bit (LSB) locations are dropped to reduce bit-depth of the encoder-input image data relative to the initial image data.”
17. The image processing device of claim 11, further comprising a display configured to display an image based on the output image data.
“[0096] Referring to FIG. 15, an example video coding system or device 1500 for providing video coding with pre-processing and post-processing neural networks may be arranged in accordance with at least some implementations of the present disclosure. In the illustrated implementation, system 1500 may include imaging device(s) 1501 such as one or more cameras, one or more central and/or graphics processing units or processors 1503, a display device 1505, one or more memory stores 1507, an antenna 1550 for wireless transmission, and processing unit(s) 1502 to perform the operations mentioned above.”
Regarding claims 18 and 20 they recite elements that are at least included in the claims 11 and 13 but in a different claim form. Therefore, the same rationale for the rejection of claims 11 and 13 applies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Yazawa et al. (US 5677860 A).
Regarding claim 5, Xu discloses the invention substantially as claimed as mentioned above for claims 1 and 4.
Xu discloses,
5. The image processing network module of claim 4, wherein the encoder is configured to…
…and truncate the at least one bit of the input image data…
“[0149] In example 20, the subject matter of example 18 or 19 wherein one or consecutive multiple least significant bit (LSB) locations are dropped to reduce bit-depth of the encoder-input image data relative to the initial image data.”
Xu does not disclose,
…compare a first most significant bit (MSB) and a second MSB of the input image data with a preset maximum value… truncate the at least one bit of the input image data based on a result of comparison.
Yazawa discloses,
…compare a first most significant bit (MSB) and a second MSB of the input image data with a preset maximum value… truncate the at least one bit of the input image data based on a result of comparison.
C3 “According to another aspect of the present invention, a processing circuit is provided for adding a plurality of data of N bits with an adder to limit the number of digits to N-m bits for processing an overflow/underflow. A plurality of signals indicating presence of overflow/underflow are generated in advance with a signal including the more significant bits of a plurality of data of N bits. One of the plurality thereof is selected using a signal including a carry-out signal or a sum signal of the adder.”
C9 “FIG. 15 shows a calculation where 9-bit two's complements are added with other for providing a two's complement in the range of 8 bits. The output of the present embodiment is 8 bits. In order to carry out an overflow/underflow process with adders of 8 bits, a determination of the presence of an overflow/underflow is made by calculation for all the combinations of horizontal direction most significant bit H8, the second most significant bit H7, vertical direction most significant bit V8, the second most significant bit V7, and the carry-in signal to the adder of the seventh bit.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings of Yazawa and apply them on the teachings of Xu to incorporate the bit reduction scheme of Yazawa in Xu as taught by Yazawa.
One would have been motivated for the benefit of insuring overly drastic change of the bit depth which may degrade the image quality significantly as taught by Yazawa.
Unless stated otherwise, the same explanation for the rationale for the following dependent claims applies as given for the independent claim.
15. The image processing device of claim 14, wherein a first most significant bit (MSB) and a second MSB of the input image data are compared with a preset maximum value and truncate at least two bits of the input image data.
Xu “[0149] In example 20, the subject matter of example 18 or 19 wherein one or consecutive multiple least significant bit (LSB) locations are dropped to reduce bit-depth of the encoder-input image data relative to the initial image data.”
C3 “According to another aspect of the present invention, a processing circuit is provided for adding a plurality of data of N bits with an adder to limit the number of digits to N-m bits for processing an overflow/underflow. A plurality of signals indicating presence of overflow/underflow are generated in advance with a signal including the more significant bits of a plurality of data of N bits. One of the plurality thereof is selected using a signal including a carry-out signal or a sum signal of the adder.”
C9 “FIG. 15 shows a calculation where 9-bit two's complements are added with other for providing a two's complement in the range of 8 bits. The output of the present embodiment is 8 bits. In order to carry out an overflow/underflow process with adders of 8 bits, a determination of the presence of an overflow/underflow is made by calculation for all the combinations of horizontal direction most significant bit H8, the second most significant bit H7, vertical direction most significant bit V8, the second most significant bit V7, and the carry-in signal to the adder of the seventh bit.”
19. The method of claim 18, wherein the generating the first image data comprises comparing a first most significant bit (MSB) and a second MSB of the input image data with a preset maximum value to truncate at least two bits of the input image data, and
Xu “[0149] In example 20, the subject matter of example 18 or 19 wherein one or consecutive multiple least significant bit (LSB) locations are dropped to reduce bit-depth of the encoder-input image data relative to the initial image data.”
Yazawa C3 “According to another aspect of the present invention, a processing circuit is provided for adding a plurality of data of N bits with an adder to limit the number of digits to N-m bits for processing an overflow/underflow. A plurality of signals indicating presence of overflow/underflow are generated in advance with a signal including the more significant bits of a plurality of data of N bits. One of the plurality thereof is selected using a signal including a carry-out signal or a sum signal of the adder.”
Yazawa C9 “FIG. 15 shows a calculation where 9-bit two's complements are added with other for providing a two's complement in the range of 8 bits. The output of the present embodiment is 8 bits. In order to carry out an overflow/underflow process with adders of 8 bits, a determination of the presence of an overflow/underflow is made by calculation for all the combinations of horizontal direction most significant bit H8, the second most significant bit H7, vertical direction most significant bit V8, the second most significant bit V7, and the carry-in signal to the adder of the seventh bit.”
wherein the generating the output image data comprises restoring an LSB of the second image data.
Xu “[0037] The output-decoder image data 124 is provided to the post-processing unit 126 and input into the POPNN 128 to generate low distortion output images 132 that are similar or the same as input images 102, and with much lower distortion than coding without the neural networks, and better performance than without the bit-depth reduction. The bit-depth adjuster 130 of the post-processing unit 126, as with the bit-depth adjuster 110, may be considered part of the POPNN 128 or separate from the network. The bit-depth adjuster 130 is arranged to increase the bit-depth of the bit-depth-reduced channels of the output-decoder images 124, usually back to the original bit-depth of the input images 102, but need not always be so.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Shi et al. (US 20170270408 A1) discloses relevant art related to the subject matter of the present invention.
/JAE N NOH/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2481