DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the filing date of 12/16/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and have been considered below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites in lines 2-3, “for at least one subcarrier” however claim 1 has same language, thus it is not clear whether ‘at least one subcarrier’ in claim 2 is same or different ‘at least one subcarrier’. [for examination purpose it is considered as the same subcarrier]
Double Patenting
Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 8,971,467 in view of Talwar et al. (US 2007/0211813).
Present application claim
Patent 8,971,467 claim in view of Talwar
15. A device comprising:
receiver circuitry configured to receive a first index value and a second index value, wherein the first index value and the second index value both correspond to a precoding matrix associated with at least one subcarrier; and
transmitter circuitry configured to transmit a signal using a plurality of antennas, wherein the signal is based on the precoding matrix.
1. A method performed by a transmitter having multiple antennas for transmission over multiple wireless channels, the method comprising:
storing pre-calculated channel precoding matrices at the transmitter; receiving multiple indices of quantized channel state information at the transmitter from a plurality of receivers; selecting a channel precoding matrix from the stored channel precoding matrices based at least on the multiple indices of quantized channel state information received from the plurality of receivers, wherein the selecting is further based at least on a predefined ratio of metrics determined by a combination of the precoding matrices indicated by quantized channel state information received from the plurality of receivers; and
transmitting over the multiple channels to the plurality of receivers using the selected channel precoding matrix.
Claims of U.S. Patent 8,971,467 disclose all of the subject matter as described above, except for specifically teaching that at least one subcarrier associated with precoding matrix.
However, Talwar in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for data communication wherein at least one subcarrier associated with precoding matrix (para 15-17 {how subcarriers should be modulated in future transmissions …[0017] where the precoding matrix}; para 34-35 [estimated channel H (or indicia thereof) may additionally be fed back as part of the CSI if desired, for example, to determine subcarrier modulation … [0035] The transmitting device receiving the CSI of the effective channel may then select the precoding matrix]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use teachings of Talwar in Patent 8,971,467 claims in order to provide the communication system that mitigates interference for precoded MIMO on the channel characteristics (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods to Yield Predictable Results).
Claim 15 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9+14 of U.S. Patent No. 10,320,453. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claims is/are broader than the above mentioned patent claims and is/are therefore an obvious variant thereof. For instance, claim 15 is unpatentable over claim 9+14 of the patent [pre-quantized channel matrices equivalent to precoding matrix].
Present application claims
US Patent 10,320,453 claims
15. A device comprising:
receiver circuitry configured to receive a first index value and a second index value, wherein the first index value and the second index value both correspond to a precoding matrix associated with at least one subcarrier; and
transmitter circuitry configured to transmit a signal using a plurality of antennas, wherein the signal is based on the precoding matrix.
9. A multiple-antenna transmitter, comprising: N antennas; a memory which stores a codebook including pre-quantized channel vectors each having a length N; the transmitter being operable to, in a multi-user multiple input and multiple output (MIMO) mode: receive a plurality of indices, only one of the plurality of indices from each of a plurality of user devices, each user device comprising a receiver and at least one of the user devices comprising a plurality of antennas, wherein each index corresponds to one of the pre-quantized channel vectors; determine at least one and no more than N vectors based on at least one and no more than N of the received indices and on pre-quantized channel vectors corresponding to the at least one and no more than N received indices; and transmit data to at least one and no more than N user devices of the plurality of user devices, using the determined vectors; wherein N is greater than one.
Claims 1,4,6,7, and 8,11,13,14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1+5+7,1,1,2,6 and 8+10+12,8,8,13,16 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 10,797,763. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claims is/are broader and anticipated by US patent 10,797,763 claims. For instance present claim 1 is anticipated by claims 1+5+7 of the patent. Further present claim 8 is anticipated by claims 8+10+12 of the patent.
Present application claims
U.S. Patent No. 10,797,763 claims
1. A method for use by a device, the method comprising:
transmitting a first index value and a second index value, wherein the first index value and the second index value both correspond to a precoding matrix associated with at least one subcarrier; and
receiving a signal using a plurality of antennas, wherein the signal is based on the precoding matrix.
1. A method for wireless reception by a user device comprising a multiple-antenna receiver, from a multiple-antenna transmitter, the method comprising: storing a codebook including pre-quantized channel vectors each having a length N, wherein N is a number of antennas at the transmitter, and wherein N is greater than 1; and in a multi-user multiple input and multiple output (MIMO) mode: transmitting one index corresponding to one of the pre-quantized channel vectors to the multiple-antenna transmitter; receiving a signal from the multiple-antenna transmitter including data for at least two and no more than N user devices based on the transmitted index; and recovering data from the received signal, the data transmitted using the pre-quantized vector corresponding to the index.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the codebook further comprises pre-quantized channel matrices, the method further comprising, in a second MIMO mode: transmitting a second index corresponding to one of the pre-quantized channel matrices to the multiple-antenna transmitter; and receiving a second signal from the multiple-antenna transmitter including second data for at least two and no more than N user devices based on the transmitted second index; and recovering second data from the received signal, the data transmitted using the pre-quantized matrix corresponding to the second index.
7. The method of claim 5, wherein receiving the second signal from the multiple-antenna transmitter comprises receiving orthogonal frequency division multiplexed (OFDM) signals using subcarriers.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 respectively of U.S. Patent No. 12,170,551. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant application claims is/are anticipated by US patent 12,170,551 claims. For instance independent claim 1,8,15 are anticipated by claims 1,8,15 of the US patent 12,170,551.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(e) the invention was described in (1) an application for patent, published under section 122(b), by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent or (2) a patent granted on an application for patent by another filed in the United States before the invention by the applicant for patent, except that an international application filed under the treaty defined in section 351(a) shall have the effects for purposes of this subsection of an application filed in the United States only if the international application designated the United States and was published under Article 21(2) of such treaty in the English language.
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-11, 13-17, 19-20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(e) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US 2012/0057643).
Regarding claims 1,8:
Lin discloses a system and method for use by a device (figures; abstract), the method comprising:
transmitting a first index value and a second index value, wherein the first index value and the second index value both correspond to a precoding matrix associated with at least one subcarrier (para 18, partially reproduced herein with emphasis {information associated with a beamforming matrix} [here beamforming is equivalently interpreted as precoding]; para 27-28 {s is an N.sub.s-vector of data symbols, and V is the N, by N, beamforming matrix developed from information (e.g., matrix codebook(s) and or indices thereto) fed back from a remote receiver … fed back to a remote device, e.g…} [note: indices are plural, i.e. two or more as first, second indexes, feedback or transmitted by remote receiver]; para 25,58 [subcarrier assignments]; para 39 {..the coarse vector codebook}, para 43 {coarse quantization..} [as corresponding first index value, as claimed in claim 2 of present application]; para 43 {…fine quantization} as second index value; figures 2-3,6); and
receiving a signal using a plurality of antennas, wherein the signal is based on the precoding matrix (fig 1 [devices 102,106]; para 27; para 28; para 32 [data packet]; para 35,45,62; and see throughout disclosure).
Regarding claims 2, 9:
Lin discloses all the subject matter as described above and wherein the first index value corresponds to a coarse quantization and the second index value corresponds to a fine quantization for at least one subcarrier (para 43, 53-57; figures; and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claims 3, 10:
Lin discloses all the subject matter as described above and wherein the precoding matrix is for a plurality of adjacent subcarriers (para 25, 58; and see throughout).
Regarding claims 4, 11:
Lin discloses all the subject matter as described above and wherein the device has a plurality of codebooks for determining the first index value and the second index value (para 28,43-46,55; figs; and throughout).
Regarding claims 6, 13:
Lin discloses all the subject matter as described above and wherein the signal comprises a multiple input multiple output (MIMO) signal (para 15-18, 25,52; figures; and see throughout).
Regarding claims 7,14:
Lin discloses all the subject matter as described above and wherein the first index value and the second index value are transmitted as channel state information (CSI) (para 28; figs; and throughout).
Regarding claim 15:
Lin discloses a device (figures; abstract) comprising:
receiver circuitry configured to receive a first index value and a second index value, wherein the first index value and the second index value both correspond to a precoding matrix associated with at least one subcarrier (figures 1,8; para 18 {information associated with a beamforming matrix} [as precoding matrix]; para 27-28 {N.sub.s-vector of data symbols, and V is the N, by N, beamforming matrix developed from information (e.g., matrix codebook(s) and or indices thereto) fed back from a remote receiver … fed back to a remote device, e.g…} [note: indices are plural, i.e. two or more indexes, feedback]; para 25,58 [subcarrier assignments]; para 39 {..the coarse vector codebook}, para 43 {coarse quantization..} [as corresponding to first index value, as claimed in claim 2 of present application]; para 43 {…fine quantization} as second index value; figures 2-3,6); and
transmitter circuitry configured to transmit a signal using a plurality of antennas, wherein the signal is based on the precoding matrix (figure 1 [devices 102,106]; para 27-28; para 32 [data packet]; para 35,45,62; and see throughout the disclosure).
Regarding claim 16:
Lin discloses all the subject matter as described above and wherein the first index value corresponds to a coarse quantization and the second index value corresponds to a fine quantization (para 43, 53-57; and see throughout disclosure).
Regarding claim 17:
Lin discloses all the subject matter as described above and wherein the precoding matrix is for a plurality of adjacent subcarriers (para 25, 58; and throughout).
Regarding claim 19:
Lin discloses all the subject matter as described above and the signal comprises a multiple input multiple output (MIMO) signal (para 15-18, 25,52; and throughout).
Regarding claim 20:
Lin discloses all the subject matter as described above and wherein the first index value and the second index value are received as channel state information (CSI) (para 28; figs; and see throughout the disclosure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 5, 12, 18 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2012/0057643) in view of Talwar et al. (US 2007/0211813).
Regarding claims 5,12,18:
Lin discloses all the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching that the precoding matrix is selected so that another device does not suffer from interference from the signal.
However, Talwar in the same field of endeavor discloses a system and method for data communication where the precoding matrix is selected so that another device does not suffer from interference from the signal (abstract; para 23,34,38 [interference mitigation]; and see throughout).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to use teachings of Talwar in Lin in order to provide the communication system that mitigates the interference for precoded MIMO on the channel characteristics (KSR: Combining Prior Art Elements According to Known Methods To Yield Predictable Results).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Khojastepour et al. (US 2007/0191066) discloses a system and method for structured codebook and successive beamforming in multi antenna systems.
/HIRDEPAL SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631