DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/4/2026 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and arguments filed 8/27/2026 with respect to the previous 102, 103 and 112 rejections of the claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 2005/0274779.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed applications, Application No. 18/156,318 and Application No. 18/486,992, fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Neither application discloses a plurality of tabs staggered along two opposite sides of the cover as recited in independent claims 1 and 11 of the current application. The current application has an effective filing date of 12/16/2024.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner thought it necessary to point out how broad claims 1 and 11 actually are. ANY box/housing with two compartments and a cover would read on the claim. The claim does not actually recite positively recite a defibrillator, pads, or circuitry, merely that the housing is configured to hold house the components, or that it can be used to house a defibrillator. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In order to promote compact prosecution, the Examiner attempted to search for defibrillator housings, but the claim is not actually that specific.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-8, 10, 11, 15, 17-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaker (US 11,547,863) in view of Kuhn et al. (US 2005/0274779, hereinafter Kuhn).
Regarding claims 1, 5, 11 and 15, Shaker discloses a defibrillator housing as seen in figures 4 and 5. Four walls are affixed to a bottom surface and a dividing layer is affixed to the four walls to create a circuit enclosure configured to hold circuitry 415, and to create, along with removable cover 465, an electrode enclosure configured to hold electrode pad 410 and its associated wire (figure 4 and annotated figure below).
Shaker shows in figure 10 a plurality of tabs 1005 on longitudinal, parallel sides of the cover that fit into corresponding grooves 1010 of the electrode enclosure, the tabs removable with upward force (Col. 9, lines 5-21). However, Shaker is silent as to the tabs being staggered from each other in a zipper fashion.
Kuhn also discloses an enclosure, and thus is analogous art with the enclosure of Shaker. Kuhn discloses that the enclosure has a cover with longitudinal, parallel sides with a plurality of tabs 32 staggered along the two longitudinal, parallel sides in a zipper fashion (see figure 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify Shaker to place the plurality of tabs 32 staggered along the two longitudinal, parallel sides in a zipper fashion as taught by Kuhn as Kuhn teaches that this offset arrangement is for the particular purpose/benefit of providing extra strength of the enclosure when the cover is in place (par. 0041-0042 for motivation).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, element 130 of Shaker is positioned on the dividing layer to connect the wire of the electrode pad to the circuitry, and may be in the form of a plug (Col. 5, lines 56-63, Col. 6, lines 47-56 and Col. 7, lines 31-59).
Regarding claim 6, Shaker includes a peelable tray lid 455 (Col. 8, lines 55-67).
Regarding claims 7, 8, 17 and 18, a release liner 335 is affixed to a side in between of each pad and can contact skin of a patient, if so desired by a user.
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Shaker discloses that the wire is spooled within the electrode enclosure (figure 2). While Shaker is silent as to there being a spool, the use of a spool to organize wires is notoriously old and well known in the art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to include a spool around which the wires can be easily and efficiently stored.
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaker and Kuhn in view of Apperson et al. (US 2012/0185006, herein after Apperson).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Shaker, as described above, discloses the applicant’s basic invention but Shaker is silent as to the exact structure of the plug. Apperson also discloses a defibrillator, and thus is analogous art with Shaker. Apperson utilizes a plug 417 in order to connect the wires of electrodes pads 404/408 to the circuitry of the defibrillator (figure 4). The plug includes at least one pin 419 that extend through the housing (figure 4 and par. 0056) and the plug will be surrounded by 4 “reinforcement” walls of the housing. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify the plug of Shaker to include pins as taught by Apperson as this is a known plug structure in the defibrillator art that would not affect the overall operation or purpose of Shaker.
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaker and Kuhn in view of Edwards et al. (US 2006/0178865, hereinafter Edwards).
Shaker, as modified above, discloses the applicant’s basic invention with the exception of including lights within the electrode enclosure and a status marker. Edwards discloses a defibrillator, and thus is analogous art with Shaker. Edwards discloses the electrode enclosure can have LEDs within the circuit enclosure below the electrode enclosure that shine through a status marker of the human body on the surface of the electrode enclosure (figure 6 and par. 0041). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify Shaker to include lights within the electrode enclosure and a status marker as taught by Edwards in order to ensure proper operation of the device by a user.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaker and Kuhn.
Regarding claim 16, Shaker discloses that the peelable tray lid has a solid tab 805, but is silent as to having multiple tabs. However, it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced (MPEP 2144.04 VI. B.). In this case having multiple tabs would not produce a new and unexpected result and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 5-12 and 15-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/982,960 (reference application) in view of Shaker and Kuhn. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims anticipate the current claim with the exception of the cover having staggered tabs on the cover that fit into grooves of the electrode enclosure, the tabs removable with upward force. However, Shaker also discloses a defibrillator housing, and thus is analogous art with the copending claims. Shaker shows in figure 10 a plurality of tabs 1005 that fit into corresponding grooves 1010 of the electrode enclosure, the tabs removable with upward force (Col. 9, lines 5-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to include the tabs and grooves of Shaker in the cover of the copending claims in order to ensure a tight fit of the cover, as taught by Shaker.
However, Shaker is silent as to the tabs being staggered from each other in a zipper fashion. Kuhn also discloses an enclosure, and thus is analogous art with the enclosure of Shaker. Kuhn discloses that the enclosure has a cover with longitudinal, parallel sides with a plurality of tabs 32 staggered along the two longitudinal, parallel sides in a zipper fashion (see figure 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify Shaker to place the plurality of tabs 32 staggered along the two longitudinal, parallel sides in a zipper fashion as taught by Kuhn as Kuhn teaches that this offset arrangement is for the particular purpose/benefit of providing extra strength of the enclosure when the cover is in place (par. 0041-0042 for motivation).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 5-12 and 15-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of copending Application No. 18/982,953 (reference application) in view of Shaker and Kuhn. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claims anticipate the current claim with the exception of the cover having staggered tabs on the cover that fit into grooves of the electrode enclosure, the tabs removable with upward force. However, Shaker also discloses a defibrillator housing, and thus is analogous art with the copending claims. Shaker shows in figure 10 a plurality of tabs 1005 that fit into corresponding grooves 1010 of the electrode enclosure, the tabs removable with upward force (Col. 9, lines 5-21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to include the tabs and grooves of Shaker in the cover of the copending claims in order to ensure a tight fit of the cover, as taught by Shaker.
However, Shaker is silent as to the tabs being staggered from each other in a zipper fashion. Kuhn also discloses an enclosure, and thus is analogous art with the enclosure of Shaker. Kuhn discloses that the enclosure has a cover with longitudinal, parallel sides with a plurality of tabs 32 staggered along the two longitudinal, parallel sides in a zipper fashion (see figure 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify Shaker to place the plurality of tabs 32 staggered along the two longitudinal, parallel sides in a zipper fashion as taught by Kuhn as Kuhn teaches that this offset arrangement is for the particular purpose/benefit of providing extra strength of the enclosure when the cover is in place (par. 0041-0042 for motivation).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/Eric D. Bertram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796