6Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Status of Claims
Applicant’s correspondence received on 8/20/26 is acknowledged. Claims 1-6 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herjólfsson et al. (US 20150324742 A1), in view of Bruno et al. (US 20050040987 A1), in further view of BRIZARD (US 20130188451 A1)
Re-claim 1, Herjólfsson et al. teach a method for underwater gear tracking, the method comprising:
--receiving, by a reporting device on a vessel, from a tag associated with an item, a signal indicating the item is on the vessel;
(see e.g. [0051] According to the present invention a transceiver (6) in transport vessel (5) picks up one or more items which are equipped with a wireless ID tag (4). When item is moved from location 1, which may or may not be equipped with a transceiver, into the transport vessel (5) the ID tag starts to communicate with the transceiver (6) in the transport vessel. The ID tag will communicate its last location to the transceiver. If the last location does not match the location ID of the transceiver in the transport vessel the transceiver will register the ID tag as a new item on the transport vessels location. --- If the item continues to communicate with the transceiver in the vehicle for defined distance, the transceiver will issue an event to the centralized system indicating that the item is now on the transport vessel location and it will update the current location information, stored in the wireless ID tag, to the location ID of the transport vessel.
[0038] In the present context the term “location” refers to a physical locations which is of importance in the distribution chain and can either refer to a stationary location (i.e. factory, production plant, customer, storage facility) or a movable location or transport vessel (i.e. transportation truck, train, boat etc.) and have location data based thereon. )
--after said receiving, determining, by the reporting device, that the item is not on the vessel;
--in response to said determining, recording, by the reporting device, information associated with the environment of the vessel at a time the reporting device determines that the item is not on the vessel, without input from an operator of the vessel;
(see e.g. [0053] . The transceiver will not issue events for the items until it leaves the location and has traveled a defined distance from the location and notices that a wireless ID task is no longer transmitting information to the transceiver. Then, and only then, will the transceiver have a confirmation that an item was left at the last location and will issue an event to the centralized system to indicate that.
[0054] Once the transceiver leaves the location and has traveled a certain distance, the transceiver will, based on its item list, issue events: [0061] indicating a delivered item to the last location if items are no longer sending data through the transceiver)
Herjólfsson et al. do not explicitly teach the following limitations.
However, Bruno et al. teach--after said recording, arriving, by the vessel, at a location recorded in the information associated with the environment of the vessel at the time the reporting device determines that the item is not on the vessel;
(see e.g. ---[0014] In surprising manner, the distress procedure of the invention provides for the immediate, automatic recording of the exact distress position using onboard GPS equipment,
[0179] Also the computer can optionally communicate the route to be followed to an automatic pilot system so that the vessel automatically travels to the overboard location or beacon position.
[0180] The above description of the recording of vessel position data given by GPS equipment, of the release of a radio transmitting beacon also equipped with a GPS unit to transmit the beacon's position data for display on an on-board screen,.
[0025] displaying the automatically recorded precise positioning data so that another crew member can reroute the vessel and promptly direct it to the precise location of the distress incident.
[0133] Immediate recording of GPS positioning data gives highly precise knowledge of the site of the distress incident, )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Herjólfsson et al., and include the step cited above, as taught by Bruno et al., in order to obtain highly precise knowledge of the site of the distress incident/drop off (see e.g. paragraph [0133]).
Herjólfsson et al., in view of Bruno et al., do not explicitly teach the following limitations.
However, BRIZARD et al. teach --after said arriving at the location, transmitting a signal from the vessel to a release mechanism of the item to activate a release of a marker associated with the item, allowing the marker to rise to a surface of a body of water; and
--after said transmitting, determining, by the reporting device, that the item is on the vessel; and recording, by the reporting device, information indicating that the item is on the vessel.
(see e.g. [0048] The recovery vessel generates an acoustic signal 514 with an appropriate acoustic signal generator 516. The acoustic signal 514 may have a frequency f5 different from the frequencies used by the pingers of the launching and recovery vessels. The acoustic signal 514 may be a short-range acoustic signal and constitutes a command for the buoy to surface. When a buoy receives the acoustic signal 514, the buoy activates its buoyancy system (to be discussed later) to resurface. The set of buoys 508 is in the middle of the resurfacing process. Once at the water surface, each buoy of the set of buoys 510 activates a radio-frequency (RF) beacon (transmitter) 524 for sending a signal 520 to the RF goniometer 522 of the recovery vessel 502. Thus, each buoy may have an RF transmitter 524.
[0049] Based on this information, the recovery vessel 502 determines the position of each buoy and recovers them. The recovery process may include bringing the buoys on a deck of the vessel. The structure of a buoy is now discussed with regard to FIG. 9.
[0059] FIG. 9 also shows a communication interface 940 that is capable of exchanging data with a system on the vessel, for transferring the recorded seismic data when the buoy is retrieved on the vessel. The communication interface 940 may be wired or wireless, e.g., a wi-fi interface. Other known types of wireless interfaces may be used.
[0065] As illustrated in FIG. 12, a system 1200 includes a launching vessel 1202, a recovery vessel 1204, and plural buoys 1206. The vessels may be equipped with an acoustic system 1210 for tracking the position of the buoys when underwater. An exemplary acoustic system is described next, and this system can track the buoy with an accuracy of approximately 5 m at a distance in the order of kilometers.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Herjólfsson et al., in view of Bruno et al., and include the step cited above, as taught by BRIZARD, so the system can track the buoy/item with an accuracy (see e.g. paragraph [0065]).
Re-claims 2-4, Herjólfsson et al. do not explicitly teach the following limitations.
However, Bruno et al. teach 2.--The method of claim 1 wherein recording further comprises recording a unique identifier of the tag.
(see e.g. [0313] Means are therefore provided to record automatically the identification of each individual portable transmitter from which no signal reception is detected.)
3.--The method of claim 1 wherein recording further comprises recording a time at which the signal from the tag was no longer detected by the reporting device.
(see e.g. [0314] The device also comprises means for automatically recording the time and/or calculating the time lapsed since the time of the detected absence of signal from at least one individual portable transmitter.)
4. --The method of claim 1 wherein recording further comprises recording a location at which the signal from the tag was no longer detected by the reporting device.
(see e.g. [0315] The device comprises means for displaying the precise positioning data of the distress or of each distress incident, automatically recorded,)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Herjólfsson et al., and include the step cited above, as taught by Bruno et al., in order to indicate the loss of a navigator overboard, by monitoring the regular reception of radio signals emitted by each apparatus and by detecting any absence of reception from the portable apparatus of a navigator (see e.g. abstract).
Claim 6 recites similar limitations as claim 1 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Herjólfsson et al. (US 20150324742 A1), in view of Bruno et al. (US 20050040987 A1), in view of BRIZARD (US 20130188451 A1), in further view of Rinnan et al. (US 20110276305 A1).
Re-claim 5, Herjólfsson et al., do not teach the limitation as claimed.
Although Bruno et al. anticipate the speed of the vessel, (see e.g. [0165] A vessel can frequently achieve speeds of up to 10 to 20 knots (5 to 10 m/s) and transatlantic racing yachts are able to reach speeds of 30 to 40 knots (15 to 20 m/s), speeds of 50 knots (26 m/s) even being targeted in the future. At such speeds, in five seconds the vessel can distance itself from the overboard person by 25 meters (28 yards) to 130 meters (140 yards), Bruno et al., in view of BRIZARD, do not explicitly teach recording the speed the vessel.
However, Rinnan et al. teach --The method of claim 1 wherein recording, by the reporting device, information further comprises recording a speed of the vessel.
(see e.g. Claim 1--- the method includes the following step: a) acquiring measurements from one or more measuring instruments arranged in given monitoring points onboard a vessel, b) calculating position, velocity and accelerations for given monitoring points,
[0008] It is further an object of the present invention to provide a system and method which can combine measurements from an arbitrary number of measuring instruments arranged in an arbitrary number of points, and that this can be performed with a high degree of accuracy and integrity.
it is considered an obvious variation of
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify , Herjólfsson et al., in view of Bruno et al., in view of BRIZARD, and include the step cited above, as taught by Rinnan et al., in order to model angular accelerations of an vessel by means of independent oscillators in roll and pitch direction, driven by measurements from an instrument which in a given monitoring point registers all linear accelerations and angular velocities, so that forces (accelerations) in real time and with a high degree of accuracy, can be transformed to any other point of the vessel. (see e.g. [0007]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments
Rather, Claim 1 further requires that, after the signal is transmitted to activate the release of the marker, the reporting device:
"determin[e] ... that the item is on the vessel"; and
"record[] ... information indicating that the item is on the vessel."
Thus, the issue is not merely whether the individual references disclose item-presence detection, return navigation, and remote surfacing as separate functions. The issue is whether the cited combination teaches or suggests a reporting device that completes the claimed tracking lifecycle by determining, after activation of the underwater release mechanism, that the recovered item is again on the vessel and recording that recovered status. The Office Action has not established that it does.
Bruno may be relevant to returning to a recorded location, but it does not supply the claimed post-recovery determination and recording operations.
The claim therefore does not merely aggregate known tracking, navigation, and buoy-release functions. It requires a linked tracking and recovery lifecycle in which automatically-recorded information generated when the item leaves the vessel is later used by the vessel to return to the item, after which the reporting device detects and records recovery of that same item.
Applicant does not contend that references addressing different applications are incapable of being combined as a matter of law. Rather, the problem is that the articulated rationale concerns only accurate location information. It does not explain why that location information would have led a POSITA to construct the claimed underwater gear deployment-and-recovery lifecycle, including the particular release mechanism and post-recovery record updating.
Examiner’s response:
Herjólfsson et al. teach a fully automatic method and a system for distribution monitoring of shipments and automatic location assignment of objects, on a movable location or transport vessel (i.e. transportation truck, train, boat etc.) , with virtual location information and wireless technology (see e.g. abstract, [0038]).
Herjólfsson et al. teach tracking the item by detecting when the item is on the vessel and when the item is not on the vessel. Furthermore, Herjólfsson et al. record information on the last location of the item.
Bruno et al. teach detecting a distress/overboard incident, recording precise positioning data of the incident and communicating the route to be followed so the vessel can automatically travel to the distress/overboard position for recovery of the item. (see [0014, 0179]).
(see e.g. [0031] the precise data on overboard positioning (MOB) being recorded substantially as soon as the absence is detected of regular radio transmission by at least one individual portable transmitter.)
Although Bruno et al. teach recovery of a person, one of ordinary skill in the art would know that the system can be used to recover any item including fishing gears.
Note: According to KSR rationale B – a simple substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results. In this case, upon discovery of the absence of the gear, the recorded information is used to direct the vessel to the location of the item/gear.
Herjólfsson et al. and Bruno et al. both teach detecting a missing item, and recording information of the location of the missing item. Bruno et al. further teach travelling to the location to recover the item.
Bruno et al. enable recovery of the item/person using radio signals transmitted by an individual portable transmitter unit.
For the recovery, BRIZARD teaches sending an acoustic signal as a command for a buoy to surface and proceed to recover and bring the buoy on the deck of the vessel.
BRIZARD teaches not only the recovery but recorded data after the buoy is retrieved.
(see e.g. [0059] FIG. 9 also shows a communication interface 940 that is capable of exchanging data with a system on the vessel, for transferring the recorded seismic data when the buoy is retrieved on the vessel.
Therefore, BRIZARD teaches
"determin[e] ... that the item is on the vessel"; and
"record[] ... information indicating that the item is on the vessel."
The combination of Herjólfsson et al., Bruno et al. and BRIZARD et al. clearly anticipate the limitations as claimed.
Additionally, it is noted that KSR forecloses the argument that a specific teaching, suggestion, or motivation is required to support a finding of obviousness. Under KSR, a claim would have been obvious if the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. Furthermore, under KSR, a claim would have been obvious if a particular known technique was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. Thus the claimed subject matter likely would have been obvious under KSR.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Opshaug (US20180244354).
Partan et al. (US 20170332612 A1),
Karabacak et al. (2018/0196152 A1).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LUNA CHAMPAGNE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627
October 16, 2026