DETAILED ACTION
The present Office Action is in response to Application’s Arguments/Remarks, amended claims, and Response to Election/Restriction filed on 07/28/2026. Claims 1-6 and 14-18 have been elected. Claims 7-13 have been cancelled. Claims 3, 5, and 6 have been amended. Claims 1-6 and 14-18 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motohashi, (US2009/0077326), hereinafter Motohashi in view of Robin et al. (US2014/0380017), hereinafter Robin, and further in view of O’Connor et al. (US2018/0124246), hereinafter O’Connor.
Regarding claim 1, Motohashi teaches a contact center system, comprising
a node comprising a first module and a second module (Motohashi, [0063], The software configuration of the first leaf node 50B includes a user program 801B, a memory library 802B, a memory daemon 803B, an operating system (OS) 804B, and a memory device driver 805B), the first module comprising a first shared memory module (Motohashi, [0063], memory library 802), wherein the first shared memory module is configured to:
obtain a shared memory key and a shared memory segment size value (Motohashi, [0084], a memory allocation request including a shared memory key and a memory size of the memory to the memory library 802B );
obtain a shared memory segment identifier using the shared memory key and shared memory segment size value, the shared memory segment identifier identifying a shared memory segment (Motohashi, [0085], Subsequently, the memory device driver 805C transmits a memory allocation result including the address of the allocated remote memory 602C; [0086], The memory library 802B stores the shared memory ID and the shared memory key, the address of the remote memory 602C included in the memory allocation result, and a remote node ID for specifying a processor node (the second leaf node 50C) having the remote memory 602C in the shared-memory ID management table); and
use the shared memory segment identifier to attach to the shared memory segment (Motohashi, [0086]-[0088], mapping connection creation), wherein
for each of a plurality of memory block sizes, the shared memory segment stores information pertaining to a recycle list associated with the memory block size, and the plurality of memory block sizes comprises a first memory block size and a second memory block size that is greater than the first memory block size.
Motohashi does not explicitly teach a contact center and for each of a plurality of memory block sizes, the shared memory segment stores information pertaining to a recycle list associated with the memory block size, and the plurality of memory block sizes comprises a first memory block size and a second memory block size that is greater than the first memory block size, as claimed.
However, Motohashi in view of Robin teaches for each of a plurality of memory block sizes, the shared memory segment stores information pertaining to a recycle list associated with the memory block size, and the plurality of memory block sizes comprises a first memory block size and a second memory block size that is greater than the first memory block size (Robin, [0016], for the processor 102 and the operating system to store and use so-called “free-lists” to handle dynamic memory allocation and deallocation; [0018], A free-list has an associated predetermined size value S; [0022], A predetermined plurality of free-lists are used and maintained, each with different associated size values S).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Motohashi to incorporate teachings of Robin to store one or more of free lists in a memory segment in a processor (such as memory regions allocated via memory library 802 in Motohashi). Each of the plurality of the free lists is associated with a different size. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Motohashi with Robin because it improves efficiency of the storage system disclosed in Motohashi by allocating memory regions to store memory block allocation information such as a free list identifying available memory regions.
The combination of Motohashi does not explicitly teach a contact center system, as claimed.
However, the combination of Motohashi in view of O’Connor teaches a contact center system (O’Connor, [0034], A contact center 100 comprises a server 110; [0036]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Motohashi to include teachings of O’Connor to include a contact center with a node (such as node 50 in Motohashi) comprising memory management modules. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the combination of Motohashi with O’Connor because it enables memory/resource management to be effectively applied and utilized in enterprise environments.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Motohashi teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. The combination of Motohashi further teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the node is configured to, in response to an indication that a module of the node is requesting the creation of an object associated with the first memory block size, determine whether a recycle list associated with the first memory block size has a length (L) that satisfies a condition (Robin, [0025]; [0026], it is determined whether the identified free-list with associated size value S is empty, i.e. whether it is currently storing any identifiers. If N(S)>0 (i.e. that free-list is not empty as there is at least one identifier stored in this free-list); [0027], At the step S208 (i.e. when the identified free-list is not empty), one of the identifiers in the identified free-list is chosen; Fig.3).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Motohashi to incorporate teachings of Robin to perform memory allocation when a corresponding free list has at least one entry. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Motohashi with Robin because it improves efficiency of the storage system disclosed in Motohashi by allocating memory regions to store memory block allocation information such as a free list identifying available memory regions.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Motohashi teaches all the features with respect to claim 3 as outlined above. The combination of Motohashi further teach the system of claim 3, wherein the node is configured such that, as a result of determining that L satisfies the condition, the node:
obtains a memory address from the recycle list associated with the first memory block size, wherein the memory address identifies a memory block (Robin, [0027], At the step S208 (i.e. when the identified free-list is not empty), one of the identifiers in the identified free-list is chosen; [0017], The identifier may be, for example, a memory pointer, i.e. an address within the memory 104), removes the memory address from the recycle list (Robin, [0028], , at a step S210, the chosen identifier is removed from the identified free-list), and uses memory block identified by the obtained memory address to create the object (Robin, [0005]; [0027], The memory region identified by that identifier is then identified (indicated) to the requesting process, for example by returning a pointer to that memory region in response to the call to the malloc function).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Motohashi to incorporate teachings of Robin to perform memory allocation when a corresponding free list has at least one entry. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Motohashi with Robin because it improves efficiency of the storage system disclosed in Motohashi by allocating memory regions to store memory block allocation information such as a free list identifying available memory regions.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Motohashi teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. The combination of Motohashi further teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the node is configured to, in response to an indication that a module of the node is requesting the deletion of an object associated with the first memory block size (Robin, [0033], At a step S402, a dynamic memory deallocation request is called by a process, requesting deallocation of a particular region of the memory 104), determine an end of a recycle list associated with the first memory block size (Robin, [0036], At a step S406, it is determined whether the identified free-list with associated size value S is full; [0038]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Motohashi to incorporate teachings of Robin to perform memory deallocation by adding one entry to the end of a corresponding free list. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Motohashi with Robin because it improves efficiency of the storage system disclosed in Motohashi by allocating memory regions to store memory block allocation information such as a free list identifying available memory regions.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Motohashi, Robin, and O’Connor as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sarwar et al. (US2019/0068594), hereinafter Sarwar.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Motohashi teaches all the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above. The combination of Motohashi does not explicitly teach the system of claim 1, wherein the contact center system is operable to receive at least one-hundred calls per second, as claimed.
However, the combination of Motohashi in view of Soumi teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the contact center system is operable to receive at least one-hundred calls per second (Sarwar, [0021], contact center; [0073], call center; [0102], It will be understood that there may be hundreds of calls per second coming into the authentication consumer at any one time).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Motohashi to incorporate teachings of Sarwar to have a contact center receiving at least one hundred calls per second. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of the combination of Motohashi with Sarwar because it improves efficiency and performance of the system disclosed in the combination of Motohashi by supporting a contact center with a high volume of calls.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Motohashi, Robin, and O’Connor as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Nilsen (US2020/0327052), hereinafter Nilsen.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Motohashi teaches all the features with respect to claim 3 as outlined above. The combination of Motohashi does not explicitly teach the system of claim 3, wherein the node is further configured such that, as a result of determining that L does not satisfy the condition, the node determines whether a second recycle list associated with the second memory block size has a length, L2, that satisfies a condition, as claimed.
However, the combination of Motohashi in view of Nilsen teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the node is further configured such that, as a result of determining that L does not satisfy the condition, the node determines whether a second recycle list associated with the second memory block size has a length, L2, that satisfies a condition (Nilsen, [0060], if the allocation pool for objects of the desired size is empty, allocation may occur from a larger size pool using a first-fit technique).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Motohashi to incorporate teachings of Nilsen to determine whether a second free list is available for memory allocation if a first free list is unavailable. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of the combination of Motohashi with Nilsen because it improves efficiency of the storage system disclosed in the combination of Motohashi by performing memory allocation based on memory sizes in an organized manner.
Claim(s) 14, 17, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robin et al. (US2014/0380017), hereinafter Robin in view of Gould et al. (US2019/0042410), hereinafter Gould, and further in view of Byskal et al. (US 10,994,198), hereinafter Byskal.
Regarding claims 14, 17 and 18, taking claim 14 as exemplary, Robin teaches a method comprising:
storing in a shared memory segment first recycle list information pertaining to a first recycle list associated with a first memory block size (Robin, [0016], for the processor 102 and the operating system to store and use so-called “free-lists” to handle dynamic memory allocation and deallocation; [0018], A free-list has an associated predetermined size value S; [0022], A predetermined plurality of free-lists are used and maintained, each with different associated size values S);
storing in the shared memory segment second recycle list information pertaining to a second recycle list associated with a second memory block size that is larger than the first memory block size (Robin, [0022], A predetermined plurality of free-lists are used and maintained, each with different associated size values S); and
using the first and second recycle lists to manage the allocation of memory within the shared memory segment (Robin, Fig.3), wherein using the first and second recycle lists to manage the allocation of memory within the shared memory segment comprises:
in response to receiving an instruction to store or create a data object associated with the first memory block size, determining whether the length, L1, of the first recycle list is greater than a first threshold, T1, wherein T1 > 1 (Robin, [0026], it is determined whether the identified free-list with associated size value S is empty, i.e. whether it is currently storing any identifiers. If N(S)>0 (i.e. that free-list is not empty as there is at least one identifier stored in this free-list); and
as a result of determining that L1 is greater than T1: obtaining a memory address from the first recycle list, wherein the memory address identifies a memory block (Robin, [0027], At the step S208 (i.e. when the identified free-list is not empty), one of the identifiers in the identified free-list is chosen; [0017], The identifier may be, for example, a memory pointer, i.e. an address within the memory 104) and removing the memory address from the first recycle list (Robin, [0028], , at a step S210, the chosen identifier is removed from the identified free-list); and
using the memory block identified by the obtained memory address to store the data object (Robin, [0005]; [0027]).
Robin teaches storing free list in a memory segment, nevertheless, Robin does not explicitly teach storing free lists in a shared memory segment as claimed. Robin teaches performing allocation steps in response to determining the length of free list is greater than a threshold of zero, nevertheless, Robin does not explicitly teach the threshold is greater than 1, as claimed.
However, Robin in view of Gould teaches storing in a shared memory segment first recycle list information pertaining to a first recycle list associated with a first memory block size (Gould, [0063], multiple SQMs can communicate with one or more shared pool managers 440. Pool managers 440 track lists of free pages for use by hardware components, such as data processes 410. Pool managers 440 can be implemented as ring buffers … If there are multiple SQMs, pool managers 440 will typically be shared such that any given pool manager is accessible to all SQMs … Pool managers 440 effectively implement a … ring buffer, which contains a list of pointers to free pages in the pool).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Robin to incorporate teachings of Gould to include a shared memory for storing free memory information. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Robin with Gould because it improves efficiency and performance of the storage system disclosed in Robin by allowing different components to access a shared memory for global resource allocation.
The combination of Robin does not explicitly teach threshold T1>1, as claimed.
However, the combination of Robin in view of Byskal teaches threshold T1>1 (Byskal, col.13, lines 30-64, a threshold might be set such that a resource type is not selected if there are less than a specified number of instances of that type available in a given resource pool; col.7, lines 30-46, a customer of a resource provider can provide various criteria for the type of resource instance to be allocated. This can include criteria relating to … minimum amount of available memory).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Robin to incorporate teachings of Byskal to avoid selecting a resource for allocation if the amount of the resource in a resource pool is less than a threshold. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of the combination of Robin with Byskal because it improves efficiency of the storage system disclosed in the combination of Robin by providing flexibility for defining a minimum number of entries that a free memory segment list has to maintain.
Claims 17 and 18 have similar limitations as claim 14 and they are rejected for the similar reasons. Regarding claim 18, Motohashi further teaches the node comprising: processing circuitry for executing instructions (Motohashi, [0059], CPU); and memory storing a computer program (Motohashi, [0059], executing various programs stored in the main memory 501) comprising instructions for configuring the node to perform the method of claim 14.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Robin, Gould, and Byskal as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Tsirkin et al. (US2023/0153171), hereinafter Tsirkin.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Robin teaches all the features with respect to claim 14 as outlined above. The combination of Robin does not explicitly teach the method of claim 14, wherein using the first and second recycle lists to manage the allocation of memory within the shared memory segment further comprises: in response to receiving an instruction to store or create a data object associated with the second memory block size, determining whether the length, L2, of the second recycle list is greater than a second threshold, T2, wherein T2 >T1; and as a result of determining that L2 is not greater than T2, storing the data object in a free memory block, as claimed.
However, the combination of Robin in view of Tsirkin teaches the method of claim 14, wherein using the first and second recycle lists to manage the allocation of memory within the shared memory segment further comprises: in response to receiving an instruction to store or create a data object associated with the second memory block size, determining whether the length, L2, of the second recycle list is greater than a second threshold, T2, wherein T2 >T1; and as a result of determining that L2 is not greater than T2, storing the data object in a free memory block (Tsirkin, [0025], Guest memory 114A-C may be any virtual memory, logical memory, physical memory, other portion of memory, or a combination thereof for storing, organizing, or accessing data; [0033]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Robin to incorporate teachings of Tsirkin to allocate memory from a free list that is greater than a first size threshold but smaller than a second size threshold and the allocated memory is used for storing data. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of the combination of Robin with Tsirkin because it improves efficiency of the storage system disclosed in the combination of Robin by allocating memory below a maximum level to reduce the risk of out-of-memory errors.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 16 recites “[t]he method of claim 14, wherein using the first and second recycle lists to manage the allocation of memory within the shared memory segment further comprises: in response to receiving an instruction to store or create a data object associated with the second memory block size, determining whether the length, L2, of the second recycle list is greater than a second threshold, T2, wherein T2 >T1;as a result of determining that L2 is not greater than T2, determining whether L1 is greater than T1; and as a result of determining that L1 is greater than T1:obtaining a memory address from the first recycle list, wherein the memory address identifies a memory block and removing the memory address from the first recycle list; and using the memory block identified by the obtained memory address to store the data object”.
The above-noted limitation, in combination with the other limitation of the claims, are neither disclosed nor suggested by the prior art of record. Therefore, in the context of claim 14 and 16 as a whole, the prior art does not teach the claimed subject matter. Thus, the subject matter of claim 16 is allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Breslow (US2020/0065012) teaches allocating memory using a key and a memory segment size value.
/NANCI N WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2137