DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities. On page 1, the status of copending applications, which have since issued as patents, must be updated.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because it appears to be incomplete, i.e. does not end in a period.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12167870.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the only difference between the claim of the present application and the patented claims is that the patented claims include more elements and are thus more specific. Thus, the invention of the patented claims is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the claim of the present application. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species.” See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since the claim of the present application are anticipated by the patented claims, it is not patentably distinct from the patented claims.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 11376045.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the only difference between the claim of the present application and the patented claims is that the patented claims include more elements and are thus more specific. Thus, the invention of the patented claims is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the claim of the present application. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species.” See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since the claim of the present application are anticipated by the patented claims, it is not patentably distinct from the patented claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The preamble of claim 1 recites “..intra-operatively assessing and adjusting a patient..” However, the body of the claim does not recite how the steps enable assessing and adjusting the patient. Claim 1 also appears to be incomplete (see claim objection in this Office Action).
In claim 1, the recitation “determining a target value for a patient which represents a desired clinical outcome..” renders the claim vague and indefinite because it is unclear what the target value is and how it represents a desired clinical outcome. Applicant’s disclosure describes “target spinal parameter measurements may then be optionally adjusted the [sic] user in accordance with a surgical plan.” It is suggested that Applicant use alternate language, for e.g. “determining target values of pelvic incidence angle and sacral slope to enable surgical correction of the patient’s spine.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foley et al. (US RE42226) in view of Peultier et al. (US 20140249591 A1).
Foley et al. disclose a method for use during spinal deformity correction including the steps of:
displaying a medical image of the patient in a first position on a screen (col. 6, lines 18-53: “A computer assisted image-guided surgery system, indicated generally at 10, generates an image for display on a monitor 106 representing the position of one or more body elements, such as spinal elements fixedly held in a stabilizing frame or device such as a spinal surgery frame 125 commonly used for spinal surgery.” “The system includes an apparatus such as a digitizer or other Position Sensing Unit (PSU), such as for example sensor array 110 on support 112 for identifying, during the procedure, the relative position of each of the reference points to be displayed by tracking the position of emitters 122 on arc 120. The system also includes a processor 114 such as a PC or other suitable workstation processor associated with controller 108 for modifying the image data set according to the identified relative position of each of the reference points during the procedure, as identified by digitizer 110. The processor 114 can then, for example, generate an image data set representing the position of the body elements during the procedure for display on monitor 106.”).
receiving user input of known points on the displayed medical image (col. 9, lines 61-67 and col. 10, lines 1-28: “On the image 105 provided by monitor 106, the surgeon can see the clamp 30 or screw 42 and fiducial array 170 and also the additional screws 250, wires 260 or other imageable devices. When screws 250 or other devices are used, these screws 250 (as depicted in FIG. 7) may contain a divot 256 or other specially shaped interface on the head 255 so that a pointer probe 130 can be used to point to the head 255 of the screw 250 (or wire) and indicate the orientation of the screw 250 or wire 260 to the surgical navigation system by communicating to the controller 114 or by emission from LEDs 195 on probe 130 to digitizer 110. The image of these additional screws 250 also appear in the scan. Once the patient is then moved to the operating facility, rather than the scanning area, the image of the screw 250 can be compared to the actual position of the screw 250 as indicated by the pointer probe 130 that is touched to the head 255 of the screw 250 or wire 260. If necessary, the operator can manipulate the position of the patient to move the spinal element and thus the location of the screw 250 or wire 260 to realign the spinal elements with the earlier image of the spine. Alternatively, the operator can manipulate the image mean to correspond to the current position of the spinal segments.”).
Foley et al. disclose manipulation of spinal segments utilizing image-guided technology during the spinal procedure. Foley et al. disclose a method that enables a user to change the position of spinal vertebrae segments and provide a method to realign the spinal vertebrae (Figs. 1 and 1A and cols. 6-11).
Foley et al. disclose all elements of the claimed invention except for: 1) determining a pelvic incidence angle (PI) of the patient; 2) measuring a sacral slope (SS) of the patient from the displayed medical image: and 3) comparing the spinal parameters (pelvic incidence angle and sacral slope) with desired values (desired clinical outcome) during the spinal surgical procedure.
It is well known to use a pelvic goniometer to measure the pelvic incidence and the sacral slope corresponding to a measured pelvic incidence wherein correcting lumbar lordosis includes an angle of pelvic incidence plus 10 degrees (target value), as evidenced by Peultier et al. Peultier et al. also disclose the pelvic goniometer to be configured to measure the parameters pelvic incidence and sacral slope on medical imaging and provide various instrumentation to correct a spinal deformity (paras [0019]-[0020] and [0077]-[0079]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have utilized measurements of the pelvic incidence angle and sacral slope while executing the method steps disclosed by Foley, as taught by Peultier et al., since it was well known to use these parameters to control and adjust the type of correction applied during treatment of a spinal deformity.
Conclusion
February 5, 2026
/Anu Ramana/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775