DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The accompanying information disclosure statement (IDS) submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 2, 4, 10-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “long-run hypoxia burden score” positively recited in claims 2, 4, 10, 12, and 20 is a relative term which renders the claim(s) indefinite. The term “long-run” is not defined by the claim(s), the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The scope of the claim(s) is indeterminate with respect to magnitude, frequency, and/or duration of score that may be expressly, implicitly, inherently, and/or inferentially required and/or excluded to be considered “long-run”. In light of the instant Specification one of ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised of the metes and bounds of the claimed invention given the infinite number of possibilities that may be considered “long-run”. Depending claims 11 and 13-17 inherit and do not remedy the indefiniteness.
The term “long-run hypoxia burden score” positively recited in claims 2, 4, 10, 12, and 20 is a relative term which renders the claim(s) indefinite. The term “burden” is not defined by the claim(s), the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The scope of the claim(s) is indeterminate with respect to magnitude, frequency, duration and/or degree of problem/issue that may be expressly, implicitly, inherently, and/or inferentially required and/or excluded to be considered “burden”. In light of the instant Specification one of ordinary skill in the art would not be apprised of the metes and bounds of the claimed invention given the infinite number of possibilities that may be considered “burden”. Depending claims 11 and 13-17 inherit and do not remedy the indefiniteness.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more, wherein the abstract idea is a mental process of determining events and scores from sleep and respiratory data.
For independent claim 18, the claim(s) recite(s) a receiving and identifying sleep sessions from sleep data, determining from the data respiratory events, event-metrics, and hypoxia burden scores.
As broadly as claimed these steps may be reasonably considered as the judicial exception of a mental process performable within the human mind, including by observation, evaluation, judgement and opinion forming, or by a human using pen and paper (see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2) subsection III). For example, at least, these limitations are nothing more than a medical professional capturing data, printing it out, and using the data to mentally extract, classify or learn from data features to determine events and metrics from sleep data.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the process steps as broadly as claimed are not tied to nor required to be performed, executed, or programmed on a special purpose computer. Conversely, the determinations are merely processed on a generic computing system with processor and memory that do not integrate into a practical application and are considered additional elements.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the preliminary steps using a computing system for receiving and identifying sleep sessions from sleep data, determining from the data respiratory events, event-metrics, and hypoxia burden scores are well-known, routine and conventional computing functionalities amounting to insignificant data gathering and computation as pre-solution activity.
Depending claims 19-20 inherit and do not remedy the non-statutory deficiency noted above. Despite reciting a means for sensing pressure and/or further score generation, these additional limitations do not integrate into a practical application nor do they add additional elements amounting to significantly more because special purpose computing is not required and means for sensing pressure are well-known, routine and conventional, thus not amounting to significantly more as additional element(s). Thus, claims 19-20 are non-statutory as directed to an abstract idea as iterated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Siyahjani et al. (US 2022/0395233 A1, hereinafter Siyahjani).
For claim 1, Siyahjani discloses a system (Figs 1-3, 9 & 18-20) ([0027-0050, 0122-0124 & 0166-0207]), comprising inter alia:
a bed (100) having a mattress (112) (Figs 1-3, 9 & 18-20) ([0027-0050, 0122-0124 & 0166-0207]);
at least one pressure sensor (one of 902, 904, 906, or 908) (Figs 1-3, 9 & 18-20) ([0027-0050, 0122-0124 & 0166-0207]) configured to:
sense pressure applied to the bed by a user on the bed (Figs 1-3, 9 & 18-20) ([0027-0050, 0122-0124 & 0166-0207]); and
transmit, to a computing system (1800) (Figs 1-3, 9 & 18-20) ([0027-0050, 0122-0124 & 0166-0207]), a pressure stream from the sensing of the pressure applied to the bed (Figs 1-3, 9 & 18-20) ([0027-0050, 0122-0124 & 0166-0207]);
at least one force sensor (a different one of 902, 904, 906, or 908) ([0042, 0124]) (Figs 1-3, 9 & 18-20) ([0027-0050, 0122-0124 & 0166-0207]) configured to:
sense force applied to the bed by the user (Figs 1-3, 9 & 18-20) ([0027-0050, 0122-0124 & 0166-0207]); and
transmit, to the computing system, a force stream from the sensing of the force applied to the bed (Figs 1-3, 9 & 18-20) ([0027-0050, 0122-0124 & 0166-0207]);
the computing system comprising at least one processor (1802) and memory (1804) (Figs 1-3, 9 & 18-20) ([0027-0050, 0122-0124 & 0166-0207]), the computing system configured to:
receive the pressure stream (Figs 1-3, 9 & 18-20) ([0027-0050, 0122-0124 & 0166-0207]);
receive the force stream (Figs 1-3, 9 & 18-20) ([0027-0050, 0122-0124 & 0166-0207]);
identify one or more sleep sessions for the user sleeping on the bed using at least one of the group consisting of i) the pressure stream, and ii) the force stream (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]);
for each of the sleep sessions, determine occurrences of one or more respiratory-events (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]);
for each of the respiratory-events, determine a plurality of event-metrics using the pressure stream and the force stream (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]); and
for each of the sleep sessions, determine a single-session hypoxia-burden score using the plurality of event-metrics for respiratory-events of the sleep session (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]).
For claim 2, Siyahjani discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the computing system is further configured to generate a long-run hypoxia burden score for the user from a plurality of single-session hypoxia-burden scores from a plurality of the sleep sessions (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]).
For claim 3, Siyahjani discloses the system of claim 1, wherein:
the plurality of event-metrics for a respiratory-event comprises at least one of the group consisting of i) an area under a curve of inter-beat interval (IBI) over a time period after the respiratory-event, ii) a minimum (IBI) value during the time period, iii) an area under a curve of skin temperature over the time period, and iv) a minimum skin temperature value during the time period (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]); and
the single-session hypoxia-burden score is created from at least one of the group consisting of i) a sum of all area under the curve of inter-beat interval (IBI) over the time periods of the sleep session, divided by a length of the sleep session, ii) a mean value across all minimum IBI values of the sleep session, iii) a sum of all area under the curve of skin temperature over the time periods of the sleep session, divided by the length of the sleep session, and iv) a mean value across all minimum skin temperature values of the sleep session (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]).
For claim 4, Siyahjani discloses the system of claim 3, wherein: the computing system is further configured to generate a long-run hypoxia burden score for the user from a plurality of single-session hypoxia-burden scores (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]); and the long-run hypoxia burden score comprises at least one of the group consisting of i) a time-series of single-session hypoxia-burden scores, and ii) a trend equation of single-session hypoxia-burden scores (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]).
For claim 5, Siyahjani discloses the system of claim 1, wherein: the pressure sensor senses air pressure in a fluid bladder (114A,114B) of the bed the force sensor senses force transmitted through a rigid frame of the bed (Figs 1-3, 9 & 18-20) ([0027-0050, 0122-0124 & 0166-0207]).
For claim 6, Siyahjani discloses the system of claim 1, wherein: the respiratory-events are apnea-hypoxia events (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]); and the computer system is further configured to determine the occurrences of the one or more respiratory-events by submitting, to a machine-learning classifier (2010) (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]), input from the pressure stream and receive, as output, the determined occurrences of the one or more respiratory-events (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]).
For claim 7, Siyahjani discloses the system of claim 1, wherein: the plurality of event-metrics comprises a measure of skin temperature of the user (via another different one of 902, 904, 906, or 908) ([0042, 0124]) (Figs 1-3, 9 & 18-20) ([0027-0050, 0122-0124 & 0166-0207]); and the computer system is further configured to determine the skin temperature of the user by determining a weighted average of various sensor readings of a temperature stream received from a temperature sensor (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]).
For claim 8, Siyahjani discloses the system of claim 1, wherein: the plurality of event-metrics comprises a measure of cardiac action of the user (2014); and the computer system is further configured to determine cardiac action of the user by filtering, at a first frequency, at least one of the group consisting of i) the pressure stream and ii) the force stream (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]).
For claim 9, Siyahjani discloses the system of claim 8, wherein: the plurality of event-metrics comprises a measure of respiratory action of the user (2014); and the computer system is further configured to determine cardiac action of the user by filtering, at a first frequency, at least one of the group consisting of i) the pressure stream and ii) the force stream (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]).
For claim 10, Siyahjani discloses a system (Figs 1-3, 9 & 18-20) ([0027-0050, 0122-0124 & 0166-0207]), comprising inter alia:
a bed (100) having a mattress (112) (Figs 1-3, 9 & 18-20) ([0027-0050, 0122-0124 & 0166-0207]);
at least one pressure sensor (one of 902, 904, 906, or 908) (Figs 1-3, 9 & 18-20) ([0027-0050, 0122-0124 & 0166-0207]) configured to:
sense pressure applied to the bed by a user on the bed (one of 902, 904, 906, or 908) (Figs 1-3, 9 & 18-20) ([0027-0050, 0122-0124 & 0166-0207]); and
transmit, to a computing system (1800) (one of 902, 904, 906, or 908) (Figs 1-3, 9 & 18-20) ([0027-0050, 0122-0124 & 0166-0207]), a pressure stream from the sensing of the pressure applied to the bed (one of 902, 904, 906, or 908) (Figs 1-3, 9 & 18-20) ([0027-0050, 0122-0124 & 0166-0207]);
at least one force sensor (a different one of 902, 904, 906, or 908) ([0042, 0124]) (Figs 1-3, 9 & 18-20) ([0027-0050, 0122-0124 & 0166-0207]) configured to:
sense force applied to the bed by the user (Figs 1-3, 9 & 18-20) ([0027-0050, 0122-0124 & 0166-0207]); and
transmit, to the computing system, a force stream from the sensing of the force applied to the bed (Figs 1-3, 9 & 18-20) ([0027-0050, 0122-0124 & 0166-0207]);
the computing system comprising at least one processor (1802) and memory (1804) (Figs 1-3, 9 & 18-20) ([0027-0050, 0122-0124 & 0166-0207]), the computing system configured to:
receive the pressure stream (Figs 1-3, 9 & 18-20) ([0027-0050, 0122-0124 & 0166-0207]);
receive the force stream (Figs 1-3, 9 & 18-20) ([0027-0050, 0122-0124 & 0166-0207]);
identify one or more sleep stages within multiple sleep sessions for the user sleeping on the bed using at least one of the group consisting of i) the pressure stream, and ii) the force stream (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]);
for each of the sleep stages, determine occurrences of one or more respiratory-events (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]);
for each of the respiratory-events, determine a plurality of event-metrics using the pressure stream and the force stream (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]);
for each of the sleep stages, determine a single-stage hypoxia-burden score using the plurality of event-metrics for respiratory-events of the sleep session (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]); and
generate a long-run hypoxia burden score for the user from the single-stage hypoxia-burden scores (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]).
For claim 11, Siyahjani discloses the system of claim 10, wherein:
the plurality of event-metrics for a respiratory-event comprises at least one of the group consisting of i) an area under a curve of inter-beat interval (IBI) over a time period after the respiratory-event, ii) a minimum (IBI) value during the time period, iii) an area under a curve of skin temperature over the time period, and iv) a minimum skin temperature value during the time period (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]); and
the single-stage hypoxia-burden score is created from at least one of the group consisting of i) a sum of all area under the curve of inter-beat interval (IBI) over the time periods of the sleep session, divided by a length of the sleep session, ii) a mean value across all minimum IBI values of the sleep session, iii) a sum of all area under the curve of skin temperature over the time periods of the sleep session, divided by the length of the sleep session, and iv) a mean value across all minimum skin temperature values of the sleep session (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]).
For claim 12, Siyahjani discloses the system of claim 11, wherein: the long-run hypoxia burden score comprises at least one of the group consisting of i) a time-series of single-stage hypoxia-burden scores, and ii) a trend equation of single-stage hypoxia-burden scores (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]).
For claim 13, Siyahjani discloses the system of claim 10, wherein: the pressure sensor senses air pressure in a fluid bladder (114A,144B) of the bed the force sensor senses force transmitted through a rigid frame of the bed (Figs 1-3, 9 & 18-20) ([0027-0050, 0122-0124 & 0166-0207]).
For claim 14, Siyahjani discloses the system of claim 10, wherein: the respiratory-events are apnea-hypoxia events (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]); and the computer system is further configured to determine the occurrences of the one or more respiratory-events by submitting, to a machine-learning classifier (2010) (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]), input from the pressure stream and receive, as output, the determined occurrences of the one or more respiratory-events (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]).
For claim 15, Siyahjani discloses the system of claim 10, wherein: the plurality of event-metrics comprises a measure of skin temperature of the user (via another different one of 902, 904, 906, or 908) ([0042, 0124]) (Figs 1-3, 9 & 18-20) ([0027-0050, 0122-0124 & 0166-0207]); and the computer system is further configured to determine the skin temperature of the user by determining a weighted average of various sensor readings of a temperature stream received from a temperature sensor (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]).
For claim 16, Siyahjani discloses the system of claim 10, wherein: the plurality of event-metrics comprises a measure of cardiac action (2014) of the user (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]); and the computer system is further configured to determine cardiac action of the user by filtering, at a first frequency, at least one of the group consisting of i) the pressure stream and ii) the force stream (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]).
For claim 17, Siyahjani discloses the system of claim 16, wherein: the plurality of event-metrics comprises a measure of respiratory action (2014) of the user (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]); and the computer system is further configured to determine cardiac action of the user by filtering, at a first frequency, at least one of the group consisting of i) the pressure stream and ii) the force stream (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]).
For claim 18, Siyahjani discloses a computing system (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]), comprising inter alia:
at least one processor (1802) and memory (1804), the computing system configured to:
receive sleep-data for a user’s physiological activities while sleeping (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]);
identify one or more sleep sessions for the user from the sleep-data; for each of the sleep sessions, determine occurrences of one or more respiratory-events (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]);
for each of the respiratory-events, determine a plurality of event-metrics using the sleep-data (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]); and
for each of the sleep sessions, determine a single-session hypoxia-burden score using the plurality of event-metrics for respiratory-events of the sleep session (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]).
For claim 19, Siyahjani discloses the computing system of claim 18, and further comprising means for sensing pressure (one of 902, 904, 906, or 908) (Figs 1-3, 9 & 18-20) ([0027-0050, 0122-0124 & 0166-0207]) applied to a bed by a user on the bed and means for sensing force (a different one of 902, 904, 906, or 908) ([0042, 0124]) (Figs 1-3, 9 & 18-20) ([0027-0050, 0122-0124 & 0166-0207]) applied to the bed by the user.
For claim 20, Siyahjani discloses the computing system of claim 18, wherein the computing system is further configured to generate a long-run hypoxia burden score for the user from a plurality of single-session hypoxia-burden scores from a plurality of the sleep sessions (Figs 18-20) ([0166-0207]).
Conclusion
The cited prior art made of record on the accompanying PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, relating to means for determining/computing respiratory events, cardiac events, and hypoxia from bed/mattress based pressure, temperature, and force measurements.
Jeffrey G. Hoekstra
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JEFFREY G. HOEKSTRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791