Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 7, it is suggested to replace the article “a” with --the-- in the claim term “a lower windshield section” to avoid a double inclusion issue.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 3, it is suggested to replace the article “a” with --the-- in the claim term “a lower windshield section” to avoid a double inclusion issue.
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: it is suggested to insert a period punctuation at the end of the sentence to improve clarity by fixing a grammatical issue.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2, it is suggested to insert the article --the-- for the claim term “at least one magnetic coupling device” to avoid a double inclusion issue.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the”
“rail device” (there does not appear to be a rail shown in the figures, and there is no reference numeral for this object);
“a longitudinal axis” of the rail device that intersects the second longitudinal axis 135a of the hinge (it is unclear where the “longitudinal axis” of the rail device is shown and how it intersects the second longitudinal axis 135a of the hinge, and there is no reference numeral for this axis);
“at least one reconfigurable windshield and modular accessory mounting device mounted to the mounting member” (there is no reference numeral for this object);
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to because Fig. 5-21 are missing reference numerals and corresponding lead lines to explain the features of the figures to help improve clarity.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
in [0066] line 2, there appears to be a spelling error and that “backplane 410” should instead recite “back plate” per line 4;
in [0066] line 5, there appears to be a spelling error and that “back place” should instead recite “back plate” per line 4;
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 9, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear how the “A reconfigurable windshield and modular accessory mounting device” in line 1 can comprise itself in line 11 which recites “at least one reconfigurable windshield and modular accessory mounting device”. To improve clarity, it is suggested to use different claim terminology to avoid confusion. For examination purposes, it is assumed that it refers to the one or more modular accessories.
Regarding claims 1 and 9 and in view of the drawing objection above relating to the rail device, it is unclear how the rail device extends along a longitudinal axis that intersects the longitudinal axis 135a of the hinge since this configuration does not appear to be shown in the figures. For examination purposes, it is assumed that the rail device extends along a longitudinal axis that is parallel to the longitudinal axis 135a of the hinge.
Regarding claim 1, it is unclear if the upper and lower section windshield sections are the same or different from the fixed pane and the folding pane. For examination purposes, it is assumed that the upper and lower section windshield sections comprise the fixed pane and the folding pane in which the upper windshield section comprises one of the fixed pane and the folding pane while the lower windshield section comprises the other one of the fixed pane and the folding pane.
Regarding claim 3, it is unclear how the “The reconfigurable windshield and modular accessory mounting device” in line 1 can comprise itself in line 12 which recites “at least one reconfigurable windshield and modular accessory mounting device”. To improve clarity, it is suggested to use different claim terminology to avoid confusion. For examination purposes, it is assumed that it refers to the one or more modular accessories.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the upper windshield section” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, it is assumed that claim 11 should depend on claim 10 instead of on claim 2 in order to provide sufficient antecedent basis.
Claim(s) 13 is/are also considered to be indefinite since it/they depend(s) from the indefinite parent claim(s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-11, 14-15, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim US20190338573 in view of Van Buren US20180229646.
Regarding both independent claims 1 and 2, Kim discloses, in Figures 1-5,
A reconfigurable windshield and modular accessory mounting device (Kim; Fig. 1-5) comprising:
a frame (Kim; frame 102) extending along a longitudinal direction (Kim; frame 102 extends longitudinally/horizontally from the driver/left side to the passenger/right side) configured to receive opposing members (Kim; brackets 14);
a hinge (Kim; hinge assembly 20) having a first member (Kim; upper channel 30) pivotally coupled (Kim; live hinge 50) to a second member (Kim; lower channel 22), the first member and second member each configured to couple to and support respective portions of a folding windshield (Kim; folding windshield 10);
an upper and lower section windshield section, the upper windshield section pivotally coupled (Kim; hinge assembly 20) to a lower windshield section (Kim; upper pane 16 and lower pane 12);
at least one frame insert member (Kim; left and right support posts 104 of frame 102) wherein to the windshield (Kim; folding windshield 10); and,
a second longitudinal axis along which the hinge extends (Kim; the horizontal left-right axis of hinge assembly 20); and
the folding windshield (Kim; folding windshield 10) comprises a fixed pane (Kim; lower pane 12) and a folding pane (Kim; upper pane 16), at least one of the fixed pane and the folding pane comprising coupling points, wherein the fixed pane and the folding pane are pivotally coupled together by the hinge such that, when the folding pane is operated into a folded position, the folding pane is brought into alignment with the fixed pane at the coupling points.
Kim is silent regarding
a mounting member fixedly coupled to at least one frame insert member wherein the mounting member is configured to releasably couple one or more modular accessories to the windshield; and,
at least one reconfigurable windshield and modular accessory mounting device mounted to the mounting member, wherein:
the mounting member comprises a rail device extending along a longitudinal axis intersecting a second longitudinal axis along which the hinge extends.
Van Buren teaches
a mounting member (Van Buren; top rail 18) fixedly coupled (Van Buren; mounting brackets 34) to at least one frame insert member (Van Buren; left side pillar 21 and right side pillar 19) wherein the mounting member is configured to releasably couple one or more modular accessories (Van Buren; spaced lighting fixtures 22) to the windshield (Van Buren; windshield 12); and,
at least one reconfigurable windshield and modular accessory mounting device (Van Buren; spaced lighting fixtures 22; see the 35 USC 112(b) claim interpretation assumption above) mounted to the mounting member, wherein:
the mounting member comprises a rail device (Van Buren; top rail 18) extending along a longitudinal axis (Van Buren; the horizontal axis of the top rail 18).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the reconfigurable windshield and modular accessory mounting device as taught by Kim to comprise a rail mounting member coupled to one or more modular accessories as taught by Van Buren for the purpose of enhancing the vehicle with accessories (Van Buren; [0003] “Many owners and drivers of off-road vehicles such as Jeep® brand vehicles choose to enhance their stock vehicles with aftermarket accessories.”)
Regarding claim 3, Modified Kim teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The reconfigurable windshield and modular accessory mounting device of claim 2, further comprising at least one reconfigurable windshield and modular accessory mounting device (Van Buren; spaced lighting fixtures 22; see the 35 USC 112(b) claim interpretation assumption above) mounted to the mounting member (Van Buren; top rail 18).
Regarding claim 5, Modified Kim teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The reconfigurable windshield and modular accessory mounting device of claim 2, further comprising at least one lighting device (Van Buren; spaced lighting fixtures 22) mounted to the mounting member.
Regarding claim 7, Modified Kim teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The reconfigurable windshield and modular accessory mounting device of claim 2, further comprising at least one camera device mounted to the mounting member (Kim; [0019] “sports cameras”).
Regarding claim 8, Modified Kim teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The reconfigurable windshield and modular accessory mounting device of claim 2, wherein the mounting member comprises an upper insert accessory and a lower insert accessory (Van Buren; spaced lighting fixtures 22; when viewing the top rail 18 at a 90-degree angle that is perpendicular to the ground/floor, then one fixture 22 is considered to be an upper accessory while the other fixture 22 is considered to be a lower accessory).
Regarding claim 9, Modified Kim teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The reconfigurable windshield and modular accessory mounting device of claim 2, the mounting member comprises a rail device (Van Buren; top rail 18) extending along a longitudinal axis intersecting a second longitudinal axis along which the hinge extends (Kim; hinge assembly 20).
Regarding claim 10, Modified Kim teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The reconfigurable windshield and modular accessory mounting device of claim 2, further comprising an upper and lower section windshield section (Kim; upper pane 16 and lower pane 12), the upper windshield section pivotally coupled to a lower windshield section (Kim; hinge assembly 20).
Regarding claim 11, Modified Kim teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The reconfigurable windshield and modular accessory mounting device of claim 2, wherein the folding windshield comprises a fixed pane (Kim; lower pane 12) and a folding pane (Kim; upper pane 16), at least one of the fixed pane and the folding pane comprising coupling points (Kim; brackets 14), wherein the fixed pane and the folding pane are pivotally coupled together by the hinge such that (Kim; hinge assembly 20), when the folding pane is operated into a folded position (Kim; Fig. 4A), the folding pane is brought into alignment with the fixed pane at the coupling points (Kim; brackets 14).
Regarding claim 14, Modified Kim teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The reconfigurable windshield and modular accessory mounting device of claim 2, wherein the mounting member (Van Buren; top rail 18) comprises a track (Van Buren; top T-channel 43 of the top rail 18) configured to slidably receive and reposition one or more modular accessories along at least a portion of the windshield (Van Buren; [0029] nuts 51 of pivotable bracket assembly 70 slide along top rail 18 for mounting the lighting fixture(s) 22).
Regarding claim 15, Modified Kim teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The reconfigurable windshield and modular accessory mounting device of claim 2, further comprising a locking device (Kim; latch 18) configured to affix the hinge in at least one predetermined angular position (Kim; hinge assembly 20).
Regarding claim 19, Modified Kim teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The reconfigurable windshield and modular accessory mounting device of claim 2, wherein the mounting member (Van Buren; top rail 18) further comprises two slots (Van Buren; top T-channel/slot 43 and bottom T-channel/slot 46 of the top rail 18).
Regarding claim 20, Modified Kim teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The reconfigurable windshield and modular accessory mounting device of claim 2, further comprising at least one accessory (Van Buren; spaced lighting fixture(s) 22) coupled to the mounting member.
Modified Kim is silent regarding a pivot mount configured such that the pivot mount rotates independently of the windshield.
Van Buren teaches a pivot mount configured such that the pivot mount rotates independently of the windshield (Van Buren; pivotable bracket assembly 70; [0030] to provide pivoting for the light so that it is able to be adjusted to face in the forward-direction for the driver).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the mounting device as taught by Modified Kim to include a pivot mount as taught by Van Buren for the purpose of providing pivoting for the light so that it is able to be adjusted to face in the forward-direction for the driver (Van Buren; [0030] to provide pivoting for the light so that it is able to be adjusted to face in the forward-direction for the driver).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Van Buren as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Lapinski US9091390.
Regarding claim 4, Modified Kim teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The reconfigurable windshield and modular accessory mounting device of claim 2, the mounting member (Van Buren; top rail 18).
Modified Kim is silent regarding further comprising at least one speaker device mounted to the mounting member.
Lapinski teaches at least one speaker device mounted to the mounting member (Lapinski; Fig. 5; the assembly of slide-on device 100 and loudspeaker 414; col. 5:18-23 “can fit different shapes and sizes of columns and other constructions”; col. 1:24-25 a golf player may want to listen to music while playing golf).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device as taught by Modified Kim to include the speaker and slide-on device as taught by Lapinski for the purpose of providing music for the golf player (Lapinski; col. 1:24-25 a golf player may want to listen to music while playing golf).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Van Buren as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Johnson US20040174034.
Regarding claim 6, Modified Kim teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The reconfigurable windshield and modular accessory mounting device of claim 2.
Modified Kim is silent regarding further comprising at least one cup holder device mounted to the mounting member.
Johnson teaches at least one cup holder device mounted to the mounting member (Johnson; housing 25 with beverage holder 56, and the housing 25 is configured for coupling to mounting brackets 31/32; [0003] “capable of holding and storing a wide variety of items commonly used by golfers”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device as taught by Modified Kim to include at least one cup holder device as taught by Johnson for the purpose of holding and storing commonly used items (Johnson; [0003] “capable of holding and storing a wide variety of items commonly used by golfers”).
Claim(s) 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Van Buren as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Woodrow US20250042229.
Regarding claim 12, Modified Kim teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The reconfigurable windshield and modular accessory mounting device of claim 11, further comprising integrated into the upper windshield section (Kim; upper pane 16) configured such that, when the folding windshield section is operated into the folding mode (Kim; hinge assembly 20), then the folding windshield section to the fixed windshield section (Kim; lower pane 12).
Modified Kim is silent regarding further comprising at least one magnetic coupling device integrated into the upper windshield section configured such that, when the folding windshield section is operated into the folding mode, then the at least one magnetic coupling device releasably secures the folding windshield section to the fixed windshield section.
Woodrow teaches at least one magnetic coupling device integrated into the upper windshield section configured such that, when the folding windshield section is operated into the folding mode, then the at least one magnetic coupling device releasably secures the folding windshield section to the fixed windshield section (Woodrow; [0022-0023] magnets 6 on a rotatable windshield and magnetic strike plates 7 on the fixed windshield for the purpose of providing a magnetic latch system that reduces noise - “latch system that can reduce the noise common to golf car windshield assemblies”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the device as taught by Modified Kim to include at least one magnetic coupling device on the rotatable windshield and magnetic strike plate on the fixed windshield section as taught by Woodrow for the purpose of providing a latch that also provides minimize noise (Woodrow; [0022] providing a magnetic latch system that reduces noise - “latch system that can reduce the noise common to golf car windshield assemblies”).
Regarding claim 13, Modified Kim teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The reconfigurable windshield and modular accessory mounting device of claim 12, further comprising at least one magnetic coupling device (Woodrow; [0022-0023] magnetic strike plates 7 on the fixed windshield for the purpose of providing a magnetic latch system that reduces noise - “latch system that can reduce the noise common to golf car windshield assemblies”) coupled to the lower windshield section configured such that, when the folding windshield section is operated into the folding mode, then the at least one magnetic coupling device releasably secures the folding windshield section to the fixed windshield section (Woodrow; [0022-0023] magnets 6 on a rotatable windshield and magnetic strike plates 7 on the fixed windshield for the purpose of providing a magnetic latch system that reduces noise - “latch system that can reduce the noise common to golf car windshield assemblies”).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Van Buren as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Hamilton US20230321504.
Regarding claim 16, Modified Kim teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The reconfigurable windshield and modular accessory mounting device of claim 2, wherein at least one modular accessory (Kim; [0019] “sports cameras”) is coupled to the mounting member (Van Buren; top rail 18).
Modified Kim is silent regarding magnetically coupled.
Hamilton teaches magnetically coupled (Hamilton; Fig. 1-2; [0030] magnetic attachment device 110 for securing an organizer 100 to windshield portion of a golf cart; [0060] magnetic coupling/fixtures provides selective attachment and detachment of the organizer to the cart in an easy and convenient and secure manner).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the coupling as taught by Modified Kim to comprise magnetically coupled as taught by Hamilton for the purpose of providing selective attachment and detachment of the organizer to the cart in an easy and convenient and secure manner (Hamilton; Fig. 1-2; [0030] magnetic attachment device 110 for securing an organizer 100 to windshield portion of a golf cart; [0060] magnetic coupling/fixtures provides selective attachment and detachment of the organizer to the cart in an easy and convenient and secure manner).
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Van Buren as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Ellenburg US5983518.
Regarding claim 17, Modified Kim teaches the invention substantially the same as described above, and The reconfigurable windshield and modular accessory mounting device of claim 2, wherein the mounting member (Van Buren; top rail 18).
Modified Kim does not teach an adjustable tension element, configured to vary the force required to attach or detach the modular accessories.
Ellenburg teaches an adjustable tension element, configured to vary the force required to attach or detach the modular accessories (Ellenburg; Fig. 1-2; adjustable clamp 20 with adjustment knob 30 that attaches/detaches the golf glove dryer 10 to the golf cart).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill at the effective filing date of the invention to modify the mounting member as taught by Modified Kim to comprise an adjustable tension element as taught by Ellenburg for the purpose of providing the user to modify the grip strength of the mounting member depending on the weight/movement of the accessory.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Johnson US6869120 teaches a dash box 10.
Fuelling US7172164 teaches a sliding modular mount 32.
Tyrer US20030000983 teaches straps 28L/28R for securing a cooler 24 to a cart 10.
Christiansen US20060091089 teaches a golf club rack 10 at a windshield/windscreen.
Stautzenberger US20090224016 teaches a storage container 11 and an adjustable sliding arm 9 that is attached to the golf car windshield frame 1.
Lorenzana US20130105532 teaches a portable golf car accessory organizer with holders.
Bennett US20190275952 teaches a windshield flange 12.
Smith US20250178538 teaches an accessory carrier / caddy system 10.
/JONATHAN MALIKASIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645 7/27/26