DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8-9, 12-15, 17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hombroek (US2019/0276973A1) in view of Payne et al. (US2011/0173536A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Hombroek discloses a method (Abstract) comprising: accessing a first image of a first region of a first garment (Fig 6 #202, paragraph 66); extracting a first set of features from the first image (Fig 6 #204; Fig 7 #302, paragraph 69); based on the first set of features: detecting a first stain in the first region on the first garment (Fig 7 #304; paragraph 12); and interpreting a first stain type of the first stain (paragraphs 12, 53), wherein the controller may be configured to identify one or more characteristics of the stain sensed by the color detection sensor; based on the first stain type, selecting a first cleaning fluid, from a set of cleaning fluids, for application onto the first region of the first garment (Fig 7 #306; paragraphs 16, 69); during a first stain removal cycle: via a first nozzle, dispensing a first volume of the first cleaning fluid onto the first region of the first garment adjacent the first stain (paragraph 53),
Hombroek fails to explicitly disclose garment located on a stage and via a vacuum subsystem facing the stage opposite the first nozzle, drawing air through the first region of the first garment and the stage to remove the first cleaning fluid and stain particles of the first stain from the first garment.
Payne et al. is also in the field of fabric stain removal (Abstract) and teaches garment located on a stage and via a vacuum subsystem facing the stage opposite the first nozzle (Fig 1), drawing air through the first region of the first garment and the stage to remove the first cleaning fluid and stain particles of the first stain from the first garment (paragraph 22). Base 12 typically includes user controls, such as foot pedals 18, which enable the user to operate steam 20, vacuum 22, and air 24 which all have corresponding sources contained within or connected to base 12. Steam source 20 generates steam which may also be emitted from the spotting gun 23 for use in working stains from a fabric. Vacuum source 22 generates a suction force within vacuum zone 21 of upper platform 14 for use in removing agents from a fabric.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Hombroek to include the vacuum subsystem techniques taught in Payne, for purposes of removing agents away from the fabric.
Re claim 3, Hombroek teaches a) receiving selection of a fabric characteristics of the first garment from a user via a user interface (paragraph 5 of Hombroek teaches a controller which is configured to configure one or more parameters for a wash cycle based upon the captured color composition data; Paragraph 41 of Hombroek teaches controlling the washing machine 10 by a user is generally managed through a control panel 18 disposed on a backsplash and implementing a user interface for the washing machine, and it will be appreciated that in different washing machine designs, control panel 18 may include various types of input and / or output devices including various knobs buttons, lights, switches, textual and/or graphical displays, touch screens, etc. through which a user may configure one or more settings and start and stop a wash cycle); based on the fabric type and the first stain type, queuing mechanical agitation of the first region during the first stain removal cycle (Fig 7 #306; paragraphs 16 and 45), an agitator 42 such as an impeller, auger or other agitation element may be disposed in the interior 38 of wash basket 34 to agitate items within wash basket 34 during a washing operation. Specifically, paragraph 16 teaches based on the characteristics to the stain, one more parameters may include agitation duration by the controller. In reference to enhancing the penetration of the cleaning fluid into the fibers of the garment, paragraph 12 of Hombroek teaches that the controller may be configured to identify one or more characteristics of the stain and configure one of more of the parameters(i.e. pre-treatment, paragraph 39) of the wash cycle in response to one or more characteristics identified.
Re claims 3 and 17, Hombroek fails to explicitly disclose fabric type of the first garment and proximal the stage. Payne teaches fabric type of the first garment (Fig 6 #102) and proximal the stage (Fig 1). Paragraph 35 of Payne teaches a fabric identification track 76 provides visual and descriptive guidance which will assist a user in properly selecting the fabric type for the garments they are working upon; Fig 6. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the method of Hombroek to include the fabric type and stage taught in Payne, in order to guide the user through the process for successfully removing a stain of the selected type, based upon a number of criteria, such as the type of fabric the stain is to be removed from.
Re claim 8, Payne teaches receiving selection of a first fabric type of the first garment from a user via a user interface arranged proximal the stage (Figs. 1 and 6); and based on the first fabric type, identifying a first subset of cleaning fluids, in the set of cleaning fluids compatible with the first fabric type (Fig 6, paragraphs 35, 37) wherein dispensing the first volume of the first cleaning fluid onto the first region of the first garment comprises pumping the first volume of the first cleaning fluid from a first reservoir containing the first cleaning fluid to the first nozzle (paragraphs 26-27).
Re claim 9, Hombroek teaches accessing a second image of a second region of a second garment at a second time succeeding the first stain removal cycle (Fig 6 #202); extracting a second set of features from the second image (Fig 6 #204; Fig 7 #302); paragraph 12 of Hombroek further teaches that based on the second set of features: the controller may be further configured to detect a stain on an item among the one or more items from the one or more images (Fig. 7, #304); and identify one or more characteristics of the detected stain may be determined (paragraph 53). Hombroek further teaches
during a second stain removal cycle: pumping a second volume of the second cleaning fluid onto the
second region of the second garment adjacent the second stain via (paragraph 53). The stain removing tool may then be deployed from this stored position and may receive at least a portion of an item containing the stain in order to remove or treat the stain with water ( for example via nozzles or brushes to spray and /or scrub the item.
Re claim 9, Hombroek fails to explicitly disclose garment located on the stage; receiving selection of a second fabric type of the second garment from a second user via the user interface, the second fabric type different from the first fabric type; based on the second fabric type, identifying a second subset of cleaning fluids, from the set of cleaning fluids, compatible with the second fabric type, the second subset of cleaning fluids different from the first subset of cleaning fluids; during a second stain removal cycle: a second nozzle facing the stage, adjacent the first nozzle, and coupled to a second reservoir containing the second cleaning fluid; and via the vacuum subsystem facing the stage opposite the second nozzle, drawing air through the second region of the second garment and the stage to remove the second cleaning fluid and stain particles of the second stain from the second garment.
Payne teaches garment located on the stage (Fig 1) receiving selection of a second fabric type of the second garment from a second user via the user interface, the second fabric type different from the first fabric type (Fig 6); based on the second fabric type, identifying a second subset of cleaning fluids, from the set of cleaning fluids, compatible with the second fabric type, the second subset of cleaning fluids different from the first subset of cleaning fluids (Fig 6; Fig 7); and during a second stain removal cycle: a second nozzle facing the stage, adjacent the first nozzle, and coupled to a second reservoir containing the second cleaning fluid (Fig 2); and via the vacuum subsystem facing the stage opposite the second nozzle, drawing air through the second region of the second garment and the stage to remove the second cleaning fluid and stain particles of the second stain from the second garment (Fig 1; paragraph 22).
Re claims 12 and 19, Hombroek teaches in response to closure of a cover, triggering an optical sensor 68 to capture the first image of the first region of the first garment (Fig 3B). Paragraph 5 teaches a wash tub disposed within a housing; a color detection sensor 68 disposed proximate an opening of the wash tub and configured to capture color composition data of one or more items added to the wash tub); wherein detecting the first stain in the first region on the first garment comprises detecting the first stain in the first region on the first side of the first garment (Fig 7 #304, paragraph 12, wherein the controller may be further configured to detect a stain on an item among the one or more items from the one or more images); and wherein dispensing the first volume of the first cleaning fluid onto the first region of the first garment comprises dispensing the first volume of the first cleaning fluid onto the first region on the first side of the first garment (Fig 7 #306; paragraph 0012). Hombroek further teaches the optical sensor 68 arranged on a cover (i.e. upper portion of wash tub), adjacent to the first nozzle 54.
Hombroek fails to explicitly disclose the stage; the optical sensor: facing the stage opposite the vacuum subsystem; facing a first side of the first region of the first garment; and defining a field of view intersecting the stage; wherein drawing air through the first region of the first garment and the stage comprises drawing air through the first region of the first garment and the stage to draw the first cleaning fluid and stain particles of the first stain from the first side of the first garment through the first garment to a second side of the first garment opposite the first side of the first garment and through the stage.
Payne teaches the stage 11 (Fig 1); the optical sensor 30 (Figs. 1, 6): facing the stage opposite the vacuum subsystem 22 (Fig 1); facing a first side of the first region of the first garment (Fig 1 and Fig 7); and defining a field of view intersecting the stage (Figs 1 and 7); wherein drawing air through the first region of the first garment and the stage comprises drawing air through the first region of the first garment and the stage to draw the first cleaning fluid and stain particles of the first stain from the first side of the first garment, through the first garment to a second side of the first garment opposite the first side of the first garment and through the stage. It is noted that the optical sensor 30 identifies the fabric and detects the stain (Fig. 6 of Payne). Paragraph 22 teaches Vacuum source 22 generates a suction force within vacuum zone 21 of upper platform 14 for use in removing agents from a fabric. Finally air source 24 generates a stream of compressed air of the like which is emitted from the spotting gun 23 for use in working stains from a fabric. Re claims 13 and 20, the limitations are similar to that of claim 12 with the exception of treating the second side of the garment. Applicant is directed to Hombroek which teaches pre-treatment, which reads on treating the second side of the garment, in order to remove the stain (paragraph 53).
Re claim 14, Hombroek teaches accessing a first image of a first region of a first garment located on a stage (Fig 6 #202); extracting a first set of features from the first image (Fig 6 #204; Fig 7 #302); based on the first set of features: detecting a first stain in the first region on the first garment (Fig 7 #304, paragraphs 12, 39, 53, 61, 64, 69); interpreting the first dimension of the first stain and based on the first dimension, selecting a volume of the first cleaning fluid (paragraph 53, which teaches one or more characteristics of the stain may be determined, such as the size; paragraph 12 teaches a controller which adjusts one of more parameters of the wash cycle based on the stain); dispensing a first volume of fluid on the garment via a first nozzle adjacent to the stain, applicant is directed to Fig.1, element 54 of Hombroek. In reference to the vacuum subsystem, applicant is directed to Payne, element 22, as previously discussed.
Re claim 15, in reference to pixel color values of the first image, refer to Fig. 6, element 204 and Fig. 7, element 304 of Hombroek and based on the pixel color values interpreting the stain type, and selecting the cleaning fluid (paragraph 69).
Claim(s) 2, 4, 10 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hombroek (US2019/0276973A1) in view of Payne et al. (US2011/0173536A1) and further in view of Jackson et al. (US10513674B1).
Re claims 2 and 16, Hombroek in view of Payne fail to teach based on the first set of features, detecting a fabric type of the first garment based on the fabric type and the first stain type, selecting a steaming duration for the first garment; and during the first stain removal cycle: via a second nozzle, directing a jet of steam toward the first region of the first garment over the steaming duration to: enhance penetration of the first cleaning fluid into fibers of the first garment; and enhance extraction of the first stain from the first garment.
Jackson et al. in the field of fabric stain removal (Abstract) and teaches based on the first set of features, detecting a fabric type of the first garment. Col. 6, lines10-25 teaches for thick or heavy articles, the steam gun may be moved in the defined motion relative to the stain until the articles are damp to touch based on the fabric type and the first stain type, selecting a steaming duration for the first garment (Figs.2-3; col. 5, lines 40-45) and further teaches simultaneously activating a steam supply and a vacuum supply of the spotting board;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the modified method of Hombroek, to include steaming techniques taught in Jackson et al. for purposes of performing the same function of removing and treating stains from articles of clothing.
Re claim 4, Hombroek in view of Payne fails to explicitly disclose calculating a first dimension of the first stain in the first image based on the contour and calculating the first volume of the first cleaning fluid proportional to the first dimension.
Jackson et al. teaches calculating a first dimension of the first stain in the first image based on the contour and based on the dimension, calculating the amount of cleaning fluid. Col. 4, lines 45-50 teaches that the stain may be in any color, shape or size. For instance, the stain may be in any two-dimensional shape, such as a circle or rectangle; and calculating the first volume of the first cleaning fluid proportional to the first dimension (col. 13, lines 10-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the modified method of Hombroek, to include calculating the dimension and contour of the stain, as taught by Jackson et al., for purposes of determining the amount of cleaning fluid required for stain removal.
Re claim 10, Hembroek et al. in view of Payne fail to teach accessing a fabric thickness of the first garment; selecting the first volume of the first cleaning fluid for application onto the first garment, the first volume proportional to the fabric thickness; and selecting a vacuum duration for activation of the vacuum subsystem, the vacuum duration proportional to the first volume; and wherein drawing air through the first region of the first garment and the stage to remove the first cleaning fluid and stain particles of the first stain from the first garment comprises drawing air through the first region of the first garment and the stage over the vacuum duration.
Jackson et al. teaches accessing a fabric thickness of the first garment (col. 6, lines 10-20), for thick or heavy articles, the steam gun may be moved in the defined motion relative to the stain until the articles are damp to touch; selecting the first volume of the first cleaning fluid for application onto the first garment, the first volume proportional to the fabric thickness. The limitations of the cleaning fluid volume are met since the prior art teaches movement of the steam gun until the article is at least partially dry (col. 6, lines 15-20). Jackson et al. further teaches selecting a vacuum duration which is proportional to the first volume of the cleaning fluid since Jackson et al. teach simultaneously activating the steam supply and the vacuum supply and moving the steam gun in a defined motion relative to the stain for at least 30 seconds (col. 2, lines 15-20). In reference to the air supply, refer to col. 5-6 bridging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the modified method of Hombroek, to include accessing the fabric thickness, the vacuum duration, as taught by Jackson et al. for performing the same function of removing and treating stains from articles of clothing.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 5-7, 11 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
8. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach the limitations are cited in claims 5-7, 11 and 18. Specifically, the prior art fails to teach based on the second set of features from a second image, calculating a second dimension of the first stain following the first stain removal cycle or interpreting a second stain type of the first stain. Claim 7 is allowable based on its dependency. The prior art further fails to teach interpreting the moisture level of the first stain and based on the moisture level, selecting a steaming duration which is inversely proportional to the moisture level.
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kessler et al. teach detecting impurities. Xu et al. teach obtaining a stain type. Shenouda et al. teach a system for stain removal. Alban et al. teach a cleaning fluid composition.
Sharidan Carrillo
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/Sharidan Carrillo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711 bsc