DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the claims filed 12/16/2024. Claims 1-21 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Claims 1, 10 and 18 recite the abstract idea of “managing customer enrollment in merchant affinity programs and distributing targeted discount offers to customers”, which is grouped under “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” such as “commercial or legal interactions (marketing, sales and customer relationships) (MPEP 2016.04(a)). Specifically, claims 1, 10 and 18 recite “receiving requests from said customers”, “each request from a customer comprising a request to activate a respective universal identifier issued to the customer”, “receive requests from the customers to activate their respective universal identifiers (claim 10)”, “in response to each such request: … for the customer”, “enrolling the customer in the affinity systems of one or more merchants using the same universal identifier of the customer to enroll the customer in each merchant affinity system”, “and thereafter receiving from one of said merchants a targeted discount offer and the universal identifier corresponding to each customer in a set of targeted customers who are enrolled in the affinity system of that merchant”, “and in response...the targeted discount offer… of each customer in the set of targeted customers”. Claims 2-9, 11-17 and 19-21 are dependent on claims 1, 10 and 18 and include all the limitations of claims 1, 10 and 18. Therefore, claims 2-9, 11-17 and 19-21 recite the same abstract idea of “managing customer enrollment in merchant affinity programs and distributing targeted discount offers to customers”. The limitations recited in the depending claims (For example, the specific types of customers and partners and identifiers used and the receiving, activating, allocating, providing, sharing, causing steps) are further details of the abstract idea and not significantly more. The concept described in claims 1-21 are not meaningfully different than those concepts found by the courts to be abstract ideas. As such, the description in claims 1-21 is an abstract idea. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed under prong two of step 2A (MPEP 2106.04II), the additional elements such as ““a universal management server comprising a processor and a memory (claim 10)”, “at a universal management server”, “allocating memory on the universal management server, the allocated memory defining a personal locker”, “automatically”, “storing… in the personal account lockers” “via web-based interface (claims 7, 20)”, “web server (claim 13) represent the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and/or does no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment or field of use. The recited ““hosting a website…may log and providing a link from the website” recited in claims 5 and 17, merely recite the use of generic Internet technology to implement the abstract idea. The claims do not specify ap articular technological improvement in website operation, data logging or hyperlink functionality. Rather, the additional elements merely use a computer and the Internet as tools to perform the recited abstract idea. Further, as the additional elements do not provide a practical application, they do not improve computer functionality and do not improve another technology or technical field.
When analyzed under step 2B (MPEP 2106.04II), the additional elements, individually and as an ordered combination, do not more than represent the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and/or does no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use, they do not provide an improvement to computer functionality, or an improvement to another technology or technical field and, therefore, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f)&(h)).
Hence, claims 1-21 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1, 8, 10, 14 and 18 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Iannacci (US 2002/0062249 A1) in view of Graves (US 2005/0278216 A1).
As per Claims 1, 10, 18
Iannacci (‘249) discloses
a universal management server comprising a processor and a memory, see at least paragraph 0381 (universal server data processing system; processor; memory), paragraph 0236 (universal server’s option structure database; database management system)
receiving requests from said customers, see at least paragraph 0319 (a user requests from the universal server), claim 12 of Iannacci (requests received from a plurality of identified users), paragraph 0213 (receives requests)
receive requests to activate, each request comprising a request to activate, a respective universal identifier issued to the customer, and requests comprising respective universal identifiers see at least paragraph 0141 (request activation), paragraph 0301 (account activation request… includes relevant transaction and processing information such as …. universal account identifier…corresponding to a universal account owner), paragraph 0239 (activate and execute said program when… a universal account owner delivers the universal account identifier), paragraph 0299 (a universal account issued by a universal account issuer and which has a universal account identifier and an account owner)
in response to each such request: allocating memory on the universal management server, the allocated memory defining a personal account locker for the customer, see at least paragraph 0301 (account activation request… includes relevant transaction and processing information such as …. universal account identifier…corresponding to a universal account owner), paragraph 0237 (universal account record may be stored in a database table or memory), paragraph 0236 (universal server’s … database; database management system) and paragraph 0218 (digital coupon codes could be accrued into a member’s universal account for later use), paragraph 0128 (authenticated accounts)
automatically enrolling the customer in the affinity systems of one or more merchants using the same universal identifier of the customer to enroll the customer in each merchant affinity system, see at least paragraph 0334 (just one card and account identifier gives convenient access to all payment, award and loyalty accounts), paragraph 0235 (to enroll for a Hilton HHonors award account, the universal account owner must be at least 18 years of age) and paragraph 0216 (a universal account identifier corresponding to a universal account), paragraph 0197 (Instant-In account enrollment…automatically and immediately enroll a universal account owner in a membership program)
and thereafter receiving from one of said merchants a targeted discount offer, see at least paragraph 0258 (achieve…award offers based on…inclusion in a universal transaction volume, efforts by merchants to attract consumer business), paragraph 0262 (the merchants benefit since the consumer will be able to obtain…discounts)
receiving the universal identifier corresponding to each customer in a set of targeted customers who are enrolled in the affinity system of that merchant, see at least paragraph 0258 (account owners to achieve…award offers based on…inclusion in a universal transaction volume, efforts by merchants to attract consumer business), paragraph 0216 (transaction information may include…a universal account identifier corresponding to a universal account) and paragraph 0218 (digital coupon codes could be accrued into a member’s universal account for later use), paragraph 0200 (groups of universal account owners), paragraph 0241 (the use of a universal card i.e. universal account identifier… acquire incentives and awards), paragraph 0197 (account enrollment…. enroll a universal account owner in a membership program …if such action was required to obtain beneficial option offers)
and in response storing the targeted discount offer in the personal account lockers of each customer in the set of targeted customers, see at least paragraph 0258 (account owners achieve…award offers based on…inclusion in a universal transaction volume, efforts by merchants to attract consumer business), paragraph 0216 (transaction information may include…a universal account identifier corresponding to a universal account) and paragraph 0218 (digital coupon codes could be accrued into a member’s universal account for later use), paragraph 0237 (universal account record may be stored in a database table or memory), paragraph 0236 (universal server’s … database; database management system) and paragraph 0128 (authenticated accounts)
Iannacci (‘249) discloses receive requests to activate, each request comprising a request to activate, a respective universal identifier issued to the customer, and requests comprising respective universal identifiers see at least paragraph 0141 (request activation), paragraph 0301 (account activation request… includes relevant transaction and processing information such as …. universal account identifier…corresponding to a universal account owner), paragraph 0239 (activate and execute said program when… a universal account owner delivers the universal account identifier), paragraph 0299 (a universal account issued by a universal account issuer and which has a universal account identifier and an account owner), but fails to explicitly disclose activate the identifiers. However, Iannacci (‘249) teaches using universal identifier to acquire incentive and awards, see at least paragraph 0241 (the use of a universal card i.e. universal account identifier… acquire incentives and awards), paragraph 0197 (account enrollment…. enroll a universal account owner in a membership program …if such action was required to obtain beneficial option offers). Graves (‘216) teaches activate identifiers, see at least paragraph 0027 (an identifier may require activation before it may be redeemed or used by a customer), paragraph 0042 (identifier may be provided in an inactive state, in which case it must be activated before it can be used), paragraph 0043 (activation may be contingent upon confirmation signals between the merchant terminal and central processor) and paragraph 0018 (identifiers). Both Iannacci and Graves are directed toward performing activation. Therefore, the Examiner asserts that it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to modify Iannacci’s invention to include activate identifiers. One would have been motivated to do so for the benefit of reducing risk by requiring identifiers to be activated before they can be used.
As per Claims 8, 14
Iannacci (‘249) discloses wherein each universal identifier comprises a pre-existing identifier of the customer, see at least paragraph 0211 (consumer transaction request includes…universal account identifier), paragraph 0291 (a universal account identifier corresponding to a universal account issued by a universal account issuer)
Claims 2 and 19 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Iannacci (US 2002/0062249 A1) in view of Graves (US 2005/0278216 A1), as applied to claims 1, 10 and 18 above, and further in view of Cataldi (US 2006/0104426 A1).
As per Claims 2, 19
Iannacci (‘249) discloses receiving requests from said customers wherein the customers are customers of one or more entities that partner with an entity that manages said universal management server and universal identifiers, see at least paragraph 0319 (a user requests from the universal server), claim 12 of Iannacci (requests received from a plurality of identified users), paragraph 0213 (receives requests) , paragraph 0222 (partners; consumer, merchant, award supplier), paragraph 0281 (various business partner option structures), paragraph 0264 (any combination of entities and roles is possible), paragraph 0244 (universal server), paragraph 0241 (the use of a universal card i.e. universal account identifier… acquire incentives and awards),
but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the server receives said requests to activate their respective identifiers from respective servers operated by each of said partner entities. Cataldi (‘426) teaches server receives requests to activate their respective identifiers from respective servers operated by each of partner entities, see at least paragraph 0007 (stored value card has an associated identifier; a central processor receives a request to activate the card from a merchant terminal), paragraph 0031 (activate…cards), paragraph 0068 (merchants) and Fig 1. Both Iannacci and Cataldi are directed to activating a card/account. Therefore, the Examiner asserts that it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to modify Iannacci’s invention to include server receives requests to activate their respective identifiers from respective servers operated by each of partner entities. One would have been motivated to do so for the benefit of allowing requests to activate be received from merchant terminals.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Iannacci (US 2002/0062249 A1) in view of Graves (US 2005/0278216 A1) and Cataldi (US 2006/0104426 A1), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Official Notice.
As per Claim 3
Iannacci (‘249) discloses a plurality of universal identifiers, see at least paragraph 0222 (partners; consumer, merchant, award supplier), paragraph 0281 (various business partner option structures), paragraph 0264 (any combination of entities and roles is possible), paragraph 0244 (universal server),, see at least paragraph 0216 (a universal account identifier corresponding to a universal account), paragraph 0241 (the use of a universal card i.e. universal account identifier) and paragraph 2012 (identifiers as derived from universal account), but fails to explicitly disclose first entity allocating identifiers to each of said one or more partner entities, each partner entity issuing the identifiers allocated to it to its respective customers. Official Notice is taken that it was old and well known to allocate identifiers to one or more partner entities, each partner entity issuing identifiers allocated to its respective customers (For example, a central entity supplies multiple identifiers to business intermediaries for customer issuance). Therefore, the Examiner asserts that it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to modify Iannacci’s invention to include allocating identifiers to each of said one or more partner entities, each partner entity issuing the identifiers allocated to it to its respective customers. One would have been motivated to do so for the benefit of allowing faster customer enrollment.
As per Claim 4
Iannacci (‘249) discloses wherein one of said partner entities comprises a credit card issuer, a debit card issuer, a mobile telephone service provider, an automobile manufacturer, a bank or other service provider, see at least paragraph 0006 (credit card issuer), paragraph 0025 (banks), paragraph 0141 (payment providers, banks, credit card companies, telephone carriers)
Claim 5 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Iannacci (US 2002/0062249 A1) in view of Graves (US 2005/0278216 A1) and Cataldi (US 2006/0104426 A1) and Official Notice, as applied to claim2 above, and further in view of D’Antoni et al. (US 2003/0139996 A1).
As per Claim 5
Iannacci (‘249) discloses at one of said partner entities: hosting a web site to which a customer of the partner entity may log on whereby the personal account locker of the customer appears to be a part of the web site hosted by the partner entity
, paragraph 0397 (Internet sites, such as the World Wide Web site Amazon.com, now offer wireless network-based transport of account details and displays; deliver a screen display like screen to a recipient or account owner), paragraph 0112 (authenticates user account), but fails to explicitly disclose providing a link from the web site hosted by the partner entity to the personal account locker on the universal management server. D’Antoni (‘996) teaches providing a link from the web site hosted by the partner entity to the personal account locker on a universal management server, see at least paragraphs 0077-0078 (while viewing the Business Partner’s web site…the User will be presented with a link leading to the SX system; the User chooses the link, the login and password provided by the User will be forwarded; “members only” page) and paragraph 0080 (access rewards program information, general account information). Both Iannacci and D’Antoni are directed toward displaying account details. Therefore, the Examiner asserts that it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to modify Iannacci’s invention to include providing a link from the web site hosted by the partner entity to the personal account locker on the universal management server. One would have been motivated to do so for the benefit of permitting a customer to access centrally maintained account information through partner’s website.
Claims 11, 12 and 16 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Iannacci (US 2002/0062249 A1) in view of Graves (US 2005/0278216 A1), as applied to claims 1, 10 and 18 above, and further in view of Official Notice.
As per Claim 11
Iannacci (‘249) discloses wherein the server is operated by a first entity wherein the customers are customers of a different entity that partners with the first entity and a plurality of universal identifiers, see at least paragraph 0222 (partners; consumer, merchant, award supplier), paragraph 0281 (various business partner option structures), paragraph 0264 (any combination of entities and roles is possible), paragraph 0244 (universal server),, see at least paragraph 0216 (a universal account identifier corresponding to a universal account), paragraph 0241 (the use of a universal card i.e. universal account identifier) and paragraph 2012 (identifiers as derived from universal account), but fails to explicitly disclose first entity allocating identifiers to each of said one or more partner entities, each partner entity issuing the identifiers allocated to it to its respective customers. Official Notice is taken that it was old and well known to allocate identifiers to one or more partner entities, each partner entity issuing identifiers allocated to its respective customers (For example, a central entity supplies multiple identifiers to business intermediaries for customer issuance). Therefore, the Examiner asserts that it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to modify Iannacci’s invention to include allocating identifiers to each of said one or more partner entities, each partner entity issuing the identifiers allocated to it to its respective customers. One would have been motivated to do so for the benefit of allowing faster customer enrollment.
As per Claim 12
Iannacci (‘249) discloses respective universal identifiers and wherein the customer requests are received from the partner entity on behalf of the customers, see at least paragraph 0236 (activate… when a travel agent submits a universal account owner’s account identifier as payment), paragraph 0293 (credit card issuer submitting transactions… on behalf of their cardholder…universal accounts) paragraph 0141 (request activation), paragraph 0301 (account activation request… includes relevant transaction and processing information such as …. universal account identifier…corresponding to a universal account owner), paragraph 0239 (activate and execute said program when… a universal account owner delivers the universal account identifier), paragraph 0299 (a universal account issued by a universal account issuer and which has a universal account identifier and an account owner), but fails to explicitly disclose activate their respective identifiers. Graves (‘216) teaches activate respective identifiers, see at least paragraph 0027 (an identifier may require activation before it may be redeemed or used by a customer), paragraph 0042 (identifier may be provided in an inactive state, in which case it must be activated before it can be used), paragraph 0043 (activation may be contingent upon confirmation signals between the merchant terminal and central processor) and paragraph 0018 (identifiers). Both Iannacci and Graves are directed toward performing activation. Therefore, the Examiner asserts that it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to modify Iannacci’s invention to include activate respective identifers. One would have been motivated to do so for the benefit of reducing risk by requiring identifiers to be activated before they can be used.
As per Claim 16
Iannacci (‘249) discloses wherein one of said partner entities comprises a credit card issuer, a debit card issuer, a mobile telephone service provider, an automobile manufacturer, a bank or other service provider, see at least paragraph 0006 (credit card issuer), paragraph 0025 (banks), paragraph 0141 (payment providers, banks, credit card companies, telephone carriers)
Claims 17 is rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Iannacci (US 2002/0062249 A1) in view of Graves (US 2005/0278216 A1) and Official Notice, as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of D’Antoni et al. (US 2003/0139996 A1).
As per Claim 17
Iannacci (‘249) discloses wherein the universal management server is configured to communicate with a second server at said partner entity that hosts a web site to which a customer of the partner entity may log on, whereby the personal account locker of the customer appears to be a part of the web site hosted by the partner entity, paragraph 0397 (Internet sites, such as the World Wide Web site Amazon.com, now offer wireless network-based transport of account details and displays; deliver a screen display like screen to a recipient or account owner), paragraph 0112 (authenticates user account) and paragraph 0244 (communication systems), but fails to explicitly disclose providing a link from the web site hosted by the partner entity to the personal account locker of that customer on the universal management server. D’Antoni (‘996) teaches providing a link from the web site hosted by the partner entity to the personal account locker on a universal management server, see at least paragraphs 0077-0078 (while viewing the Business Partner’s web site…the User will be presented with a link leading to the SX system; the User chooses the link, the login and password provided by the User will be forwarded; “members only” page) and paragraph 0080 (access rewards program information, general account information). Both Iannacci and D’Antoni are directed toward displaying account details. Therefore, the Examiner asserts that it would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to modify Iannacci’s invention to include providing a link from the web site hosted by the partner entity to the personal account locker of that customer on the universal management server. One would have been motivated to do so for the benefit of permitting a customer to access centrally maintained account information through partner’s website.
Claims 6-7, 9, 13, 15, 20 and 21 have been searched and reviewed. Even though Iannacci (US 2002/0062249 A1) discloses a universal management server comprising a processor and a memory, receive requests to activate, each request comprising a request to activate, a respective universal identifier issued to the customer, and requests comprising respective universal identifiers; in response to each such request: allocating memory on the universal management server, the allocated memory defining a personal account locker for the customer, automatically enrolling the customer in the affinity systems of one or more merchants using the same universal identifier of the customer to enroll the customer in each merchant affinity system; receiving the universal identifier corresponding to each customer in a set of targeted customers who are enrolled in the affinity system of that merchant and in response storing the targeted discount offer in the personal account lockers of each customer in the set of targeted customers (see detailed rejections above), the rest of limitations recited in claims 6-7, 9, 13, 15, 20 and 21, considered as a whole including all the limitations in the independent claims, is not taught by the prior arts (effective filing date 7/27/2006) found in examiner’s search. Therefore, no rejection under 102/103 is made.
Related But Not Relied Upon
Relevant art cited but not applied: Walker et al. US 6,196,458 B1, directed to offering upsells to account holder.
Conclusion
/CHIA-YI LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3692