DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Tablan (US 20210383913 A1) in view of Kikin-Gil (US 20210383127 A1).
Regarding claim 1:
Tablan teaches:
A communication system comprising:
a terminal device including terminal circuitry configured to display language information based on information input to the terminal device (Tablan: The therapy session audio data (speech data) 110 is converted 112 to text data 16 (a transcript) by the system 1. [0111]) in a first area of an information display screen of the terminal device in a time series (Tablan: Fig. 6; see Note 1A); and
an information processing apparatus configured to communicate with the terminal device via a network (Tablan: a (typical) device 2 includes one or more processors 2a, memory 2b, storage 2c, one or more network interfaces 2d, and one or more input (e.g. user interface) devices 2e. [0086]), the information processing apparatus including server circuitry configured to acquire analysis information (Tablan: Each device 2 is connectable to the server 3 via at least a part of the network system 4. Hence each device 2 is able to send and/or receive data (e.g. audio data constituting speech) to and/or from the server 3 [0088]; see Note 1B), the analysis information including information generated by analyzing language information present of the language information based on the information input to the terminal device (Tablan: system 1 preferably enables the acquisition of audio data (including speech data) during a face-to-face therapy session using one or more device 2, the analysis of such data and the automated provision of actions as appropriate. [0084]),
Note 1A: Tablan showcases in Fig. 6 a transcript that lists language information in order based on the time the communication occurred (i.e., time series).
Note 1B: Tablan teaches: “Preferably, the device 2 with audio input 2e performs the acquisition of the audio data 110, and the server 3 (e.g. a cloud-based server) performs the analysis of the data” [0112]. Therefore, the Examiner understands Tablan to teach an apparatus including server circuitry that acquires analysis information.
Tablan fails to explicitly teach:
the analysis information including information generated by analyzing language information present in a designated range of the language information based on the information input to the terminal device,
the terminal circuitry being configured to display the analysis information acquired from the information processing apparatus in a second area of the information display screen.
Kikin-Gil teaches:
an information processing apparatus configured to communicate with the terminal device via a network (Kikin-Gil: Network and processing sub-environment 104 includes network 106, by which any of the computing devices described herein may communicate with one another, and server computing device 108, which is exemplary of a cloud-computing device that may perform one or more operations described herein in relation to a cloud-based service [0030]), the information processing apparatus including server circuitry configured to acquire analysis information (Kikin-Gil: Audio of an electronic meeting may be transcribed. One or more language machine learning models may be applied to the transcription to identify key points, relevant documents, and/or tasks that are assigned during the electronic meeting. [0004]), the analysis information including information generated by analyzing language information present in a designated range of the language information (Kikin-Gil: Electronic meeting summary 804 includes first tag 806, second tag 808, and third tag 810. First tag 806 is applied to a first section of an electronic meeting recording from beginning section time 5:22 to end section time 6:22 [0096]; see Note 1C) based on the information input to the terminal device,
the terminal circuitry being configured to display the analysis information acquired from the information processing apparatus in a second area of the information display screen (Kikin-Gil: FIG. 2 illustrates a computing device 202 displaying a textual version of an electronic meeting summary 206 [0046]; see Note 1D).
Note 1C: Kikin-Gil teaches that tags are applied to areas of the meeting that are considered important: “Each of the tags that have been applied to electronic meetings summary 804 represent sections of the electronic meeting for which a combined importance score has been determined to be above a threshold value.” [0096]. Kikin-Gil also teaches that: “One or more language processing models may then be applied to the transcript to identify important sections of the transcript.” [0021]. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to correlate a designated range of important information of transcript (language information) with the designated range of important information of the electronic meeting recording in order to generate analysis information, such as “key points, relevant documents, and/or tasks that are assigned during the electronic meeting” [0004].
Note 1D: Kikin-Gil teaches: “The “read the full transcription here” here portion of that text is associated with a link that may be selected for downloading and/or otherwise accessing a full transcript of the electronic meeting.” [0047]. Because the transcript isn’t included directly in the area with the analysis information, the Examiner submits that it would be obvious to display the transcript in an area of the screen separate from the analysis information. Therefore, when the teachings of Kikin-Gil are combined with Tablan, it would be obvious to display the analysis information acquired from the information processing apparatus in a second area of the information display screen.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Kikin-Gil in view of Tablan. Displaying the analysis information acquired from the information processing apparatus in a second area of the information display screen, as in Kikin-Gil, would benefit the Tablan teachings by enabling a user to visibly corelate the transcript to the meeting summary.
Regarding claim 2:
Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil teaches:
The communication system according to claim 1 (as shown above),
wherein the information input to the terminal device includes voice data (Tablan: The acquisition of the therapy session audio (speech) data 110 occurs via one or more devices 2 with audio input 2e [0112]),
wherein the server circuitry is configured to convert voice information based on the voice data into the language information (Tablan: The therapy session audio data (speech data) 110 is converted 112 to text data 16 (a transcript) by the system 1. [0111]), and
wherein the terminal circuitry is configured to display the converted language information in the first area (Tablan: device 2 of the system 1 may include a display that provides one or more of e.g. an automatically-generated therapist support process to the therapist, an automatically-generated therapist reallocation process to a supervisor of the therapist, or an automatically-generated transcript of the therapy session [0087]).
Regarding claim 3:
Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil teaches:
The communication system according to claim 1 (as shown above),
wherein the analysis information is generated by analyzing the language information in the designated range (Kikin-Gil: First tag 806 is applied to a first section of an electronic meeting recording from beginning section time 5:22 to end section time 6:22. [0096]) using analysis content previously set (Kikin-Gil: Each of the tags that have been applied to electronic meetings summary 804 represent sections of the electronic meeting for which a combined importance score has been determined to be above a threshold value [0096]).
Note 3A: The Examiner submits that tagging the range 5:22 to 6:22 based on a “combined importance score” requires analyzing the language information within the 5:22 to 6:22 range.
Regarding claim 4:
Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil teaches:
The communication system according to claim 3 (as shown above),
wherein the analysis content includes at least one of a summary (Kikin-Gil: Electronic meeting summary 804 includes first tag 806, second tag 808, and third tag 810 [0096]), a topic, or an agenda of the language information in the designated range.
Regarding claim 6:
Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil teaches:
The communication system according to claim 3,
wherein the analysis content includes information that is input by a user of the terminal device in natural language and that designates the analysis content of the language information (Kikin-Gil: The electronic meeting summarization service may apply a speech to text engine to the audio data for an electronic meeting and generate a transcript. One or more language processing models may then be applied to the transcript to identify important sections of the transcript. [0021]; see Note 6A).
Note 6A: Kikin-Gil teaches that a summary may be generated based on speech in audio data in [0021]. The Examiner submits that speech constitutes natural language and that therefore, when combined with the teachings of Tablan, Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil teaches the limitations of claim 6.
Regarding claim 7:
Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil teaches:
The communication system according to claim 1 (as shown above),
wherein the language information in the designated range is designated by a start time and an end time obtained from information regarding a time associated with the language information (Kikin-Gil: First tag 806 is applied to a first section of an electronic meeting recording from beginning section time 5:22 to end section time 6:22. [0096]; see also Note 1C).
Regarding claim 8:
Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil teaches:
The communication system according to claim 1 (as shown above),
wherein the language information in the designated range is language information received by the information processing apparatus from the terminal device during a certain time interval (Kikin-Gil: First tag 806 is applied to a first section of an electronic meeting recording from beginning section time 5:22 to end section time 6:22. [0096]; see also Note 1C).
Regarding claim 13:
Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil teaches:
The communication system according to claim 1 (as shown above),
wherein the terminal circuitry is configured to highlight and display a specific character string included in the analysis information (Kikin-Gil: sections that have higher combined importance scores may have corresponding summary content surfaced more prominently (e.g., above, highlighted, bolded) than summary content corresponding to sections that have lower combined importance scores. [0024]).
Regarding claim 20:
Claim 20 is substantially similar to claim 1, and is therefore rejected for similar reasons. Claim 20 contains the following notable differences:
Claim 20 claims an information processing method instead of a communication system. In the rejection of claim 1, it was shown that Tablan teaches the claimed communication system. It follows that Tablan teaches the corresponding information processing method.
Claims 5, 12, 14, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tablan (US 20210383913 A1) in view of Kikin-Gil (US 20210383127 A1) and Shima (US 20170344535 A1).
Regarding claim 5:
Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil teaches:
The communication system according to claim 3 (as shown above),
Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil fails to teach:
wherein the analysis content includes information acquired by diverging or converging the language information in the designated range.
Shima teaches:
wherein the analysis content includes information acquired by diverging the language information in the designated range (Shima: As illustrated in FIG. 11, the statements that have been input are grouped into one or more groups of statements 1102 by topic 1101. [0120]; see Fig. 11; see Note 5A).
Note 5A: Shima showcases that multiple topics may diverge from an agenda element in Fig. 11. Similarly, the specification of the present application teaches that: “As illustrated in FIG. 10, in the case of a “divergence”, an arrangement in which “idea 1” to “idea n” are connected by arrows from an “original data” is registered in advance.” [0126]. The Examiner submits that the claimed divergence is analogous to the divergence of nodes in Shima because Shima teaches an arrangement where multiple topics are connected by arrows from an agenda.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Shima in view of Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil. “Diverging” the language information, as in Shima, would benefit the Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil teachings by enabling automatic generation of a flow chart that includes the ideas discussed in a given meeting.
Regarding claim 12:
Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil teaches:
The communication system according to claim 1 (as shown above),
Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil fails to teach:
wherein the terminal circuitry is configured to display the analysis information in the second area in a display mode corresponding to a type of the analysis information.
Shima teaches:
wherein the terminal circuitry is configured to display the analysis information in the second area in a display mode corresponding to a type of the analysis information (Shima: The statements 1102 in the group are classified into one or more types according to content of the statement, as described above. In this example illustrated in FIG. 11, among the statements belonging to the same topic, the “positive opinion” statements 1102 are displayed at left, and the “negative opinion” statements 1102 and the “issue” statements 1102 are displayed at right. [0120]; see Note 14A below).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Shima in view of Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil. Arranging and displaying analysis information based on content type, as in Shima, would benefit the Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil teachings because “Since the statements 1102 are displayed at different locations by statement type, the user can instantly grasp the content of discussions.” (Shima, [0120])
Regarding claim 14:
Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil teaches:
The communication system according to claim 1 (as shown above),
Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil fails to teach:
wherein, when the server circuitry acquires multiple pieces of the analysis information, the server circuitry is configured to determine arrangement of the multiple pieces of the analysis information based on arrangement information associated with a type of the analysis information, and
wherein the terminal circuitry is configured to display the analysis information in the second area based on the arrangement determined by the terminal circuitry.
Shima teaches:
wherein, when the server circuitry acquires multiple pieces of the analysis information, the server circuitry is configured to determine arrangement of the multiple pieces of the analysis information based on arrangement information associated with a type of the analysis information (Shima: The statements 1102 in the group are classified into one or more types according to content of the statement, as described above. In this example illustrated in FIG. 11, among the statements belonging to the same topic, the “positive opinion” statements 1102 are displayed at left, and the “negative opinion” statements 1102 and the “issue” statements 1102 are displayed at right. [0120]), and
wherein the terminal circuitry is configured to display the analysis information in the second area based on the arrangement determined by the terminal circuitry (Shima: As illustrated in FIG. 11, the statements that have been input are grouped into one or more groups of statements 1102 by topic 1101. The statements 1102 in the group are classified into one or more types according to content of the statement, as described above. [0120]; see Note 14A).
Note 14A: Claim 1 of the present application recites that: “terminal circuitry configured to display language information based on information input to the terminal device in a first area”. The Examiner understands Shima to teach (or that it would be obvious to a PHOSITA to) displaying the analysis information in a second area, because Shima teaches displaying the graph of the agenda (see Fig. 11) separately from the transcript or language information (see Fig. 4).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Shima in view of Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil. Arranging and displaying analysis information based on content type, as in Shima, would benefit the Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil teachings because “Since the statements 1102 are displayed at different locations by statement type, the user can instantly grasp the content of discussions.” (Shima, [0120])
Regarding claim 18:
Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil teaches:
The communication system according to claim 1 (as shown above),
wherein the analysis information includes information generated based on an analysis result acquired by analyzing the language information (Tablan: compiling the plurality of assigned utterances to form a representation of the therapy session, Abstract) based on the information input to the terminal device by a generative AI system (Tablan: using at least a first part of a deep learning model to assign a semantic representation to each of the plurality of utterances to produce a plurality of assigned utterances, Abstract),
wherein the server circuitry is configured to transmit the information generated based on the analysis result (Kikin-Gil: Server computing device 108 and an associated electronic meeting summarization service may communicate with service store 120 and obtain and analyze information included therein in performing one or more operations described herein. [0031]) to the terminal device (Kikin-Gil: The server device 1302 may provide data to and from a client computing device such as a personal/general computer 1304, a tablet computing device 1306 and/or a mobile computing device 1308 (e.g., a smart phone) through a network 1315. [0121]),
Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the terminal circuitry is configured to display a fourth area in which the information generated based on the analysis result is displayed, and
switch the display from the first area to the fourth area in response to an operation.
Shima teaches:
wherein the analysis information includes information generated based on an analysis result acquired by analyzing the language information (Shima: in the abstract mode, the meeting assistance system 1 extracts one or more sentences having the specific statement types, and generates a list of the extracted statements for output [0069])
wherein the terminal circuitry is configured to display a fourth area in which the information generated based on the analysis result is displayed (Shima: FIG. 8 illustrates an example screen displayed by the meeting assistance system 1, in the all-statement mode, according to an embodiment. The screen of FIG. 8 may be displayed at any time during the meeting. [0104]), and
switch the display from the first area to the fourth area in response to an operation (Shima: When the abstract instruction key BN1 illustrated in FIG. 8 is selected by a meeting participant, the meeting assistance system 1 switches to display the screen in the abstract mode. [0104]).
Note 18A: Shima teaches an “abstract mode” that displays the most important statements in a list of messages: “in the abstract mode, the meeting assistance system 1 extracts one or more sentences having the specific statement types, and generates a list of the extracted statements for output.” [0116].
The Examiner interprets the abstract data shown to be information based on an analysis result because the specification of the present application teaches: “The analysis of the language information indicates generation of meaningful information based on the language information. In the present embodiment, the generated information is an analysis result, and is referred to as analysis information.” [0069].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Shima in view of Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil. Switching the display to an analysis result, as in Shima, would benefit the Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil teachings by enabling users to focus on the most important messages shared during a meeting: “The meeting assistance system has been introduced to perform administrative tasks such as keeping time and generating meeting memos, to help the meeting participants to focus on discussions to effectively reach a decision to accomplish a goal of the meeting.” (Shima, [0038])
Regarding claim 19:
Tablan teaches:
An information processing apparatus communicably connected with one or more terminal devices (Tablan: Referring to FIG. 1, a computer-based system 1 for providing therapy includes a plurality of devices 21 . . . 2N connectable to a server 3 via a network system 4. [0081]), the information processing apparatus comprising: terminal circuitry configured to:
receive information related to language information based on information input to the terminal device (Tablan: system 1 preferably enables the acquisition of audio data (including speech data) during a face-to-face therapy session using one or more device 2, the analysis of such data and the automated provision of actions as appropriate. [0084]);
acquire analysis information generated by analyzing the language information (Tablan: Preferably, the device 2 with audio input 2e performs the acquisition of the audio data 110, and the server 3 (e.g. a cloud-based server) performs the analysis of the data” [0112]); and
transmit, to the terminal device, the language information (Tablan: The therapy session audio data (speech data) 110 is converted 112 to text data 16 (a transcript) by the system 1. [0111]) to be displayed in a time series in a first area of a screen displayed by the terminal device (Tablan: Fig. 6; see Note 1A).
Tablan fails to teach:
transmit, to the terminal device, the language information to be displayed in a time series in a first area of a screen displayed by the terminal device and the analysis information to be displayed in a second area of the screen.
Shima teaches:
transmit, to the terminal device (Shima: For example, the server 10 transmits a content to be displayed on a screen, in a hyper text markup language (HTML) file, to each terminal 11. [0197]), the language information to be displayed in a first area of a screen (Shima: The screen of FIG. 4 further displays a plurality of statements 303. Each statement 303 is displayed with an indication of a statement type [0080]) displayed by the terminal device and the analysis information to be displayed in a second area of the screen (Shima: In this example, the meeting assistance system 1 generates a topic 1101 for a group of statements, and displays the topic 1101 with corresponding group of statements 1102. [0118]; see Note 19A).
Note 19A: Shima teaches that the language information may be shown on one screen (Fig. 4) and the analysis information may be shown on another screen (Fig. 11). The Examiner submits that it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to show the language information and analysis information in separate areas of the same screen, because the analyzed topics (analysis information) taught in Shima includes the statements (language information): “For example, as described above referring to FIG. 11, through displaying the statements by statement type of “issue”, “action item”, and “decision” for each topic, the users can easily and effectively check and share a summary of the meeting.” [0127].
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Shima in view of Tablan. Transmitting, to the terminal device, the language information to be displayed in a first area of a screen displayed by the terminal device and the analysis information to be displayed in a second area of the screen, as in Shima, would benefit the Tablan teachings by enabling users to “easily and effectively check and share a summary of the meeting” (Shima, [0127]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Tablan (US 20210383913 A1) in view of Kikin-Gil (US 20210383127 A1) and Ashikawa (US 20170263265 A1).
Regarding claim 9:
Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil teaches:
The communication system according to claim 1 (as shown above),
Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil fails to teach:
wherein the language information in the designated range includes a number of characters of the language information received by the information processing apparatus from the terminal device.
Ashikawa teaches:
wherein the language information in the designated range includes a number of characters of the language information received by the information processing apparatus from the terminal device (Ashikawa: When the text data in which the number of words (characters) is equal to or more than the displayable number of words (characters) per single subtitle is generated by the summary process as described above, the summary generator 25 may generate summarized text data [0080]; see Note 9A).
Note 9A: Previously, it was discussed in the rejection of claim 1 that the language information may include a transcript of audio data: “The therapy session audio data (speech data) 110 is converted 112 to text data 16 (a transcript) by the system 1. (Tablan, [0111]). The Examiner submits that the text data in Ashikawa is analogous to language information because it is also generated based on audio data: “The summary generator 25 then performs a summary process on the text data that is generated by the speech recognizer 22 and that corresponds to the speech of the conference participant. The summary generator 25 summarizes the text data so that the text data is within the displayable number of words (or characters) per single subtitle” (Ashikawa, [0078]).
Limiting the number of characters of the text data requires determining the number of characters of the text data.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Ashikawa in view of Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil. Determining the number of characters in text data, as in Ashikawa, would benefit the Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil teachings by ensuring that accurate and space efficient text is generated in the summary.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Tablan (US 20210383913 A1) in view of Kikin-Gil (US 20210383127 A1) and Emam (US 20060136226 A1).
Regarding claim 10:
Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil teaches:
The communication system according to claim 1 (as shown above),
Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the language information in the designated range is language information from when a speaker of the language information is switched last time to when the speaker is switched next time.
Emam teaches:
wherein the language information in the designated range is language information from when a speaker of the language information is switched last time to when the speaker is switched next time (Emam: Broadcast News Transcription (BNT) systems are designed to: automatically create a transcript; separate and identify speakers; and segment continuous audio input into sections based on speaker, [0068-0071]; see Note 10A).
Note 10A: Tablan showcases in Fig. 6 that the text may be indented or not indented based on the speaker. Furthermore, Emam teaches that audio input may be separated based on the speaker. The Examiner submits that when the teachings of Emam are combined with Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil, it would be obvious to determine a range of the language information based on the speaker.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Emam in view of Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil. Segmenting language information based on when a speaker of the language information is switched last time to when the speaker is switched next time, as in Emam, would benefit the Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil teachings by enabling analysis of the meeting based on who is speaking which lines.
Regarding claim 11:
Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil teaches:
The communication system according to claim 1 (as shown above),
Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil fails to explicitly teach:
wherein the language information in the designated range is language information from when a topic of the language information is switched last time to when the topic is switched next time.
Emam teaches:
wherein the language information in the designated range is language information from when a topic of the language information is switched last time to when the topic is switched next time (Emam: Broadcast News Transcription (BNT) systems are designed to: automatically create a transcript; […] segment continuous audio input into sections based on […] topic, [0068-0071]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Emam in view of Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil. Segmenting language information based on when a topic of the language information is switched last time to when the topic is switched next time, as in Emam, would benefit the Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil teachings by enabling analysis of the meeting based on who is speaking which lines.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tablan (US 20210383913 A1) in view of Kikin-Gil (US 20210383127 A1) and Lundin (US 20230177250 A1).
Regarding claim 15:
Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil teaches:
The communication system according to claim 1 (as shown above),
Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil fails to teach:
wherein the terminal circuitry is configured to acquire an illustration based on the analysis information displayed in the second area, and
wherein the terminal circuitry is configured to display the illustration around the analysis information displayed in the second area.
Lundin teaches:
wherein the terminal circuitry is configured to acquire an illustration based on the analysis information displayed in the second area (Lundin: The image generator 140 may be any suitable combination of hardware and software of the computing device 100 for generating images to be used in a visual summary [0029]; see Note 15A), and
wherein the terminal circuitry is configured to display the illustration around the analysis information displayed in the second area (Lundin: the visual summary of the input text may be stored, displayed, or sent to any suitable recipient using any suitable form of electronic communication. [0023]).
Note 15A: Kikin-Gil teaches that a server may obtain and analyze information in order to obtain a summary: “Server computing device 108 and an associated electronic meeting summarization service may communicate with service store 120 and obtain and analyze information included therein in performing one or more operations described herein.” [0031]. Lundin teaches that images may be generated to augment a summary, as cited above. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art generate images based on analysis information as claimed.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lundin in view of Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil. Acquiring and displaying an illustration based on analysis information, as in Lundin, would benefit the Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil teachings because “Text-based communication, including through messaging applications, and text transcriptions of in-person and virtual meetings can produce large amounts of text that may be difficult or time consuming for individuals to read through entirely to understand or summarize the text.” (Lundin, [0001]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tablan (US 20210383913 A1) in view of Kikin-Gil (US 20210383127 A1) and Ewing (US 6915490 B1; see attachment for paragraph numbers).
Regarding claim 16:
Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil teaches:
The communication system according to claim 1 (as shown above),
Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil fails to teach:
wherein the terminal circuitry is configured to display the analysis information in a third area different from the first area and the second area, and
wherein the terminal circuitry is configured to display the analysis information in the second area in response to receiving an operation of moving the analysis information selected in the third area to the second area.
Ewing teaches:
wherein the terminal circuitry is configured to display the analysis information in a third area different from the first area and the second area (see Note 16A), and
wherein the terminal circuitry is configured to display the analysis information in the second area in response to receiving an operation of moving the analysis information selected in the third area to the second area (Ewing: FIG.7 illustrates the desktop after Folder A has been dropped onto Window 2. As illustrated in FIG. 7, once Folder A is dropped in Window 2, Window 2 remains at the top-most layer and Folder A is removed from Window 1. (paragraph 8); see Note 16A).
Note 16A: In Figs. 5, 6, and 7, Ewing showcases that a Folder A may be located in a second window in response to receiving an operation of moving Folder A from a first window to a second window. Ewing teaches that: “Those skilled in art will also appreciate that, although only two windows are depicted in FIGS. 5-8 for clarity of the figure, methods for dragging and dropping implemented according to this exemplary embodiment of the present invention will typically involve large number of windows on various layers of the desktop.” (paragraph 19). That is, the method taught by Ewing can be utilized with one or more areas, including a second and third area or window.
When the teachings of Ewing are combined with the teachings of Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil, it would be obvious to relocate the analysis information to different areas of the screen.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Ewing in view of Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil. Moving content between different areas of the screen, as in Ewing, would benefit the Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil teachings by enabling the user to organize the content to best increase their efficiency and/or understanding of the content.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tablan (US 20210383913 A1) in view of Kikin-Gil (US 20210383127 A1), Ewing (US 6915490 B1; see attachment for paragraph numbers) and Lundin (US 20230177250 A1).
Regarding claim 17:
Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil and Ewing teaches:
The communication system according to claim 16 (as shown above),
display the illustration in the second area in response to receiving an operation of moving the illustration selected in the third area to the second area (Ewing: FIG. 9A illustrates a method for a user to move an icon in accordance with exemplary embodiments of the present invention. Initially, the cursor is placed over a desired icon (Step 901) and the icon is selected (Step 902). Once an icon is selected, it can be dragged to any portion of the desktop; see Note 17A).
Note 17A: Ewing teaches that icons may be moved to different portions of the desktop based on user input. The Examiner submits that when the teachings of Ewing are combined with Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil, that it would be obvious to move an illustration from one area to another area and display it in the other area.
Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil, and Ewing fails to teach:
wherein the terminal circuitry is configured to acquire an illustration based on the analysis information displayed in the third area,
display the illustration around the analysis information displayed in the third area.
Lundin teaches:
wherein the terminal circuitry is configured to acquire an illustration based on the analysis information displayed in the third area (Lundin: The image generator 140 may be any suitable combination of hardware and software of the computing device 100 for generating images to be used in a visual summary [0029]; see Note 15A),
display the illustration around the analysis information displayed in the third area (Lundin: the visual summary of the input text may be stored, displayed, or sent to any suitable recipient using any suitable form of electronic communication. [0023]), and
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Lundin in view of Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil and Ewing. Acquiring and displaying an illustration based on analysis information, as in Lundin, would benefit the Tablan in view of Kikin-Gil and Ewing teachings because “Text-based communication, including through messaging applications, and text transcriptions of in-person and virtual meetings can produce large amounts of text that may be difficult or time consuming for individuals to read through entirely to understand or summarize the text.” (Lundin, [0001]).
Conclusion
/VINCENT ALEXANDER PROVIDENCE/Examiner, Art Unit 2617 /KING Y POON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2617