DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 12. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-12, 14-16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hudak et al. (US 2014/0231109 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Hudak discloses a fire extinguisher assembly (10) comprising: a shroud (12) that comprises an enclosed interior space (Fig. 5); a fire extinguisher positioned within the interior space of the shroud (Fig. 6), the fire extinguisher comprising: a tank (14) configured to contain extinguishing agent (16); a nozzle (18) that extends from the tank through which the extinguishing agent is expelled (Fig. 6), the nozzle extending outward from the interior space of the shroud (Fig. 6); and a trigger (20) positioned on an exterior of the shroud (12), the trigger connected to the fire extinguisher to selectively expel the extinguishing agent through the nozzle (18 and Par. [0036-0037]).
With regard to claim 2, the fire extinguisher assembly of Hudak discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Hudak further discloses that an actuation assembly positioned within the interior space and connected to the tank, the actuation assembly comprising a stem that is biased by a spring to a closed position (Par. [0059] “If the actuator 20 is a manual, biased mechanism the user may then continually activate the actuator 20 while aiming the discharge port 18 at the fire. If the actuator 20 is a manual latching mechanism (with or without a time delay element) the user may activate the actuator 20 and then may aim discharge port 18 at the fire or toss or throw the fire extinguisher 10 into the fire. If the actuator 20 is automatic, in the event of a fire being detected, the actuator 20 may automatically be activated to cause the fire suppression agent 16 to flow from the discharge port 18” and Par. [0068]).
With regard to claim 3, the fire extinguisher assembly of Hudak discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Hudak further discloses that the trigger is operatively connected to the actuation assembly and movable between a first position and a second position, the first position locating the stem to prevent the extinguishing agent from moving through the nozzle (“off” position), the second position locating the stem to enable the extinguishing agent to move through the nozzle (“on” position, Par. [0068]).
With regard to claim 4, the fire extinguisher assembly of Hudak discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Hudak further discloses that a light (28) connected to the shroud at a light opening (Fig. 3), the light configured to illuminate and be visible on an exterior of the shroud (Par. [0053]).
With regard to claim 5, the fire extinguisher assembly of Hudak discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 4 above. Hudak further discloses that each of the light, the trigger, and the nozzle are aligned along a common vertical line of the shroud (see annotated figure below).
With regard to claim 6, the fire extinguisher assembly of Hudak discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Hudak further discloses that the shroud (12) comprises a top, a bottom, and sidewalls that extend around and form the interior space (Fig. 6), wherein at least one of the top and the bottom are solid (both top and bottom of shroud 12 are solid housing).
With regard to claim 8, the fire extinguisher assembly of Hudak discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Hudak further discloses that the tank (14) is completely enclosed within the interior space and is visually obscured from an exterior of the shroud (Figs. 1-4).
With regard to claim 9, the fire extinguisher assembly of Hudak discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Hudak further discloses that the shroud (12) comprises multiple sections that are connected together and form the enclosed interior space (Figs. 1-4).
With regard to claim 10, the fire extinguisher assembly of Hudak discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Hudak further discloses that a control unit positioned within the interior space (Par. [0051]), the control unit comprising processing circuitry (“charging circuit”) configured to control a light connected to the shroud (Par. [0051]).
With regard to claim 11, the fire extinguisher assembly of Hudak discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Hudak further discloses that at least one battery positioned within the interior space, the at least one battery configured to power a light that is connected to the shroud (26, Par. [0057]).
With regard to claim 12, the fire extinguisher assembly of Hudak discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Hudak further discloses that a docking station comprising: a base configured to receive a bottom of the shroud; electrical contacts; and a plug configured to connect to an electrical supply (Fig. 16 and Par. [0091]).
With regard to claim 14, Hudak discloses a fire extinguisher assembly comprising: a fire extinguisher comprising: a tank (14) configured to contain extinguishing agent (16); a nozzle (18) that extends from the tank and that includes an end through which the extinguishing agent is expelled (Fig. 6); a shroud (12) that extends around and completely encloses the tank (Fig. 6); and a trigger (20) that extends through the shroud and is connected to the fire extinguisher to selectively expel the extinguishing agent through the nozzle (18 and Par. [0036-0037]).
With regard to claim 15, the fire extinguisher assembly of Hudak discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 12 above. Hudak further discloses that a light (28) mounted to the shroud and visible on an exterior of the shroud (Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 16, the fire extinguisher assembly of Hudak discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 15 above. Hudak further discloses that a control unit positioned within the interior space, the control unit comprising processing circuitry (“charging circuit”) configured to control the light (Par. [0051]).
With regard to claim 18, the fire extinguisher assembly of Hudak discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 12 above. Hudak further discloses that a docking station comprising: a base configured to receive a bottom of the shroud; electrical contacts; and a plug configured to connect to an electrical supply (Fig. 16 and Par. [0091]).
With regard to claim 20, Hudak discloses a fire extinguisher assembly comprising: a hand-held fire extinguisher that contains an extinguishing agent (Fig. 1); a shroud (12) that extends completely around the fire extinguisher (Fig. 6); and a trigger (20) that extends through the shroud (Fig. 2) and is connected to the fire extinguisher to selectively expel the extinguishing agent (18 and Par. [0036-0037]).
Claims 1-6, 8-12, 14-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (KR 20120118110 A).
With regard to claim 1, Kim discloses a fire extinguisher assembly (Fig, 1) comprising: a shroud (1, Fig. 3) that comprises an enclosed interior space (Fig.3); a fire extinguisher positioned within the interior space of the shroud (Fig. 3), the fire extinguisher comprising: a tank (50) configured to contain extinguishing agent; a nozzle (80) that extends from the tank through which the extinguishing agent is expelled (Fig. 3), the nozzle extending outward from the interior space of the shroud (Fig. 3); and a trigger (70) positioned on an exterior of the shroud (Fig. 3), the trigger connected to the fire extinguisher to selectively expel the extinguishing agent through the nozzle (Fig. 3).
With regard to claim 12, the fire extinguisher assembly of Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Kim further discloses that a docking station (2) comprising: a base configured to receive a bottom of the shroud (Fig. 1); electrical contacts; and a plug configured to connect to an electrical supply (110 and 105).
With regard to claim 18, the fire extinguisher assembly of Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 12 above. Kim further discloses that a docking station (2) comprising: a base configured to receive a bottom of the shroud (Fig. 1); electrical contacts; and a plug configured to connect to an electrical supply (110 and 105).
With regard to claim 19, the fire extinguisher assembly of Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 18 above. Kim further discloses that a control unit (110) positioned within the base of the docking station, the control unit comprising processing circuitry configured to monitor a status of the fire extinguisher (Fig. 4).
With regard to claims 2-6, 8-11, 14-16, and 20, the fire extinguisher assembly of Kim discloses all the features recited in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudak in view of Hardge (US 6,202,755 B1).
With regard to claim 7, the fire extinguisher assembly of Hudak discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Hudak does not disclose that the fire extinguisher assembly weights between 2-8 pounds.
Hardge teaches a fire extinguisher assembly weights between 2-8 pounds (Col. 3 line 32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire extinguisher of Hudak, by employing the five pound extinguisher as taught by Hardge, for the benefit of providing a light weight extinguisher for adults and children.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudak in view of Deng et al. (CN 102974064).
With regard to claim 13, the fire extinguisher assembly of Hudak discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 12 above. Hudak further teaches contacts that are positioned on the shroud and that engage with the electrical contacts on the docking station with the engagement between the contacts and the electrical contacts (Fig. 16), except supply 5VDC power.
Deng teaches a fire extinguisher assembly has supply 5VDC power (Claim 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire extinguisher of Hudak, by employing the supply 5VDC power as taught by Deng, since 5V power supply is working power supply.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hudak in view of Hu et al. (US 10,010,733 B2).
With regard to claim 17, the fire extinguisher assembly of Hudak discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 16 above. Hudak does not disclose that the control unit further comprises communications circuitry configured to communicate with a remote node.
Hu teaches a fire extinguisher assembly comprising a control unit further comprises communications circuitry configured to communicate with a remote node (Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire extinguisher of Hudak, by employing the remote control as taught Hu, doing it would allow the user to remote control and monitor the fire event from mobile phones (Fig. 8).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Hardge (US 6,202,755 B1).
With regard to claim 7, the fire extinguisher assembly of Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 1 above. Kim does not disclose that the fire extinguisher assembly weights between 2-8 pounds.
Hardge teaches a fire extinguisher assembly weights between 2-8 pounds (Col. 3 line 32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire extinguisher of Kim, by employing the five pound extinguisher as taught by Hardge, for the benefit of providing a light weight extinguisher for adults and children.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Deng et al. (CN 102974064).
With regard to claim 13, the fire extinguisher assembly of Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 12 above. Kim further teaches contacts that are positioned on the shroud and that engage with the electrical contacts on the docking station with the engagement between the contacts and the electrical contacts (Fig. 16), except supply 5VDC power.
Deng teaches a fire extinguisher assembly has supply 5VDC power (Claim 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire extinguisher of Kim, by employing the supply 5VDC power as taught by Deng, since 5V power supply is working power supply.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Hu et al. (US 10,010,733 B2).
With regard to claim 17, the fire extinguisher assembly of Kim discloses the invention as disclosed in the rejection of claim 16 above. Kim does not disclose that the control unit further comprises communications circuitry configured to communicate with a remote node.
Hu teaches a fire extinguisher assembly comprising a control unit further comprises communications circuitry configured to communicate with a remote node (Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fire extinguisher of Kim, by employing the remote control as taught Hu, doing it would allow the user to remote control and monitor the fire event from mobile phones (Fig. 8).
Conclusion
JOEL . ZHOU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/QINGZHANG ZHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752