DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gerwe et al. (US 20250322596 A1), hereinafter referenced as Gerwe, in view of Hall ("Semi-Empirical Astronomical Light Pollution Evaluation of Satellite Constellations"), and further in view of Van Der Meer (US 20100169003 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Gerwe discloses a method for simulating light pollution by a satellite system comprising at least one satellite (Gerwe, [0076]: teaches a process for simulating lighting effects <read on light pollution> of 3D models, such as light reflectance off of a 3D satellite model, for a satellite model generation system <read on satellite system>, based on specified settings and simulated material properties as shown in FIG. 4), the method comprising:
receiving a set of orientation parameters and a set of solar panel parameters associated with the at least one satellite (Gerwe, [0022]: teaches aspects of a generated satellite model (i.e., satellite configuration parameters) including the satellite's geometric configuration, surface reflectivity, surface textures, overall orientation <read on set of orientation parameters>, and directions of external illumination sources; [0034]: teaches a plurality of satellite configuration parameters including one or more satellite component parameters <read on solar panel parameters>, such as "a quantity of solar panels for the 3D satellite model"), and
[[a position of the Earth with respect to the Sun;]]
[[importing a database comprising a plurality of point of interests on the Earth;]]
determining a surface roughness parameter of the at least one satellite using a Gaussian distribution model (Gerwe, [0022]: teaches using pseudo-random number generations (PRNGs), which are algorithms for generating long sequences of numbers that follow some probabilistic distribution <read on Gaussian distribution model>, for satellite model generation, which provides flexibility in separately controlling the randomness of different aspects (i.e., satellite configuration parameters) of satellite model generation, such as geometric configuration, surface reflectivity, surface textures <read on surface roughness parameter>, overall orientation, and directions of external illumination sources; Note: it should be noted that modern rendering techniques for surface textures include bump maps, which simulates surface roughness);
based on at least one of the set of orientation parameters, the set of solar panel parameters, [[the position of the Earth with respect to the Sun,]] the surface roughness parameter, [[and the database]] (Gerwe, [0022]: teaches aspects (i.e., satellite configuration parameters) of a generated satellite model including the satellite's geometric configuration, surface reflectivity, surface textures <read on surface roughness parameters>, overall orientation <read on set of orientation parameters>, and directions of external illumination sources; [0034]: teaches a plurality of satellite configuration parameters including one or more satellite component parameters <read on solar panel parameters>, such as "a quantity of solar panels for the 3D satellite model"):
simulating the light pollution by the at least one satellite to determine the light pollution [[at the plurality of point of interests]] (Gerwe, [0076]: teaches the image rendering system simulating lighting effects <read on light pollution> of 3D models, such as 3D satellite models, based on specified settings and simulated material properties), wherein
the light pollution by the at least one satellite is iteratively determined [[as the at least one satellite traverses through a respective orbit of the at least one satellite]] (Gerwe, [0029]: teaches "the plurality of 3D satellite models 106 generated by the satellite model generation system 102 differ according to a plurality of satellite configuration parameters 110 <read on set of orientation and solar panel parameters>," where a satellite configuration parameter includes "any suitable variable that, when changed <read on modified>, affects the configuration and/or appearance of an output 3D satellite model as compared <read on iterative determination> to other satellite models having different values of the variable"; [0083]: teaches "in satellite image view 404D, simulated lighting conditions <read on light pollution> in the satellite image view have been changed");
storing the light pollution [[determined at the plurality of point of interests]] in a buffer after simulation (Gerwe, [0030]: teaches configuration parameters <read on light pollution> and plausibility constraints being stored in a configuration file <read on buffer> that is read by the software application; [0029]: teaches modifiable configuration parameters that affect the appearance of the output 3D satellite model, which is being interpreted as storing configuration parameter data after updating <read on after simulation> the 3D satellite model; [0036]: teaches the satellite configuration parameters including one or more satellite lighting parameters); and
dynamically rendering a user interface to display a visualization representing the light pollution by the at least one satellite [[at the plurality of point of interests]] based on the iterative determination of the light pollution (Gerwe, [0100]: teaches a visual representation of data <read on visualization that represents light pollution> held by storage subsystem 804 of computing system 800 <read on computing device> taking the form of a GUI <read on user interface>; [0087]: teaches satellite model generation being repeated in response to any suitable trigger, which is interpreted to be dynamically rendering the visualization in the user interface).
However, Gerwe does not expressly disclose
receiving a position of the Earth with respect to the Sun;
importing a database comprising a plurality of point of interests on the Earth;
based on at least one of the set of orientation parameters, the set of solar panel parameters, the position of the Earth with respect to the Sun, the surface roughness parameter, and the database:
simulating the light pollution by the at least one satellite to determine the light pollution at the plurality of point of interests, wherein
the light pollution by the at least one satellite is iteratively determined as the at least one satellite traverses through a respective orbit of the at least one satellite;
storing the light pollution determined at the plurality of point of interests in a buffer after simulation; and
dynamically rendering a user interface to display a visualization representing the light pollution by the at least one satellite at the plurality of point of interests based on the iterative determination of the light pollution.
Hall discloses
receiving a position of the Earth with respect to the Sun (Hall, [Section 2.3 Key Light Pollution Considerations and Parameters]: teaches constellation parameters and observational parameters to determine a constellation's overall potential impact on ground-based astronomy, where a solar depression angle (SDA) α is used to measure how far the sun is below a ground-based observer's local horizon <read on position of Earth with respect to Sun>);
[[importing a database comprising a plurality of point of interests on the Earth;]]
based on at least one of the set of orientation parameters, the set of solar panel parameters, the position of the Earth with respect to the Sun, the surface roughness parameter, [[and the database]] (Hall, [Section 2.3 Key Light Pollution Considerations and Parameters]: teaches the SDA value <read on position of Earth with respect to Sun>):
[[simulating the light pollution by the at least one satellite to determine the light pollution at the plurality of point of interests, wherein]]
the light pollution by the at least one satellite is iteratively determined as the at least one satellite traverses through a respective orbit of the at least one satellite (Hall, [Section 3 Constellation Parameters]: teaches constellations of satellites comprising multiple orbital "shells," each with a distinct altitude and inclination, which are further subdivided into multiple orbital planes <read on respective orbits>);
storing the light pollution [[determined at the plurality of point of interests]] in a buffer after simulation; and
dynamically rendering a user interface to display a visualization representing the light pollution by the at least one satellite [[at the plurality of point of interests]] based on the iterative determination of the light pollution.
Hall is analogous art with respect to Gerwe because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely satellite simulations. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to calculate the light reflectivity of a constellation of orbital satellites as taught by Hall into the teaching of Gerwe. The suggestion for doing so would allow the system to use the calculated estimations to automatically generate a dataset of 3D satellite models, which would result in a visual output for the user(s) to see, enabling them to see the effects of the astronomical light pollution. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Hall with Gerwe.
However, the combination of Gerwe and Hall does not expressly disclose
importing a database comprising a plurality of point of interests on the Earth;
based on at least one of the set of orientation parameters, the set of solar panel parameters, the position of the Earth with respect to the Sun, the surface roughness parameter, and the database:
simulating the light pollution by the at least one satellite to determine the light pollution at the plurality of point of interests, wherein
storing the light pollution determined at the plurality of point of interests in a buffer after simulation; and
dynamically rendering a user interface to display a visualization representing the light pollution by the at least one satellite at the plurality of point of interests based on the iterative determination of the light pollution.
Meer discloses
importing a database comprising a plurality of point of interests on the Earth (Meer, [0100]: teaches a user importing location information into navigation device 100, where the location information is stored "in a Points Of Interest (POI) database contained in the memory 120 of the navigation device 100");
based on at least one of the set of orientation parameters, the set of solar panel parameters, the position of the Earth with respect to the Sun, the surface roughness parameter, and the database (Meer, [0100]: teaches a user importing location information into navigation device 100, where the location information is stored "in a Points Of Interest (POI) database contained in the memory 120 of the navigation device 100"):
simulating the light pollution by the at least one satellite to determine the light pollution at the plurality of point of interests (Meer, [0100]: teaches a database of stored points of interest regarding location information), wherein
storing the light pollution determined at the plurality of point of interests in a buffer after simulation (Meer, [0100]: teaches a database of stored points of interest regarding location information); and
dynamically rendering a user interface to display a visualization representing the light pollution by the at least one satellite at the plurality of point of interests based on the iterative determination of the light pollution (Meer, [0100]: teaches a database of stored points of interest regarding location information).
Meer is analogous art with respect to Gerwe, in view of Hall because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely satellites that orbit the Earth. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a database of geographical locations that is accessible by the user as taught by Meer into the teaching of Gerwe, in view of Hall. The suggestion for doing so would allow for additional location data (i.e., other than longitude and latitude data) to be categorized and used, such as city areas or scenic areas, which can be then be used to determine the position of constellation satellites at said location for astronomical light pollution calculations and simulations. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Meer with Gerwe, in view of Hall.
Regarding Claim 10, it recites the limitations that are similar in scope to Claim 1. As shown in the rejection, the combination of Gerwe, Hall, and Meer discloses the limitations of Claim 1. Additionally, Gerwe discloses a method for simulating light pollution by a satellite system comprising a constellation of satellites (Gerwe, [0076]: teaches a process for simulating lighting effects <read on light pollution> of 3D models, such as light reflectance off of one or more 3D satellite models <read on constellation of satellites>, for a satellite model generation system <read on satellite system>, based on specified settings and simulated material properties as shown in FIG. 4), the method comprising:…
Thus, Claim 10 is met by Gerwe according to the mapping presented in the rejection of Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 19, it recites the limitations that are similar in scope to Claim 1, but in a system. As shown in the rejection, the combination of Gerwe, Hall, and Meer discloses the limitations of Claim 1. Additionally, Gerwe discloses a system for simulating light pollution by a satellite system comprising at least one satellite (Gerwe, [0076]: teaches a process for simulating lighting effects <read on light pollution> of 3D models, such as light reflectance off of a 3D satellite model, for a satellite model generation system <read on satellite system>, based on specified settings and simulated material properties as shown in FIG. 4; [0096]: teaches a logic subsystem 802 of computing system 800 <read on system> as shown in FIG. 8), the system comprising:
at least one hardware-based processor and memory (Gerwe, [0096]: teaches the logic subsystem 802 of computing system 800 including one or more hardware processors configured to execute software instructions; [0097]: teaches a storage subsystem 804 of computing system 800 including non-volatile memory), wherein
the memory comprises processor-executable instructions encoded on a non-transient processor-readable media (Gerwe, [0097]: teaches a storage subsystem 804 of computing system 800 including non-volatile memory <read on non-transient processor-readable media> that stores computer information, such as data and instructions <read on processor-executable instructions> executable by the logic subsystem 802), wherein
the processor-executable instructions, when executed by the at least one hardware-based processor, configure the system to (Gerwe, [0097]: teaches a storage subsystem 804 of computing system 800 including non-volatile memory that stores computer information, such as data and instructions <read on processor-executable instructions> executable by the logic subsystem 802 <read on hardware-based processor>):…
Thus, Claim 19 is met by Gerwe according to the mapping presented in the rejection of Claim 1, given the method corresponds to a system.
Regarding Claim 20, it recites the limitations that are similar in scope to Claim 1, but in a non-transitory computer-readable medium. As shown in the rejection, the combination of Gerwe, Hall, and Meer discloses the limitations of Claim 1. Additionally, Gerwe discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a set of instructions for simulating light pollution by a satellite system comprising at least one satellite (Gerwe, [0076]: teaches a process for simulating lighting effects <read on light pollution> of 3D models, such as light reflectance off of a 3D satellite model, for a satellite model generation system <read on satellite system>, based on specified settings and simulated material properties as shown in FIG. 4; [0097]: teaches storage subsystem 804 of computing system 800 including non-volatile memory <read on non-transitory computer-readable medium>, which stores computer information, such as data and instructions <read on set of instructions> executable by logic subsystem 802), the set of instructions comprising:
one or more instructions that, when executed by one or more processors of a device, cause the device to (Gerwe, [0097]: teaches storage subsystem 804 of computing system 800 <read on device> including non-volatile memory, which stores computer information, such as data and instructions executable by logic subsystem 802 <read on processors>):…
Thus, Claim 20 is met by Gerwe according to the mapping presented in the rejection of Claim 1, given the method corresponds to a non-transitory computer-readable medium.
Regarding Claims 2 and 11, the combination of Gerwe, Hall, and Meer discloses the methods of Claims 1 and 10 respectively. The combination of Gerwe and Meer does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claims 2 and 11; however, Hall discloses wherein the plurality of point of interests on the Earth corresponds to
geographical locations of a plurality of observatory sites on the Earth (Hall, [Section 2.3 Key Light Pollution Considerations and Parameters]: teaches observation parameters including an observatory location <read on observatory site>; [Section 5.1.3 The Kessler Time-Averaged Spatial Density of Satellites]: teaches the Kessler probability density function (PDF)
S
j
r
=
N
c
,
j
K
(
r
,
β
;
a
j
,
e
j
,
i
j
)
, which provides an estimate of the time-averaged spatial density of a single shell of a constellation with
N
c
,
j
denoting the number of satellites in shell number
j
, so that
N
c
=
∑
j
N
c
,
j
is the total number in the constellation, and
S
(
r
)
=
∑
j
S
j
(
r
)
is the long-term average spatial density of constellation satellites at location r <read on geographical location>; Note: it should be noted that variable r represents one out of many potential observatory locations, which is interpreted as point of interests on Earth that correspond to geographical locations).
Hall is analogous art with respect to Gerwe, in view of Meer because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely satellite simulations. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to measure astronomical light pollution at given observatory locations as taught by Hall into the teaching of Gerwe, in view of Meer. The suggestion for doing so would result in an obviousness to categorize points/locations of interest for observatory sites and store them in a location database, which can then be visually simulated such that the user can observe the effects of astronomical light pollution. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Hall with Gerwe, in view of Meer.
Regarding Claims 3 and 12, the combination of Gerwe, Hall, and Meer discloses the methods of Claims 1 and 10 respectively. Additionally, Gerwe further discloses wherein the set of orientation parameters comprises at least one of:
a position and an orientation of the at least one satellite (Gerwe, [0019]: teaches satellite model generation including the overall position and orientation of the satellite).
Regarding Claims 4 and 13, the combination of Gerwe, Hall, and Meer discloses the methods of Claims 1 and 10 respectively. Additionally, Gerwe further discloses wherein the set of solar panel parameters comprises at least one of:
a number of solar panels (Gerwe, [0034]: teaches a satellite component parameter defining "the geometry, placement, and/or type of a satellite component included in the 3D satellite model," such as "a quantity <read on number> of solar panels for the 3D satellite model"),
dimensions of the solar panels (Gerwe, [0034]: teaches the satellite component parameter including "dimensions for one or more satellite components <read on solar panels> in the 3D satellite model (e.g., dimensions of the satellite body, size and/or shape of the satellite antennas, size and/or shape of satellite thrusters)"),
a model of the solar panels (Gerwe, [0034]: teaches the satellite component parameter including "a component type for the one or more satellite components <read on solar panels> in the 3D satellite model (e.g., rod antenna or dish antenna)"), and
a material of the solar panels (Gerwe, [0035]: teaches satellite configuration parameters including "one or more satellite material parameters," which is interpreted to include material of solar panels).
Regarding Claims 5 and 14, the combination of Gerwe, Hall, and Meer discloses the methods of Claims 4 and 13 respectively. Additionally, Gerwe further discloses wherein the material of the solar panels corresponds to one of
aluminum, silver, and titanium (Gerwe, [0035]: teaches "the satellite configuration parameters include one or more satellite material parameters," where "a satellite material parameter may define, for a simulated material in a 3D satellite model, reflectivity properties of the simulated material, brightness properties of the simulated material, and/or thermal properties of the simulated material"; [0037]: teaches the satellite configuration parameters including solar panels; Note: it should be noted that although "aluminum," "silver," and "titanium" are not explicitly stated in the art, it is common knowledge that aluminum and silver are core materials for creating solar panels; additionally, since the satellite material parameter of the satellite configuration parameters apply to solar panels and there are different types of simulated materials, it is broadly being interpreted that the materials include aluminum, silver, and titanium).
Regarding Claims 6 and 15, the combination of Gerwe, Hall, and Meer discloses the methods of Claims 1 and 10 respectively. Additionally, Gerwe further discloses wherein the Gaussian distribution model comprises at least one of:
a probability model to determine an incoming energy from the Sun at the at least one satellite,
a probability model to determine the surface roughness parameter of the at least one satellite, and
a probability model to determine an outgoing energy by a surface of the at least one satellite (Gerwe, [0022]: teaches using PRNGs, which are algorithms for generating long sequences of numbers that follow some probabilistic distribution <read on probability model>, for satellite model generation, which provides flexibility in separately controlling the randomness of different aspects (i.e., satellite configuration parameters) of satellite model generation, such as geometric configuration, surface reflectivity <read on determined outgoing energy by surface>, surface textures <read on determined surface roughness>, overall orientation, and directions of external illumination sources; [0035]: teaches "the satellite configuration parameters include one or more satellite lighting parameters," where a satellite lighting parameter may be selected from "an intensity of illumination light <read on incoming energy> provided by the light source <read on Sun>").
Regarding Claims 7 and 16, the combination of Gerwe, Hall, and Meer discloses the methods of Claims 1 and 10 respectively. The combination of Gerwe and Meer does not expressly disclose the limitations of Claims 7 and 16; however, Hall discloses
determining a number of satellites in the satellite system that cause light pollution at a point of interest of the plurality of point of interests to determine a cumulative light pollution for the point of interest (Hall, [Section 5 Formulation of Indicators for Light Pollution Evaluation]: teaches using a set of three composite indicators that assess in different ways the potential light pollution risk of a constellation; [Section 5.1.2 The Number of Sunlit Constellation Satellites Above a Ground-Based Observer]: teaches an expression for the expected number of satellites illuminated by the sun <read on determined number of satellites that cause light pollution>, where expression
N
i
represents the number of sunlit satellites above an observer dependent on the time of the observation, and the longitude and latitude of the observatory <read on point of interest>; [Section 5.2]: teaches a primary indicator
N
b
being used to evaluate constellation light pollution <read on cumulative light pollution>, which represents the statistically expected number of satellites above a ground-based observer that is brighter than the recommended threshold given by Equation 1).
Hall is analogous art with respect to Gerwe, in view of Meer because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely satellite simulations. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to measure astronomical light pollution at given observatory locations as taught by Hall into the teaching of Gerwe, in view of Meer. The suggestion for doing so would result in an obviousness to categorize points/locations of interest for observatory sites and store them in a location database, which can then be visually simulated such that the user can observe the effects of astronomical light pollution. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Hall with Gerwe, in view of Meer.
Regarding Claims 8 and 17, the combination of Gerwe, Hall, and Meer discloses the methods of Claims 1 and 10 respectively. Additionally, Gerwe further discloses wherein
the set of orientation parameters and the set of solar panel parameters are input based on an interaction with the user interface rendered on a computing device (Gerwe, [0100]: teaches a visual representation of data <read on set of orientation and solar panel parameters being inputs> held by storage subsystem 804 of computing system 800 <read on computing device> taking the form of a GUI <read on user interaction>).
Regarding Claims 9 and 18, the combination of Gerwe, Hall, and Meer discloses the methods of Claims 8 and 17 respectively. Additionally, Gerwe further discloses wherein
the light pollution by the at least one satellite is iteratively determined when at least one of the set of orientation parameters and the set of solar panel parameters are modified (Gerwe, [0029]: teaches "the plurality of 3D satellite models 106 generated by the satellite model generation system 102 differ according to a plurality of satellite configuration parameters 110 <read on set of orientation and solar panel parameters>," where a satellite configuration parameter "may include any suitable variable that, when changed <read on modified>, affects the configuration and/or appearance of an output 3D satellite model as compared <read on iterative determination> to other satellite models having different values of the variable"; [0083]: teaches "in satellite image view 404D, simulated lighting conditions <read on light pollution> in the satellite image view have been changed").
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Barber et al. (US 20240417108 A1) discloses an orbital simulation system that uses geographical location data;
Basnayake (US 20120209519 A1) discloses creating a sky visibility map using data from a vehicle and its neighbors;
Conn (US 20220363415 A1) discloses training a machine learning model agent for controlling the orbital trajectories of a plurality of spacecrafts using orbital simulations;
Discoll et al. (US 20160280401 A1) discloses a 3D map of an environment with buildings to predict locations and times of GNSS blockages;
Marchand et al. (US 20240135055 A1) discloses an orbit simulation system to prevent and/or mitigate orbital collisions; and
Phou et al. (US 12319444 B1) discloses a simulation of resident space objects (RSOs) by one or more space-based image sensors.
/K.D.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2614
/KENT W CHANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2614