DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
Claims 1-17 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by 3GPP,"Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on Authentication and Key Management for Applications (AKMA) phase 2 (Release 18)," 3GPP TR 33.737, S3-224109, V0.4.0 (2022-11) (46 pages) (hereinafter 3GPP).
In re claim 1, 3GPP discloses a method for wireless communication (Page 25, section 6.10, “Support of AKMA roaming with K_SEAF”), comprising: receiving, by a network device (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1, “SEAF/AMF”) in a first network (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1, “VPLMN”) from a network device (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1, “AUSF”) in a second network that is different from the first network (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1, “HPLMN”), a signal (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1: step 1, “primary authentication”, Page 25, section 6.10.2, line 1, “Step 1 is as defined in TS 33.501[4] clause 6.1.3 and TS 33.535[2] Clause 6.1”) indicative of an authentication result related to a wireless device in the first network (Fig. 6.12.2-1: step 7, “For 5GAKA (Result, [SUPI], KSEAF, [A-KID, KAKMA])”), wherein the signal includes a first key and an indication (Fig. 6.12.2-1: step 7, “For 5GAKA (Result, [SUPI], KSEAF, [A-KID, KAKMA]”, KSEAF and the [A-KID, KAKMA] in the result are an indication that the second network HPLMN, supports AKMA)); and generating, by the network device in the first network, a key related information based on the signal (Fig. 6.10.2.1: step 3, "Generate KvAKMA A-vKID").
In re claim 2, 3GPP discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the key related information comprises a second key and an identification information of the second key (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1: step 4, where the second key is KvAKMA and the identification of the second key is A-vKID).
In re claim 3, 3GPP discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the second key is generated based on the first key (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1, step 4, "Generate KvAKMA A-vKID", Page 25, section 6.10.2, lines 11-12, “Step 4 is as defined in TS 33.535[2] Clause 6.1 having the AUSF in the HPLMN to compute KvAKMA, A-vKID, and A-vTID with the same exceptions as in Step 2 and providing parameters to the hAAnF”). Page 25, section 6.10.2, line 4, “KvAKMA as in TS 33.535[2] Annex A.2 using KSEAF instead of KAUSF” (second key is generated based on the first key)).
In re claim 4, 3GPP discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the identification information of the second key comprises a network identifier and a user temporary identifier (Page 25, section 6.10.2, lines 5-6, “A-vKID is as A-KID in TS 33.535[2] Clause 6.1 with the exception that the realm part of the A-vKID shall include Serving Network Identifier and A-vTID is used”. Page 33, lines 10-12, “The UE sends a message to the AMF in order to check that the vAAnF stores the correct AKMA Application Key KAF to address LI requirement. This message contains the current GUTI value encrypted by the UE with KAF, and associated A-KID and AF-ID”).
In re claim 5, 3GPP discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the user temporary identifier is a 5G Globally Unique Temporary Identifier (5G-GUTI) (Page 33, lines 10-12, “The UE sends a message to the AMF in order to check that the vAAnF stores the correct AKMA Application Key KAF to address LI requirement. This message contains the current GUTI value encrypted by the UE with KAF, and associated A-KID and AF-ID”. Page 7, section 4.3, lines 3-4, “Figure 4.2-1 shows the fundamental roaming network model for the case that the UE is roaming in the VPLMN and accesses an AF internal to the HPLMN. This network model is a simplified version of the Roaming 5G System” (discloses a 5G architecture where a roaming UE in a VPLMN may need to access HPLMN and is identified by a GUTI)).
In re claim 6, 3GPP discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising transmitting, by the network device in the first network (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1, “SEAF/AMF”), the key related information to another device in the first network the wireless device is associated with (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1: step 3, "Generate KvAKMA A-vKID", it is sent to "vAANF" in VPLMN, the first network).
In re claim 7, 3GPP discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the network device in the second network is an Authentication Server Function (AUSF) (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1, "AUSF").
In re claim 8, 3GPP discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the network device in the first network is at least one of: 1) a Security Anchor Function (SEAF) or 2) an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1, "SEAF/AMF").
In re claim 9, 3GPP discloses a method for wireless communication (Page 25, section 6.10, “Support of AKMA roaming with K_SEAF”), comprising: transmitting, by a network device (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1, “AUSF”) in a second network (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1, “HPLMN”) to a network device (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1, “SEAF/AMF”) in a first network that is different from the second network (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1, “VPLMN”), a signal (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1: step 1, “primary authentication”, page 25, section 6.10.2, line 1, “Step 1 is as defined in TS 33.501[4] clause 6.1.3 and TS 33.535[2] Clause 6.1”) indicative of an authentication result related to a wireless device in the first network (Fig. 6.12.2-1: step 7, “For 5GAKA (Result, [SUPI], KSEAF, [A-KID, KAKMA])”), wherein the signal includes a first key and an indication (KSEAF and the [A-KID, KAKMA]) in the result are an indication that the second network HPLMN, supports AKMA)), and wherein when an application function (AF) for the wireless device is located in the second network (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1, “hAF” in HPLMN, the second network), , the method further comprises: generating, by the network device in the second network, a key related information based on the first key and the indication (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1, step 4, "Generate KvAKMA A-vKID", Page 25, section 6.10.2, lines 11-12, “Step 4 is as defined in TS 33.535[2] Clause 6.1 having the AUSF in the HPLMN to compute KvAKMA, A-vKID, and A-vTID with the same exceptions as in Step 2 and providing parameters to the hAAnF”). Page 25, section 6.10.2, line 4, “KvAKMA as in TS 33.535[2] Annex A.2 using KSEAF instead of KAUSF” (second key is generated based on the first key and indication that the second network HPLMN, supports AKMA)); transmitting, by the network device in the second network, the key related information to another device in the second network (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1: step 4, “Generate KvAKMA A-vKID”, it is sent to “hAANF” in HPLMN, the second network).
In re claim 10, 3GPP discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the network device in the second network is an Authentication Server Function (AUSF) (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1, "AUSF").
In re claim 11, 3GPP discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the network device in the first network is at least one of: 1) a Security Anchor Function (SEAF) or 2) an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1, "SEAF/AMF").
In re claim 12, 3GPP discloses a method for wireless communication, comprising: generating, by a wireless device (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1, “UE”) in a first network (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1, “VPLMN”) (UE is in the first network VPLMN) that is different from a second network (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1, “HPLMN”), a key related information based on a first key and an indication related to the second network (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1, step 2, "Generate KvAKMA A-vKID" and step 1, “Primary authentication”, Page 25, section 6.10.2, line 1, “Step 1 is as defined in TS 33.501[4] clause 6.1.3 and TS 33.535[2] Clause 6.1” where the authentication result is more detailed in Fig. 6.12.2-1: step 7, "For 5G-AKA (Result, [SUPI], KSEAF , [A-KID, KAKMA]”, the first key being KSEAF and the [A-KID, KAKMA] in the result are an indication that the second network, HPLMN, supports AKMA).
In re claim 13, 3GPP discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the key related information comprises a second key and an identification information of the second key (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1: step 4, where the second key is KvAKMA and the identification of the second key is A-vKID).
In re claim 14, 3GPP discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the second key is generated based on the first key (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1, step 4, "Generate KvAKMA A-vKID", Page 25, section 6.10.2, lines 11-12, “Step 4 is as defined in TS 33.535[2] Clause 6.1 having the AUSF in the HPLMN to compute KvAKMA, A-vKID, and A-vTID with the same exceptions as in Step 2 and providing parameters to the hAAnF”). Page 25, section 6.10.2, line 4, “KvAKMA as in TS 33.535[2] Annex A.2 using KSEAF instead of KAUSF” (second key is generated based on the first key)).
In re claim 15, 3GPP discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the identification information of the second key comprises a network identifier and a user temporary identifier (Page 25, section 6.10.2, lines 5-6, “A-vKID is as A-KID in TS 33.535[2] Clause 6.1 with the exception that the realm part of the A-vKID shall include Serving Network Identifier and A-vTID is used”. Page 33, lines 10-12, “The UE sends a message to the AMF in order to check that the vAAnF stores the correct AKMA Application Key KAF to address LI requirement. This message contains the current GUTI value encrypted by the UE with KAF, and associated A-KID and AF-ID”).
In re claim 16, 3GPP discloses the method of claim 15, wherein the user temporary identifier is a 5G Globally Unique Temporary Identifier (5G-GUTI) (Page 33, lines 10-12, “The UE sends a message to the AMF in order to check that the vAAnF stores the correct AKMA Application Key KAF to address LI requirement. This message contains the current GUTI value encrypted by the UE with KAF, and associated A-KID and AF-ID”. Page 7, section 4.3, lines 3-4, “Figure 4.2-1 shows the fundamental roaming network model for the case that the UE is roaming in the VPLMN and accesses an AF internal to the HPLMN. This network model is a simplified version of the Roaming 5G System” (user temporary identifier is a 5G roaming system as discloses)).
In re claim 17, 3GPP discloses the method of claim 12, wherein the wireless device is a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1, "UE").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP,"Technical Specification Group Services and System Aspects; Study on Authentication and Key Management for Applications (AKMA) phase 2 (Release 18)," 3GPP TR 33.737, S3-224109, V0.4.0 (2022-11) (46 pages) (hereinafter 3GPP) in view of US 20220210636 A1 (GUPTA et al.) (hereinafter GUPTA).
In re claim 18, 3GPP discloses a network communication apparatus (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1, “UE”) in a first network (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1, “VPLMN”) (UE is in the first network VPLMN) comprising at least one processor configured to: receive, from a network device (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1, “AUSF”) in a second network that is different from the first network (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1, “HPLMN”), a signal (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1: step 1, “primary authentication”, page 25, section 6.10.2, line 1, “Step 1 is as defined in TS 33.501[4] clause 6.1.3 and TS 33.535[2] Clause 6.1”) indicative of an authentication result related to a wireless device in the first network (Fig. 6.12.2-1: step 7, “For 5GAKA (Result, [SUPI], KSEAF, [A-KID, KAKMA])”), wherein the signal includes a first key and an indication (KSEAF and the [A-KID, KAKMA]) in the result are an indication that the second network HPLMN, supports AKMA)); and generate a key related information based on the signal (Fig. 6.10.2.1: step 3, "Generate KvAKMA A-vKID").
3GPP does not explicitly disclose a network apparatus in the first network comprising at least one processor.
GUPTA discloses a network apparatus in the first network comprising at least one processor (Fig. 2A:120, [0074], “In an embodiment, the UE (100) includes a memory (110), a processor (120), a communicator (130), and an AKMA controller (140)”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of 3GPP with GUPTA to enable Authentication and Key Management for Application service (AKMA) functionality for roaming users comprising generating a key after a primary authentication of the UE. The advantage of doing so is for a 3rd party application to be able to use 3GPP credentials to protect communication between a user equipment (UE) and an application server. The method can further avoid interruption of an application session service, reduce a service latency, and improve user experience.
In re claim 19, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein 3GPP discloses wherein the network device in the second network is an Authentication Server Function (AUSF) (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1, "AUSF"), and wherein the network communication apparatus in the first network is at least one of: 1) a Security Anchor Function (SEAF) or 2) an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1, "SEAF/AMF").
In re claim 20, the combination discloses the apparatus of claim 18, wherein 3GPP discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: transmit the key related information to another device in the first network the wireless device is associated with (Fig. 6.10.2.1-1: step 3, "Generate KvAKMA A-vKID", it is sent to "vAANF" in VPLMN, the first network by “SEAF/AMF”).
Contact
/SWATI JAIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2649