DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to application 18/982,973 filed 12/16/2024.
Claims 2-21 are presented for examination.
Double Patenting
Instant Application 18/982,973 independent claims 2, 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over independent claims 52, 62 of U.S. Patent No. 12212815, independent claims 52, 62 of U.S. Patent No. 11863826 and independent claims 2, 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11140761 in combination with dependent claims (see table below). Instant Application 18/982,973 independent claims 2, 12 are not patentably distinct from independent claims 52, 62 of U.S. Patent No. 12212815, independent claims 52, 62 of U.S. Although the instant claims are broader in scope than the parent claims, the breadth arises from omission of specific implementation details preciously claimed (e.g., generation of identifiers, geometric shapes, and interface features), rather than from a different inventive concept. Both the instant claim and the parent claims are directed to identifying first and second narrative-defined sets of interrelated content and providing the content in an order specified by a selected narrative. The instant claims merely recite the narrative-based grouping and ordered provision at a higher level of abstraction. Therefore, the instant claims are not patentably distinct from the parent claims (see table below).
Instant Application 18/982,973
Parent Pat 12212815
Not Patentably Distinct
Independent Claims 2, 12:
retrieving a first set of content item identifiers from a plurality of interrelated content items;
providing, for display at a user device, the first set of content item identifiers in a first sequential order corresponding to a first narrative;
based at least in part on received user input comprising a parameter associated with a second narrative, retrieving a second set of content item identifiers from the plurality of interrelated content items; and
providing, for display at the user device, the second set of content item identifiers in a second sequential order corresponding to the second narrative.
Claims 3, 13:
Claims 4, 14:
Claims 5, 15
Claims 6, 16
Claims 7, 17
Claims 8, 18
Claims 9, 19
Claims 10, 20
Claims 11, 21
Independent Claims 52, 62:
retrieving a first narrative metadata related to a first narrative;
retrieving a second narrative metadata related to a second narrative, wherein the first narrative and the second narrative relate to a plurality of interrelated series, each series comprising a plurality of sequential episodes, wherein each narrative identifies an order of providing the interrelated series that is different from a sequential order of the series and traverses at least a portion of an episode of a first series of the plurality of interrelated series and a portion of an episode of a second series of the plurality of interrelated series;
retrieving, for each particular episode of the plurality of interrelated series, particular metadata corresponding to the particular episode; in response to determining that the particular metadata matches the first narrative metadata, including the particular episode into a first set of episodes; and
in response to determining that the particular metadata matches the second narrative metadata, including the particular episode into a second set of episodes.
Claim 56:
Claim 56:
Claim 52
Claim 52
Claim 53
Claim 53
Claim 58
Claim 54
Claim 55
Analysis:
Retrieving a first set of content item identifiers corresponds to retrieving first narrative metadata and including episodes into a first set of episodes.
Providing in a first sequential order corresponding to a first narrative corresponds to the parent’s recitation that each narrative identifies an order of providing the interrelated series different from a sequential order.
Retrieving a second set based on user input corresponds to retrieving second narrative metadata and forming a second set of episodes.
Providing the second set in a second sequential order corresponds to including episodes into a second set based on the second narrative metadata.
Both claims address overlap between first and second narrative-based sets. The parent permits such overlap when episodes satisfy multiple narrative metadata conditions.
Both claims limit narrative metadata to character, title, or chronology. The instant claim recites the same metadata categories disclosed in the parent.
Both require retrieving first narrative metadata and including content into a first narrative-based set based on metadata matching. No additional technical limitation is added.
Both require retrieving second narrative metadata and including content into a second narrative-based set based on metadata matching. No structural distinction is introduced.
Both generate a GUI characteristic corresponding to the first narrative. The instant claim restates the same interface functionality.
Both generate a second GUI characteristic corresponding to the second narrative. The instant claim mirrors the parent’s interface generation.
Both modify GUI characteristics of narrative sets. The instant claim describes the same modification concept without additional technical detail.
Both provide content according to narrative-defined orderings. Simultaneous display does not alter the underlying narrative-based ordering mechanism.
Both identify intersecting content between narrative sets and generate a corresponding GUI element. The instant claim expresses the same intersecting functionality.
Instant Application 18/982,973
Parent Pat 11863826
Not Patentably Distinct
Independent Claims 2, 12:
retrieving a first set of content item identifiers from a plurality of interrelated content items;
providing, for display at a user device, the first set of content item identifiers in a first sequential order corresponding to a first narrative;
based at least in part on received user input comprising a parameter associated with a second narrative, retrieving a second set of content item identifiers from the plurality of interrelated content items; and
providing, for display at the user device, the second set of content item identifiers in a second sequential order corresponding to the second narrative.
Independent Claims 52, 62:
identifying a second set of the episodes of the plurality of interrelated series that are traversed by a second narrative of the at least two narratives;
in response to receiving a selection of the first set from a user, providing the interrelated series to a user device in an order specified by the first narrative;
identifying a second set of the episodes of the plurality of interrelated series that are traversed by a second narrative of the at least two narratives;
in response to receiving a selection of the second set from the user, providing the interrelated series to the user device in an order specified by the second narrative
Analysis:
Retrieving a first set corresponding to identifying a first narrative-defined set, both form or access a first narrative-based grouping of interrelated content.
Providing the first set in a first sequential order corresponds to providing the interrelated series in an order specified by the first narrative.
Retrieving a second set based on user input corresponds to identifying a second narrative-defined set selected by the user.
Providing the second set in a second sequential order corresponds to providing the interrelated series in an order specified by the second narrative.
Instant Application 18/982,973
Parent Pat 11140761
Not Patentably Distinct
Independent Claims 2, 12:
retrieving a first set of content item identifiers from a plurality of interrelated content items;
providing, for display at a user device, the first set of content item identifiers in a first sequential order corresponding to a first narrative;
based at least in part on received user input comprising a parameter associated with a second narrative, retrieving a second set of content item identifiers from the plurality of interrelated content items; and
providing, for display at the user device, the second set of content item identifiers in a second sequential order corresponding to the second narrative.
Independent Claims 2, 12:
identifying a first set of the episodes of the plurality of interrelated series that are traversed by a first narrative of the at least two narratives;
in response to receiving a selection of the first narrative identifier from the user, providing interrelated series to a user device in the order specified by the first narrative;
identifying a second set of the episodes of the plurality of interrelated series that are traversed by a second narrative of the at least two narratives;
in response to receiving a selection of the second narrative identifier from the user, providing the interrelated series to the user device in the order specified by the second narrative.
Analysis:
Both form a first narrative-defined content set.
Both provide content in the order defined by the first narrative.
Both form a second narrative-defined content set based on user selection.
Both provide content in the order defined by the second narrative.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4, 7-14 and 17- 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans Butterworth, Pub No US 2007/0099684 (hereafter Butterworth) and further in view Charles Cordray, Pat No US 8,938,764 (hereafter Cordray).
Regarding Claim 2, Butterworth discloses a computer-implemented method [para.0009: Discloses a computer-implemented interactive media system.] comprising:
retrieving a first set of content item from a plurality of interrelated content items [para.0012: Discloses the selection interface presents a series of branch points within the storyline (a plurality of interrelated content items) where the branch points are associated with references to alternate video content… the associated video content is displayed. Thereby teaching retrieving a first set of content items from a plurality of interrelated content items.];
providing, for display at a user device, content corresponding to a first narrative [para.0029: Discloses a storyline will have multiple branching points; and FIG.2, para(s).0030, 0033, 0037: Illustrates an interactive storyline (a first narrative). “Man leaves work… viewer chooses… each choice has an associated video clip result…” Thus, describes a storyline, wherein content is presented to the user along a defined narrative path.];
based at least in part on received user input comprising a parameter associated with a second narrative [FIG2, para(s).0012, 0030: Discloses presenting branch points within a storyline and receiving user input selecting among alternate paths (second narrative). Each selection (e.g., “a, b, or c”) constitutes a parameter that determines which alternate storyline is followed. The system displays alternate video content when a branch point is taken, thereby retrieving content based at least in part on received user input associated with a second narrative path.]; and
providing, for display at the user device, the second set corresponding to the second narrative [FIG.2, para(s).0012, 0033: Discloses displaying branch point selections and alternate video content (e.g., based on selection, can follow different/second narrative path).].
Butterworth does not explicitly disclose retrieving a first set of content item identifiers from a plurality of interrelated content items; providing, for display at a user device, the first set of content item identifiers in a first sequential order corresponding to a first narrative; based at least in part on received user input comprising a parameter associated with a second narrative, retrieving a second set of content item identifiers from the plurality of interrelated content items; and providing, for display at the user device, the second set of content item identifiers in a second sequential order corresponding to the second narrative (emphasis on what is not taught by Butterworth). Thus, Butterworth does not explicitly disclose retrieving or displaying a set of content item identifiers distinct from the underlying video content. While Butterworth retrieves and presents alternate video clips along branching and narrative paths, it does not explicitly teach presenting identifiers corresponding to those content items as a separate ordered set. However, in analogous art, Cordray discloses organizing and presenting episodes of a series aggregation to a user as identifiable episode listings arranged in a narrative sequence (Fig.(s).5-8, col.15 lines 26-31, col.16 lines 16-26). The episode listings function as content item identifiers because they identify corresponding content items independent of playback. Cordray discloses displaying on a user device, a plurality of episode identifiers (e.g., “Episode 1,” “Episode 2,” Episode 3”,” etc.) arranged in sequential order corresponding to the narrative sequence of the series (FIG(s). 8 and 10), and presenting episode listings function as content item identifiers because they identify corresponding content items (episodes) within the series (ABSTARCT). As discussed above, Butterworth teaches user selected storyline narratives, thus, with different narrative selection will yield different sets of content item identifiers (a second set of content item identifiers). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Butterworth with this feature, as taught by Cordray in order to yield predictable result such as providing users the ability to conveniently record some or all episodes of a series and to view the episodes of a series in order [Cordray: col.2, lines 13-15].
Regarding Claim 3, the combined teachings of Butterworth and Cordray discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2, and further discloses wherein at least a portion of the first set of content item identifiers comprises at least a portion of the second set of content item identifiers [Butterworth - para.0009: Discloses the interactive event described herein is based loosely off of one main storyline with branching themes. Branching themes represent alternate narratives formed from the same pool of interrelated storyline content; and Cordray – FIG(s).2-4, col.11 lines 28-38: Discloses organizing episodes into series aggregations identified by episode identifiers, wherein a given episode identifier may be included within multiple aggregations, thereby teaching that at least a portion of a first set of content item identifiers comprises at least a portion of a second set of content item identifiers.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Regarding Claim 4, the combined teachings of Butterworth and Cordray discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2, and Butterworth further discloses wherein the parameter comprises at least one of a character, a title, or chronology related to the plurality of interrelated content items [FIG.2A, para.0013: Discloses choices may skip ahead in the timeline, and discloses branch points may also relate to a certain character with the storyline. Skipping ahead reflects chronological order parameter, and character-based branch reflects character identity parameter.].
Regarding Claim 7, the combined teachings of Butterworth and Cordray discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2, and Cordray further discloses wherein a first graphical user interface (GUI) characteristic corresponds to the first narrative, and wherein the providing, for display at the user device, the first set of content item identifiers in the first sequential order corresponding to the first narrative further comprises generating for display the first GUI characteristic for each identifier of the first set of content item identifiers [FIG.1A, col.11 lines 4-12: Discloses organize and present episodes of series aggregation to user (block 106). Cordray teaches GUI presentation characteristics tied to ordered identifier sets.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Regarding Claim 8, the combined teachings of Butterworth and Cordray discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 7, and Cordray further discloses wherein a second GUI characteristic corresponds to the second narrative;
wherein the providing, for display at the user device, the second set of content item identifiers in the second sequential order corresponding to the second narrative further comprises generating for display the second GUI characteristic for each identifier of the second set of content item identifiers to the second GUI characteristic [FIG.1A, col.11 lines 4-12: Discloses organize and present episodes of series aggregation to user (block 106). Cordray teaches GUI presentation corresponding to aggregation order, supporting second GUI characteristics.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 7.
Regarding Claim 9, the combined teachings of Butterworth and Cordray discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 8, and Cordray further discloses wherein the first GUI characteristic is displayed for each of at least a portion of content item identifiers of the second set of content item identifiers [FIG(s).3,4: Discloses Missed Episode Identifier (block 302), and Recorded Episode Identifier (block 402). Thus, Cordray discloses identifiers displayed within GUI states, satisfying this limitation.]; and
wherein the providing, for display at the user device, the second set of content item identifiers in the second sequential order corresponding to the second narrative further comprises modifying the first GUI characteristic to the second GUI characteristic for each of the at least a portion of content item identifiers of the second set of content item identifiers [FIG(s).3,4: Discloses Missed Episode Identifier (block 302), and Recorded Episode Identifier (block 402). Thus, Cordray discloses identifiers displayed within GUI states, satisfying this limitation. Different identifier states reflect modified GUI characteristics.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 8.
Regarding Claim 10, the combined teachings of Butterworth and Cordray discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2, and further discloses wherein the first set of content item identifiers in the first sequential order corresponding to the first narrative and the second set of content item identifiers in a second sequential order corresponding to the second narrative are displayed simultaneously [Butterworth- para.0022: Discloses the selected sequence is executed subsequent to
display of the start-sequence; and Cordray – FIG.1A: Discloses organize and present episodes of series aggregation to user (block 106). Execution of narrative sequences combined with ordered identifier display renders simultaneous display of multiple sets obvious.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Regarding Claim 11, the combined teachings of Butterworth and Cordray discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 10, and further discloses further comprising:
identifying a set of intersecting content item identifiers comprising matching content item identifiers between the first set of content item identifiers and the second set of content item identifiers [Butterworth - para.0021: Discloses systems are configured to contain a series of pre-recorded scenes that are arranged as per a hierarchical structure. Hierarchical interrelation combined with identifier aggregation renders identification of intersecting identifiers obvious.];
generating a particular GUI element corresponding to the intersecting content item identifiers [Cordray - FIG(s).3,4: Discloses Missed Episode Identifier (block 302). Teaching GUI elements corresponding to identifiers.]; and
providing, for the display the user device, the particular GUI element for each of the intersecting content item identifiers [Cordray - FIG.1A, col.11 lines 4-12: Discloses organize and present episodes of series aggregation to user (block 106). Teaching providing GUI elements for display corresponding to identifiers.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 10.
Regarding Claim 12, Butterworth discloses a system comprising:
control circuitry [para.0031: Discloses a computer.] configured to:
retrieve a first set of content item from a plurality of interrelated content items [para.0012: Discloses the selection interface presents a series of branch points within the storyline (a plurality of interrelated content items) where the branch points are associated with references to alternate video content… the associated video content is displayed. Thereby teaching retrieving a first set of content items from a plurality of interrelated content items.];
input/output circuitry [para.0031: Discloses using a computer (input/output circuitry) to programmatically enable the system to display different storylines based on different input at different branch points or other points in
the storyline.] configured to:
provide, for display at a user device, content corresponding to a first narrative [para.0029: Discloses a storyline will have multiple branching points; and FIG.2, para(s).0030, 0033, 0037: Illustrates an interactive storyline (a first narrative). “Man leaves work… viewer chooses… each choice has an associated video clip result…” Thus, describes a storyline, wherein content is presented to the user along a defined narrative path.];
wherein the control circuitry is further configured to:
based at least in part on received user input comprising a parameter associated with a second narrative [FIG2, para(s).0012, 0030: Discloses presenting branch points within a storyline and receiving user input selecting among alternate paths. Each selection (e.g., “a, b, or c”) constitutes a parameter that determines which alternate storyline is followed. The system displays alternate video content when a branch point is taken, thereby retrieving content based at least in part on received user input associated with a second narrative path.]; and
wherein the input/output circuitry is further configured to:
provide, for display at the user device, the second set corresponding to the second narrative [FIG.2, para(s).0012, 0033: Discloses displaying branch point selections and alternate video content (e.g., based on selection, can follow different/second narrative path).].
Butterworth does not explicitly disclose retrieve a first set of content item identifiers from a plurality of interrelated content items; provide, for display at a user device, the first set of content item identifiers in a first sequential order corresponding to a first narrative; based at least in part on received user input comprising a parameter associated with a second narrative, retrieve a second set of content item identifiers from the plurality of interrelated content items; and provide, for display at the user device, the second set of content item identifiers in a second sequential order corresponding to the second narrative (emphasis on what is not taught by Butterworth). Thus, Butterworth does not explicitly disclose retrieving or displaying a set of content item identifiers distinct from the underlying video content. While Butterworth retrieves and presents alternate video clips along branching and narrative paths, it does not explicitly teach presenting identifiers corresponding to those content items as a separate ordered set. However, in analogous art, Cordray discloses organizing and presenting episodes of a series aggregation to a user as identifiable episode listings arranged in a narrative sequence (Fig.(s).5-8, col.15 lines 26-31, col.16 lines 16-26). The episode listings function as content item identifiers because they identify corresponding content items independent of playback. Cordray discloses displaying on a user device, a plurality of episode identifiers (e.g., “Episode 1,” “Episode 2,” Episode 3”,” etc.) arranged in sequential order corresponding to the narrative sequence of the series (FIG(s). 8 and 10), and presenting episode listings function as content item identifiers because they identify corresponding content items (episodes) within the series (ABSTARCT). As discussed above, Butterworth teaches user selected storyline narratives, thus, with different narrative selection will yield different sets of content item identifiers (a second set of content item identifiers). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Butterworth with this feature, as taught by Cordray in order to yield predictable result such as providing users the ability to conveniently record some or all episodes of a series and to view the episodes of a series in order [Cordray: col.2, lines 13-15].
Regarding Claim 13, the combined teachings of Butterworth and Cordray discloses the system of claim 12, and further discloses wherein at least a portion of the first set of content item identifiers comprises at least a portion of the second set of content item identifiers [Butterworth - para.0009: Discloses the interactive event described herein is based loosely off of one main storyline with branching themes. Branching themes represent alternate narratives formed from the same pool of interrelated storyline content; and Cordray – FIG(s).2-4, col.11 lines 28-38: Discloses organizing episodes into series aggregations identified by episode identifiers, wherein a given episode identifier may be included within multiple aggregations, thereby teaching that at least a portion of a first set of content item identifiers comprises at least a portion of a second set of content item identifiers.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 12.
Regarding Claim 14, the combined teachings of Butterworth and Cordray discloses the system of claim 12, and Butterworth further discloses wherein the parameter comprises at least one of a character, a title, or a chronology related to the plurality of interrelated content items [FIG.2A, para.0013: Discloses choices may skip ahead in the timeline, and discloses branch points may also relate to a certain character with the storyline. Skipping ahead reflects chronological order parameter, and character-based branch reflects character identity parameter.].
Regarding Claim 17, the combined teachings of Butterworth and Cordray discloses the system of claim 12, and Cordray further discloses wherein a first graphical user interface (GUI) characteristic corresponds to the first narrative, and
wherein the providing, for display at the user device, the first set of content item identifiers in the first sequential order corresponding to the first narrative further comprises generating for display the first GUI characteristic for each identifier of the first set of content item identifiers [FIG.1A, col.11 lines 4-12: Discloses organize and present episodes of series aggregation to user (block 106). Cordray teaches GUI presentation characteristics tied to ordered identifier sets.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 12.
Regarding Claim 18, the combined teachings of Butterworth and Cordray discloses the system of claim 17, and Cordray further discloses wherein a second GUI characteristic corresponds to the second narrative;
wherein the providing, for display at the user device, the second set of content item identifiers in the second sequential order corresponding to the second narrative further comprises generating for display the second GUI characteristic for each identifier of the second set of content item identifiers to the second GUI characteristic [FIG.1A, col.11 lines 4-12: Discloses organize and present episodes of series aggregation to user (block 106). Cordray teaches GUI presentation corresponding to aggregation order, supporting second GUI characteristics.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 17.
Regarding Claim 19, the combined teachings of Butterworth and Cordray discloses the system of claim 18, and Cordray further discloses wherein the first GUI characteristic is displayed for each of at least a portion of content item identifiers of the second set of content item identifiers [FIG(s).3,4: Discloses Missed Episode Identifier (block 302), and Recorded Episode Identifier (block 402). Thus, Cordray discloses identifiers displayed within GUI states, satisfying this limitation.]; and
wherein the providing, for display at the user device, the second set of content item identifiers in the second sequential order corresponding to the second narrative further comprises modifying the first GUI characteristic to the second GUI characteristic for each of the at least a portion of content item identifiers of the second set of content item identifiers [FIG(s).3,4: Discloses Missed Episode Identifier (block 302), and Recorded Episode Identifier (block 402). Thus, Cordray discloses identifiers displayed within GUI states, satisfying this limitation. Different identifier states reflect modified GUI characteristics.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 18.
Regarding Claim 20, the combined teachings of Butterworth and Cordray discloses the system of claim 12, and further discloses wherein the first set of content item identifiers in the first sequential order corresponding to the first narrative and the second set of content item identifiers in a second sequential order corresponding to the second narrative are displayed simultaneously [Butterworth- para.0022: Discloses the selected sequence is executed subsequent to
display of the start-sequence; and Cordray – FIG.1A: Discloses organize and present episodes of series aggregation to user (block 106). Execution of narrative sequences combined with ordered identifier display renders simultaneous display of multiple sets obvious.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 12.
Regarding Claim 21, the combined teachings of Butterworth and Cordray discloses the system of claim 12, and further discloses wherein the control circuitry is further configured to:
identify a set of intersecting content item identifiers comprising matching content item identifiers between the first set of content item identifiers and the second set of content item identifiers [Butterworth - para.0021: Discloses systems are configured to contain a series of pre-recorded scenes that are arranged as per a hierarchical structure. Hierarchical interrelation combined with identifier aggregation renders identification of intersecting identifiers obvious.];
generate a particular GUI element corresponding to the intersecting content item identifiers [Cordray - FIG(s).3,4: Discloses Missed Episode Identifier (block 302). Teaching GUI elements corresponding to identifiers.]; and
wherein the input/output circuitry is further configured to:
provide, for the display the user device, the particular GUI element for each of the intersecting content item identifiers [Cordray - FIG.1A, col.11 lines 4-12: Discloses organize and present episodes of series aggregation to user (block 106). Teaching providing GUI elements for display corresponding to identifiers.]. This claim is rejected on the same grounds as claim 12.
Claims 5-6 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Evans Butterworth, Pub No US 2007/0099684 (hereafter Butterworth) and further in view of Charles Cordray, Pat No US 8,938,764 (hereafter Cordray) and further in view of Park et al., Pub No US 2008/0126303 (hereafter Park).
Regarding Claim 5, the combined teachings of Butterworth and Cordray discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2, the combined teaching does not explicitly disclose wherein the retrieving the first set of content item identifiers further comprises:
retrieving first narrative metadata corresponding to the first narrative;
for each particular content item of the plurality of interrelated content items, retrieving particular metadata associated with the particular content item; and
based at least in part on determining that the particular metadata matches the first narrative metadata, including a content item identifier corresponding to the particular content item into the first set of content item identifiers.
However, in analogous art, Park discloses the following:
retrieving first narrative metadata corresponding to the first narrative [para.0035: Discloses a metadata agent associates media content with metadata relating to the media content. Thus, Park retrieves and associates narrative metadata (e.g., title, plot, genre) corresponding to a narrative (media content item).];
for each particular content item of the plurality of interrelated content items, retrieving particular metadata associated with the particular content item [para(s).0035-0028: Discloses metadata relating to a movie includes title, cast, genre, ratings, etc., stored for each media content item. Thus, Park retrieves metadata for each content item in the database. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, each media content item with associated metadata satisfies this limitation.]; and
based at least in part on determining that the particular metadata matches the first narrative metadata, including a content item identifier corresponding to the particular content item into the first set of content item identifiers [para(s).0047-0050, Table 1: Discloses ranking and proximity calculations determine similarity between metadata and query terms to produce ranked results. Thus, Park determines metadata matches (relevance/proximity) and includes matching content item identifiers in the result set.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Butterworth and Cordray with these features, as taught by Park in order to yield predictable result such as providing related media content that account for the relevance of the related media content to the user's search and ranked in a meaningful way [Park: para.0005].
Regarding Claim 6, the combined teachings of Butterworth and Cordray discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 2, the combined teaching does not explicitly disclose wherein the retrieving the second set of content item identifiers further comprises:
retrieving second narrative metadata corresponding to the second narrative, wherein the second narrative metadata comprises the parameter of the received user input;
for each particular content item of the plurality of interrelated content items, retrieving particular metadata associated with the particular content item; and
based at least in part on determining that the particular metadata matches the second narrative metadata, including a content item identifier corresponding to the particular content item into the second set of content item identifiers.
However, in analogous art, Park discloses the following:
retrieving second narrative metadata corresponding to the second narrative, wherein the second narrative metadata comprises the parameter of the received user input [para(s).0042-0047: Discloses the system receives search query terms and calculates relevance between query terms and metadata fields. Thus, user input parameters (search query) correspond to narrative metadata used for matching.];
for each particular content item of the plurality of interrelated content items, retrieving particular metadata associated with the particular content item [para(s).0035-0038: Discloses metadata stored for each movie includes title, cast, genre, plot, and ratings. Thus, Park retrieves metadata for each item in the result set database.]; and
based at least in part on determining that the particular metadata matches the second narrative metadata, including a content item identifier corresponding to the particular content item into the second set of content item identifiers [para(s).0047-0050, Table 3: Discloses ranking formula combining proximity and authority. Matching (proximity) between metadata and query determines inclusion in ranked result set (second set of identifiers).].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Butterworth and Cordray with these features, as taught by Park in order to yield predictable result such as providing related media content that account for the relevance of the related media content to the user's search and ranked in a meaningful way [Park: para.0005].
Regarding Claim 15, the combined teachings of Butterworth and Cordray discloses the system of claim 12, the combined teaching does not explicitly disclose wherein the retrieving the first set of content item identifiers further comprises:
retrieving first narrative metadata corresponding to the first narrative;
for each particular content item of the plurality of interrelated content items, retrieving particular metadata associated with the particular content item;
based at least in part on determining that the particular metadata matches the first narrative metadata, including a content item identifier corresponding to the particular content item into the first set of content item identifiers.
However, in analogous art, Park discloses the following:
retrieving first narrative metadata corresponding to the first narrative [para.0035: Discloses a metadata agent associates media content with metadata relating to the media content. Park retrieves and associates narrative metadata (e.g., title, plot, genre) corresponding to a narrative (media content item).];
for each particular content item of the plurality of interrelated content items, retrieving particular metadata associated with the particular content item [para(s).0035-0028: Discloses metadata relating to a movie includes title, cast, genre, ratings, etc., stored for each media content item. Park retrieves metadata for each content item in the database. Under broadest reasonable interpretation, each media content item with associated metadata satisfies this limitation.]; and
based at least in part on determining that the particular metadata matches the first narrative metadata, including a content item identifier corresponding to the particular content item into the first set of content item identifiers [para(s).0047-0050, Table 1: Discloses ranking and proximity calculations determine similarity between metadata and query terms to produce ranked results. Thus, Park determines metadata matches (relevance/proximity) and includes matching content item identifiers in the result set.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Butterworth and Cordray with these features, as taught by Park in order to yield predictable result such as providing related media content that account for the relevance of the related media content to the user's search and ranked in a meaningful way [Park: para.0005].
Regarding Claim 16, the combined teachings of Butterworth and Cordray discloses the system of claim 12, the combined teaching does not explicitly disclose wherein the retrieving the second set of content item identifiers further comprises:
retrieving second narrative metadata corresponding to the second narrative, wherein the second narrative metadata comprises the parameter of the received user input;
for each particular content item of the plurality of interrelated content items, retrieving particular metadata associated with the particular content item; and
based at least in part on determining that the particular metadata matches the second narrative metadata, including a content item identifier corresponding to the particular content item into the second set of content item identifiers.
However, in analogous art, Park discloses the following:
retrieving second narrative metadata corresponding to the second narrative, wherein the second narrative metadata comprises the parameter of the received user input [para(s).0042-0047: Discloses the system receives search query terms and calculates relevance between query terms and metadata fields. Thus, user input parameters (search query) correspond to narrative metadata used for matching.];
for each particular content item of the plurality of interrelated content items, retrieving particular metadata associated with the particular content item [para(s).0035-0038: Discloses metadata stored for each movie includes title, cast, genre, plot, and ratings. Thus, Park retrieves metadata for each item in the result set database.]; and
based at least in part on determining that the particular metadata matches the second narrative metadata, including a content item identifier corresponding to the particular content item into the second set of content item identifiers [para(s).0047-0050, Table 3: Discloses ranking formula combining proximity and authority. Matching (proximity) between metadata and query determines inclusion in ranked result set (second set of identifiers).].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify Butterworth and Cordray with these features, as taught by Park in order to yield predictable result such as providing related media content that account for the relevance of the related media content to the user's search and ranked in a meaningful way [Park: para.0005].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Nijim et al., (US 10,057,636) – Discloses a content identifier matching system that allows a content identifier engine to perform one or more automatic actions related to a video content item based on an identified relationship between a content object and the video content item (col.2, lines 27-32).
/ADIL OCAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426