DETAILED ACTION
Claims 2-4, 7, 8, 10, 14, 16, 18-20, 22-26, 28-32, 34, 36, and 39-53 are cancelled.
Claims 1, 5, 6, 9, 11-13, 15, 17, 21, 27, 33, 35, 37, 38, and 54-58 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 6, 9, 11-13, 15, 17, 21, 27, 33, 35, 37, 38, and 54-58 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Collette et al. (US 20110129531 A1) hereinafter Collette.
Regarding claims 1, 5, 6, 9, 11-13, 15, 17, 21, 27, 33, 35, 37, 38, and 54-58, Collette is drawn to compositions useful as dermal fillers (abstract and claims 1-26).
Collette discloses a composition comprising a gel phase and a carrier phase, wherein the gel phase includes hydrogel particles comprising a silk fibroin [0013].
Collette discloses a hydrogel comprising polymerized silk fibroin or silk fibroin [0041]. Collette discloses a hydrogel disclosed herein provide for a depolymerized silk fibroin and/or silk fibroin that are substantially free of sericin [0043]. Collette discloses the composition can comprise hyaluronic acid [0050].
Collette discloses a silk hydrogel is prepared from dissolved silk fibroin solution that uses an agent to enhance gelation and an agent to improve the gel's biocompatibility. In some instances, the same agent both enhances gelation and improves biocompatibility. An example agent that both improves gel biocompatibility and serves as a gelation enhancer is an amphiphilic peptide which binds to silk molecules through hydrophobic interactions, such as, e.g., a non-RGD integrin or a RGD motif containing peptide like 23RGD. In other instances, different agents serve these purposes. An example of an agent that serves as a gelation enhancer is an alcohol, such as, e.g., ethanol, methanol, and isopropanol; glycerol [0060].
Collette discloses a cross-linking can also be accomplished without exogenous cross-linkers by utilizing reactive groups on the molecules being conjugated [0087].
Collette discloses the composition further comprises lidocaine (claims 7 and 14).
Collette discloses a hydrogel may be further processed to form an injectable substance [0114].
Collette discloses the route of administration of composition may be administered by syringe with needle. The composition disclosed herein can be administered into a skin region such as, e.g., a dermal region [0185]; the term “dermal region” refers to the region of skin comprising the epidermal-dermal junction and the dermis including the superficial dermis (papillary region) and the deep dermis (reticular region). [0187].
Collette does not explicitly disclose the composition as claimed in a single embodiment.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Collette, to arrive at the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Collette discloses each of the components of the tissue filler is in the field of dermal fillers comprising silk fibroin (see, e.g., abstract). Further, one having ordinary still in the art would reasonably expect success in combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, see MPEP 2141.
The Supreme Court has acknowledged:
When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one. If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation... 103 likely bars its patentability...if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond that person’s skill. A court must ask whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior-art elements according to their established functions......the combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 U.S. 2007) (emphasis added).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5, 6, 9, 11-13, 15, 17, 21, 27, 33, 35, 37, 38, and 54-58 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of US Patent 12,296,067 B2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both disclose a biocompatible tissue filler comprising silk fibroin fragments, hyaluronic acid (HA), wherein a portion of the HA is modified or crosslinked by one or more linker moieties comprising one or more of polyethylene glycol (PEG), polypropylene glycol (PPG), and a secondary alcohol. Claim 1 of ‘067 patent requires silk fibroin fragments having an average weight average molecular weight selected from between about 1 kDa and about 250 kDa whereas instant claim 1 does not; however, claim 6 of the instant application is drawn to silk fibroin fragments having an average weight average molecular weight selected from between about 1 kDa and about 250 kDa. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious such that the silk fibroin fragments having an average weight average molecular weight selected from between about 1 kDa and about 250 kDa.
This is a nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Robert A Wax can be reached on 571-272-0623. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/QUANGLONG N TRUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1615