NON-FINAL OFFICE ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 10, 11, 13, 15, 16, 18, 20, 21, 23, 25, 26, 28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0220375 to Furuya (hereinafter Furuya) in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2021/0133059 to Bono et al. (hereinafter Bono).
Furuya discloses:
1. A non-transitory computer readable medium including program instructions for
execution on a processor of a multi-site disaster recovery (DR) environment, the
program instructions configured to:
monitor input/output (I/O) accesses and storage ownership takeover activity from a fault tolerant application executing on a first cluster configured for failover to a second cluster of the environment (paras. [0034], [0120], [0140]-[0142] – number of I/O accesses monitored), wherein the I/O accesses are directed to shared storage replicated from the first cluster to the second cluster (Figs. 7, 8, 9 storing apparatuses mirrored and accessible by both active and standby servers), and wherein the storage ownership takeover activity is directed to establishing and pre-empting ownership of the shared storage (paras. [0121]-[0123], [0144]);
detect patterns of the I/O accesses and storage ownership activity from an application separate from that of fault tolerant application indicating degraded I/O performance to determine whether the fault tolerant application and the shared storage are co-located at the first cluster (paras. [0039], [0087], [0121]-[0123] – performance greatly changes depending on which storage is accessed); and
in response to determining that the fault tolerant application and shared storage are no longer co-located at the first cluster, trigger a failover of the shared storage to ensure co-location with the fault tolerant application (paras. [0037]-[0039], [0123] –storage access destination changed to same site as server).
Furuya does not disclose expressly the fault tolerant application executing on a container; and wherein the I/O accesses occur via a cluster storage interface driver executing in another container of the first cluster.
Bono teaches a fault tolerant application executing on a container (paras. [0061]-[0062] and Fig. 2); and wherein the I/O accesses occur via a cluster storage interface driver executing in another container of the first cluster (paras. [0066]-[0068]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Furuya by executing application in containers, as taught by Bono. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to optimize use of components and enhance performance, as discussed by Bono (paras. [0051], [0052]).
Modified Furuya discloses:
3. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the program instructions configured to detect patterns of the I/O accesses includes program instructions configured to determine whether the patterns exceed a threshold of pre- determined patterns of I/O activity (Furuya - paras. [0034], [0120], [0140]-[0142] – accesses of one server higher than the other).
5. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the fault tolerant container-based application is part of a container managed cluster having failover logic for the fault tolerant container-based application (Bono - paras. [0061]-[0068]).
6. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein during degraded I/O performance, a failover of the fault tolerant application to the second site proxies the I/O accesses to the shared storage at the first site (Furuya - paras. [0039], [0045]).
8. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein failover of the fault tolerant application is uncoordinated with failover of the shared storage (Furuya - para. [0039], [0087]).
10. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein an administratively initiated maintenance triggers failover of one of the fault tolerant application or the shared storage such that they are no-longer co-located (Furuya - paras. [0086]- [0087]).
Claims 11, 13, 15, 16, 18, and 20 are a method comprising steps identical to the steps performed by the non-transitory computer readable medium of claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, and 10, and are rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 21, 23, 25, 26, 28, and 30 are an apparatus comprising a processor to perform steps identical to the steps performed by the non-transitory computer readable medium of claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, and 10, and are rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 2, 4, 7, 9, 12, 14, 17, 19, 22, 24, 27, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furuya in view of Bono and further in view of U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2017/0359243 to Deuri et al. (hereinafter Deuri).
Furuya does not disclose expressly:
2. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the program instructions configured to monitor I/O accesses and storage ownership takeover activity includes program instructions configured to monitor removal and addition of storage connection pattern of activity to ensure that the failover of the fault tolerant container-based application and the shared storage are co-located at the first site.
Deuri teaches program instructions configured to monitor removal and addition of storage connection pattern of activity to ensure that the failover of the fault tolerant container-based application and the shared storage are co-located at the first site (paras. [0014], [0051]).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Furuya by monitoring removal and addition of storage connection patterns of activity, as taught by Deuri. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to discover activity status of a node without the use of input/output operations, which facilitates efficient compute node cluster management, as discussed by Deuri (paras. [0002], [0013]).
Modified Kuruya discloses:
4. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the program instructions configured to detect patterns of the I/O accesses is based on a sliding window of the monitored I/O accesses (Deuri – para. [0061]).
7. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the detected patterns of I/O accesses and storage ownership takeover activity are configurable per fault tolerant application (Deuri – paras. [0061],[0074]).
9. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the program instructions configured to detect patterns of I/O access and storage ownership takeover activity includes program instructions configured to gather statistics of an amount of data transferred during a sliding window time interval (Furuya – paras. [0034], [0120], [0140]-[0142] and Deuri – para. [0061]).
Claims 12, 14, 17, and 19 are a method comprising steps identical to the steps performed by the non-transitory computer readable medium of claims 2, 4, 7, and 9, and are rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 22, 24, 27, and 29 are an apparatus comprising a processor to perform steps identical to the steps performed by the non-transitory computer readable medium of claims 2, 4, 7, and 9, and are rejected under the same rationale.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 12,169,445 (hereinafter ‘445). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-30 of ‘445 contain every element of claims 1-30 of the instant application and thus anticipate the claims of the instant application. Claims of the instant application therefore are not patently distinct from the earlier patent claims and as such are unpatentable over obvious-type double patenting. A later application claim is not patentably distinct from an earlier claim if the later claim is anticipated by the earlier claim.
Conclusion
/PHILIP GUYTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2113