Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II in the reply filed on 6/29/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-9 and 19-20 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10-12, 16-18, 21-23, 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Glugla et al (US Patent No. 10,961,933).
Regarding claim 10, Glugla teaches A method of controlling a dual fuel engine system, the method comprising:
estimating a total engine load; (502 to 503 figure 5)
determining a total fueling amount by referencing a first look-up table, the first look-up table being based on an engine speed and the total engine load; (column 18 line 30-50 lookup table)
determining at least one updated total fueling amount based on the total fueling amount and an operational state of a dual fuel mode switch within the dual fuel engine system; and (508 figure 5 yes column 24 line 30-40)
determining a control input for at least one actuator within the dual fuel engine system; (512 or 514 operate PFI and DI)
wherein determining the control input comprises selecting a set of look-up tables associated with the at least one actuator, each look-up table within the set of look-up tables being based on the engine speed and the at least one updated total fueling amount. (514 or 512 operate engine in split lambda column 26 line 10-35 lookup table).
Regarding claim 11, Glugla teaches wherein selecting the set of look-up tables comprises selecting at least one of an air handling reference table, an aftertreatment reference table, or a fueling reference table. (column 26 line 10-35).
Regarding claim 12, Gluga teaches further comprising:
determining the total engine load exceeds a predetermined threshold; and
responsive to determining the total engine load exceeds the predetermined threshold, initiating at least one engine protective action. (504 to 510 figure 56 exceed threshold? Yes activate duel fuel mode).
Regarding claim 16, Gluga teaches wherein estimating the total engine load comprises:
estimating a power loss amount; and
determining a sum of a measured engine power and the power loss amount. (502 to 503 figure 5).
Regarding claim 17, Gluga teaches wherein estimating the total engine load comprises:
receiving at least one input from at least one sensor within the dual fuel engine system; and
based on the at least one input, calculating an engine load amount. (502 and 503 figure 5)
Regarding claim 18, Gluga teaches wherein receiving the at least one input comprises receiving at least one of a pump discharge pressure, a current, or a voltage. (column 23 line 40-65 boost pressure)
Regarding claims, 21-23 and 27-29, see rejection of claims 10-12 and 16-18 as the limitations are substantially similar.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13-15, 24-26 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GEORGE C JIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3747