DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, 8, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sugiyama (US 2018/0309896), cited in the IDS dated 12/16/24.
Regarding claim 1, Sugiyama discloses an imager comprising:
an imaging circuit board including a hole (see Fig. 1 and paras 39, 47, and 64, image sensor unit 1 includes sensor substrate 15 that includes a wiring board 152, the sensor substrate 15 includes holes);
a frame including a projection that includes a base and an end portion projecting from the hole (see Fig. 1 and paras 44-45, 55, 68, and 73, housing 10 includes attachments protrusions to connecting a rigid member 4, substrate 15, light guide 12 and light guide cover 13); and
a restrictor located between the end portion and the hole, wherein the restrictor includes an opening through which the base passes (see Fig. 5 and paras 55-56, 58-61, 69-69, and 78, fitting protrusions 44 are restrictors that are located between the housing 10 and the rigid member 4),
wherein the imaging circuit board is fixed to the frame by the end portion and the restrictor, and the opening is smaller than the hole in a main scanning direction of the imaging circuit board (see Figs. 1 and 5 and paras 74-75 and 78, sensor substrate 15 is fixed to housing 10 via fitting protrusions).
Regarding claim 3, Sugiyama further discloses wherein the restrictor includes paper, metal, or resin (see paras 59 and 61, the protrusions are resin).
Regarding claim 4, Sugiyama further discloses wherein clearance between the hole and the base is larger in the main scanning direction than in a sub-scanning direction in the imaging circuit board (see paras 60, 63, 68, and 73, clearance is larger in the main scanning direction than in the sub-scanning direction).
Regarding claim 5, Sugiyama further discloses an image reading apparatus comprising the imager according to claim 1; and control circuitry configured to control imaging operation performed by the imager (see para 64, image sensor unit 1 is assembled in an image reading apparatus 7).
Regarding claim 6, Sugiyama discloses an imager comprising:
an imaging circuit board including a hole (see Fig. 1 and paras 39, 47, and 64, image sensor unit 1 includes sensor substrate 15 that includes a wiring board 152, the sensor substrate 15 includes holes); and
a frame including a projection that includes a base and an end portion projecting from the hole (see Fig. 1 and paras 44-45, 55, 68, and 73, housing 10 includes attachments protrusions to connecting a rigid member 4, substrate 15, light guide 12 and light guide cover 13),
wherein the end portion is longer than the base in a sub-scanning direction of the imaging circuit board and is equal to or shorter than the base in a main scanning direction of the imaging circuit board (see Fig. 1), and
the imaging circuit board is fixed to the frame by the end portion in the sub-scanning direction (see paras 44-45, 55, 59-61, 68, 73, and 78, sensor substrate 15 is fixed to housing 10 via fitting protrusions).
Regarding claim 8, Sugiyama further discloses wherein clearance between the hole and the base is larger in the main scanning direction than in the sub-scanning direction (see paras 60, 63, 68, and 73, clearance is larger in the main scanning direction than in the sub-scanning direction).
Regarding claim 9, Sugiyama further discloses an image reading apparatus comprising: the imager according to claim 6; and control circuitry configured to control imaging operation performed by the imager (see para 64, image sensor unit 1 is assembled in an image reading apparatus 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Sugiyama as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Shishido (JP 2013-171963), reference will be made to the provided machine translation.
Sugiyama does not disclose expressly wherein the restrictor restricts a part of the end portion that is melted from flowing into the hole.
Shishido discloses wherein the restrictor restricts a part of the end portion that is melted from flowing into the hole (see page 4, paras 5-10, resist regions prevent solder from flowing into holes 16 of the printed circuit board 10).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine the resist regions, as described by Shishido, with the system of Sugiyama.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to prevent the possibility of contact and short circuit (Shishido page 2 para 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Shishido with Sugiyama to obtain the invention as specified in claims 2 and 7.
Conclusion
/MARK R MILIA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681