DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 7, 9 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7, “the drive assembly” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 9, “a motor-mounted brake” was already recited in claim 1.
Claim 9, “a housing component” was already recited claim 1.
Claim 9, “a tachometer assembly” was already recited claim 1.
Claim 12, “a motor-mounted brake” was already recited claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 9 does not further limit claim 1, which it depends upon. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-3 and 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kusama et al. (JP 2013-229973 A).
Regarding claim 1, Kusama discloses a tachometer assembly (6) for a motor-mounted brake (4), the assembly (6) comprising:
a stator component (5, 65-67), which, in operation, is adapted to be coupled to a housing component (82, 83) of the motor-mounted brake (4); and
a rotor component (61, 68) adapted to be coupled to a drive shaft (20) passing through the motor-mounted brake (4; FIG. 2),
wherein the stator component (5, 65-67) comprises a stator body (5, 65) that has a base flange (5) and a connecting flange (65), the base flange (5) having a housing-side centering collar (see annotation below) on an outer circumference (FIG. 2),
wherein the connecting flange (65) adjoins the base flange (5) in an axially offset manner and forms an inner wall on its inner circumference, which together with an outer surface of the base flange (5) forms a receiving space for the rotor component (61, 68; FIG. 2), and
wherein the receiving space is closed off from an outside environment by a cover (83) that is adapted to be fixed to the connecting flange (65; FIG. 2, bolt 109).
Regarding claim 2/1, Kusama was discussed above in claim 1. Kusama further discloses the rotor component (61, 68) is adapted to be coupled to the drive shaft (20) via a driver (drive shaft 20 acts as a driver) that protrudes from the tachometer assembly (6) through a through-opening (51) that is configured in the base flange (5) and, when the tachometer assembly (6) is arranged on the housing component (82, 83), extends into an interior of the housing component (82, 83) and is adapted to be coupled therein to the motor-mounted brake (4; drive shaft 20 is connected to the brake through connecting member 48).
Regarding claim 3/1, Kusama was discussed above in claim 1. Kusama further discloses the cover (66) and the stator component (5, 65-67) are coupled to the housing component (82, 83) by fasteners (106, 108, 109).
Regarding claim 6/1, Kusama was discussed above in claim 1. Kusama further discloses the rotor component (61, 68) is adapted to be coupled to the driver (20) via an element (203) protruding into the receiving space (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 7/1, Kusama was discussed above in claim 1. Kusama further discloses the tachometer assembly (6) serves as an electronic monitoring device (encoder) that outputs a signal which corresponds to an operating criterion (angular position or motion of the shaft) of the motor-mounted brake (4) and or the drive assembly (1).
Regarding claim 8/1, Kusama was discussed above in claim 1. Kusama further discloses the receiving space is embedded entirely inside the housing component (82, 83; FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 9/1, Kusama was discussed above in claim 1. Kusama further discloses a motor-mounted brake (4) comprising a housing component (82, 83) configured to receive a tachometer assembly (6) as claimed in claim 1.
Regarding claim 10/9, Kusama was discussed above in claim 10. Kusama further discloses a connecting opening (top opening of brake case 82) corresponding to the centering collar (see annotation above; FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 11/9, Kusama was discussed above in claim 10. Kusama further discloses a fastening region (bolt 109) that is countersunk inwardly inside the housing component (82, 83).
Regarding claim 12/9, Kusama was discussed above in claim 10. Kusama further discloses a drive assembly (1) comprising:
a motor-mounted brake (4) as claimed in claim 9; and
a drive unit (2) coupled to the motor-mounted brake (4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusama et al. (JP 2013-229973 A) in view of Xiang et al. (CN 204391959 U).
Regarding claim 4/1, Kusama was discussed above in claim 1. Kusama does not disclose a sealing assembly arranged between the stator component and cover closes off the receiving space in a fluid-tight manner, and wherein, between the stator component and housing component, the sealing assembly closes off an interior of the housing component in a fluid-tight manner.
Xiang discloses a sealing assembly (encoder sealing cover) arranged between the stator component (8) and cover (10) closes off the receiving space in a fluid-tight manner, and wherein, between the stator component (8) and housing component (5), the sealing assembly (O-shaped ring) closes off an interior of the housing component (5) in a fluid-tight manner (FIG. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Kusama in view of Xiang to disclose a sealing assembly arranged between the stator component and cover closes off the receiving space in a fluid-tight manner, and wherein, between the stator component and housing component, the sealing assembly closes off an interior of the housing component in a fluid-tight manner, for the advantages of sealing the motor interior in a simplified method (¶ [0003]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kusama et al. (JP 2013-229973 A) in view of Nimura et al. (US 2021/0159764 A1).
Regarding claim 5/1, Kusama was discussed above in claim 1. Kusama does not disclose the cover is formed of an electrically insulating material.
Nimura discloses the cover (3, 4) is formed of an electrically insulating material (¶ [0020] cover 3 is made of resin material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Kusama in view of Nimura to disclose the cover is formed of an electrically insulating material, for the advantages of preventing foreign material from entering the encoder while having electrical insulation.
Conclusion
/MINKI CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2834