DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A in the reply filed on 12/8/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 11-20 have been withdrawn by the applicant from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed applications, Application No. 18/156,318 and Application No. 18/486,992, fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Neither application discloses a unitary frame being formed from a single piece of material as recited in claim 1 of the current application. The current application has an effective filing date of 12/16/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/23/2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitations "the pins”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. The claim previously recited “at least one pin”, which could recite a single pin. However, “the pins” refers back to a plurality of pins, which is never explicitly recited by the claim. Dependent claim 3 is rejected based on their association.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the wires". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The first paragraph should contain any continuity data recited in the ADS.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/982,974 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims anticipate the current claim with the exception of the four walls and dividing layer being formed from a single piece of material. However, MPEP 2144.04 V.B. makes clear that making something integral is an obvious design choice and thus would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/982,953 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims anticipate the current claim with the exception of the four walls and dividing layer being formed from a single piece of material. However, MPEP 2144.04 V.B. makes clear that making something integral is an obvious design choice and thus would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner thought it necessary to point out how broad claim 1 actually is. ANY box/housing with two compartments and a cover would read on the claim. The claim does not actually recite positively recite a defibrillator, pads, or circuitry, merely that the housing is configured to do so, or that it can be used to house a defibrillator. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. IN order to promote compact prosecution, the Examiner attempted to search for defibrillator housings, but the claim is not actually that specific.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1, 4-8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 as being anticipated by and/or unpatentable over Shaker et al. (US 11,547,863, hereinafter Shaker).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Shaker discloses a defibrillator housing as seen in figures 4 and 5. Four walls are affixed to a bottom surface and a dividing layer is affixed to the four walls to create a circuit enclosure configured to hold circuitry 415, and to create, along with removable cover 465, an electrode enclosure configured to hold electrode pad 410 and its associated wire (figure 4 and annotated figure below).
Element 130 of Shaker is positioned on the dividing layer to connect the wire of the electrode pad to the circuitry, and may be in the form of a plug (Col. 5, lines 56-63, Col. 6, lines 47-56 and Col. 7, lines 31-59).
Regarding the limitation that “the unitary frame is formed from a single piece of material” this is a Product-by-Process recitation. This is governed by MPEP 2113. Since Shaker discloses the same claimed structure, the claim is anticipated. Alternatively, "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that even though the prior art does not explicitly disclose an equivalent manufacturing process, the product disclosed by Shaker renders the claimed structure unpatentable.
Additionally and/or alternatively, MPEP 2144.04 V.B. makes clear that making something integral is an obvious design choice. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to make the four walls and dividing layer to be integral by being formed from a single piece of material as this is an obvious design choice that would not affect the overall operation or purpose of Shaker.
Regarding claim 5, Shaker includes a peelable tray lid 455 (Col. 8, lines 55-67).
Regarding claim 6, Shaker discloses that the peelable tray lid has a solid tab 805, but is silent as to having multiple tabs. However, it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (MPEP 2144.04 VI. B.). In this case having multiple tabs would not produce a new and unexpected result and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, a release liner 335 is affixed to a side in between of each pad and can contact skin of a patient, if so desired by a user.
Regarding claim 10, Shaker discloses that the wire is spooled within the electrode enclosure (figure 2). While Shaker is silent as to there being a spool, the use of a spool to organize wires is notoriously old and well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to include a spool around which the wires can be easily and efficiently stored.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaker et al. (US 11,547,863, hereinafter Shaker) in view of Apperson et al. (US 2012/0185006, herein after Apperson).
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Shaker, as described above, discloses the applicant’s basic invention but Shaker is silent as to the exact structure of the plug. Apperson also discloses a defibrillator, and thus is analogous art with Shaker. Apperson utilizes a plug 417 in order to connect the wires of electrodes pads 404/408 to the circuitry of the defibrillator (figure 4). The plug includes at least one pin 419 that extend through the housing (figure 4 and par. 0056) and the plug will be surrounded by 4 “reinforcement” walls of the housing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify the plug of Shaker to include pins as taught by Apperson as this is a known plug structure in the defibrillator art that would not affect the overall operation or purpose of Shaker.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaker in view of Edwards et al. (US 2006/0178865, hereinafter Edwards).
Shaker, as modified above, discloses the applicant’s basic invention with the exception of including lights within the electrode enclosure and a status marker. Edwards discloses a defibrillator, and thus is analogous art with Shaker. Edwards discloses the electrode enclosure can have LEDs within the circuit enclosure below the electrode enclosure that shine through a status marker of the human body on the surface of the electrode enclosure (figure 6 and par. 0041). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify Shaker to include lights within the electrode enclosure and a status marker as taught by Edwards in order to ensure proper operation of the device by a user.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/Eric D. Bertram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796