DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 12/16/2024. Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending and are examined.
Priority/Benefit
This application claims priority as a CON of 18/627,890 04/05/2024 PAT 12189787, 18/627,890 is a CIP of 18/203,630 05/30/2023, 18/203,630 has PRO 63/457,671 04/06/2023, 18/203,630 has PRO 63/347,389 05/31/2022, however the claimed priority is deficient. A later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original non-provisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 18/203,630 05/30/2023, 18/203,630 has PRO 63/457,671 04/06/2023, 18/203,630 has PRO 63/347,389 05/31/2022, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
Claims 1-20 contain subject matter which is not supported in the above application and therefore, for the purposes of examination, these claims, each viewed as a whole, will not receive the priority claimed therein. Therefore claims 1-20 receive the claimed priority date of 4/5/2024.
Information Disclosure Statement PTO-1449
The Information Disclosure Statement(s) submitted by applicant on 3/13/2025, 7/28/2025, 11/28/2025, and 5/12/2026 has/have been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97. Form PTO-1449 signed and attached hereto.
Examiner’s Note – Distinct Subject Matter
The instant claims have an extensive patent family which has been thoroughly checked. Except where listed in the double patenting rejections below, the remaining family cases contain similar, yet patentably distinct subject matter.
Examiner’s Note – Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8-9, 15, and 18-19 overcome the prior art and would otherwise be allowable if incorporated into the base claims allowing with any intervening claims as well as overcoming double patenting rejections below.
Regarding the claims that overcome the prior art, Larhette (US 2024/0281472 A1) ¶ 33, and 98-99, teaches receiving unstructured data and using it to train a generative AI. The cited prior art does not teach the metadata tokenization processes of in claims 5 and 15. Blaikie (US 2024/0152645 A1) ¶ 44, 49 and 115 teaches smart contracts and a blockchain to store and execute the function portions of the data protection system. The cited prior art does not teach the steps updating the mapping and cross-validating cited in claims 8 and 18.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to:
http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 8, 10-11, 14-15, 18, and 20 is/are rejected on the grounds of provisional nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 3, 5, 7-8, 11, 13, 15, 18, and 20, of copending application 18/983,083. Although the claims at issue are not identical in form, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Independent claims 1, 11, and 20 are anticipated by copending claims 11, 1, and 20, respectively. Instant claims 4 and 14 are anticipated by copending claims 3 and 13, respectively. Instant claims 5 and 15 are anticipated by copending claims 4 and 14, respectively. Instant claims 8 and 18 are anticipated by copending claims 5 and 15, respectively. Instant claim 10 is anticipated by copending claim 7.
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 8-11, 14-15, and 18-20 is/are rejected on the grounds of provisional nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over copending claims 1-2, 4-7, 11-12, 14-16, and 20 of copending application 18/952,987. Although the claims at issue are not identical in form, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Independent claims 1, 11, and 20 are anticipated by copending claims 1, 11, and 20, respectively. Instant claims 4 and 14 are anticipated by copending claims 2 and 12, respectively. Instant claims 5 and 15 are anticipated by copending claims 4 and 14, respectively. Instant claims 8 and 18 are anticipated by copending claims 5 and 15, respectively. Instant claims 9 and 19 are anticipated by copending claims 6 and 16, respectively. Instant claim 10 is anticipated by copending claim 7.
Claim(s) 1, 3-11, and 13-20 is/are rejected on the grounds of provisional nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over copending claims 1, 11, and 20 of copending application 18/983,101. Although the claims at issue are not identical in form, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Independent claims 1, 11, and 20 are anticipated by copending claims 1, 11, and 20, respectively. Instant claims 3-9 and 13-19 are anticipated by copending claims 3-9 and 13-19, respectively. Instant claim 10 is anticipated by copending claim 7.
Claim(s) 1, 4-11, and 14-20 is/are rejected on the grounds of provisional nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over copending claims 1, 4-11, and 14-20 of copending application 18/983,070. Although the claims at issue are not identical in form, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Independent claims 1, 11, and 20 are anticipated by copending claims 1, 11, and 20, respectively. Instant claims 4-9 and 14-19 are anticipated by copending claims 4-9 and 14-19, respectively. Instant claim 10 is anticipated by copending claim 10.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-12, 14-17, and 20 is/are rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over patented claims 1-2, 13-18, and 20 of US Patent 12/189,787 formerly application 18/627,890. Although the claims at issue are not identical in form, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Independent claims 1, 11, and 20 are anticipated by patented claims 1, 13, and 20, respectively. Instant claims 2 and 12 are anticipated by patented claims 1 and 13, respectively. Instant claims 4 and 14 are anticipated by patented claims 2 and 14, respectively. Instant claims 5 and 15 are anticipated by patented claims 3 and 15, respectively. Instant claims 6-8 and 16-18 are anticipated by patented claims 3-5 and 14-16, respectively. Instant claims 9 and 19 are anticipated by patented claims 6 and 17, respectively. Instant claim 10 is anticipated by patented claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 10-12, and 20, is/are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Murphy (US 2024/0289535 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 20, Murphy teaches:
“A response system for modeling at least one plan parameter, product parameter, or service parameter (PPPPSP) (Murphy, Fig. 34, steps 1900, 1910 and 1912, ¶ 401-403 teaches example of the types of protection information received by the system. Murphy, ¶ 104-112, 126 and 133 teaches that this is third party security system information. Murphy, Figs. 34 and 36, ¶ 491-495, the security event notification includes a large amount of information some of which is formatted, i.e., mapped, using generative AI into a human readable output summary), the response system comprising: one or more processing circuits comprising memory and at least one processor (Murphy, ¶ 9, 44, 46, and 802 teaches a processor, memory and medium) configured to: cyber resilience model, using at least one artificial intelligence (AI) or at least one machine-learning (ML) model, the at least one PPPPSP (Murphy, Fig. 34, steps 1900, 1910 and 1912, ¶ 401-403 teaches example of the types of protection information received by the system. Murphy, ¶ 104-112, 126 and 133 teaches that this is third party security system information. Murphy ¶ 771, 797-798 teaches that this is the risk information of the entity. Murphy, Figs. 34 and 36, ¶ 491-495, the security event notification includes a large amount of information some of which is formatted, i.e., mapped, using generative AI into a human readable output summary. Murphy, ¶ 104-112, 126 and 133 teaches that this is third party cyber security information); wherein cyber resilience modeling comprises: generating, using the at least one AI or the at least one ML model, at least one output corresponding with at least one field, section, or attribute based on the at least one PPPPSP and entity data of at least one entity, the at least one PPPPSP corresponding with a plan, product, or service (PPS) of protection provided by a protection provider (Murphy, Figs. 34 and 36, ¶ 491-495, the security event notification includes a large amount of information some of which is formatted, i.e., mapped, using generative AI into a human readable output summary. Murphy, ¶ 104-112, 126 and 133 teaches that this is third party cyber security information); and provide, to an interface, the at least one output satisfying the at least one PPPPSP (Murphy, Figs. 34 and 36, ¶ 491-495 the human readable output summary containing the identified data types and the corresponding data satisfying the entries of the entries of the data types are presented to the user. Murphy, Fig. 5 presents an example of a graphical user interface of the cited method)”.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Murphy teaches:
“The response system of claim 1 (Murphy teaches the limitations of the parent claims as discussed above), wherein satisfying the at least one PPPPSP comprises detecting or identifying a plurality of indicators associated with the at least one PPPPSP in the entity data (Murphy, Fig. 34, steps 1900, 1910 and 1912, ¶ 401-403 teaches example of the types of protection information received by the system. Murphy, ¶ 104-112, 126 and 133 teaches that this is third party security system information. Murphy, Fig. 34, steps 1900, 1910 and 1912, ¶ 401-403 teaches example of the types of protection information received by the system including cyber security and configuration data)”.
Regarding claim 10, Murphy teaches:
“The response system of claim 1 (Murphy teaches the limitations of the parent claims as discussed above), wherein: embedding the at least one PPPPSP into data comprises executing a call using an application programming interface (API) or predefined script with a third-party computing system (Murphy, ¶ 254, and 495-503 teach the API for interfacing with the AI system); and generating the at least one output further comprises: generating a prompt based on the at least one PPPPSP (Murphy, Fig. 36 and ¶ 489-507 depict and describe prompting the user for information regarding the human readable report); receiving a response from the prompt (Murphy, Fig. 36 and ¶ 489-507 depict and describe prompting the user for information regarding the human readable report and receiving a response from the user); and providing the response to the at least one AI model or the at least one ML model (Murphy, Fig. 36 and ¶ 489-507 depict and describe prompting the user for information regarding the human readable report and receiving the response to the GAI model)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy in view of Thompson (US 2024/0293639 A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Murphy teaches:
“The response system of claim 1 (Murphy teaches the limitations of the parent claims as discussed above)”.
Murphy does not, but in related art, Thompson teaches: “generate a protection readiness score based on a plurality of weighted protection readiness subscores, wherein the plurality of weighted protection readiness subscores correspond with a plurality of outputs (Thompson, ¶ 279-282 teaches determining the weighted readiness scores); determine, using at least one of (i) the protection readiness score (Thompson, ¶ 279-282 teaches determining the weighted readiness scores), one or more protection improvement actions for improving the protection readiness score (Thompson, ¶ 279-282 teaches determining the weighted readiness scores and the mitigating actions that should occur); and provide, to the interface, the one or more protection improvement actions (Thompson, ¶ 279-282 teaches outputting the results of the readiness analysis)”.
Before applicant’s earliest effective filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Murphy and Thompson, to modify the generative AI system of Murphy to include the readiness method of Thompson. The motivation to do so constitutes applying a known technique to known devices and/or methods ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy in view of Siebel (US 2024/020221 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Murphy teaches:
“The response system of claim 1 (Murphy teaches the limitations of the parent claims as discussed above) ”. Murphy does not, but in related art, Siebel teaches:
“wherein the at least one AI model or the at least one ML model corresponds to a retrieval-based and generative-based (RAG) model (Siebel, ¶ 27 teaches the implementation of a generative and retrieval based AI system)”.
Before applicant’s earliest effective filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Murphy and Siebel, to modify the generative AI system of Murphy to include the RAG model as taught in Siebel. The motivation to do so constitutes applying a known technique to known devices and/or methods ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 6-7 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy in view of Blaikie (US 2024/0152645 A1).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, Murphy teaches:
“The response system of claim 1 (Murphy teaches the limitations of the parent claims as discussed above)”.
Murphy does not, but in related art, Blaikie teaches:
“wherein generating the at least one output comprises using mapping parameters to map the at least one PPPPSP to the at least one output and embedding the at least one PPPPSP into data comprising the at least one output (Blaikie, ¶ 44, 49 and 115 teaches smart contracts and a blockchain to store and execute the function portions of the data protection system)”.
Before applicant’s earliest effective filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Murphy and Blaikie, to modify the generative AI system of Murphy to include the blockchain and smart contract implementation as taught in Blaikie. The motivation to do so constitutes applying a known technique to known devices and/or methods ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Regarding claims 7 and 17, Murphy and Blaikie teaches:
“The response system of claim 6 (Murphy and Blaikie teaches the limitations of the parent claims as discussed above), wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: generate one or more smart contracts based on embedding the at least one output using smart contract templates (Blaikie, ¶ 44, 49 and 115 teaches smart contracts and a blockchain to store and execute the function portions of the data protection system); and enforce and execute terms of the at least one PPPPSP using the one or more smart contracts deployed to a distributed ledger or data source (Blaikie, ¶ 44, 49 and 115 teaches smart contracts and a blockchain to store and execute the function portions of the data protection system)”.
Conclusion
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure: See PTO-892.
/STEPHEN T GUNDRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2435