DETAILED ACTION
Summary
Claims 1-15 are pending in the application. Claim 5 is rejected under 35 USC 112(b). Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 USC 101. Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 USC 103. Claims 1-15 are rejected under non-statutory double patenting.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 5/15/2025 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “light receiving element” in claim 1.
The claim limitations will be interpreted as follows:
The “light receiving element” will be interpreted as a “light receiving sensor”, and equivalents thereof, consistent with [0063] of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “near the eyes” in claim 5 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “near the eyes” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear what is considered “near” vs “far” from the eyes. Clarification is required. For the purposes of examination, the light receiving element will be considered “near the eyes” if they are on the face of the user.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 4-5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 4-5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Claim 4 recites “wherein the plurality of the light-receiving elements are placed on different positions on the user face”. This requires that the light receiving are on a user face, which means that the user’s face (i.e. the human body) is a part of the apparatus. The Examiner recommends amending the claim to include “configured to” language to make it clear the human body is not encompassed by the claim.
Claim 5 recites “wherein at least one of the plurality of light-receiving elements is positioned on the glabella of the user face, near the eyes of the user face, or on the cheeks of the user face”. This requires that the light receiving are on a user face, which means that the user’s face (i.e. the human body) is a part of the apparatus. The Examiner recommends amending the claim to include “configured to” language to make it clear the human body is not encompassed by the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (U.S PGPub 2018/0107275 A1) in view of Satoi et el. (U.S PGPub 2017/0231544 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Chen teaches an information processing apparatus (Abstract), comprising:
a light source configured to emit light to a user face [0020]-[0021];
light-receiving element configured to receive reflection light of the light emitted to the user face [0020]-[0021]; and
a processor [0037] configured to:
generate both facial-expression analysis information [0018] based on the reflection light received by the light-receiving element [0020].
While Chen teaches the sensors can be used for physiological monitoring [0077], Chen is silent regarding generating bioanalysis information.
Satoi teaches a system for measuring blood flow in an area (Abstract). This system emits light to a face (Fig. 1A, 110) [0092], receives light reflected from the face [0096], and generates bioanalysis information [0075]+[0092].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Chen to generate bioanalysis information, as taught by Satoi, because this allows for a more comfortable method for measuring vital signs at home, thereby improving the ability to care for a patient, as recognized by Satoi [0005].
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of references teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Chen further teaches further comprising: a plurality of light sources that include the light source (Fig. 2, 150) [0033]+[0039], and a plurality of light-receiving elements that include the light-receiving element (Fig. 2, 150) [0033]+[0039].
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of references teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Chen further teaches wherein each of the plurality of the light-receiving elements is a same type of sensor (Fig. 2, 150) [0033] (each of the light receiving elements can be a photodetector (light sensor)).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of references teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Chen further teaches wherein the plurality of the light-receiving elements are placed on different positions on the user face (Fig. 2, 150) [0033].
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of references teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Chen further teaches wherein at least one of the plurality of light-receiving elements is positioned on the glabella of the user face, near the eyes of the user face, or on the cheeks of the user face (Fig. 2, 150)+ (Fig. 5, 520) [0033] (the light receiving elements are near the eyes and would be on the cheeks).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of references teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Chen further teaches wherein the facial-expression analysis information is based on a stored learning model [0026]+[0072].
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of references teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Chen further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to execute a facial-expression analysis process based on the stored learning model [0026]+[0047]+[0072].
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of reference teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Chen further teaches wherein the stored learning model includes corresponding data of facial-expression labels and feature data of skin-surface reflection-light signals [0020]+[0070]+[0072],
the skin-surface reflection-light signals are associated with skin-surface movements [0020], and
the facial-expression labels correspond to a plurality of different facial expressions [0026]+[0070] (while the example is of EMG sensor, [0070]+[0072] makes clear the machine learning algorithm can be used with the optical sensor signals, which are then correlated with the different facial expressions).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of references teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Chen fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to generate the bioanalysis information based on a signal component that reflects periodic fluctuations, and the signal component is extracted from the reflection light.
Satoi further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to generate the bioanalysis information based on a signal component that reflects periodic fluctuations [0177]-[0178], and the signal component is extracted from the reflection light [0177].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combined system to generate bioanalysis information, as taught by Satoi, because this allows for a more comfortable method for measuring vital signs at home, thereby improving the ability to care for a patient, as recognized by Satoi [0005].
Regarding Claim 13, Chen teaches an information processing method (Abstract), comprising:
emitting, by a light source, light to a user face [0020]-[0021];
receiving, by a light-receiving element, reflection light based on the light emitted to the user face [0020]-[0021];
generating, by a processor [0037], both facial-expression analysis information [0018] based on the reflection light received by the light-receiving element [0020].
While Chen teaches the sensors can be used for physiological monitoring [0077], Chen is silent regarding generating bioanalysis information.
Satoi teaches a system for measuring blood flow in an area (Abstract). This system emits light to a face (Fig. 1A, 110) [0092], receives light reflected from the face [0096], and generates bioanalysis information [0075]+[0092].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Chen to generate bioanalysis information, as taught by Satoi, because this allows for a more comfortable method for measuring vital signs at home, thereby improving the ability to care for a patient, as recognized by Satoi [0005].
Regarding Claim 14, Chen teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon (Fig. 6, 630), computer executable instructions, which when executed by a computer, cause the computer to execute operations [0037], the operations comprising:
emitting light to a user face [0020]-[0021];
receiving reflection light based on the light emitted to the user face [0020]-[0021];
generating both facial-expression analysis information [0018] based on the reflection light [0020].
While Chen teaches the sensors can be used for physiological monitoring [0077], Chen is silent regarding generating bioanalysis information.
Satoi teaches a system for measuring blood flow in an area (Abstract). This system emits light to a face (Fig. 1A, 110) [0092], receives light reflected from the face [0096], and generates bioanalysis information [0075]+[0092].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Chen to generate bioanalysis information, as taught by Satoi, because this allows for a more comfortable method for measuring vital signs at home, thereby improving the ability to care for a patient, as recognized by Satoi [0005].
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of references teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Chen further teaches wherein the reflection light received by the light-receiving element is the light emitted to a part of the user face [0020]+[0033].
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Satoi as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Lee et al (U.S PGPub 2018/0199838 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of references teaches the invention substantially as claimed. The combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to execute a bioanalysis process based on the stored learning model.
Lee teaches a method for optical heart tracking (Abstract). This system uses a stored learning model to execute a bioanalysis process [0004]-[0005].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use a learning model to execute a bioanalysis process, as taught by Lee, because this improves the signal to noise ratio of the process, thereby generating more accurate data, as recognized by Lee [0036].
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of references teaches the invention substantially as claimed. Chen fails to explicitly teach the subepidermal reflection-light signals correspond to a plurality of different biological states, and the feature data of the subepidermal reflection-light signals reflect subepidermal states.
Satoi further teaches the subepidermal reflection-light signals correspond to a plurality of different biological states [0088]-[0089], and the feature data of the subepidermal reflection-light signals reflect subepidermal states [0106]+[0112]-[0113].
Satoi is silent regarding wherein the stored learning model includes corresponding data of feature data of subepidermal reflection-light signals.
Lee further teaches a stored learning model which includes corresponding data feature data of subepidermal reflection-light signals [0046]-[0047].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use a learning model to execute a bioanalysis process, as taught by Lee, because this improves the signal to noise ratio of the process, thereby generating more accurate data, as recognized by Lee [0036].
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of Satoi and Lee as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Tzvieli et al. (U.S PGPub 2018/0092574 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of references teaches the invention. The combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to execute an affect analysis process based on the stored learning model, the stored learning model is a model in which feature data that corresponds to a plurality of different affect states is associated, and the feature data includes feature data of facial-expression information and feature data of bioinformation.
Tzvieli teaches a system for determining a physiological response (Abstract). This system execute an affect analysis process based on the stored learning model [0099]+[0101], the stored learning model is a model in which feature data that corresponds to a plurality of different affect states is associated [0098]-[0099]+[0101], and the feature data includes feature data of facial-expression information [0101] and feature data of bioinformation [0098]+[0101] (the heart rate or respiration can be used as the physiological response ROI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the combined system use facial expression information and bioinformation to determine an affect state, as taught by Tzvieli, because using multiple pieces of information increases the accuracy of the determination, as recognized by Tzvieli [0101].
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 6-10, and 13-15 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3-6, and 18-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,169,929 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the reasons set forth below.
Regarding Claim 1, the Patent teaches an information processing apparatus, comprising: (Claim 1, Col 37, line 26)
a light source configured to emit light to a user face; (Claim 1, Col 37, lines 27-28)
a light-receiving element configured to receive reflection light of the light emitted to the user face; and (Claim 1, Col 37, lines 29-31)
a processor configured to: (Claim 1, Col 37, lines 34-36)
generate both facial-expression analysis information and bioanalysis information based on the reflection light received by the light-receiving element (Claim 1, Col 37, lines 41-51).
Regarding Claim 6, the Patent teaches the invention as claimed. The Patent further teaches wherein the facial-expression analysis information is based on a stored learning model (Claim 3).
Regarding Claim 7, the Patent teaches the invention as claimed. The Patent further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to execute a facial-expression analysis process based on the stored learning model (Claim 3).
Regarding Claim 8, the Patent teaches the invention as claimed. The Patent further teaches wherein the stored learning model includes corresponding data of facial-expression labels and feature data of skin-surface reflection-light signals, the skin-surface reflection-light signals are associated with skin-surface movements, and the facial-expression labels correspond to a plurality of different facial expressions (Claim 4).
Regarding Claim 9, the Patent teaches the invention as claimed. The Patent further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to execute a bioanalysis process based on the stored learning model (Claim 5).
Regarding Claim 10, the Patent teaches the invention as claimed. The Patent further teaches wherein the stored learning model includes corresponding data of feature data of subepidermal reflection-light signals, the subepidermal reflection-light signals correspond to a plurality of different biological states, and the feature data of the subepidermal reflection-light signals reflect subepidermal states (Claim 6).
Regarding Claim 13, the Patent teaches an information processing method, comprising: (Claim 18, Col 39, line 42)
emitting, by a light source, light to a user face; (Claim 18, Col 39, line 43)
receiving, by a light-receiving element, reflection light based on the light emitted to the user face; (Claim 18, Col 39, lines 44-45)
generating, by a processor, both facial-expression analysis information and bioanalysis information based on the reflection light received by the light-receiving element (Claim 18, Col 39-40, lines 46-23).
Regarding Claim 14, the Patent teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium having stored thereon, computer executable instructions, which when executed by a computer, cause the computer to execute operations, the operations comprising: (Claim 19, Col 40, lines 24-27)
emitting light to a user face; receiving reflection light based on the light emitted to the user face; (Claim 19, Col 40, line 28)
generating both facial-expression analysis information and bioanalysis information based on the reflection light (Claim 19, Col 40, lines 31-46).
Regarding Claim 15, the Patent teaches the invention as claimed. The Patent further teaches wherein the reflection light received by the light-receiving element is the light emitted to a part of the user face (Claim 1, Col 37, lines 30-31).
Claims 2-5 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,169,929 B2 in view of Chen et al.
Regarding Claim 2, the Patent teaches the invention substantially as claimed. The Patent fails to explicitly teach a plurality of light sources that include the light source, and a plurality of light-receiving elements that include the light-receiving element
Chen teaches a system for detecting facial expressions (Abstract). This system includes a plurality of light sources that include the light source (Fig. 2, 150) [0033]+[0039], and
a plurality of light-receiving elements that include the light-receiving element (Fig. 2, 150) [0033]+[0039].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the light emitting section and the light receiving section of the Patent with a plurality of light sources and light receiving elements, as taught by Chen, as the substitution for one known method of emitting and receiving light with another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and the results of using a plurality of sources/receiving elements are reasonably predictable.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of references teaches the invention substantially as claimed. The Patent fails to explicitly teach wherein each of the plurality of the light-receiving elements is a same type of sensor.
Chen further teaches wherein each of the plurality of the light-receiving elements is a same type of sensor (Fig. 2, 150) [0033] (each of the light receiving elements can be a photodetector (light sensor)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the plurality of light receiving elements with light receiving elements that are all the same sensor, as taught by Chen, as the substitution for one known sensor configuration with another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and the results of using all the same sensor are reasonably predictable.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of references teaches the invention substantially as claimed. The Patent fails to explicitly teach wherein the plurality of the light-receiving elements are placed on different positions on the user face.
Chen further teaches wherein the plurality of the light-receiving elements are placed on different positions on the user face (Fig. 2, 150) [0033].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the location of the light receiving elements with locations so that they are in different positions on the user face, as taught by Chen, as the substitution for one known sensor configuration with another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and the results of using all the sensors in different positions are reasonably predictable.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of references teaches the invention substantially as claimed. The Patent fails to explicitly teach wherein at least one of the plurality of light-receiving elements is positioned on the glabella of the user face, near the eyes of the user face, or on the cheeks of the user face.
Chen further teaches wherein at least one of the plurality of light-receiving elements is positioned on the glabella of the user face, near the eyes of the user face, or on the cheeks of the user face (Fig. 2, 150)+ (Fig. 5, 520) [0033] (the light receiving elements are near the eyes and would be on the cheeks).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to substitute the location of the light receiving elements with locations so that they are in near the eyes, as taught by Chen, as the substitution for one known sensor configuration with another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill would have been able to carry out such a substitution, and the results of using the sensors near the eyes are reasonably predictable.
Claim 11 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,169,929 B2 in view of Tzvieli et al.
Regarding Claim 11, the Patent teaches the invention. The Patent fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to execute an affect analysis process based on the stored learning model, the stored learning model is a model in which feature data that corresponds to a plurality of different affect states is associated, and the feature data includes feature data of facial-expression information and feature data of bioinformation.
Tzvieli teaches a system for determining a physiological response (Abstract). This system execute an affect analysis process based on the stored learning model [0099]+[0101], the stored learning model is a model in which feature data that corresponds to a plurality of different affect states is associated [0098]-[0099]+[0101], and the feature data includes feature data of facial-expression information [0101] and feature data of bioinformation [0098]+[0101] (the heart rate or respiration can be used as the physiological response ROI).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Patent to use facial expression information and bioinformation to determine an affect state, as taught by Tzvieli, because using multiple pieces of information increases the accuracy of the determination, as recognized by Tzvieli [0101].
Claim 12 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,169,929 B2 in view of Satoi et al.
Regarding Claim 12, the Patent teaches the invention substantially as claimed. The Patent fails to explicitly teach wherein the processor is further configured to generate the bioanalysis information based on a signal component that reflects periodic fluctuations, and the signal component is extracted from the reflection light.
Satoi further teaches wherein the processor is further configured to generate the bioanalysis information based on a signal component that reflects periodic fluctuations [0177]-[0178], and the signal component is extracted from the reflection light [0177].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the Patent to generate bioanalysis information, as taught by Satoi, because this allows for a more comfortable method for measuring vital signs at home, thereby improving the ability to care for a patient, as recognized by Satoi [0005].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sohn et al. (U.S PGPub 2014/0022370 A1), which teaches using a learned model for determining facial expressions.
Silawan et al. (U.S PGPub 2017/0105662 A1), which uses both physiological and non-physiological information to determine a person’s emotion.
Zhang et al. (U.S PGPub 2020/0156648 A1), which extracts both facial expression information and bioinformation from reflected light.
/SEAN D MATTSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3798