DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the original application filed on 12/16/2024. Claims 1-20 are
pending in the application.
file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, 12, and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 in line 7, “an information update message” should be replaced by “the information update message”
Claim 4 in line 3, “the first node” should be replaced by “a first node”
Claim 12 in line 3, “the first node” should be replaced by “a first node”
Claim 18 in line 3, “the first node” should be replaced by “a first node”
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 1-2, 5-9, 13-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Kolesov et al. (US 2018/0115642 Al, hereinafter “Kolesov”) in view of Ling et al. (US 2021/0133038 Al, hereinafter “Ling”).
Regarding claim 1, Kolesov discloses:
the active node performing an action, wherein an information block is generated as a result of performing the action (the statistics servers maintain agent profiles wherein each agent has a preferred log-in data center, such that when an agent logs in, the desktop by default connects and logs in to the server application instance at the agent's preferred site. The first agent's desktop application 106 logs in to only data center 101, and to do so must connect and log in to the Configuration Server Proxy (CSP) 201 to obtain configuration data for the desktop application. The desktop application monitors the status of the configuration service. In the event that the service becomes unavailable, the desktop warns the user and generates alarms to upstream monitoring services, Kolesov: Fig. 2, [0012], [0024], [0059]);
the active node transmitting to the first standby node an information update message comprising the information block or an action identifier identifying the action (If the site where an agent is originally connected becomes unavailable, the gent is able to connect to the other site and resume operation as soon as the failure is detected. An algorithm detects agent availability among agents logged in at the on the site where a call is delivered and to deliver this call to the other site in case if an agent is not found at the first site. If the desktop is unable to log in initially to Configuration Server Proxy or SIP Server at the preferred site, or if it is subsequently unable to maintain its login to either server, it switches over its connection to the other site, Kolesov: [0018]-[0019], [0026]); and
Kolesov does not explicitly disclose:
A method for fault recovery in a communication system comprising an active node, a first standby node, and a second standby node, the method comprising:
the first standby node sending to the second standby node an information update message comprising the information block or the action identifier.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ling teaches:
A method for fault recovery in a communication system comprising an active node, a first standby node, and a second standby node, the method comprising (The connection among the primary file system, the first backup device 120 and the second backup device 130 is regarded as a cascade mode, Ling: Fig. 1, [0023]-[0024]):
the first standby node sending to the second standby node an information update message comprising the information block or the action identifier (The connection among the primary file system, the first backup device 120 and the second backup device 130 is regarded as a cascade mode. The data synchronization of the primary file system and the backup devices thereof may further include asynchronizing replication, i.e., data replication from the first backup device 120 to the second backup device 130, Ling: Fig. 1, [0023]-[0024], [0047], [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kolesov in view of Ling in order to further modify a method for fault recovery in a communication system comprising an active node, a first standby node, and a second standby node, and sending to the second standby node an information update message by the first standby node which comprises the information block or the action identifier from the teachings of Ling.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the solution can improve significantly data backup flexibility and accuracy of a file system when enhancing reliability of the whole system (Ling: [0049]).
Regarding claim 9, Kolesov discloses:
the active node performing an action, wherein an information block is generated as a result of performing the action (the statistics servers maintain agent profiles wherein each agent has a preferred log-in data center, such that when an agent logs in, the desktop by default connects and logs in to the server application instance at the agent's preferred site. The first agent's desktop application 106 logs in to only data center 101, and to do so must connect and log in to the Configuration Server Proxy (CSP) 201 to obtain configuration data for the desktop application. The desktop application monitors the status of the configuration service. In the event that the service becomes unavailable, the desktop warns the user and generates alarms to upstream monitoring services, Kolesov: Fig. 2, [0012], [0024], [0059]); and
the active node transmitting to the first standby node an information update message comprising an action identifier identifying the action (If the site where an agent is originally connected becomes unavailable, the gent is able to connect to the other site and resume operation as soon as the failure is detected. An algorithm detects agent availability among agents logged in at the on the site where a call is delivered and to deliver this call to the other site in case if an agent is not found at the first site. If the desktop is unable to log in initially to Configuration Server Proxy or SIP Server at the preferred site, or if it is subsequently unable to maintain its login to either server, it switches over its connection to the other site, Kolesov: [0018]-[0019], [0026]).
Kolesov does not explicitly disclose:
A method for fault recovery in a communication system comprising an active node and a first standby node, the method comprising:
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ling teaches:
A method for fault recovery in a communication system comprising an active node and a first standby node, the method comprising (The connection among the primary file system, the first backup device 120 and the second backup device 130 is regarded as a cascade mode, Ling: Fig. 1, [0023]-[0024]):
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kolesov in view of Ling in order to further modify a method for fault recovery in a communication system comprising an active node, a first standby node, and a second standby node from the teachings of Ling.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the solution can improve significantly data backup flexibility and accuracy of a file system when enhancing reliability of the whole system (Ling: [0049]).
Regarding claim 17, Kolesov discloses:
performing an action, wherein an information block is generated as a result of performing the action (the statistics servers maintain agent profiles wherein each agent has a preferred log-in data center, such that when an agent logs in, the desktop by default connects and logs in to the server application instance at the agent's preferred site. The first agent's desktop application 106 logs in to only data center 101, and to do so must connect and log in to the Configuration Server Proxy (CSP) 201 to obtain configuration data for the desktop application. The desktop application monitors the status of the configuration service. In the event that the service becomes unavailable, the desktop warns the user and generates alarms to upstream monitoring services, Kolesov: Fig. 2, [0012], [0024], [0059]);
transmitting to a first standby node an information update message comprising the information block or an action identifier identifying the action (If the site where an agent is originally connected becomes unavailable, the gent is able to connect to the other site and resume operation as soon as the failure is detected. An algorithm detects agent availability among agents logged in at the on the site where a call is delivered and to deliver this call to the other site in case if an agent is not found at the first site. If the desktop is unable to log in initially to Configuration Server Proxy or SIP Server at the preferred site, or if it is subsequently unable to maintain its login to either server, it switches over its connection to the other site, Kolesov: [0018]-[0019], [0026]), wherein
Kolesov does not explicitly disclose:
An active node, the active node comprising:
processing circuitry; and
memory storing a computer program comprising instructions for configuring the active node to perform a method comprising:
the information update message transmitted to the first standby node triggers the first standby node to send to a second standby node an information update message comprising the information block or the action identifier.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ling teaches:
An active node, the active node comprising (The connection among the primary file system, the first backup device 120 and the second backup device 130 is regarded as a cascade mode, Ling: Fig. 1, [0023]-[0024]):
processing circuitry (the specialized circuitry that performs one or more of the various operations, Ling: [0018]); and
memory storing a computer program comprising instructions for configuring the active node to perform a method comprising (The device includes a processor; and a memory coupled to the processor and storing instructions to be executed, the instructions when executed by the processor causing the device to execute acts, Ling: [0008]):
the information update message transmitted to the first standby node triggers the first standby node to send to a second standby node an information update message comprising the information block or the action identifier (The data synchronization of the primary file system and the backup devices thereof may further include asynchronizing replication, i.e., data replication from the first backup device 120 to the second backup device 130, Ling: Fig. 1, [0023]-[0024], [0047], [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kolesov in view of Ling in order to further modify an active node and processing circuitry and memory storing a computer program comprising instructions for configuring the active node, and the information update message transmitted to the first standby node triggers the first standby node to send to a second standby node an information update message from the teachings of Ling.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the solution can improve significantly data backup flexibility and accuracy of a file system when enhancing reliability of the whole system (Ling: [0049]).
Regarding claim 19, Kolesov discloses:
performing an action, wherein an information block is generated as a result of performing the action (the statistics servers maintain agent profiles wherein each agent has a preferred log-in data center, such that when an agent logs in, the desktop by default connects and logs in to the server application instance at the agent's preferred site. The first agent's desktop application 106 logs in to only data center 101, and to do so must connect and log in to the Configuration Server Proxy (CSP) 201 to obtain configuration data for the desktop application. The desktop application monitors the status of the configuration service. In the event that the service becomes unavailable, the desktop warns the user and generates alarms to upstream monitoring services, Kolesov: Fig. 2, [0012], [0024], [0059]); and
transmitting to a first standby node an information update message comprising an action identifier identifying the action (If the site where an agent is originally connected becomes unavailable, the gent is able to connect to the other site and resume operation as soon as the failure is detected. An algorithm detects agent availability among agents logged in at the on the site where a call is delivered and to deliver this call to the other site in case if an agent is not found at the first site. If the desktop is unable to log in initially to Configuration Server Proxy or SIP Server at the preferred site, or if it is subsequently unable to maintain its login to either server, it switches over its connection to the other site, Kolesov: [0018]-[0019], [0026]).
Kolesov does not explicitly disclose:
An active node, the active node comprising:
processing circuitry; and
memory storing a computer program comprising instructions for configuring the active node to perform a method comprising:
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ling teaches:
An active node, the active node comprising (The connection among the primary file system, the first backup device 120 and the second backup device 130 is regarded as a cascade mode, Ling: Fig. 1, [0023]-[0024]):
processing circuitry (the specialized circuitry that performs one or more of the various operations, Ling: [0018]); and
memory storing a computer program comprising instructions for configuring the active node to perform a method comprising (The device includes a processor; and a memory coupled to the processor and storing instructions to be executed, the instructions when executed by the processor causing the device to execute acts, Ling: [0008]):
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kolesov in view of Ling in order to further modify an active node and processing circuitry and memory storing a computer program comprising instructions for configuring the active node from the teachings of Ling.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the solution can improve significantly data backup flexibility and accuracy of a file system when enhancing reliability of the whole system (Ling: [0049]).
Regarding claim 2, Kolesov in view of Ling teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 above.
Kolesov further discloses:
wherein the information update message comprises the action identifier identifying the action (To provide identical operational environment for the agents on both sites an architecture is provided in embodiments of the invention which ensures that all configuration changes made on one site are synchronized to the other. To connect to Configuration Server Proxy, AIL requires the following parameters: Username and password-supplied by agent on logging into the desktop, Kolesov: [0020], [0043]-[0047]).
Regarding claims 5 and 13, Kolesov in view of Ling teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claims 1 and 9 above.
Kolesov further discloses:
wherein the active node is an active pairing module in a contact center system, and the first standby node is a standby pairing module in the contact center system (In each pair one SIP server is active and one is a backup. The pair at data center 101 and the pair at data center 102 are known to the inventors as SIP Server Peers. each SW instance is instantiated in each data center as a primary and a backup pair, Kolesov: [0021], [0023]).
Regarding claims 6 and 14, Kolesov in view of Ling teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claims 1 and 9 above.
Kolesov further discloses:
further comprising, prior to the active node performing the action, synchronizing the standby node with the active node (all SW instances operating in a data center exist as HA pairs with a primary and a backup, and are synchronized such that detection of a primary failure causes the backup to take over seamlessly, Kolesov: [0073]).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, Kolesov in view of Ling teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claims 6 and 14 above.
Kolesov further discloses:
wherein synchronizing the standby node with the active node comprises the active node transmitting to the standby node a plurality of data objects (configuration databases at each Data Center are fully synchronized, and call distribution at each site is configured to route calls to agents loggedin at either (both) sites, Kolesov: [0073]).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Kolesov in view of Ling teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claims 1 and 9 above.
Kolesov further discloses:
A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a computer program comprising instructions for configuring a node comprising processing circuitry for executing the instructions to perform the method (A person of ordinary skill in the art, would readily understand that computerized appliance executing a desktop application at each agent station, should have at least a processor and at least a memory, Kolesov: Fig. 2, [0022]-[0024]).
Claims 3-4, 10-12, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolesov in
view of Ling and in further view of Haserodt et al. (US 2023/0336621 Al, hereinafter “Haserodt”).
Regarding claim 3, Kolesov in view of Ling teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Kolesov does not explicitly disclose:
in response to receiving the information update message transmitted by the active node, the first standby node generating the information block by performing the action identified by the action identifier.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Haserodt teaches:
in response to receiving the information update message transmitted by the active node, the first standby node generating the information block by performing the action identified by the action identifier (each server 315A-315D can execute an arbiter 340A-340D which can perform the functions including performing a failover from an active server 315A to one of the other, standby servers 315B-315D based on state information 350A-350F exchanged between the arbiters 340A-340D, Haserodt: [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kolesov and Ling in view of Haserodt in order to further modify the first standby node generating the information block from the teachings of Haserodt.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for improving performance, achieving ease and\or reducing cost of implementation (Haserodt: [0061]).
Regarding claims 4, 12, and 18, Kolesov in view of Ling teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claims 1, 9, and 17 above.
Kolesov further discloses:
the active node transmits the information update message to the first standby node as a result of having determined that the first standby node is the first node in the ordered set of nodes (If the site where an agent is originally connected becomes unavailable, the gent is able to connect to the other site and resume operation as soon as the failure is detected. An algorithm detects agent availability among agents logged in at the on the site where a call is delivered and to deliver this call to the other site in case if an agent is not found at the first site. If the desktop is unable to log in initially to Configuration Server Proxy or SIP Server at the preferred site, or if it is subsequently unable to maintain its login to either server, it switches over its connection to the other site, Kolesov: [0018]-[0019], [0026]).
Kolesov does not explicitly disclose:
prior to the active node transmitting to the first standby node the information update message, the active node determining that the first standby node is the first node in an ordered set of standby nodes, wherein
However, in the same field of endeavor, Haserodt teaches:
prior to the active node transmitting to the first standby node the information update message, the active node determining that the first standby node is the first node in an ordered set of standby nodes (applications and data, i.e., memory and state, can be replicated 352 between the servers 315A and 315B by mirroring components 342A and 342B based on which server 315A or 315B is selected as the active server 315A and standby server 315B, Haserodt: [0050]), wherein
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kolesov and Ling in view of Haserodt in order to further modify the active node determining that the first standby node is the first node in an ordered set of standby nodes from the teachings of Haserodt.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for improving performance, achieving ease and\or reducing cost of implementation (Haserodt: [0061]).
Regarding claim 10, Kolesov in view of Ling teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 9 above.
Kolesov does not explicitly disclose:
in response to receiving the information update message, the first standby node generating the information block by performing the action identified by the action identifier.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Haserodt teaches:
in response to receiving the information update message, the first standby node generating the information block by performing the action identified by the action identifier (each server 315A-315D can execute an arbiter 340A-340D which can perform the functions including performing a failover from an active server 315A to one of the other, standby servers 315B-315D based on state information 350A-350F exchanged between the arbiters 340A-340D, Haserodt: [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kolesov and Ling in view of Haserodt in order to further modify the first standby node generating the information block by performing the action identified by the action identifier from the teachings of Haserodt.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for improving performance, achieving ease and\or reducing cost of implementation (Haserodt: [0061]).
Regarding claim 11, Kolesov-Ling-Haserodt teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 10 above.
Kolesov does not explicitly disclose:
after receiving the information update message, the first standby node transmitting to a second standby node a message comprising the action identifier or the information block.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Ling teaches:
after receiving the information update message, the first standby node transmitting to a second standby node a message comprising the action identifier or the information block (The connection among the primary file system, the first backup device 120 and the second backup device 130 is regarded as a cascade mode. The data synchronization of the primary file system and the backup devices thereof may further include asynchronizing replication, i.e., data replication from the first backup device 120 to the second backup device 130, Ling: Fig. 1, [0023]-[0024], [0047], [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kolesov and Haserodt in view of Ling in order to further modify the first standby node transmitting to a second standby node a message comprising the action identifier or the information block from the teachings of Ling.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because the solution can improve significantly data backup flexibility and accuracy of a file system when enhancing reliability of the whole system (Ling: [0049]).
Regarding claim 20, Kolesov in view of Ling teaches all the claimed limitations as set forth in the rejection of claim 19 above.
Kolesov does not explicitly disclose:
the first standby node generating the information block by performing the action identified by the action identifier in response to receiving the information update message.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Haserodt teaches:
the first standby node generating the information block by performing the action identified by the action identifier in response to receiving the information update message (each server 315A-315D can execute an arbiter 340A-340D which can perform the functions including performing a failover from an active server 315A to one of the other, standby servers 315B-315D based on state information 350A-350F exchanged between the arbiters 340A-340D, Haserodt: [0056]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kolesov and Ling in view of Haserodt in order to further modify the first standby node generating the information block by performing the action identified by the action identifier from the teachings of Haserodt.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated for improving performance, achieving ease and\or reducing cost of implementation (Haserodt: [0061]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
References considered relevant to this application are listed in the attached “Notice of References Cited” (PTO-892).
SAMII et al. (US 2017/0277607 A1); See Fig. 3, [0031]- [0033].
Wollbrand et al. (US 2015/0331762 Al); See Fig. 3a, [0073]-[0074], [0076].
directed to SANG C LEE whose telephone number is (703)756-1461. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9:00AM-5:00PM ET.
/S.C.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2467
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467