DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-11 in the reply filed on June 25, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 25, 2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
push component in claim 1;
material conveying mechanism in claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barber (US 6,802,903) in view of Takiura (US 3,876,736).
In regards to claim 1, Barber teaches an adhesive applicator apparatus comprising;
an adhesive supply (18, feeding mechanism with a material storage container) which contains a liquid (fig. 1; col. 3, lines 50-60);
a pair of grippers (12/14) (coating and curing mechanism) provide a transfer areas (42/72) (forming mold) that provide a cavity (forming cavity) define by counterbores (48/50/78/80) of the grippers, where adhesive passage-44 and adhesive passage-74 connect the counterbores and the adhesive supply (fig. 1-9; col. 4, lines 20-35, col. 4, line 60- col. 5, line 20).
Barber does not explicitly teach a push component that is movably inserted into the material storage container.
However, Takiura teaches a main reaction chamber (2) comprising a screw (1, push component). Takiura teaches the screw is moved by a piston (6) and is moved by a reduction gear (5) and a motor (4) (fig. 1; col. 2, lines 50-65). Takiura teaches the outlet of the main reaction chamber connects to a molding head die (30) (fig. 1; col. 3, lines 20-25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the main reaction chamber with the moving screw of Takiura onto the adhesive supply of Barber because Takiura teaches it minimizes the occurrence of troubles and ensures a stable operation (col. 4, lines 30-40).
In regards to claims 2-3, Barber and Takiura as discussed, where Barber teaches a pair of tubing (first and second conveying pipe) connects the adhesive supply and the pair of grippers and the inlets of the pair of tubing are connected to the adhesive supply (fig. 1, 8; col. 3, lines 45-60).
In regards to claim 4, Barber and Takiura as discussed, where Takiura teaches the plunger (6) connects with the screw (1) using a rod (not labeled, but shown), the rod extends into the main reaction chamber (2) (fig. 1; col. 2, lines 50-65).
In regards to claims 5-6, Barber and Takiura as discussed, where Takiura teaches the reduction gear (5) (first and second gear) and the motor (4) are connected to the rod and move the rod and screw around an axis (fig. 1; col. 2, lines 50-65).
In regards to claims 7-9, Barber and Takiura as discussed, where Barber teaches the pair of grippers (12/14) that provide a first and second mold, with a distance between each of the mold changes by an actuating cylinder assembly (16) (fig. 1-9; col. 5, lines 15-20).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barber and Takiura as applied to claims 1-9 above, and further in view of Cheng (US 2023/0241815).
In regards to claims 10-11, Barber and Takiura as discussed but do not explicitly teach a mold drive component and a mold transmission component, the mold transmission component comprises a lead screw and a guide rail, the lead screw is connected to an output end of the mold drive component, and the mold drive component is configured to drive the lead screw to rotate, the guide rail is arranged parallel to the lead screw and is connected to the first mold, the guide rail movably passes through the second mold, the lead screw is connected to the second mold in a threaded connection, and rotation of the lead screw is configured to drive the second mold to move close to or away from the first mold along the guide rail, two guide rails are provided, and the two guide rails are separately arranged parallel to the lead screw and are arranged on two sides of the lead screw at intervals.
However, Cheng teaches drive unit (4) comprising a drive motor (41), a transmission mechanism (42), a threaded shaft (43) and a pair of slide rods (14). Cheng teaches the threaded shaft is connected to the drive motor and transmission mechanism and the threaded shaft and the pair of slide rods are in parallel. Cheng teaches the drive unit moves a die holder (22) to and from an opposing die holder (21) (fig. 1-; para. 18, 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the drive unit of Cheng onto the pair of grippers of Barber and Takiura because Cheng teaches it is a simple structure for moving dies (para. 34).
Conclusion
/Binu Thomas/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717