DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application 18/982,485 filed on 12/16/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heinke et al. (“Heinke”) (US Pub. No.: 2014/0028854 A1) in view of Tanaka et al. (“Tanaka”) (US Pub. No.: 2021/0375974 A1).
In regards to claims [1] and [11], Heinke discloses a thermal imaging camera (see fig. 1 unit 100), comprising: a housing (see fig. 1 unit 102); an infrared assembly (see fig. 1 unit 104 and/or fig. 3 unit 200, paragraph [0035]) configured to detect infrared radiation (see paragraph [0020] and [0037]); a visual assembly (see fig. 1 unit 106 and/or fig. 3 unit 206, paragraph [0049]) configured to receive visual radiation (see paragraph [0019] and [0048]), wherein the infrared assembly (see fig. 1 unit 104 and/or fig. 3 unit 200) and the visual assembly (see fig. 1 unit 106 and/or fig. 3 unit 206) are disposed substantially within the housing (see fig. 1 unit 102 and/or fig. 3, paragraph [0029]).
Yet, Heinke fails to explicitly disclose at least one cooling element configured to cool the at least the infrared assembly; and a sensor mount configured to connect the infrared assembly to the cooling element as claimed.
However, Tanaka teaches the well-known concept of at least one cooling element (see fig. 18 unit 33) configured to cool (see paragraph [0093]) the at least the infrared assembly (see fig. 18 unit 300); and a sensor mount (see paragraph [0032], e.g., “infrared sensor mounted”) configured to connect (see paragraph [0093], e.g., “the infrared sensor 300 and the cooler 33 are in contact with each other”) the infrared assembly (see fig. 18 unit 300) to the cooling element (see fig. 18 unit 33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains could recognize the advantage of modifying the proposed teachings of Heinke above by incorporating the proposed teachings of Tanaka above to perform such a modification to provide an infrared sensor and imaging apparatus that implements at least one cooling element configured to cool the at least the infrared assembly; and a sensor mount configured to connect the infrared assembly to the cooling element as well as to the solve the problem in a case where a crack has been generated in the detection substrate, an image captured by the quantum infrared camera is partially blurred as taught by Tanaka et al. (see Tanaka, paragraph [0004]), thus improving thermal camera imaging quality and efficiency.
As per claim [2], most of the limitations have been noted in the above rejection of claim 1. Yet, Heinke fails to explicitly disclose a thermal imaging camera according to claim 1, wherein the sensor mount comprises an infrared assembly receptacle configured to receive and position the infrared assembly relative to the cooling element as claimed.
However, Tanaka teaches a thermal imaging camera according to claim 1 (see the above rejection of claim 1), wherein the sensor mount (see paragraph [0032], e.g., “infrared sensor mounted”) comprises an infrared assembly receptacle (see fig. 12 and/or fig. 18 unit 300 and/or fig. 19) configured to receive (see paragraph [0092]) and position (see paragraphs [0076] and [0081]) the infrared assembly (see fig. 18 unit 300) relative to the cooling element (see fig. 18 unit 33). Same motivation as to claim 1 applies here.
As per claim [3], most of the limitations have been noted in the above rejection of claim 1. Yet, Heinke fails to explicitly disclose a thermal imaging camera according to claim 1, further comprising at least one thermally conductive element disposed between the infrared assembly and the sensor mount as claimed.
However, Tanaka teaches a thermal imaging camera according to claim 1 (see the above rejection of claim 1), further comprising at least one thermally conductive element (see paragraph [0006] and [0037]) disposed (see fig. 18) between the infrared assembly (see fig. 18 unit 300) and the sensor mount (see paragraph [0032], e.g., “infrared sensor mounted”). Same motivation as to claim 1 applies here.
As per claim [4], most of the limitations have been noted in the above rejection of claim 1. Yet, Heinke fails to explicitly disclose a thermal imaging camera according to claim 2, wherein the infrared assembly receptacle is configured to receive the thermally conductive element. as claimed.
However, Tanaka teaches a thermal imaging camera according to claim 2 (see the above rejection of claim 2), wherein the infrared assembly receptacle (see fig. 18 unit 300) is configured to receive (see fig. 18) the thermally conductive element (see paragraph [0006] and [0037]). Same motivation as to claim 1 applies here.
As per claim [5], most of the limitations have been noted in the above rejection of claim 1. Yet, Heinke fails to explicitly disclose a thermal imaging camera according to claim 1, wherein the sensor mount comprises at least one conduit configured to guide at least one infrared assembly cable of the infrared assembly as claimed.
However, Tanaka teaches a thermal imaging camera according to claim 1 (see the above rejection of claim 1), wherein the sensor mount (see paragraph [0032], e.g., “infrared sensor mounted”) comprises at least one conduit configured to guide (see paragraphs [0083-0084]) at least one infrared assembly cable (see fig. 18) of the infrared assembly (see fig. 18 unit 300). Same motivation as to claim 1 applies here.
As per claim [6], most of the limitations have been noted in the above rejection of claim 1. Yet, Heinke fails to explicitly disclose a thermal imaging camera according to claim 1, wherein the sensor mount comprises at least one cable fixation that at least partially fixes one infrared assembly conduit to the sensor mount as claimed.
However, Tanaka teaches a thermal imaging camera according to claim 1 (see the above rejection of claim 1), wherein the sensor mount (see paragraph [0032], e.g., “infrared sensor mounted”) comprises at least one cable fixation that at least partially fixes one infrared assembly conduit (see fig. 18, paragraph [0092] and [0095]) to the sensor mount (see paragraph [0032], e.g., “infrared sensor mounted”). Same motivation as to claim 1 applies here.
As per claim [7], most of the limitations have been noted in the above rejection of claim 1. Yet, Heinke fails to explicitly disclose a thermal imaging camera according to claim 1, wherein the cooling element forms the sensor mount as claimed.
However, Tanaka teaches a thermal imaging camera according to claim 1 (see the above rejection of claim 1), wherein the cooling element (see fig. 18 unit 33) forms the sensor mount (see fig. 18 unit 300, paragraph [0032], e.g., “infrared sensor mounted”). Same motivation as to claim 1 applies here.
As per claim [8], most of the limitations have been noted in the above rejection of claim 8. Yet, Heinke fails to explicitly disclose a thermal imaging camera according to claim 1, wherein the cooling element comprises at least one cooling rib as claimed.
However, Tanaka teaches a thermal imaging camera according to claim 1 (see the above rejection of claim 1), wherein the cooling element comprises at least one cooling rib (see fig. 18 unit 33, paragraph [0093]). Same motivation as to claim 1 applies here.
As per claim [9], most of the limitations have been noted in the above rejection of claim 8. Yet, Heinke fails to explicitly disclose a thermal imaging camera according to claim 8, wherein at least two of the cooling fins are configured opposite to one other as claimed.
However, Tanaka teaches a thermal imaging camera according to claim 8 (see the above rejection of claim 8), wherein at least two of the cooling fins are configured opposite to one other (see paragraphs [0050] and [0054]). Same motivation as to claim 1 applies here.
As per claim [10], most of the limitations have been noted in the above rejection of claim 8. Yet, Heinke fails to explicitly disclose a thermal imaging camera according to claim 1, wherein the cooling element comprises at least one cuboid cooling cavity as claimed.
However, Tanaka teaches a thermal imaging camera according to claim 1 (see the above rejection of claim 1), wherein the cooling element comprises at least one cuboid cooling cavity (see fig. 18 unit 33, paragraph [0093]). Same motivation as to claim 1 applies here.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Neeley et al. (US Pub. No.: 2013/0155249 A1) discloses thermal imaging camera for infrared rephotography.
Nugent et al. (US Pub. No.: 2009/0272888 A1) discloses thermal infrared imaging system and associated methods for radiometric calibration.
/R.B.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2485
/JAYANTI K PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2485
May 9, 2026