Drawings
The drawings were received on 12/16/2024. These drawings are accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8,10-11,14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Acero et al (US Publication No.: 20180330723).
Claim 1, Acero et al discloses
an automated speech recognizer configured to generate text transcriptions from an utterance (Fig. 7b, label speech input and speech as the utterance, label text representations as the plurality of text transcriptions outputted by label 730 (paragraph 219));
a natural language understanding subsystem configured to receive the text transcriptions (Fig. 7b, label 732 receives text representations.) and provide slot-intent models as output including a slot-intent model corresponding to each of at least two of the text transcriptions (Paragraph 302 discloses a plurality of candidate intents (slot-intent models) to the one or more candidate text representations. Depending on the text transcriptions (candidate text representations), there can be more than one candidate intent.),
wherein each slot intent model includes an intent and one or more slots having key-value pairs (Fig. 7b, label 732 receives text representations. Paragraph 302 discloses providing a plurality of candidate intents to the one or more candidate text representations. Each of the candidate text representation includes the actionable intent. Paragraphs 227-228 discloses the natural language processing includes ontology, which correlates the actionable intent with property. Paragraph 237 discloses the use of the ontology to select one or more candidate actionable intents from the set of candidate actionable intents. Paragraph 230 discloses the property as characteristics or key-value pairs or characteristics within the ontology. This indicates slot intent models as candidate actionable intents, wherein the candidate actionable intent includes property (key-value pairs).); and
a fulfillment manager configured to receive the slot-intent models and start a service based thereon (Fig. 7b, label 736 receives the plurality of candidate intents (paragraph 305) and performs a task or command or action based on the candidate intents.), wherein the fulfillment manager includes:
a fulfillment strategy data store that stores a plurality of fulfillment strategies (Paragraph 225 discloses task flow as a series of programmed actions.), wherein each fulfillment strategy of the plurality of fulfillment strategies describes rules for starting a service (paragraph 225 discloses a task flow is a series of programmed actions (fulfillment strategies) and steps that the digital assistant takes in order to perform the task.);
a strategy selector (Fig. 8, label 836) that selects, for at least two of the slot-intent models (Paragraph 227-228 discloses candidate actionable intents or slot-intent models.), a selected fulfillment strategies from the fulfillment strategies based on a given slot-intent model (Fig. 7b, label 736 or 836 of Fig. 8 selects the fulfillment strategies (candidate task flows) for each candidate user intent (candidate actionable intent or given slot-intent model). Paragraph 305 discloses “a plurality of candidate task flows are determined (e.g. using task flow processing module 736 or 836) from the plurality of candidate user intents of block 1112. Specifically, each candidate user intent of the plurality of candidate user intents is mapped to a corresponding candidate task flow of the plurality of candidate task flows.”),
wherein the selected fulfillment strategies are each paired with a corresponding one of the slot-intent models to generate pairings (Paragraph 305 discloses mapping each candidate user intent of plurality of candidate user intents (slot-intent models) to each candidate task flow of plurality of candidate task flows (fulfillment strategy). The pairings are considered candidate user intent or candidate actionable intent corresponding to candidate task flow.); and
an arbitrator (Fig. 8, label 838) configured to receive the pairings (Paragraph 273 discloses ranking pairings (intent to task flow mapping), which indicates reception of pairings. Paragraph 306 discloses 836 determines task flow scores. Paragraph 311 discloses 838 ranks the candidate task flows.), choose a chosen pairing of the pairings by ranking the selected fulfillment strategies based on a set of confidence scores (Paragraph 273 discloses the task flow manager maps each of the four candidate user intents to four respective candidate task flows. Task flow score is determined for each candidate task flow. Ranking of the candidate task flows is performed and the highest ranking candidate task flow is selected.), and initiate one of the services from the plurality of services associated with the chosen pairing, thereby resulting in an initiated service (Label 838 implements the selected candidate task flow, thereby initiating service.).
Claim 2, Acero et al discloses each set of confidence scores comprises at least one of: an ASR confidence score, a NLU confidence score, or a strategy selection confidence score. (Paragraph 310 discloses task flow score is based on speech recognition confidence score, intent confidence score, flow parameter score, etc.)
Claim 3, Acero et al discloses the automated speech recognizer is further configured to provide the ASR confidence score to the arbitrator (Paragraph 266 discloses “Natural language processing module 832 provides the four candidate user intents to task flow processing module 836. … In addition, the associated speech recognition confidence scores and intent confidence scores are provided to task flow processing module 836.” Paragraph 258 discloses STT 830 provides candidate text representations and associated speech recognition confidence scores to 832.).
Claim 4, Acero et al discloses the natural language understanding subsystem is further configured to provide the NLU confidence score to the arbitrator (Paragraph 258 discloses NLU determines associated intent confidence score for each candidate user intent. Paragraph 266 discloses the NLU provides the speech recognition confidence score and intent confidence score to the task flow processing module 836.).
Claim 5, Acero et al discloses the strategy selector is further configured to provide the strategy selection confidence score to the arbitrator (Paragraph 273 discloses task flow score or strategy selection confidence score is used in ranking, indicating the arbitrator 838 receives the score.).
Claim 6, Acero et al discloses the arbitrator is further configured to rank the selected fulfillment strategies by performing a multi-level confidence score analysis (Paragraph 273 discloses the task flow score, used to rank the task flows, is determined based on speech recognition confidence score, intent confidence score, etc.).
Claim 7, Acero et al discloses the multi-level confidence score analysis is based on a multi-level confidence score arbitration rules (Paragraph 273 discloses the task parameter score is determined for resolving one or more missing task parameters for the respective candidate task flow.).
Claim 8, Acero et al discloses at least one of the multi-level confidence score arbitration rules weights one or more members of the set of confidence scores more heavily than others (Paragraph 248 discloses prioritizing or weighting actionable intent of corresponding query or text representation where highest ranked actionable intent associated task flow is executed while a lower ranked actionable intent associated task flow is implemented when an error occurs in the highest ranked actionable intent.).
Claim 10, Acero et al discloses the pairings comprise slot-intent model fulfillment strategy (SIM-FS) pairings associated with the utterance (Paragraph 267 discloses candidate intents with corresponding task flows as pairings associated with the text representation or query.).
Claim 11, Acero et al discloses each set of confidence scores is associated with a respective selected fulfillment strategy (Paragraph 273 discloses task flow score is based on the speech recognition confidence score, intent confidence score, respective task parameter for each candidate task flow.).
Claim 14, Acero et al discloses the initiated service includes to playback a media content item associated with the chosen pairing via a media playback device (Fig. 7, label 738 access appropriate service model for a service and generate requests for service in accordance with the protocols and APIs required by the service according to the service model. Label 738 performs the service as per the task flow module 736. Fig. 4, label 400 shows a device as multimedia player device. Depending on the task flow from 736, the service or initiated service includes playback a media content item.).
Claim 15, Acero et al discloses the initiated service includes to recommend playback of a media content item associated with the chosen pairing. (Fig. 7, label 738 access appropriate service model for a service and generate requests for service in accordance with the protocols and APIs required by the service according to the service model. Label 738 performs the service as per the task flow module 736. Depending on the task flow from 736, the initiated service includes suggestion for playback of a media.).
Claim 16, Acero et al discloses
generating text transcriptions from an utterance (Fig. 7b, label speech input and speech as the utterance, label text representations as the plurality of text transcriptions outputted by label 730 (paragraph 219));
generating slot-intent models corresponding to at least two of the text transcriptions (Paragraph 302 discloses a plurality of candidate intents (slot-intent models) to the one or more candidate text representations. Depending on the text transcriptions (candidate text representations), there can be more than one candidate intent.),
each slot intent model includes an intent and one or more slots having key-value pairs (Fig. 7b, label 732 receives text representations. Paragraph 302 discloses providing a plurality of candidate intents to the one or more candidate text representations. Each of the candidate text representation includes the actionable intent. Paragraphs 227-228 discloses the natural language processing includes ontology, which correlates the actionable intent with property. Paragraph 237 discloses the use of the ontology to select one or more candidate actionable intents from the set of candidate actionable intents. Paragraph 230 discloses the property as characteristics or key-value pairs or characteristics within the ontology. This indicates slot intent models as candidate actionable intents, wherein the candidate actionable intent includes property (key-value pairs).); and
starting a service based thereon (Fig. 7b, label 736 receives the plurality of candidate intents (paragraph 305) and performs a task or command or action based on the candidate intents.) including:
selecting a fulfillment strategy from the fulfillment strategies (Fig. 7b, label 736 or 836 of Fig. 8 selects the fulfillment strategies (candidate task flows) for each candidate user intent (candidate actionable intent or given slot-intent model). Paragraph 305 discloses “a plurality of candidate task flows are determined (e.g. using task flow processing module 736 or 836) from the plurality of candidate user intents of block 1112. Specifically, each candidate user intent of the plurality of candidate user intents is mapped to a corresponding candidate task flow of the plurality of candidate task flows.”) for at least two of the slot-intent models (Paragraph 227-228 discloses candidate actionable intents or slot-intent models.),
the selected fulfillment strategies are each being paired with a corresponding one of the slot-intent models to generate pairings (Paragraph 305 discloses mapping each candidate user intent of plurality of candidate user intents (slot-intent models) to each candidate task flow of plurality of candidate task flows (fulfillment strategy). The pairings are considered candidate user intent or candidate actionable intent corresponding to candidate task flow.), each fulfilment strategy describes rules for starting one of a plurality of services (paragraph 225 discloses a task flow is a series of programmed actions (fulfillment strategies) and steps that the digital assistant takes in order to perform the task.); and
choosing a chosen pairing of the pairings by ranking the selected fulfillment strategies based on a set of confidence scores (Paragraph 273 discloses the task flow manager maps each of the four candidate user intents to four respective candidate task flows. Task flow score is determined for each candidate task flow. Ranking of the candidate task flows is performed and the highest ranking candidate task flow is selected. Paragraph 306 discloses 836 determines task flow scores. Paragraph 311 discloses 838 ranks the candidate task flows.); and
initiating the service associated with the chosen pairing, thereby resulting in an initiated service (Label 838 implements the selected candidate task flow, thereby initiating service.).
Claim 17, Acero et al discloses each set of confidence scores comprises at least one of: an ASR confidence score, a NLU confidence score, or a strategy selection confidence score. (Paragraph 310 discloses task flow score is based on speech recognition confidence score, intent confidence score, flow parameter score, etc.)
Claim 18, Acero et al discloses the automated speech recognizer is further configured to provide the ASR confidence score to the arbitrator (Paragraph 266 discloses “Natural language processing module 832 provides the four candidate user intents to task flow processing module 836. … In addition, the associated speech recognition confidence scores and intent confidence scores are provided to task flow processing module 836.” Paragraph 258 discloses STT 830 provides candidate text representations and associated speech recognition confidence scores to 832.).
Claim 19, Acero et al discloses the natural language understanding subsystem is further configured to provide the NLU confidence score to the arbitrator (Paragraph 258 discloses NLU determines associated intent confidence score for each candidate user intent. Paragraph 266 discloses the NLU provides the speech recognition confidence score and intent confidence score to the task flow processing module 836.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12,13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Acero et al (US Publication No.: 20180330723) in view of Vora et al (US Publication No.: 20180300028).
Claim 12, Acero et al discloses ranking the selected fulfillment strategies (Paragraph 273), but fails to disclose ranking is performed using a machine learned ranking approach.
Vora et al discloses ranking the plurality of actions for the particular channel for the particular user based at least in part on a machine learning model. (paragraph 52, Fig. 4, label 406) It would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the application to simply substitute one well known element of ranking actions or task flows as disclosed by Acero et al with another well-known element of ranking actions using machine learning model as disclosed by Vora et al so to yield predictable results of ranking actions and selecting the best action to perform to satisfy the user’s desire, hence improving the user’s experience with digital assistants.
Claim 13, Acero et al discloses the machine learned ranking approach comprises at least one of: LambdaMart, LamdaRank or RankNet. (Paragraph 28 discloses “machine learning techniques can be used to rank actions and other items”. This indicates machine learning techniques are used for ranking actions, wherein the recited limitation lists types of machine learning techniques or approaches that can be used for ranking actions.).
Claim(s) 9,20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Acero et al (US Publication No.: 20180330723) in view of Evermann (US Publication No.: 20140365209).
Claim 9, Acero et al discloses at least one of the multi-level confidence score arbitration rules calculates a sum of the confidence scores associated with each pairing and compares the respective sums (Paragraph 273 discloses task flow score is based on the speech recognition score, intent confidence score and task parameter score or any combination thereof. Any combination thereof indicates a summation of confidence scores for each task flow to candidate user intent. Ranking of such task flow scores is determined.).
Although Acero et al discloses a combination of speech recognition score, intent confidence score and task parameter score as the task flow score (paragraph 273), Acero et al fails to disclose determining confidence score via a calculated summation.
Everman discloses a composite confidence score is a combination of respective speech recognition confidence score and respective intent deduction score. (Paragraph 165) It would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the application to substituted one well known element of confidence score determination as disclosed by Acero et al with another well-known element of confidence score determination as disclosed by Everman so to yield predictable results of generating confidence score.
Claim 20, Acero et al discloses at least one of the multi-level confidence score arbitration rules calculates a sum of the confidence scores associated with each pairing and compares the respective sums (Paragraph 273 discloses task flow score is based on the speech recognition score, intent confidence score and task parameter score or any combination thereof. Any combination thereof indicates a summation of confidence scores for each task flow to candidate user intent. Ranking of such task flow scores is determined.).
Although Acero et al discloses a combination of speech recognition score, intent confidence score and task parameter score as the task flow score (paragraph 273), Acero et al fails to disclose determining confidence score via a calculated summation.
Everman discloses a composite confidence score is a combination of respective speech recognition confidence score and respective intent deduction score. (Paragraph 165) It would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the application to substituted one well known element of confidence score determination as disclosed by Acero et al with another well-known element of confidence score determination as disclosed by Everman so to yield predictable results of generating confidence score, hence improving the digital assistant’s ability to perform actions satisfying the user’s query.
Double Patenting
Claim 1,16 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1,3,8,9,11 of U.S. Patent No. 11087749 in view of Acero et al (US Publication No.: 20180330723).
The recited claimed language of claim 1,16 broadly anticipates the claimed invention of claims 1,3,8,9,11 of the patent. Although the recited invention of the parent does not recite the “arbitrator configured to receive the pairings, choose a chosen pairing of the pairings by ranking the selected fulfillment strategies based on a set of confidence scores”, Acero et al discloses an arbitrator (Fig. 8, label 838) configured to receive the pairings (Paragraph 273 discloses ranking pairings (intent to task flow mapping), which indicates reception of pairings. Paragraph 306 discloses 836 determines task flow scores. Paragraph 311 discloses 838 ranks the candidate task flows.), choose a chosen pairing of the pairings by ranking the selected fulfillment strategies based on a set of confidence scores (Paragraph 273 discloses the task flow manager maps each of the four candidate user intents to four respective candidate task flows. Task flow score is determined for each candidate task flow. Ranking of the candidate task flows is performed and the highest ranking candidate task flow is selected.), and initiate one of the services from the plurality of services associated with the chosen pairing, thereby resulting in an initiated service (Label 838 implements the selected candidate task flow, thereby initiating service.).
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the parent with Acero et al’s arbitrator so to improve the digital assistant’s ability to initiate services or actions that would satisfy the user’s desire.
Claims 1,14,15,16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16,17,18,26 of U.S. Patent No. 12183331 in view of Acero et al (US Publication No.: 20180330723.
The recited claimed language of claims 1,16 this application broadly anticipates the recited claimed invention of the parent’s claims 16,26 respectively, but the parent fails to recite “arbitrator configured to receive the pairings, choose a chosen pairing of the pairings by ranking the selected fulfillment strategies based on a set of confidence scores”.
Acero et al discloses an arbitrator (Fig. 8, label 838) configured to receive the pairings (Paragraph 273 discloses ranking pairings (intent to task flow mapping), which indicates reception of pairings. Paragraph 306 discloses 836 determines task flow scores. Paragraph 311 discloses 838 ranks the candidate task flows.), choose a chosen pairing of the pairings by ranking the selected fulfillment strategies based on a set of confidence scores (Paragraph 273 discloses the task flow manager maps each of the four candidate user intents to four respective candidate task flows. Task flow score is determined for each candidate task flow. Ranking of the candidate task flows is performed and the highest ranking candidate task flow is selected.), and initiate one of the services from the plurality of services associated with the chosen pairing, thereby resulting in an initiated service (Label 838 implements the selected candidate task flow, thereby initiating service.).
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the parent with Acero et al’s arbitrator so to improve the digital assistant’s ability to initiate services or actions that would satisfy the user’s desire.
Claim 14,15 recites similar language to parent’s claim 17,18.
Conclusion
/LINDA WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2655