Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I (claims 1-12 and 20) in the reply filed on 05/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 20, the claim states, “A computing system comprising: a mounting area flexibly configured to support a computing device, the mounting area having two lateral sides extending between a front area and a rear area, the computing device being either a first computing device or a second computing device, the first computing device having a first depth D1 that is greater than a second depth D2 of the second computing device; a rail fixedly positioned along one of the two lateral sides, the rail including a plurality of position stops that includes a first position stop and a second position stop, the first position stop being closer to the front area to accommodate the first depth D1 of the first computing device, the second position stop being closer to the rear area to accommodate the second depth D2 of the second computing device; and a mounting ear movably coupled to the rail and fixedly coupled to the computing device, the mounting ear being movable along the rail between the first position stop and the second position stop, the mounting ear structurally supporting the first computing device when in the first position stop, the mounting ear structurally supporting the second computing device in the second position stop.”
It is unclear to the examiner if the computing device being either a first computing device or a second computing device that means the computing device should be either first or second. It creates confusion for the following limitations where “the first computing device having a first depth D1 that is greater than a second depth D2 of the second computing device” and “the first position stop being closer to the front area to accommodate the first depth D1 of the first computing device, the second position stop being closer to the rear area to accommodate the second depth D2 of the second computing device and the mounting ear structurally supporting the second computing device in the second position stop.” Examiner interpreted the claim 20 having the first computing device with D1 depth. Applicant is requested to confirm the interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Batta et al. (US 5262923 A and Batta hereinafter)
Regarding claim 1, Batta discloses (figs. 1-11 and see annotated fig below) a computing system comprising: a computing device (44) having a first depth D1 and two lateral sides extending between a front area and a rear area; a mounting area (40) flexibly configured to support the computing device; a rail (41a-b) fixedly positioned along one of the two lateral sides, the rail including a plurality of position stops (42 and 43) that includes a first position stop (42) and a second position stop (43), the first position stop being closer to the front area to accommodate the first depth D1 of the computing device, the second position stop being closer to the rear area (fig.8); and a mounting ear (30) movably coupled to the rail, the mounting ear being movable along the rail between the first position stop and the second position stop (shows in figs 7-8), the mounting ear structurally supporting the computing device when in the first position stop (fig.8).
Regarding claim 3, Batta discloses (figs. 1-11) the computing system of claim 1, wherein another rail is fixedly positioned along another one of the two lateral sides, the another rail being generally identical to the rail, the another rail having another mounting ear that is generally identical to the mounting ear (figs. 7-8).
Regarding claim 6, Batta discloses (figs. 1-11) the computing system of claim 1, wherein each position stop of the plurality of position stops includes a stop surface adjacent to a stop part.
Regarding claim 20, Batta discloses (figs. 1-11 and see annotated fig below) the computing system comprising: a mounting area (40) flexibly configured to support a computing device, the mounting area having two lateral sides extending between a front area and a rear area, the computing device being either a first computing device (44) or a second computing device, the first computing device having a first depth D1 that is greater than a second depth D2 of the second computing device; a rail fixedly positioned along one of the two lateral sides, the rail including a plurality of position stops that includes a first position stop and a second position stop (42 and 43), the first position stop being closer to the front area to accommodate the first depth D1 of the first computing device, the second position stop being closer to the rear area to accommodate the second depth D2 of the second computing device; and a mounting ear movably coupled to the rail and fixedly coupled to the computing device, the mounting ear (30) being movable along the rail between the first position stop and the second position stop, the mounting ear structurally supporting the first computing device when in the first position stop (fig.8), the mounting ear structurally supporting the second computing device in the second position stop.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4-5 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batta et al in view of Marrs et al (US 20250024624 A1 and Marrs hereinafter)
Regarding claim 2, Batta discloses (figs. 1-11) the computing system of claim 1, but fails to disclose a mounting post fixedly mounted between the mounting ear and the mounting area. However, Marrs teaches (fig.3) a mounting post (340) fixedly mounted between the mounting ear (320) and the mounting area (310). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a mounting post of Marrs to device of Batta in order to provide a rack rail is secured to mounting post (Marrs, and [0054]).
Regarding claim 4, Batta discloses (figs. 1-11) the computing system of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the mounting ear has a first side and a second side, the first side being generally parallel to the rail, the second side extending generally perpendicular to the rail. However, Marrs teaches (fig.3) wherein the mounting ear has a
first side and a second side, the first side being generally parallel to the rail, the second side extending generally perpendicular to the rail. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a mounting post having the first/second side of Marrs to device of Batta in order to provide a rack rail is secured to mounting post (Marrs, and [0054]).
Regarding claim 5, Batta/Marrs discloses the computing system of claim 4. Marrs discloses wherein the second side is fixedly mounted to a mounting post.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine a mounting post of Marrs to device of Batta in order to provide a rack rail is secured to mounting post (Marrs, and [0054]).
Regarding claim 10, Batta discloses (figs. 1-11) the computing system of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the computing device is an edge server. However, Marrs teaches wherein the computing device is an edge server ([0047]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine an edge server of Marrs to device of Batta in order to compute, calculate, determine, classify, process, transmit, receive, retrieve, originate, switch, store, display, communicate, manifest, detect, record, reproduce, handle, or utilize any form of information, intelligence, or data for business, scientific, control, or other purposes (Marrs, and [0054]).
Regarding claim 11, Batta/Marrs discloses the computing system of claim 10. Marrs teaches (fig.3) wherein the computing device is a network switch ([0047]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine an edge server of Marrs to device of Batta in order to compute, calculate, determine, classify, process, transmit, receive, retrieve, originate, switch, store, display, communicate, manifest, detect, record, reproduce, handle, or utilize any form of information, intelligence, or data for business, scientific, control, or other purposes (Marrs, and [0054]).
Regarding claim 12, Batta/Marrs discloses the computing system of claim 10. Marrs teaches (fig.3) wherein the computing system of claim 10, wherein the mounting area is a rack- mount server cabinet. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine an edge server of Marrs to device of Batta in order to compute, calculate, determine, classify, process, transmit, receive, retrieve, originate, switch, store, display, communicate, manifest, detect, record, reproduce, handle, or utilize any form of information, intelligence, or data for business, scientific, control, or other purposes (Marrs, and [0054]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 7, the prior art fails to disclose, “a latch mechanism that secures the mounting ear in a respective one of the plurality of stops, the latch mechanism including a latch holder that is inserted between adjacent stop parts of the plurality of position stops.”
Claims 8-9 are objected being depend on claim 7.
However, the prior art (Included in PTO 892), when taken alone, or, in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Conclusion
/ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841