DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed 3/27/2026 with respect to the objection to the specification and the 112(b) rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection to the specification and the 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed 3/27/2026 with respect to the outstanding 103 rejection(s) of claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, as necessitated by applicant’s amendments, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 5,333,095.
Additionally, the Examiner takes exception with the Applicant’s characterization of the Shaker reference on page 10 of the arguments. The applicant argues that Shaker does NOT disclose a plug, but instead discloses using a single wire. While Shaker discloses this as a PREFERRED embodiment, Shaker clearly discloses the alternative use of a plug in Col. 6, lines 47-56 and Col. 7, lines 31-59 (“when an electrical plug is not present” implies there is an embodiment when an electrical plug is present).
The applicant made no attempt to argue against the Double Patenting rejections. The rejections have been reconsidered as necessitated by applicant’s amendments and a new DP rejection has been made below.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed applications, Application No. 18/156,318 and Application No. 18/486,992, fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Neither application discloses a plug as recited in claim 1 of the current application. The current application has an effective filing date of 12/16/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaker et al. (US 11,547,863, hereinafter Shaker) in view of Stevenson et al. (US 5,333,095, herein after Stevenson).
Regarding claims 1-4, Shaker discloses a defibrillator housing as seen in figures 4 and 5. Four walls are affixed to a bottom surface and a dividing layer is affixed to the four walls to create a circuit enclosure configured to hold circuitry 415, and to create, along with removable cover 465, an electrode enclosure configured to hold electrode pad 410 and its associated lead wire (figure 4 and annotated figure below).
Element 130 of Shaker is positioned on the dividing layer to connect the lead wire of the electrode pad to the circuitry, and may be in the form of a plug (Col. 5, lines 56-63, Col. 6, lines 47-56 and Col. 7, lines 31-59). However, Shaker is silent as to the exact structure of the plug. Stevenson also discloses a defibrillator, and thus is analogous art with Shaker (see abstract). Stevenson utilizes a plug 26 in order to connect the lead wire 16 of an electrode to the circuitry of the defibrillator (Col. 5, lines 9-26). The plug includes at least one pin 12 that extends through the housing 22 and the plug will be surrounded by “reinforcement” walls of the housing, as shown in figures 2-4. The housing acts as a dividing layer, and the plug 26 is welded to the housing (Col. 6, lines 9-29). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify the plug of Shaker to include a pin and to be welded to the dividing layer as taught by Stevenson as this is a known plug structure in the defibrillator art that would not affect the overall operation or purpose of Shaker, and Stevenson discloses that welding beneficially creates a hermetic seal to protect the circuitry.
Regarding claim 5, Shaker includes a peelable tray lid 455 (Col. 8, lines 55-67).
Regarding claim 6, Shaker discloses that the peelable tray lid has a solid tab 805, but is silent as to having multiple tabs. However, it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (MPEP 2144.04 VI. B.). In this case having multiple tabs would not produce a new and unexpected result and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, a release liner 335 is affixed to a side in between of each pad and can contact skin of a patient, if so desired by a user.
Regarding claim 10, Shaker discloses that the wire is spooled within the electrode enclosure (figure 2). While Shaker is silent as to there being a spool, the use of a spool to organize wires is notoriously old and well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to include a spool around which the wires can be easily and efficiently stored.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaker in view of Stevenson and further in view of Edwards et al. (US 2006/0178865, hereinafter Edwards).
Shaker, as modified above, discloses the applicant’s basic invention with the exception of including lights within the electrode enclosure and a status marker. Edwards discloses a defibrillator, and thus is analogous art with Shaker. Edwards discloses the electrode enclosure can have LEDs within the circuit enclosure below the electrode enclosure that shine through a status marker of the human body on the surface of the electrode enclosure (figure 6 and par. 0041). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify Shaker to include lights within the electrode enclosure and a status marker as taught by Edwards in order to ensure proper operation of the device by a user.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of copending Application No. 18/982,974 (reference application) in view of Stevenson. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claim anticipates the current claim with the exception of the plug being welded to the dividing layer. Stevenson also discloses a defibrillator, and thus is analogous art with the copending claims (see abstract). Stevenson utilizes a plug 26 in order to connect the lead wire 16 of an electrode to the circuitry of the defibrillator (Col. 5, lines 9-26). The plug includes at least one pin 12 that extends through the housing 22 as shown in figures 2-4. The housing acts as a dividing layer, and the plug 26 is welded to the housing (Col. 6, lines 9-29). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify the plug of the copending claims to be welded to the dividing layer as taught by Stevenson as Stevenson discloses that welding beneficially creates a hermetic seal to protect the circuitry.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of copending Application No. 18/982,960 (reference application). in view of Stevenson. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claim anticipates the current claim with the exception of the plug being welded to the dividing layer. Stevenson also discloses a defibrillator, and thus is analogous art with the copending claims (see abstract). Stevenson utilizes a plug 26 in order to connect the lead wire 16 of an electrode to the circuitry of the defibrillator (Col. 5, lines 9-26). The plug includes at least one pin 12 that extends through the housing 22 as shown in figures 2-4. The housing acts as a dividing layer, and the plug 26 is welded to the housing (Col. 6, lines 9-29). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify the plug of the copending claims to be welded to the dividing layer as taught by Stevenson as Stevenson discloses that welding beneficially creates a hermetic seal to protect the circuitry.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Eric D. Bertram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796