DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/15/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 8, 12, and 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, and 3-5, 7, 9-11, 13-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (USPGPub 2021/0243763).
As per claim 1, Zhou teaches a method of network energy saving, (Zhou, see paragraph [0050], enable power saving operations of a wireless device and/or a base station) comprising the steps of:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE) first discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration parameters associated with a non-energy saving state of a serving cell (Zhou, see paragraph [0441], A base station (e.g., gNB in FIG. 28) may transmit to a wireless device (e.g., UE in FIG. 28), one or more RRC messages comprising first configuration parameters of a power saving (e.g., PS in FIG. 28) mode (Note DRX is received by UE here). Also see paragraph [0450], the wireless device may communicate with the base station in the full function mode (Note: this is the non-energy saving state)) and second DRX configuration parameters associated with an energy saving state of the serving cell (Zhou, see paragraph [0448], a second DRX configuration (e.g., 2.sup.nd DRX configuration as shown in FIG. 29) may indicate: one or more second search spaces (e.g., 2.sup.nd SSs as shown in FIG. 29) and/or one or more second control resource sets (e.g., 2.sup.nd CORESETs as shown in FIG. 29); one or more second RNTIs (e.g., 2.sup.nd RNTIs as shown in FIG. 29) of PDCCH candidates monitoring; one or more second DCI formats (e.g., 2.sup.nd DCI formats as shown in FIG. 29); one or more second DRX timers)
monitoring a control channel based on the first DRX configuration parameters while the serving cell is in the non-energy saving state (Zhou, see paragraph [0452], wireless device may monitor the PDCCH in full function mode (or not in power saving mode)) and monitoring a control channel based on the second DRX configuration parameters while the serving cell is in the energy saving state (Zhou, see paragraph [0452], a first number of search spaces, control resource sets, RNTIs, and/or DCI formats, with which a wireless device may monitor a PDCCH in power saving mode).
As per claim 3, Zhou teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the first discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration parameters comprise a first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) round trip time (RTT) timer value; and the second DRX configuration parameters comprise a second HARQ RTT timer value (Zhou, see paragraph [0454], The one or more fields may comprise at least one of: a frequency domain resource assignment, a HARQ process number, a RV value, an NDI value, and/or an MCS level. The wireless device may achieve the validation of the DCI for SPS PDSCH release based on at least one of: a RNTI used for scrambling CRC bits of the DCI being CS-RNTI, a frequency domain resource assignment being set to a predefined value (e.g., all zeros or all ones), a HARQ process number being set to a predefined value).
As per claim 4, Zhou teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) round trip time (RTT) timer value and the second HARQ RTT timer value are for a HARQ process (Zhou, see paragraph [0419], In an example, DRX may be configured for a wireless device. A DL HARQ RTT Timer may expire in a subframe and the data of the corresponding HARQ process may not be successfully decoded. The MAC entity may start the drx-RetransmissionTimerDL for the corresponding HARQ process).
As per claim 5, Zhou teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) round trip time (RTT) timer value and the second HARQ RTT timer value are for downlink HARQ RTT timers (Zhou, see paragraph [0419], In an example, DRX may be configured for a wireless device. A DL HARQ RTT Timer may expire in a subframe and the data of the corresponding HARQ process may not be successfully decoded. The MAC entity may start the drx-RetransmissionTimerDL for the corresponding HARQ process).
As per claim 7, Zhou teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the first hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) round trip time (RTT) timer value and the second HARQ RTT timer value are for uplink HARQ RTT timers (Zhou, see paragraph [0408], an uplink DRX HARQ RTT Timer (e.g., drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL)).
As per claim 9, Zhou teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the first discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration parameters comprise a first DRX retransmission timer value; and the second DRX configuration parameters comprise a second DRX retransmission timer value (Zhou, see paragraph [0462], a first set of feedback time values (e.g., in unit of symbols/slots/microseconds). The first set of feedback time values may be used for transmission of confirmation (e.g., a HARQ-ACK information) for a reception of a power saving signal/channel. The first set of feedback time values may be separately or independently configured from a second set of feedback time values. The first set of feedback time values may be same as a second set of feedback time values. The second set of feedback time values may be used for HARQ-ACK information feedback of a PDSCH reception after a last symbol of the PDSCH reception).
As per claim 10, Zhou teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the first discontinuous reception (DRX) retransmission timer value and the second DRX retransmission timer value are for hybrid automatic repeat request HARQ processes (Zhou, see paragraph [0420], DRX may be configured for a wireless device. An UL HARQ RTT Timer may expire in a subframe. The MAC entity may start the drx-RetransmissionTimerUL for the corresponding HARQ process).
As per claim 11, Zhou teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the first discontinuous reception (DRX) retransmission timer value and the second DRX retransmission timer value are for downlink DRX retransmission timers (Zhou, see paragraph [0408], a downlink retransmission timer (e.g., drx-RetransmissionTimerDL))
As per claim 13, Zhou teaches the method of claim 12, wherein the user equipment (UE) is in a discontinuous reception (DRX) active time while a discontinuous reception (DRX) retransmission timer is running (Zhou, see paragraph [0427], When the HARQ retransmission timer is running, the UE may receive a second DCI indicating a DL grant for the retransmission of the TB. If not receiving the second DCI before the HARQ retransmission timer expires, the UE may stop monitoring the PDCCH.)
As per claim 14, Zhou teaches the method of claim 9, wherein the first discontinuous reception (DRX) retransmission timer value and the second DRX retransmission timer value are for uplink DRX retransmission timers (Zhou, see paragraph [0408], an uplink DRX HARQ RTT Timer (e.g., drx-HARQ-RTT-TimerUL)).
As per claim 16, Zhou teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the first discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration parameters comprise a first DRX inactivity timer value; and the second DRX configuration parameters comprise a second DRX inactivity timer value. (Zhou, see paragraph [0462], a first set of feedback time values (e.g., in unit of symbols/slots/microseconds). The first set of feedback time values may be used for transmission of confirmation (e.g., a HARQ-ACK information) for a reception of a power saving signal/channel. The first set of feedback time values may be separately or independently configured from a second set of feedback time values. The first set of feedback time values may be same as a second set of feedback time values. The second set of feedback time values may be used for HARQ-ACK information feedback of a PDSCH reception after a last symbol of the PDSCH reception).
Conclusion
/HERMON ASRES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449