DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is in response to the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) received on August 24, 2026. Claims 21-28, 30-32, 34, and 36 are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “imaging device” (as to claims 28, 31, 32) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21, 34, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wagner Block et al. (US Publication 2022/0399105), hereinafter “Wagner”.
Regarding claim 21, Wagner describes an enhanced operating room for assessing surgical conditions (i.e., an operating room monitoring system (ORMS, 50), the operating room (10, Figure 2 containing surgical table 37 and ORMS) comprising: a room for performing surgical procedures; a plurality of sensors (i.e., sensor array 60, comprising cameras, proximity sensors, air-velocity sensors, door-position sensors, temperature sensor, and relative-humidity sensor) connected to a physical infrastructure of the operating room (i.e., located in and around an operating room that the ORMS is configured for [0025] and cameras 62 can be mounted near walls or on the ceiling), the sensors being configured to measure a plurality of operating room parameters associated with the surgical conditions of the operating room as data [paragraph 0025 describes the sensors detect one or more conditions, events, and information about the operating room such as temperature, relative humidity, motion, proximity, vibration, sound, door position, differential pressure, airflow/velocity, air quality/toxicity and biological aerosols]; and a data module in communication with the sensors [paragraph 0025 describes data processed by the sensor array, such that the communication device 102 places the processor 100 in communication with sensor array 60 and monitoring server 80], the data module being capable of receiving the data from the plurality of sensors [paragraph 0025 describes the senser data is received and processed; sensor-array signals are received by monitoring server 80], the data module comprising memory (104, Figure 1 and monitoring server 80 can receive, store, and directly process sensor data) for storing the received data, and a processor (100, Figure 1, analyzes sensor data, including machine-vision data, and monitoring server can analyze/process sensor data) capable of analyzing and processing the stored data.
Regarding claim 34, Wagner discloses wherein at least one sensor is an environmental sensor (such as temperature, relative humidity, differential pressure, airflow/velocity, and air quality/toxicity) [paragraph 0025].
Regarding claim 36, Wagner discloses wherein the processor can generate a performance report accessible by an operator (i.e. the processor collects and analyzes sensor data and provide dashboard/interface information about environmental quality and infection risk) [paragraphs 0062-0067].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagner Block et al. (US Publication 2022/0399105), hereinafter “Wagner” in view of Lucchese et al. (US Publication 2016/0017602), hereinafter “Lucchese”.
Regarding claim 22, Wagner fails to disclose wherein the plurality of sensors is integrated into a portion of a floor of the room.
Lucchese, however, teaches sensitive-floor substrate1 comprising first sensing frame 2a-2d, second sensing frame 3a-3d, and conductive element 4 (Figures 1-3). The floor finishing products tiles, slabs, planks or carpeting are placed above second sensing frame 3a-3d, thereby incorporating the sensing structure into the finished floor [paragraphs 52-59].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system of Wagner with a plurality of sensors integrated into a portion of a floor as taught by Lucchese to detect stresses or loads acting upon the floor.
Regarding claim 23, the modified Wagner’s system discloses wherein at least a portion of the sensors are in a sensor pad (i.e. flexible sheath, Figures 1-3, [paragraph 0051] of Lucchese) coupled to the floor of the operating room.
Regarding claim 24, the modified Wagner’s system discloses wherein at least one sensor is a floor sensor (i.e., substrate 1 is a floor sensor, sensing strips 2a-2d, 3a-3d, and 4 of Lucchese).
Regarding claim 25, the modified Wagner’s system discloses wherein the floor sensor is a single sensor or integrated into an array (i.e., an array or grid arrangement comprised of 1, 2a-2d, 3a-3d, and 4, see Figures 1-3 of Lucchese)
Regarding claim 26, the modified Wagner’s system discloses wherein the floor sensor measures load distribution (i.e. computer 11 can continuously display information regarding the load distribution throughout the areas of the floor as a person walks or stands on the floor. The sensing signals travel through cables 5,6, connectors 7, 8, and lines 9, 10 to computer 11, [paragraphs 0086-0091] of Lucchese).
Regarding claim 27, the modified Wagner’s system discloses wherein the load distribution is measured in terms of force or pressure on the floor sensor (i.e., the floor responds to loads/stresses, with pressure-sensitive behavior generated when a person or object applies a load, Figure 5 depicts a sensing substrate with no load, Figure 6 depicts sensing substrate under the load of a person’s foot. The conductive element 4 is elastically compressed under the load, changing its resistance and generating the corresponding electrical measurement, see Figures 5-6; elements 2a-2d, 3a-3d, 4).
Claims 28 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagner Block et al. (US Publication 2022/0399105), hereinafter “Wagner” in view of Nye et al. (US Publication 2020/0160574), hereinafter “Nye”.
Regarding claim 28, Wagner fails to disclose wherein at least one sensor is a patient vital monitoring sensor, wherein the patient vital monitoring sensor comprises an imaging device configured to read vitals monitor in the operating room, and transmit vitals based on the read vitals to the data module.
Nye, however, teaches a system to capture and combine patient vitals and image data, wherein at least one sensor is a patient vital monitoring sensor (112, Figure 1), wherein the patient vital monitoring sensor comprises an imaging device (106, Figure 1) configured to read vitals monitor in the operating room (i.e. camera 106 captures visual vital information displayed by monitor 112), and transmit vitals based on the read vitals to the data module (i.e. by the vital capturer 302 and transmitted to vital analyzer 308) [paragraphs 0024-0027].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system of Wagner with a patient vital monitor sensor as taught by Nye to have a mobile apparatus to capture imaging and vitals information of a patient during an imaging procedure.
Regarding claim 30, the modified Wagner’s system discloses wherein the vitals data is accessible by an operator (specialist 102 assesses vitals data via user interface 200, Figures 1, 2A, 2B of Nye).
Claims 31 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wagner Block et al. (US Publication 2022/0399105), hereinafter “Wagner” in view of van Zon et al. (US Publication 2019/0287682), hereinafter “van”.
Regarding claim 31, Wagner fails to disclose wherein at least one sensor is a patient monitoring sensor, wherein the patient monitoring sensor system comprising an imaging device configured to detect at least one of movement or thermal response of a patient in the operating room, and transmit patient data based on the least one of movement or thermal response of the patient to the data module.
Van, however, teaches at least one sensor is a patient monitoring sensor (476A, vital sign acquisition camera, Figure 4), wherein the patient monitoring sensor system comprising an imaging device (476a, Figure 4) capable of detecting at least one of movement or thermal response of a patient in the operating room (i.e., detects chest movement and respiratory rate measurement from said movement [paragraph 0053-0054]), and transmit patient data based on the least one of movement or thermal response of the patient to the data module [paragraph 0054].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system of Wagner with a patient monitoring sensor to detect patient movement to monitor physiological metrics based on movement.
Regarding claim 32, the modified Wagner’s system discloses wherein at least one sensor of the plurality of sensors is a patient bed monitoring sensor (476A, Figure 4), wherein the patient bed monitoring sensor comprises an imaging device (476 A ) capable of focusing on a patient and record at least one of breathing rate (i.e. respiratory rate), skin temperature, or activity level of the patient as data [paragraphs 0053-0054].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system of Wagner with a patient bed monitoring sensor to detect breathing rate to monitor physiological metrics based on movement.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Diana Jones/Examiner, Art Unit 3775
/Zade Coley/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775