DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks/Arguments
2. The previous rejections mailed on 03/30/26 have been withdrawn due to proper claim amendments filed on 05/19/26. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made with a new reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
I. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
II. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
III. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
IV. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
4. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hammerschmidt (US 12,015,916 B2 –Previously Cited) and in view of Dutz (US 10,805,092 B2).
Regarding claims 15, 1 & 8, Hammerschmidt teaches a signal transmission apparatus (Figure 14: “Hybrid Wireless Transceiver”, “NB (narrow band) wireless signaling” & “UWB (ultra-wideband) wireless signaling”), wherein the apparatus comprises: a first transmitter, the first transmitter configured to send a narrow band signal to a receive end, wherein the narrow band signal is used by the receive end to determine initial time-frequency synchronization information (Figure 14: “Hybrid Wireless Transceiver”, “NB wireless signaling”, Figure 18: “Transmit NB Poll Packet” & Column 5, Lines 1-13: the first device transmits the scheduled NB poll packet to the second device… the second device extracts a type of synchronization data from the sync field that corresponds to time and frequency synchronization information); and a second transmitter, the second transmitter configured to send an ultra-wideband signal to the receive end (Figure 14: “Hybrid Wireless Transceiver”, “UWB wireless signaling” & Figure 18: “Transmit UWB-Tx Poll Fragments”), wherein the ultra-wideband signal comprises a channel impulse response training sequence (CTS) field (Figure 4: CIRTS/STS & Figure 12: “UWB-CIRTS (channel impulse response training sequence)”), wherein the CTS field is used by the receive end to determine a channel impulse response (Figure 4: “CIRTS/STS”, Figure 12: “UWB-CIRTS”, Column 5 Lines 53-56: the second device uses the CIRTS to estimate a Channel Impulse Response (CIR) and/or determine other synchronization information (e.g., time and frequency information, scheduling data, etc.), Figure 18: “T/F SYNC; Data” & “SYNC, CIR” ), wherein the CTS field comprises at least one CTS symbol (Figure 4: “CIRTS/STS”, Figure 12: “UWB-CIRTS”, Figure 21: “CIRTS frag1…N” & “Periodic Sequences E…E” (Row 3)). Although Hammerschmidt teaches said at least one CTS (CIRTS/STS) symbol, Hammerschmidt does not explicitly disclose wherein the at least one CTS symbol is generated by spreading at least one first preamble symbol. In a related field of endeavor, Dutz discloses wherein the at least one CTS symbol is generated by spreading at least one first preamble symbol (Figure 3: 308 “STS”, Figure 14: 1402 “Spreading” & Column 28, Lines 9-10: STS segment 1402 spreading a first segment 1403 and a second segment 1404). It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hammerschmidt’s CIRTS/STS to include spreading symbol. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so to reduce reconfiguration minimum, Column 27, Lines 24-29.
Regarding claims 16, 2 & 9, the combination of Hammerschmidt and Dutz teaches the apparatus according to claim 15, the method according to claim 1 and the method according claim 8. In addition, Hammerschmidt discloses wherein the ultra-wideband signal further comprises a synchronization (SYNC) field (Figure 12: “UWB-CIRTS”, Figure 18: “T/F SYNC; Data” & “SYNC, CIR”); and wherein the SYNC field is used by the receive end to determine target time-frequency synchronization information based on the initial time-frequency synchronization information, and the SYNC field comprises at least one second preamble symbol (Figure 12: “UWB-CIRTS”, Figure 18: “T/F SYNC; Data”, “SYNC, CIR” & Figure 4: “SYNC Preamble”).
Regarding claims 7 & 14, Hammerschmidt further discloses wherein there are a plurality of CTS symbols, the plurality of CTS symbols form a plurality of CTS segments, and there is a null signal interval between any two CTS segments (Figure 12: “UWB CIRTS frag1”… “UWB CIRTS fragN”).
Regarding claims 17 & 3, the combination of Hammerschmidt and Dutz teaches the apparatus according to claim 16 and the method according to claim 2. In addition, Dutz discloses wherein the at least one first preamble symbol comprises a first preamble code (Figure 3: 308 “STS” & “coded @ STS rate”), and the at least one second preamble symbol comprises a second preamble code (Figure 3: 305 “SYNC” & “coded @ SHR rate”).
Regarding claims 18 & 4, the combination of Hammerschmidt and Dutz teaches the apparatus according to claim 17 and the method according to claim 3. In addition, Hammerschmidt discloses wherein there are a plurality of CTS symbols, the plurality of CTS symbols form a plurality of CTS segments, and there is a null signal interval between any two CTS segments (Figure 12: “UWB CIRTS frag1”… “UWB CIRTS fragN”).
Regarding claims 19 & 5, the combination of Hammerschmidt and Dutz teaches the apparatus according to claim 16 and the method according to claim 2. In addition, Dutz discloses wherein the at least one first preamble symbol is generated by spreading a first preamble code (Figure 3: 308 “STS” & “coded @ STS rate” & Column 28, Lines 9-10: STS segment 1402 spreading a first segment 1403 and a second segment 1404), and the at least one second preamble symbol is generated by spreading a second preamble code (Figure 3: 305 “SYNC” & “coded @ SHR rate” Column 24, Lines 34-35: de-spreading the SYNC field 305).
Regarding claims 20 & 6, the combination of Hammerschmidt and Dutz teaches the apparatus according to claim 19 and the method according to claim 5. In addition, Hammerschmidt discloses wherein there are a plurality of CTS symbols, the plurality of CTS symbols form a plurality of CTS segments, and there is a null signal interval between any two CTS segments (Figure 12: “UWB CIRTS frag1”… “UWB CIRTS fragN”).
Conclusion
5. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office Action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s Supervisor, SAM K. AHN can be reached on (571) 272-3044. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/SHAWKAT M ALI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633