DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-30 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
This application is a CON of 17/572,361 filed 01/10/2022 now PAT 12170995.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 12/16/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-9, 16-17, 19-20 and 28-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7-12, 14, 16, 18, 22, 25-26 and 30 of parent U.S. Patent No. US 12, 170, 995 (hereinafter refers as A).
Note that the applicant filing of the continuing application is voluntary and not the direct, unmodified result of restriction requirement under 35 U.S.C. 121 (i.e. without a restriction requirement by the examiner) and the claims of the second application are drawn to the “same invention ” as the first application or patent. Moreover, although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-2, 4, 6-9, 16-17, 19-20 and 28-30 of the instant application merely broadens the scope of the claims 1, 7-12, 14, 16, 18, 22, 25-26 and 30 of the A Patent by eliminating the elements and their functions of the claims, and claims 1-2, 4, 6-9, 16-17, 19-20 and 28-30 of this instant application is therefore an obvious variant thereof.
Instant Application 18982669
Patent 12,170, 995
1.An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to: receive, from a network device, a first control message scheduling a set of uplink resources and a set of downlink resources for full-duplex communications, the set of uplink resources and the set of downlink resources at least partially overlapping in a time-domain; modify a first uplink waveform associated with the UE to a second uplink waveform different from the first uplink waveform; and communicate with the network device on the set of uplink resources and the set of downlink resources in accordance with a frequency-domain gap between the set of uplink resources and the set of downlink resources, wherein the frequency-domain gap is based at least in part on the second uplink waveform and a first downlink waveform associated with the network device.
10. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the network device, a second control message indicating a configuration of the first uplink waveform to be used by the UE for the full-duplex communications.
1. An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to: receive, from a network device, a first control message indicating a configuration of a first uplink waveform to be used by the UE for full-duplex communications; receive, from the network device, a second control message scheduling a set of uplink resources and a set of downlink resources for the full-duplex communications, the set of uplink resources and the set of downlink resources at least partially overlapping in a time-domain, wherein a frequency-domain gap between the set of uplink resources and the set of downlink resources is based at least in part on a waveform pair of a set of two or more waveform pairs, wherein the waveform pair comprises the first uplink waveform and a first downlink waveform used by the network device; and communicate with the network device on the set of uplink resources and the set of downlink resources in accordance with the frequency-domain gap.
2. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first uplink waveform is modified to the second uplink waveform based at least in part on the first downlink waveform, the first uplink waveform, or both.
7. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: modify the first uplink waveform to a second uplink waveform different from the first uplink waveform based at least in part on the first uplink waveform and the first downlink waveform.
4. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first uplink waveform is modified to the second uplink waveform based at least in part on a pathloss of a channel between the UE and the network device for the full-duplex communications satisfying a threshold value.
12. The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the first uplink waveform is modified to the second uplink waveform based at least in part on a pathloss of a channel between the UE and the network device for the full-duplex communications satisfying a threshold value.
6. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the network device, a message comprising an indication to modify the first uplink waveform to the second uplink waveform, wherein modifying the first uplink waveform to the second uplink waveform is based at least in part on the indication.
8. The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the network device, a message comprising an indication to modify the first uplink waveform to the second uplink waveform, wherein modifying the first uplink waveform to a second uplink waveform is based at least in part on the indication.
7. The apparatus of claim 6, wherein the message is received before modifying the first uplink waveform to the second uplink waveform based at least in part on a time duration before communicating with the network device.
9. The apparatus of claim 8, wherein the message is received before modifying the first uplink waveform to the second uplink waveform based at least in part on a time duration before communicating with the network device.
8. The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the network device, a second control message that indicates a configuration of the time duration, wherein the second control message comprises a RRC message, or a medium access control (MAC)-control element, or any combination thereof.
10. The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the network device, a fourth control message that indicates a configuration of the time duration, wherein the fourth control message comprises a RRC message, or a medium access control (MAC)-control element, or any combination thereof.
9. The apparatus of claim 7, wherein the time duration is based at least in part on a capability of the UE to modify the first uplink waveform to the second uplink waveform.
11. The apparatus of claim 9, wherein the time duration is based at least in part on a capability of the UE to modify the first uplink waveform to the second uplink waveform.
16. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the second uplink waveform comprises a single-carrier-type waveform or a cyclic-prefix (CP)-orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM)-type waveform; and the first downlink waveform comprises the single-carrier-type waveform or the CP-OFDM-type waveform.
14. The apparatus of claim 1, wherein: the first uplink waveform comprises a single-carrier-type waveform or a cyclic-prefix (CP)-orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM)-type waveform; and the first downlink waveform comprises the single-carrier-type waveform or the CP-OFDM-type waveform.
17. An apparatus for wireless communication at a network device, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a first control message scheduling a set of uplink resources and a set of downlink resources for full-duplex communications, the set of uplink resources and the set of downlink resources at least partially overlapping in a time-domain; modify a first downlink waveform associated with the network device to a second downlink waveform different from the first downlink waveform; and communicate with the UE on the set of uplink resources and the set of downlink resources in accordance with a frequency-domain gap between the set of uplink resources and the set of downlink resources, wherein the frequency-domain gap is based at least in part on a first uplink waveform associated with the UE and the second downlink waveform.
16. An apparatus for wireless communication at a network device, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a first control message indicating a configuration of a first uplink waveform to be used by the UE for full-duplex communications; transmit, to the UE, a second control message scheduling a set of uplink resources and a set of downlink resources for the full-duplex communications, the set of uplink resources and the set of downlink resources at least partially overlapping in a time-domain, wherein a frequency-domain gap between the set of uplink resources and the set of downlink resources is based at least in part on a waveform pair of a set of two or more waveform pairs, wherein the waveform pair comprises the first uplink waveform and a first downlink waveform used by the network device; and communicate with the UE on the set of uplink resources and the set of downlink resources in accordance with the frequency-domain gap.
19. The apparatus of claim 18, wherein the first uplink waveform and the second downlink waveform comprise a same waveform type.
18. The apparatus of claim 16, wherein the first uplink waveform and the first downlink waveform comprise a same waveform type, the set of uplink resources and the set of downlink resources fully overlapping in the time-domain.
20. The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: measure a pathloss for a channel between the network device and the UE associated with the full-duplex communications; and determine that the pathloss satisfies a threshold value, wherein modifying the first downlink waveform to the second downlink waveform is based at least in part on the pathloss satisfying the threshold value.
22. The apparatus of claim 21, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: measure a pathloss for a channel between the network device and the UE associated with the full-duplex communications; and determine that the pathloss satisfies a threshold value, wherein modifying the first downlink waveform to a second downlink waveform is based at least in part on the pathloss satisfying the threshold value.
28. The apparatus of claim 27, wherein the message is transmitted before the first uplink waveform is modified to the second uplink waveform based at least in part on a time duration before communicating with the UE, and the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit, to the UE, a second control message that indicates a configuration of the time duration, wherein the second control message comprises a RRC message, or a medium access control (MAC)-control element, or any combination thereof.
25. The apparatus of claim 24, wherein the message is transmitted before the first uplink waveform is modified to the second uplink waveform based at least in part on a time duration before communicating with the UE, and the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit, to the UE, a fourth control message that indicates a configuration of the time duration, wherein the fourth control message comprises a RRC message, or a medium access control (MAC)-control element, or any combination thereof.
29. A method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a network device, a first control message scheduling a set of uplink resources and a set of downlink resources for full-duplex communications, the set of uplink resources and the set of downlink resources at least partially overlapping in a time-domain; modifying a first uplink waveform associated with the UE to a second uplink waveform different from the first uplink waveform; and communicating with the network device on the set of uplink resources and the set of downlink resources in accordance with a frequency-domain gap between the set of uplink resources and the set of downlink resources, wherein the frequency-domain gap is based at least in part on the second uplink waveform and a first downlink waveform associated with the network device.
26. A method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving, from a network device, a first control message indicating a configuration of a first uplink waveform to be used by the UE for full-duplex communications; receiving, from the network device, a second control message scheduling a set of uplink resources and a set of downlink resources for the full-duplex communications, the set of uplink resources and the set of downlink resources at least partially overlapping in a time-domain, wherein a frequency-domain gap between the set of uplink resources and the set of downlink resources is based at least in part on a waveform pair of a set of two or more waveform pairs, wherein the waveform pair comprises the first uplink waveform and a first downlink waveform used by the network device; and communicating with the network device on the set of uplink resources and the set of downlink resources in accordance with the frequency-domain gap.
30. A method for wireless communication at a network device, comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a first control message scheduling a set of uplink resources and a set of downlink resources for full-duplex communications, the set of uplink resources and the set of downlink resources at least partially overlapping in a time-domain; modifying a first downlink waveform associated with the network device to a second downlink waveform different from the first downlink waveform; and communicating with the UE on the set of uplink resources and the set of downlink resources in accordance with a frequency-domain gap between the set of uplink resources and the set of downlink resources, wherein the frequency-domain gap is based at least in part on a first uplink waveform associated with the UE and the second downlink waveform.
30. A method for wireless communication at a network device, comprising: transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a first control message indicating a configuration of a first uplink waveform to be used by the UE for full-duplex communications; transmitting, to the UE, a second control message scheduling a set of uplink resources and a set of downlink resources for the full-duplex communications, the set of uplink resources and the set of downlink resources at least partially overlapping in a time-domain, wherein a frequency-domain gap between the set of uplink resources and the set of downlink resources is based at least in part on a waveform pair of a set of two or more waveform pairs, wherein the waveform pair comprises the first uplink waveform and a first downlink waveform used by the network device; and communicating with the UE on the set of uplink resources and the set of downlink resources in accordance with the frequency-domain gap.
Thus, in view of the above, it is clear that the conflicting claims are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-2, 4, 6-9, 16-17, 19-20 and 28-30 of the instant application merely broaden the scope of the claims 1, 7-12, 14, 16, 18, 22, 25-26 and 30 of 12, 170, 995.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 5 recites in lines 1-3, “… wherein the first uplink waveform is modified to the second uplink waveform based at least in part on the frequency-domain gap, a second frequency-domain gap based at least in part on the first uplink waveform and the first downlink waveform, a transmission power used for communicating with the network device, or both”. Neither the claim nor the specification further describe, “wherein the first uplink waveform is modified to the second uplink waveform based at least in part on the frequency-domain gap, a second frequency-domain gap based at least in part on the first uplink waveform and the first downlink waveform, a transmission power used for communicating with the network device, or both”. Paragraph 0020 of instant application disclose, “In some examples of the method, apparatuses, and non-transitory computer-readable medium described herein, the first uplink waveform may be modified to the second uplink waveform based on the frequency-domain gap and a transmission power used for communicating with the base station.”
The claims and the specification of the instant application does not describe the method/step, “wherein the first uplink waveform is modified to the second uplink waveform based at least in part on the frequency-domain gap, a second frequency-domain gap based at least in part on the first uplink waveform and the first downlink waveform, a transmission power used for communicating with the network device, or both”.
Therefore claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement
The subject matter was not described in the specification (see paragraph 0020, 0155) in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and /or use the invention.
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, “… wherein the frequency-domain gap is based at least in part on the second uplink waveform and a first downlink waveform associated with the network device”. Is unclear as to what is meant by, “the frequency-domain gap is based at least in part on the second uplink waveform and a first downlink waveform associated with the network device”. What part? How is part of “a waveform” define? Thus the claim is indefinite.
Claims 17, 29 and 30 are also rejected for the same reason as set forth above for claim 1.
Claims 2-16 and 18-28 are also rejected since they are dependent on the respective independent claims 1 and 17, respectively as set forth above.
Claim 5 recites in lines 1-3, “… wherein the first uplink waveform is modified to the second uplink waveform based at least in part on the frequency-domain gap, a second frequency-domain gap based at least in part on the first uplink waveform and the first downlink waveform, a transmission power used for communicating with the network device, or both”. It is unclear whether the first uplink waveform is modified to the second uplink waveform based at least in part on the frequency-domain gap, a second frequency-domain gap based at least in part on the first uplink waveform and the first downlink waveform, a transmission power used for communicating with the network device, or both. What is “both” referring to?. Thus the claim is indefinite.
For purpose of examination, the examiner interprets the limitation as best understood.
Notice re prior art available under both pre-AIA and AIA
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10, 13-14, 16-22, 24-25 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto et al. (US Pub. No.: 2019/0182813), and further in view of Bhamri et al. (US Pub. No.: 2024/0022386).
As per claim 1, Yamamoto disclose An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (see Fig.5, a terminal 200), comprising:
one or more memories (see Fig.3, Fig.5, a terminal 200, with memory for storing); and
one or more processors (see Fig.5, a controller 201) coupled with the one or more memories and configured to:
receive, from a network device, a first control message scheduling a set of uplink resources and a set of downlink resources for full-duplex communications (see para. 0049, receiving by UE of configuration from base station / a first control message scheduling a set of uplink resources and a set of downlink resources, the controller 101 notifies the terminal 200 of the information associated with the determined signal waveform according to a predetermined notification method, see also Fig.4, Fig.5, para. 0089-0091, for full duplex operation: a case where cell uses Flexible duplex or Full duplex in operation, the base station 100 sets the signal waveform transmission such that the terminal 200 uses an OFDM signal waveform; the configuration of the terminal to apply full duplex specifies the frequency band in downlink and uplink in which to apply full duplex, the number of PRBs allocated to the terminal 200, also, an OFDM signal waveform similar to that used in downlink even in the case where the number of PRBs allocated to the terminal 200 is smaller than X is allocated, see also para. 0093), the set of uplink resources and the set of downlink resources at least partially overlapping in a time-domain (see para. 0089-0091, the uplink and downlink resources are at least partially overlapping in the time domain; gap: it is well known that, in the case of transmitting simultaneously on uplink and downlink resources, a gap needs to be applied between the frequencies for downlink and uplink, see also para. 0093, the terminal 200 determines the signal waveform to be generated based on the number of PRBs allocated to the terminal 200. Thus, according to the present embodiment, the terminal 200 efficiently determines the signal waveform from the number of PRBs, which results in suppression of an increasing in signaling related to setting of the signal waveform);
modify a first uplink waveform associated with the UE to a second uplink waveform different from the first uplink waveform (see para. 0091, 0107, in the signal waveform generation, the maximum value X of the number of allocated PRBs is set as a criterion for changing/modifying/modify between DFT-s-OFDM {a first uplink waveform} and OFDM {a second uplink waveform}, thereby limiting use of DFT-s-OFDM by the terminal 200, see also para. 0089-0091); and
communicate with the network device on the set of uplink resources and the set of downlink resources in accordance with a frequency-domain gap based at least in part on the second uplink waveform and a first downlink waveform associated with the network device (see para. 0089-0091, "full duplex" of paragraph 89, the uplink and downlink resources are at least partially overlapping in the time domain; gap:, in the case of transmitting simultaneously on uplink and downlink resources, a gap needs to be applied between the frequencies for downlink and uplink, also the terminal 200 to transmit the uplink signal of the DFT-s-OFDM signal waveform without causing a reduction in the coverage compared with OFDM even in a case where the number of allocated PRBs is increased, for example, to improve the communication speed).
Although Yamamoto disclose communicate with the network device on the set of uplink resources and the set of downlink resources based at least in part on the second uplink waveform and a first downlink waveform associated with the network device;
Yamamoto however does not disclose “a frequency-domain gap” between the set of uplink resources and the set of downlink resources, wherein the frequency-domain gap is based at least in part on the second uplink waveform and a first downlink waveform associated with the network device.
Bhamri however disclose “a frequency-domain gap” between the set of uplink resources and the set of downlink resources, wherein the frequency-domain gap is based at least in part on the second uplink waveform and a first downlink waveform associated with the network device (see para. 0005-0006, 0042-0043, 0072-0075, the radio frame include a configurable guard band gap depending up on SCS values to allow switching between radio-based sensing signal and UL/DL data/control / a frequency-domain gap between the set of uplink resources and the set of downlink resources, see also Fig.1, para. 0076-0078, the remote unit 105 is configured with guard band gap to apply switching between radio-based sensing signal and DL/UL control/data channel, the remote unit 105 is configured with a mapping between multiple values of guard band gaps and multiple values of SCS (numerology) difference between the SCS of radio-based sensing signal and SCS of DL/UL data/control channel, the guard band gap is applied between DL symbol and sensing signal for transmission from the UE; between UL symbol and sensing symbol for reception at the UE; and between sensing symbol for transmission from the UE and sensing symbol for reception at the UE and para. 0094, 0113, the RAN provide separate indication and/or association and/or configuration of numerology for radio-based sensing, the RAN provides separate indication and/or association and/or configuration of waveform, subcarrier spacing, bandwidth part for radio-based sensing / gap based at least in part on the first uplink waveform and a first downlink waveform used by the base station, the guard band length is configured or mapped according to the difference between the cyclic prefix (“CP”) lengths between the radio-based sensing signal and UL/DL, e.g., normal or extended CPs, if CP based waveforms are employed, see also para. 0189-0194).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality “a frequency-domain gap” between the set of uplink resources and the set of downlink resources, wherein the frequency-domain gap is based at least in part on the second uplink waveform and a first downlink waveform associated with the network device, as taught by Bhamri, in the system of Yamamoto, so as to support radio-based sensing and joint communication, an indication and association of Bandwidth Parts (“BWPs”), including SCS values for radio-based sensing signals and an indication and association of waveform type and/or SCS value and/or frequency range and/or carrier bandwidth size for radio-based sensing signals and a radio frame that includes a configurable guard band gap depending up on SCS values to allow switching between radio-based sensing signal and UL/DL data/control, see Bhamri, paragraphs 42-44.
As per claim 2, the combination of Yamamoto and Bhamri disclose the apparatus of claim 1.
Yamamoto further disclose wherein the first uplink waveform is modified to the second uplink waveform based at least in part on the first downlink waveform, the first uplink waveform, or both (see para. 0091, 0107, in the signal waveform generation, the maximum value X of the number of allocated PRBs is set as a criterion for changing / modifying between DFT-s-OFDM and OFDM, thereby limiting use of DFT-s-OFDM by the terminal 200).
As per claim 3, the combination of Yamamoto and Bhamri disclose the apparatus of claim 2.
Yamamoto further disclose wherein the second uplink waveform and the first downlink waveform comprise a same waveform type (see para. 0089, in a case where cell uses Full duplex in operation, it is desirable to use the same signal waveform for both downlink and uplink from the point of view of controlling interference).
As per claim 4, the combination of Yamamoto and Bhamri disclose the apparatus of claim 1.
Yamamoto further disclose wherein the first uplink waveform is modified to the second uplink waveform based at least in part on a pathloss of a channel between the UE and the network device for the full-duplex communications satisfying a threshold value (see para. 0033, 0035-0039, it is desirable to use the DFT-s-OFDM signal waveform only in limited use cases such as a coverage-limited environment case in which a terminal is located at a cell edge and transmission power is not sufficient. That is, it is necessary to define conditions in which it is allowed to set DFT-s-OFDM, a scheme in which a low-PAPR signal waveform such as DFT-s-OFDM is set only in a case where 1 resource block (RB: Resource Block (also referred to as PRB (Physical Resource Block)) is allocated, DFT-s-OFDM is allowed to be used only when one RB is allocated is because if the number of allocated RBs is increased to increase the communication speed while maintaining the transmission power at a fixed value {a threshold value}, then a reduction occurs in transmission power spectral density in a transmission band, which causes the coverage of DFT-s-OFDM to become equal to or worse than the coverage of OFDM).
As per claim 5, the combination of Yamamoto and Bhamri disclose the apparatus of claim 1.
Bhamri further disclose wherein the first uplink waveform is modified to the second uplink waveform based at least in part on the frequency-domain gap, a second frequency-domain gap based at least in part on the first uplink waveform and the first downlink waveform, a transmission power used for communicating with the network device, or both (see para. 0042, 0078, 0216, 0234, 0242, 0251, the first configuration includes a configured guard band gap between a radio-based sensing symbol and an adjacent data/control channel symbol, the processor configures the UE with a mapping between multiple values of guard band gaps and multiple values of SCS, where a SCS value configured for radio-based sensing signal is different than a SCS value configured for data/control channel / the first uplink waveform is modified to the second uplink waveform based at least in part on the frequency-domain gap).
As per claim 10, the combination of Yamamoto and Bhamri disclose the apparatus of claim 1.
Bhamri further disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the network device, a second control message indicating a configuration of the first uplink waveform to be used by the UE for the full-duplex communications (see para. 0135-0137, the flexible symbols in the slot are indicated as radio-based sensing symbols via DCI or MAC CE and/or semi-static configuration via RRC, see also para. 0071-0078, the remote unit 105 also receive a second configuration from the network that consists of at least one waveform type indication, one subcarrier spacing value (numerology) and one carrier bandwidth for transmission and/or reception of radio-based sensing signals, consists of indication of single type of radio-based sensing symbol that can be used for transmission and reception of radio-based sensing signal at the same time, i.e., a full-duplex remote unit 105).
As per claim 13, the combination of Yamamoto and Bhamri disclose the apparatus of claim 1.
Yamamoto further disclose wherein the second uplink waveform and the first downlink waveform comprise a same waveform type, the set of uplink resources and the set of downlink resources fully overlapping in the time-domain (see para. 0089, in a case where cell uses Full duplex in operation, it is desirable to use the same signal waveform for both downlink and uplink from the point of view of controlling interference).
As per claim 14, the combination of Yamamoto and Bhamri disclose the apparatus of claim 1.
Yamamoto further disclose wherein the second uplink waveform comprises a first waveform type that is different from a second waveform type of the first downlink waveform, the set of uplink resources overlapping with a portion of the set of downlink resources in the time-domain (see para. 0089, in a case where cell uses Full duplex in operation, it is desirable to use the same signal waveform for both downlink and uplink from the point of view of controlling interference).
As per claim 16, the combination of Yamamoto and Bhamri disclose the apparatus of claim 1.
Yamamoto further disclose wherein: the second uplink waveform comprises a single-carrier-type waveform or a cyclic-prefix (CP)-orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM)-type waveform; and the first downlink waveform comprises the single-carrier-type waveform or the CP-OFDM-type waveform (see para. 0089-0091, the terminal 200 to transmit the uplink signal of the DFT-s-OFDM signal waveform without causing a reduction in the coverage compared with OFDM even in a case where the number of allocated PRBs is increased, for example, to improve the communication speed. Thus, according to the present embodiment, it is possible to efficiently switch between OFDM and DFT-s-OFDM in the signal waveform generation, see para. 0087-0091, the base station 100 sets the signal waveform transmission such that the terminal 200 uses an CP-OFDM signal waveform similar to that used in downlink, see also para. 0090).
As per claim 17, claim 17 is rejected the same way as claim 1. Yamamoto also disclose An apparatus for wireless communication at a network device (see Fig.4, a base station 100), comprising: one or more memories (see Fig.4, a base station 100 with a memory for storing); and one or more processors (see Fig.4, Controller 101) coupled to the memory and configured to: transmit, to a user equipment (UE) (see Fig.1, a terminal 200).
As per claim 18, is rejected the same way as claim 2.
As per claim 19, is rejected the same way as claim 3.
As per claim 20, is rejected the same way as claim 4.
As per claim 21, the combination of Yamamoto and Bhamri disclose the apparatus of claim 17.
Yamamoto further disclose wherein the first downlink waveform is modified to the second downlink waveform based at least in part on a power headroom report of the UE, a report from the UE indicating the frequency-domain gap, or both (see para. 0091, 0107, in the signal waveform generation, the maximum value X of the number of allocated PRBs is set as a criterion for changing/modifying/modify between DFT-s-OFDM {a first uplink waveform} and OFDM {a second uplink waveform}, thereby limiting use of DFT-s-OFDM by the terminal 200, see also para. 0089-0091).
As per claim 22, the combination of Yamamoto and Bhamri disclose the apparatus of claim 17.
Yamamoto further disclose wherein the first downlink waveform is modified to the second downlink waveform based at least in part on scheduling information, pathloss measurements, or both associated with a plurality of UEs (see para. 0091, 0107, in the signal waveform generation, the maximum value X of the number of allocated PRBs is set as a criterion for changing / modifying between DFT-s-OFDM and OFDM, thereby limiting use of DFT-s-OFDM by the terminal 200).
As per claim 24, claim 24 is rejected the same way as claim 13.
As per claim 29, claim 29 is rejected the same way as claim 1.
As per claim 30, claim 30 is rejected the same way as claim 17.
Claims 6-8 and 27-28 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto et al. (US Pub. No.: 2019/0182813), in view of Bhamri et al. (US Pub. No.: 2024/0022386) and further in view of Moderator (NTT DOCOMO, INC, R1-21109722, 10-2021).
As per claim 6, the combination of Yamamoto and Bhamri disclose the apparatus of claim 1.
The combination of Yamamoto and Bhamri however does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the network device, a message comprising an indication to modify the first uplink waveform to the second uplink waveform, wherein modifying the first uplink waveform to the second uplink waveform is based at least in part on the indication.
Moderator further disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the network device, a message comprising an indication to modify the first uplink waveform to the second uplink waveform, wherein modifying the first uplink waveform to the second uplink waveform is based at least in part on the indication (see page 79-80, receiving an indication from the base station for switching between DFT-s-OFDM and CP-OFDM).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the network device, a message comprising an indication to modify the first uplink waveform to the second uplink waveform, wherein modifying the first uplink waveform to the second uplink waveform is based at least in part on the indication, as taught by Moderator, in the system of Yamamoto and Bhamri, so as to support the switching between DFT-s-OFDM and CP-OFDM, see Moderator, paragraphs 42-44.
As per claim 7, the combination of Yamamoto, Bhamri and Moderator disclose the apparatus of claim 6.
Moderator further disclose wherein the message is received before modifying the first uplink waveform to the second uplink waveform based at least in part on a time duration before communicating with the network device (see Fig.8, a time duration for switching to the UL).
As per claim 8, the combination of Yamamoto, Bhamri and Moderator disclose the apparatus of claim 7.
Bhamri further disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the network device, a second control message that indicates a configuration of the time duration, wherein the second control message comprises a RRC message, or a medium access control (MAC)-control element, or any combination thereof (see para. 0135-0137, the flexible symbols in the slot can be indicated as radio-based sensing symbols via DCI or MAC CE and/or semi-static configuration via RRC).
Moderator further disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: receive, from the network device, a second control message that indicates a configuration of the time duration, wherein the second control message comprises a RRC message, or a medium access control (MAC)-control element, or any combination thereof (see page 89-90, MAC-CE dynamic switching between CP-OFDM and SFT-S_OFDM).
As per claim 27, the combination of Yamamoto and Bhamri disclose the apparatus of claim 17.
The combination of Yamamoto and Bhamri however does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit, to the UE, a message comprising an indication to modify the first uplink waveform to a second uplink waveform different from the first uplink waveform based at least in part on the first uplink waveform and the second downlink waveform being different waveform types, the second uplink waveform comprising a same waveform type as the second downlink waveform.
Moderator further disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit, to the UE, a message comprising an indication to modify the first uplink waveform to a second uplink waveform different from the first uplink waveform based at least in part on the first uplink waveform and the second downlink waveform being different waveform types, the second uplink waveform comprising a same waveform type as the second downlink waveform (see page 79-80, receiving an indication from the base station for switching between DFT-s-OFDM and CP-OFDM).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the functionality of wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit, to the UE, a message comprising an indication to modify the first uplink waveform to a second uplink waveform different from the first uplink waveform based at least in part on the first uplink waveform and the second downlink waveform being different waveform types, the second uplink waveform comprising a same waveform type as the second downlink waveform, as taught by Moderator, in the system of Yamamoto and Bhamri, so as to support the switching between DFT-s-OFDM and CP-OFDM, see Moderator, paragraphs 42-44.
As per claim 28, the combination of Yamamoto, Bhamri and Moderator disclose the apparatus of claim 27.
Bhamri further disclose wherein the message is transmitted before the first uplink waveform is modified to the second uplink waveform based at least in part on a time duration before communicating with the UE, and the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit, to the UE, a second control message that indicates a configuration of the time duration, wherein the second control message comprises a RRC message, or a medium access control (MAC)-control element, or any combination thereof (see para. 0135-0137, the flexible symbols in the slot can be indicated as radio-based sensing symbols via DCI or MAC CE and/or semi-static configuration via RRC).
Moderator further disclose wherein the message is transmitted before the first uplink waveform is modified to the second uplink waveform based at least in part on a time duration before communicating with the UE, and the one or more processors are further configured to: transmit, to the UE, a second control message that indicates a configuration of the time duration, wherein the second control message comprises a RRC message, or a medium access control (MAC)-control element, or any combination thereof (see page 89-90, MAC-CE dynamic switching between CP-OFDM and SFT-S_OFDM).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 11-12, 15, 23 and 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Haustein (US Pub. No.:2023/0189315) – see para. 1377-1378, “3.1 Full Duplex Mechanisms. Further embodiments relate to a recognition in connection with full duplex operation in a wireless communication system, e.g., system 1800 or 2800 adapted accordingly. When operating in full duplex, a device such as a UE may suffer from self-interference as it may suffer from CLI and/ICI. For mitigating self-interference a frequency gap may be established between a radio resource used for transmission and a resource used for reception. This gap may be dependent from one or more parameters comprising, e.g., a distance to the communication partner, e.g., a base station”.
/LAKERAM JANGBAHADUR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469