DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,006,768. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and all the claimed subject matter is present in the patented claims.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-44 of U.S. Patent No. 10,219,636. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and all the claimed subject matter is present in the patented claims.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,571,076. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and all the claimed subject matter is present in the patented claims.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,167,801. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they overlap in scope and all the claimed subject matter is present in the patented claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Holmes (US 2012/0253508).
Regarding claim 1, Holmes (hereafter “D1”) discloses a merchandise display hook (embodiment of figure 14) comprising: a support structure (display apparatus 226) configured to support one or more items of merchandise thereon (products 62 hung from 102 – [0054]), wherein the support structure comprises a base (not indexed rear part having mounting hooks) configured to be to be attached to a display fixture for supporting the support structure on the display fixture (figure 14); and an anti-sweep mechanism (actuator 254, control member 230, locking mechanism 234) operably engaged with the support structure and comprising an actuator (254) configured to be actuated for dispensing the one or more items of merchandise from the support structure in a first mode (unloading function or process – [0073]), wherein the anti-sweep mechanism further comprises a loading mechanism (230, 234) for loading one or more items of merchandise onto the support structure in a second mode (loading function or process), wherein the loading mechanism (230, 234) is configured to be actuated for storing energy to be used to dispense the one or more items of merchandise from the support structure (pressing of actuator 254 stores energy in biasing member 242 of locking mechanism 234 and pushes plate 238 and when released plate will press causing rotation of 230 to remove item(s) – [0072-0074]; figure 15).
Regarding claim 2, D1 discloses wherein the actuator (254) is configured to be manually actuated for dispensing one or more items of merchandise from the support structure ([0073]).
Regarding claim 3, D1 discloses wherein the actuator (254) is configured to be actuated for dispensing a single item of merchandise at a time ([0074]).
Regarding claim 4, D1 discloses wherein the actuator (254) is configured to be linearly actuated for dispensing one or more items of merchandise from the support structure (figure 15).
Regarding claim 5, D1 discloses wherein the loading mechanism (230, 234) is configured to load a spring (242) in response to actuation thereof ([0073]).
Regarding claim 6, D1 discloses wherein the loading mechanism (plate 238 of mechanism 230 is linearly actuated – [0073]) is configured to be linearly actuated.
Regarding claims 7-9, D1 discloses wherein the anti-sweep mechanism (254, 230, 234) further comprises a time delay mechanism (use of grease as a damper mechanism hinders plate 238 movement – [0074]) configured to disable the actuator in a third mode (timed release mode) such that the one or more items of merchandise are prevented from being dispensed from the support structure in the third mode (from the time the plate moves back against the resistance of the grease until the actuator 254 is able to be actuated again).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Holmes (US 2012/0253508).
Regarding claim 14, D1 discloses in the other embodiment of figures 1-14 a communication portion comprising a cable connection ([0055]) to a user interface. The user interface is provided for authorizing removal of merchandise ([0046-0048]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to utilize the user interface and controller components (of figures 1-14) adapted for use with the embodiment of figures 15-16 to control the anti-sweep mechanism for authorized release of the locking mechanism. As modified, a cable used for the communication can be considered a part of the anti-sweep mechanism.
Regarding claims 15-17, D1 discloses a device having all of the parts/members required by the claims as discussed per claims 1-9 above and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to perform the process steps of claims 15-17 in order to make and use the device as intended and disclosed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-13 and 18-20 are indicated as containing allowable subject matter, but are subject to a double patenting rejection. The claims being dependent upon a rejected base claim, would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and if the double patenting rejections are overcome.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The prior art of record does not disclose or suggest any combination meeting the limitations of the independent claim(s). Specifically, Holmes does not teach at least the claimed helix disposed about at least one rod, the helix extending at least partially along a length of the at least one rod, the helix configured to rotate in a dispensing direction for dispensing the one or more items of merchandise from the at least one rod in the first mode, and the prior art documents of record do not suggest a modification to meet these limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See notice of references cited form PTO-892. References not applied but cited are relevant as disclosing or suggesting at least one feature in the claims or disclosure of the present application.
/PATRICK D HAWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631