Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Remarks/Arguments
3. In response to Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6-8, with regard to claims 1, 8, 15 and their dependent claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remarks of the Applicant’s response, with regard to claims 1, 8 and 15, Applicant argues that although Hammerschmidt teaches in Figure 4 a SYNC Preamble and CIRTS/STS, Hammerschmidt fails to teach or suggest a synchronization (SYNC) field, wherein a length of the ultra-wideband signal is determined by a length of the CTS field, a length of the SYNC field, and a length of a null signal interval between the CTS field and the SYNC field. Examiner respectfully disagrees because the previously cited secondary reference, Dutz, teaches in Figure 3 a synchronization (SYNC) field (305 “SYNC”), wherein a length of the ultra-wideband signal is determined by a length of the CTS field (308 “STS”), a length of the SYNC field (305 “SYNC”), and a length of a null signal interval (307A “Guard”) between the CTS field (308 “STS”) and the SYNC field (305 “SYNC”).
Therefore, in light of broad claim language the arguments are not persuasive as the cited references disclose all the limitations, thus the 103 rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claims 4, 6-7, 11, 13-14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the Applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “a null signal interval” in line 2. It is not clear whether said “null signal interval” is different from or the same “a null signal interval” as recited in line 7 of claim 1. Hence, renders claim 4 indefinite. Similar rejection applies to claims 6-7, 11, 13-14 and 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
I. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
II. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
III. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
IV. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
8. Claims 1-18 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammerschmidt (US 12,015,916 B2 –Cited Earlier) and in view of Dutz (US 10,805,092 B2 –Previously Cited).
Regarding claims 15, 1 & 8, Hammerschmidt teaches a signal transmission apparatus (Figure 14: “Hybrid Wireless Transceiver”, “NB (narrow band) wireless signaling” & “UWB (ultra-wideband) wireless signaling”), wherein the apparatus comprises: a first transmitter, the first transmitter configured to send a narrow band signal to a receive end, wherein the narrow band signal is used by the receive end to determine initial time-frequency synchronization information (Figure 14: “Hybrid Wireless Transceiver”, “NB wireless signaling”, Figure 18: “Transmit NB Poll Packet” & Column 5, Lines 1-13: the first device transmits the scheduled NB poll packet to the second device… the second device extracts a type of synchronization data from the sync field that corresponds to time and frequency synchronization information); and a second transmitter, the second transmitter configured to send an ultra-wideband signal to the receive end (Figure 14: “Hybrid Wireless Transceiver”, “UWB wireless signaling” & Figure 18: “Transmit UWB-Tx Poll Fragments”), wherein the ultra-wideband signal comprises a channel impulse response training sequence (CTS) field (Figure 4: CIRTS/STS & Figure 12: “UWB-CIRTS (channel impulse response training sequence)”), wherein the CTS field is used by the receive end to determine a channel impulse response (Figure 4: “CIRTS/STS”, Figure 12: “UWB-CIRTS”, Column 5 Lines 53-56: the second device uses the CIRTS to estimate a Channel Impulse Response (CIR) and/or determine other synchronization information (e.g., time and frequency information, scheduling data, etc.), Figure 18: “T/F SYNC; Data” & “SYNC, CIR” ), wherein the CTS field comprises at least one CTS symbol (Figure 4: “CIRTS/STS”, Figure 12: “UWB-CIRTS”, Figure 21: “CIRTS frag1…N” & “Periodic Sequences E…E” (Row 3)). Although Hammerschmidt teaches said at least one CTS (CIRTS/STS) symbol, Hammerschmidt does not explicitly disclose a synchronization (SYNC) field, wherein a length of the ultra-wideband signal is determined by a length of the CTS field, a length of the SYNC field, and a length of a null signal interval between the CTS field and the SYNC field, wherein the at least one CTS symbol is generated by spreading at least one first preamble symbol. In a related field of endeavor, Dutz discloses a synchronization (SYNC) field (Figure 3: 305 “SYNC”), wherein a length of the ultra-wideband signal is determined by a length of the CTS field (Figure 3: 308 “STS”), a length of the SYNC field (Figure 3: 305 “SYNC”), and a length of a null signal interval (Figure 3: 307A “Guard”) between the CTS field (Figure 3: 308 “STS”) and the SYNC field (Figure 3: 305 “SYNC”), wherein the at least one CTS symbol is generated by spreading at least one first preamble symbol (Figure 3: 308 “STS”, Figure 14: 1402 “Spreading” & Column 28, Lines 9-10: STS segment 1402 spreading a first segment 1403 and a second segment 1404). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hammerschmidt’s UWB signal to include a SYNC and an interval as in Dutz. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so realize time and frequency synchronization and to drive channel estimate, Column 1, Lines 43-45.
Regarding claims 16, 2 & 9, the combination of Hammerschmidt and Dutz teaches the apparatus according to claim 15, the method according to claim 1 and the method according claim 8. In addition, Hammerschmidt discloses wherein the SYNC field is used by the receive end to determine target time-frequency synchronization information based on the initial time-frequency synchronization information, and the SYNC field comprises at least one second preamble symbol (Figure 12: “UWB-CIRTS”, Figure 18: “T/F SYNC; Data”, “SYNC, CIR” & Figure 4: “SYNC Preamble”).
Regarding claims 7 & 14, Hammerschmidt further discloses wherein there are a plurality of CTS symbols, the plurality of CTS symbols form a plurality of CTS segments, and there is a null signal interval between any two CTS segments (Figure 12: “UWB CIRTS frag1”… “UWB CIRTS fragN”).
Regarding claims 17 & 3, the combination of Hammerschmidt and Dutz teaches the apparatus according to claim 16 and the method according to claim 2. In addition, Dutz discloses wherein the at least one first preamble symbol comprises a first preamble code (Figure 3: 308 “STS” & “coded @ STS rate”), and the at least one second preamble symbol comprises a second preamble code (Figure 3: 305 “SYNC” & “coded @ SHR rate”).
Regarding claims 18 & 4, the combination of Hammerschmidt and Dutz teaches the apparatus according to claim 17 and the method according to claim 3. In addition, Hammerschmidt discloses wherein there are a plurality of CTS symbols, the plurality of CTS symbols form a plurality of CTS segments, and there is a null signal interval between any two CTS segments (Figure 12: “UWB CIRTS frag1”… “UWB CIRTS fragN”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Hammerschmidt and Dutz teaches the method according to claim 2. In addition, Dutz discloses wherein the at least one first preamble symbol is generated by spreading a first preamble code (Figure 3: 308 “STS” & “coded @ STS rate” & Column 28, Lines 9-10: STS segment 1402 spreading a first segment 1403 and a second segment 1404), and the at least one second preamble symbol is generated by spreading a second preamble code (Figure 3: 305 “SYNC” & “coded @ SHR rate” Column 24, Lines 34-35: de-spreading the SYNC field 305).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Hammerschmidt and Dutz teaches the method according to claim 5. In addition, Hammerschmidt discloses wherein there are a plurality of CTS symbols, the plurality of CTS symbols form a plurality of CTS segments, and there is a null signal interval between any two CTS segments (Figure 12: “UWB CIRTS frag1”… “UWB CIRTS fragN”).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Hammerschmidt and Dutz teaches the method according to claim 1. In addition, Dutz discloses wherein the ultra-wideband signal is used for subsequent ranging, and the length of the ultra-wideband signal is associated with a coverage area and a ranging frequency of the subsequent ranging (Figure 3, Column 9, Lines 29-31: IR-UWB RF transceivers at 60 GHz and higher frequencies… a range of different communication systems & Column 18 Lines 17-19: radio channel lengths of 300 m and 1200 m).
Regarding claim 22, Dutz further discloses wherein the length of the SYNC field and the length of the null signal interval between the CTS field and the SYNC field are user-defined (Figure 3, Column 18, Lines 3-5: a frame is designed more efficiently with a tighter bound on the radio channel length & Column 31, Lines 25-27: a guard interval of one segment in length where the segment comprises a predetermined length).
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s Supervisor, SAM K. AHN can be reached on (571) 272-3044. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/SHAWKAT M ALI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633