DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8-11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipate by Moretti et al. (Pub # US 2006/0187031 A1).
Consider claim 8, Moretti et al. clearly shows and disclose a method of scanning for a radio-frequency identification (RFID) tag, the method comprising: detecting movement of the RFID tag; in response to detecting movement of the RFID tag, changing a bit in a memory of the RFID tag from a first value to a second value indicating that the RFID tag has moved since last being queried; receiving, by the RFID tag, a query for RFID tags with the bit set to the second value [0091]; transmitting, by the RFID tag, a response to the query; and setting the bit in the memory of the RFID tag from the second value to the first value indicating that the RFID tag has not moved since last being queried [0133-0134].
Consider claim 9, Moretti et al. clearly shows and disclose the method of claim 8, wherein detecting movement of the RFID tag comprises sensing acceleration of the RFID tag with an accelerometer in or coupled to the RFID tag [0062].
Consider claim 10, Moretti et al. clearly shows and disclose the method, wherein the query is directed to only RFID tags that have moved since last being queried [0148].
Consider claim 11, Moretti et al. clearly shows and disclose the method, wherein setting the bit in the memory of the RFID tag from the second value to the first value occurs in response to the query [0139].
Consider claim 14, Moretti et al. clearly show and disclose a method of identifying and locating radio-frequency identification (RFID) tags, the method comprising: transmitting, by an RFID tag reader, a query to a plurality of RFID tags, the query requesting information from RFID tags in the plurality of RFID tags that have moved since a previous query [0148]; receiving, by the RFID tag reader, a response to the query from a first RFID tag in the plurality of RFID tags, the response indicating that the first RFID tag has moved since receiving the previous query [0041]; and in response to receiving the response indicating that the first RFID tag has moved since receiving the previous query, estimating a current location of the first RFID tag and/or a change in location of the first RFID tag based at least in part on the response to query from the first RFID tag [0091].
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipate by Trivelpiece et al. (Pub # US 2021/0097826 A1).
Consider claim 16, Travelpiece et al. clearly shows and disclose a method of locating radio-frequency identification (RFID) tags that have moved since last queried, the method comprising: acquiring at least one image of an object [0047]; determining, based on the at least one image, that the object and an RFID tag attached to the object have moved since the RFID tag was last queried [0049]; identifying, based on the at least one image, a region to which the RFID tag has been moved; transmitting, by an RFID tag reader, a query to the region to which the RFID tag has been moved [0051]; detecting, by the RFID tag reader, a response from the RFID tag to the query; and estimating a location of the RFID tag based on the response [0051].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Humes et al. (Pub # US 2005/0280505 A1), and further in view of Moretti et al. (Pub # US 2006/0187031 A1) and Smith et al. (Pub # US 2007/0182578 A1).
Consider claim 1, Humes et al. teaches a method of operating an RFID reader to detect at least one RFID tag that is in motion or has undergone motion in a population of RFID tags during a period of time, the method comprising: selecting a first value for a first Q parameter, wherein the first Q parameter determines a number of time slots that each tag in the population of RFID tags can select from to respond to the RFID reader and wherein the first value is selected based on a total number of RFID tags in the population of tags [0132]; issuing, by the RFID reader, a first query command using the first value at least once; learning first identities of RFID tags in the population of RFID tags that are within range of the RFID reader and that respond to the first query command [0279-0280].
Humes et al. does not teach selecting a second value for a second Q parameter that is less than the first value for the first Q parameter, wherein the second value is based on a number of RFID tags in the population of RFID tags that are expected to move during the period of time; issuing a select command that includes a digital mask having at least one bit to solicit a response from only the at least one RFID tag in the population of RFID tags, wherein the at least one bit is selective to identify motion detected by the at least one RFID tag; issuing, by the RFID reader, a second query command using the second value for the second Q parameter at least once; receiving responses to the second query command from only the at least one RFID tag that is in motion or has undergone motion in a population of RFID tags during the period of time; and learning, from the responses, second identities of the at least one RFID tag.
In the same field of endeavor, Moretti et al. teaches selecting a second value for a second Q parameter that is less than the first value for the first Q parameter, wherein the second value is based on a number of RFID tags in the population of RFID tags that are expected (estimate) to move during the period of time; issuing a select command that includes a digital mask having at least one bit to solicit a response from only the at least one RFID tag in the population of RFID tags, wherein the at least one bit is selective to identify motion detected by the at least one RFID tag [0117-0118] for the benefit of predict the results from the selected value.
Furthermore, in the same field of endeavor, Smith et al. teaches receiving responses to the second query command from only the at least one RFID tag that is in motion or has undergone motion in a population of RFID tags during the period of time; and learning, from the responses, second identities of the at least one RFID tag [0028] for the benefit of determining object motion and orientation.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to include selecting a second value for a second Q parameter that is less than the first value for the first Q parameter, wherein the second value is based on a number of RFID tags in the population of RFID tags that are expected to move during the period of time; issuing a select command that includes a digital mask having at least one bit to solicit a response from only the at least one RFID tag in the population of RFID tags, wherein the at least one bit is selective to identify motion detected by the at least one RFID tag; issuing, by the RFID reader, a second query command using the second value for the second Q parameter at least once; receiving responses to the second query command from only the at least one RFID tag that is in motion or has undergone motion in a population of RFID tags during the period of time; and learning, from the responses, second identities of the at least one RFID tag as shown in Moretti et al. and Smith et al., in Humes et al. method for the benefit of predict the results from the selected value and determining object motion and orientation.
Consider claim 2, Humes et al. clearly shows and disclose the method, wherein the population of RFID tags includes passive RFID tags and for at least a portion of the period of time the RFID reader emits no RF wave [0067-0068].
Consider claim 3, Humes et al. clearly shows and disclose the method, wherein the population of RFID tags includes a passive RFID tag and for at least a portion of the period of time a power of the passive RFID tag depletes to an off state [0105].
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Humes et al. (Pub # US 2005/0280505 A1) in view (Pub # US 2006/0187031 A1) and Smith et al. (Pub # US 2007/0182578 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rehman (Pub # US 2008/0224867 A1).
Consider claim 4, the combined references teach the similar invention.
The combined references does not teach the method, further comprising: determining first locations for each RFID tag in the population of tags before the period of time; providing the first identities and the first locations of each RFID tag in the population of RFID tags for an inventory record of the population of RFID tags; after the period of time, determining at least one second location for the at least one RFID tag in the population of RFID tags; and providing the at least one second location for the at least one RFID tag in the population of RFID tags to update the inventory record of the population of tags.
In the same field of endeavor, Rehman teaches determining first locations for each RFID tag in the population of tags before the period of time; providing the first identities and the first locations of each RFID tag in the population of RFID tags for an inventory record of the population of RFID tags; after the period of time, determining at least one second location for the at least one RFID tag in the population of RFID tags; and providing the at least one second location for the at least one RFID tag in the population of RFID tags to update the inventory record of the population of tags (Claim 12) for the benefit of tracking the object and update the location.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to include determining first locations for each RFID tag in the population of tags before the period of time; providing the first identities and the first locations of each RFID tag in the population of RFID tags for an inventory record of the population of RFID tags; after the period of time, determining at least one second location for the at least one RFID tag in the population of RFID tags; and providing the at least one second location for the at least one RFID tag in the population of RFID tags to update the inventory record of the population of tags as shown in Rehman, in the combined method for the benefit of tracking the object and update the location.
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brandl (Pub # US 2014/0061303 A1), and further in view of Moretti et al. (Pub # US 2006/01887031 A1).
Consider claim 5, Brandl teaches a method of detecting motion by a radio-frequency identification (RFID) tag, the method comprising: receiving, by the RFID tag,; determining, by the RFID tag, that fluctuations in the power during the period of time that indicate the RFID tag is moving; in response to determining that the fluctuations in the power indicate the RFID tag is moving, setting a motion-detection bit in a memory of the RFID tag to a first value; receiving, by the RFID tag, a query addressed to only those RFID tags with motion-detection bits having values equal to the first value; and transmitting, by the RFID tag, a reply to the query [0056].
Brandl does not teach a continuous-wave (CW) signal from an RFID tag reader, the CW signal providing power to a resonant circuit in the RFID tag over a period of time.
In the same field of endeavor, Moretti et al. teaches a continuous-wave (CW) signal from an RFID tag reader, the CW signal providing power to a resonant circuit in the RFID tag over a period of time [0054] for the benefit of harvesting power for the RFID tag.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to include a continuous-wave (CW) signal from an RFID tag reader, the CW signal providing power to a resonant circuit in the RFID tag over a period of time as shown in Moretti et al., in Brandl for the benefit of harvesting power for the RFID tag.
Consider claim 6, Brandl clearly shows and disclose the method further comprising: transmitting, by the RFID tag reader, a command to the RFID tag enabling a motion detection circuit of the RFID tag, wherein detecting the fluctuations in power comprises detecting different fluctuations in power between a first polarization component of the CW signal and a second polarization component of the CW signal [0048].
Consider claim 7, Brandl teaches similar invention.
Brandl does not teach the method, wherein the determining comprises: determining, by the RFID tag, that the fluctuations in power last for more than a threshold amount of time.
In the same field of endeavor, Moretti et al. teaches wherein the determining comprises: determining, by the RFID tag, that the fluctuations in power last for more than a threshold amount of time [0141] for the benefit of providing continuous signal to the tag.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to include wherein the determining comprises: determining, by the RFID tag, that the fluctuations in power last for more than a threshold amount of time as shown in Moretti et al. in Brandl method for the benefit of providing continuous signal to the tag.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moretti et al. (Pub # US 2006/0187031 A1), and further in view of Trivelpiece et al. (pub # US 2019/0236323 A1).
Consider claim 12, Moretti et al. teaches a method of identifying and locating radio-frequency identification (RFID) tags that have moved since a first query, the method comprising: a first query to a plurality of RFID tags in a region, wherein the first query uses a first value for a first Q parameter that is based on a total number of the plurality of RFID tags, the first Q parameter determining a number of time slots in which the plurality of RFID tags can respond to the first query;, a second query to a plurality of RFID tags in the region, wherein the second query uses a second value for a second Q parameter that is smaller than the first value and is based on a number of the plurality of RFID tags that are expected to move during the period of time and wherein the second query is selective to only RFID tags in the plurality of RFID tags that have moved during the period of time; receiving, by the RFID tag reader, a response to the second query from an RFID tag of the plurality of RFID tags that has moved since receiving the first query; and estimating, based on the response, a location of the RFID tag [0051].
Moretti et al. does not teach broadcasting, by an RFID tag reader, broadcasting and by the RFID tag reader a period of time.
In the same field of endeavor, Trivelpiece et al. teaches broadcasting, by an RFID tag reader, broadcasting and by the RFID tag reader a period of time [0003] for the benefit of transmitting the signal to all available tag in the region.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to include broadcasting, by an RFID tag reader, broadcasting and by the RFID tag reader a period of time as shown in Trivelpiece et al., in Moretti et al. method for the benefit of transmitting the signal to all available tag in the region.
Consider claim 13, Moretti et al. clearly shows and disclose the method, wherein the RFID tag reader is a first RFID tag reader, and further comprising: receiving, by a second RFID tag reader, the second query and the response to the second query [0044].
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moretti et al. (Pub # US 2006/0187031 A1) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Dhar et al. (Pub # US 2024/0386375 A1).
Consider claim 15, Moretti et al. teaches similar invention.
Moretti et al. does not teach the method, further comprising: receiving, by the RFID tag reader, a response to the query from a second RFID tag in the plurality of RFID tags, the response indicating that the second RFID tag has moved since receiving the previous query; and transmitting, by the RFID tag reader, instructions to the second RFID tag to stop transmitting.
In the same field of endeavor, Dhar et al. teaches receiving, by the RFID tag reader, a response to the query from a second RFID tag in the plurality of RFID tags, the response indicating that the second RFID tag has moved since receiving the previous query; and transmitting, by the RFID tag reader, instructions to the second RFID tag to stop transmitting [0073] for the benefit of indicating the RFID status change.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to include receiving, by the RFID tag reader, a response to the query from a second RFID tag in the plurality of RFID tags, the response indicating that the second RFID tag has moved since receiving the previous query; and transmitting, by the RFID tag reader, instructions to the second RFID tag to stop transmitting as shown in Dhar et al., in Moretti et al. method for the benefit of indicating the RFID status change.
Conclusion
/JACK K WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686